Weddings

Robert Holley Photography Reviews

Robert Holley Photography

Robert Holley Photography

Sterling, VA
Rating 4.7 out of 5, 36 Reviews
View more information

36 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 36
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4 User photos

Sort by:
  • Noelia
    Noelia Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Punctual, charismatic, and fun to work with!

    One of the best, if not the best wedding photography services in Northern VA! There are so many different companies out there that it was difficult to choose the right photographer for our wedding, but we are more than happy we chose Robert Holley Productions. We first met Robert on our wedding day, but prior to that he had spent quite a bit of time going over the different services he could provide and how they can tailor the experience, and price, to our liking. Definitely helped us work within our budget!

    Although I love pictures, my husband is not a fan, but Rob made this experience a memorable and fun one for both of us! He was detail oriented and patient, everything you would want in a photographer. On our wedding day, Rob was our lead photographer and worked with a partner photographer who was just as talented and they worked beautifully together all day. They also arrived earlier than asked and spent time to scope out the venue and make sure we had all the shots that we wanted. Being a mix Latino/Persion wedding, a lot of family members wanted different shots of different groups and they went out of their way to accommodate all of this. I think their patience and attention to details made our wedding run smoothly. Also he captured everything on our photography list!

    We received our pictures while on our honeymoon (earlier than promised) and it was amazing! If I had to do it again, I would choose Rob 10 times out of 10. All of our interactions with him were prompt, professional, and everything you can ask for. The best part was that they made this entire process stress free! Pictures of the wedding is one of (if not) the most important aspect of your wedding so you should be diligent in choosing the right photographer/group for your special day. We would not hesitate to recommend Robert Holley!
  • K
    Karen Married on 06/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rob is amazing...so easy to work with and pictures are just priceless. Rob was the photographer for my son’s wedding at Congressional Country Club 5 years ago and when my daughter was planning her wedding at Stone Manor Country Club in Frederick Maryland, there was not a moment’s doubt of who we would call. Rob did an engagement shoot that truly captured the couple and when the big day came, he was calm and reassuring. Rob and his staff were pleasant and helpful, willing to take any type of picture requested as well as beautiful candid shots of the couple and their guests! Any couple would be lucky to have Rob provide photography services!!
  • R
    Ryan Married on 08/19/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Robert Holley photographed my wedding in August, 2017 (with an engagement shoot done a couple months before). He was a delight to work with throughout the entire process. Great email responsiveness, flexibility, positive demeanor, communication, and of course the actual photo quality was amazing. My wife and I feel incredibly lucky to have found such an amazing person and photographer to work with. We looked up a LOT of photographers before going with Robert, and it's really amazing - his photos seem to come out better than all competition, and his price was incredibly reasonable. 10/10, will openly recommend to all friends and family.
  • A
    Alena Married on 10/02/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rob, the owner of the business and the main photographer, was really responsive and friendly, with a clear listing of prices that I thought were quite fair for the region.

    For the wedding day, we used his associate photographer Emily, who was AMAZING. I wanted someone who would be directive for the posted photos (stand like this, angle your head like that), and she was great at keeping the group photos moving (not an easy task with our big, rowdy families). Our bridal party all commented on how friendly and professional she was. I also loved her candid photos -- lots of great lighting and capturing the moments. I'm very happy with the photos and really enjoyed having her around on the big day!

    Rob does the photo editing himself, and he turned it around like LIGHTNING -- 2 weeks, so fast! I now have access to download any and all of my pictures that I want. Now comes the hard part... figuring out which ones to put in my photo album...
  • T
    Tracy Married on 05/06/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am blown away. I can't say enough about Rob and his team. He photographed our wedding last weekend and the photos are beyond amazing. I don't know how Rob was able to captured so many special moments without knowing us personally... this guy is a magician! I feel like we won the lotto choosing him!
  • B
    Brie Married on 10/18/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired Simona from Robert Holley Productions to photograph our wedding and engagement shoot. She did a fantastic job! Simona was a pleasure to work with and took beautiful photos. The photos of the two of us are gorgeous but we were a little disappointed with the entire family shots and felt like we didn't get enough of the party with people dancing although that could have been due to the setting in a ballroom and that we didn't pay for her to be there the entire night. Overall, we adored her and are happy with the photos we have from our special day!
  • J
    Jordan Married on 05/25/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rob K and Simona were very friendly and professional. Rob K was the lead photographer and he did an amazing job with the photos. Robert Holley did a great job w/ the editing. We would definitely utilize their services for future photography needs.
  • S
    Stacy Married on 09/28/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired one of Rob's associates to do our engagement and wedding photos. For the wedding Emily was also there as a second shooter. Both ladies were professional, friendly, and amazing photographers. I highly recommend them! They kept us on track throughout the day and were really easy to work with.
  • Michelle
    Michelle Married on 06/22/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rob is a gem! He has enormous experience and was able to capture every aspect of our wedding day. The photographs were unique, glamorous, and PERFECT. I could not wipe the permanent smile off of my face while reviewing all the photos from our wedding day (which we received less than a week after our wedding!) He and Emily (2nd photographer) were a pleasure to work with, are creative, and artistic. They were flexible, outgoing, and dedicated. We are so thankful to Robert Holley Photography for helping to make our wedding day last forever!
  • E
    Emily Married on 05/18/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We HIGHLY recommend working with Rob and his associate photographer, Emily!

    Choosing a great photographer was definitely a top priority of ours, and my husband, Eli, and I spent numerous hours looking through company websites (and their reviews) in hopes of finding quality work without the outrageous price tag. We came across Robert Holley Photography and immediately we knew we had found exactly what we were looking for!

    We loved Rob and Emily'€™s style from the photo albums online and were completely blown away when we got to work with them on our wedding day. Rob and Emily arrived early and made sure that every photograph we asked for was taken (in addition to many, many more!). They were both so friendly, professional, and incredible to work with. We can't say enough good things about Rob and Emily - they were both simply amazing!

    We should also mention that we received the digital version of our photographs within a week of our wedding day. Yes, you read that right - one week!! The pictures were beautiful and we can't thank Rob and Emily enough for capturing such special moments.

    -Emily & Eli
  • M
    Mandi Married on 10/27/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rob was the best! He has a great sense of humor and made us feel comfortable throughout our engagement shoot as well as the wedding. He is extremely talented and his shots are unique and gorgeous! We could not have asked for a better photographer. We will definitely recommend him to all of our friends!
  • K
    Kristin Married on 10/06/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When I found Rob Holley's website, I loved his photos and style. Unfortunately, he was out of my budget. So, I selected one of his associate photographers, Simona. Simona was warm, friendly and so talented. I felt an instant connection with her when we met - important especially for someone who typically doesn't enjoy having their photo taken. During our engagement photo session she made us feel comfortable and captured beautiful photos. On the day of our wedding, Simona arrived early, was professional, so sweet, kept me calm, and took more beautiful photos.

    Rob edited the photos and sent them along to me via a link to an online website as well as a DVD for me to keep. He was so quick - we actually received our wedding photos while we were on our honeymoon! I was thrilled. Rob is extremely responsive. Along the way he responded to all of my e-mails very, very quickly. He also has a very easy to use website allowing you to make payments online which was extremely convenient for me. I would highly recommend Rob and Simona.
  • J
    Julie Married on 07/14/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rob has done a great job with us from day one of our engagement. We have really enjoyed working with him over the last 10 months and would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for a great photographer for their wedding.
  • User886521 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were extremely happy with Robert Holley Photography. We contracted with Simona, his associate for our wedding. Simona captured so many special moments and expressions throughout our wedding and reception. She was fun and charming and easy to work with. She put every one at ease. We could not have been happier. She came through for us in spite of the challenge of the huge power outage after the big storm in June.
  • M
    Razieh Married on 11/06/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I love Rob!!!! Not only did he give me a fabulous deal, but the pictures were breathtaking. I look at them every single day and I love them more each time!! I've gotten requests from 2 websites to use pictures from our wedding, and I know it's a combination of our amazing venue (Briar Patch) and Rob's incredible photography. He was incredibly flexible and understanding, and at no point did we stiffen up or feel unnatural while he was taking pictures. This goes for his staff as well; every single one of our pictures is print worthy. Thank you so much Rob, for capturing our wedding and providing us with pictures that we'll treasure for years!!
  • P
    Peggy Married on 10/07/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What a find! Ok really, our friends found him first, but we are so glad we used him as well. My fiance and I are not at all experienced at working with photographers and we were worried that we'd be a little stiff and uncomfortable in front of the camera, but Rob was such a nice and genuine person that he set us as ease. Rob really listened to what we wanted and let us do our ideas, and then he had some creative ideas of his own which were so fun! I loved that even after our before-the-reception photo session was over he stole us away for about 10 minutes after dinner was over because he had an idea for a night time shoot outside. What a wonderful day and I couldn't be happier with the photos Rob took, such a professional and an artist. I'll always remember the details of the flowers, my dress and jewelry, and just the extreme hapiness because Rob documented it so well. Thank you!!!!
  • J
    Jenn Married on 06/04/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I'm a meeting planner by occupation; when planning an event I typically research and meet with multiple vendors prior to deciding on/contracting one. When it came to a photographer for my own wedding I broke all my "rules" - I threw caution to the wind and booked the first photographer we met with, Rob Holley. We had a great meeting with him which was assuring, but we ultimately booked him because my fiance had a 'really good feeling' about him. We had a fun engagement shoot with Rob a week prior to our wedding (talk about waiting until the last minute). He was super fun and laid back - and made us feel super comfortable - especially me, who isn't a fan of getting her picture taken. We really liked our photos. Rob turned them around quickly for us so we could display some at our wedding the following weekend. Our wedding day was perfect and magical - I couldn't have asked for a better day. Rob did a beautiful job capturing our wedding from start to finish. We have amazing photos (of us, our friends + family, the venue, landscape and every little detail you can imagine) to look back on and remind us of our "perfect" day. We've looked at them almost every day the past month we have been married! We wish we could print every single one of them and line our walls with them! Our family and friends keep telling us how amazing they are - we've gotten such nice comments on them. I couldn't be happier with selecting Rob to be our wedding photographer! I would highly recommend Rob to anyone in need of a fantastic photographer, as would my now husband - who's Rob's biggest fan! :)
  • A
    Amanda Married on 01/29/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot say enough good things about Rob and his team. He is a true GEM! From our first meeting I knew he and I had the same vision and after the engagement shots were complete it was apparent we had made the right decision in hiring him. Not only are the wedding pictures perfect but we had so much fun taking them! He is really creative and goes with the flow- most importantly, he made everyone (including my photo-phobic husband) feel relaxed and excited. I strongly recommend Rob Holley- he is the BEST!
  • A
    Alex Married on 07/24/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rob Holley is a master of his craft. Although we have not yet seen the photographs from the day of the event, his photos from the engagement shoot were absolutely stunning. Instead of subscribing to a particular photographic viewpoint (portraiture, photo-journalism, art photography), Rob seemed to balance all these different approaches. We sought out such a balance since our parents and guests all have different ideas of what they want in a wedding photo: some wanted a traditional family portrait for the mantle, others wanted a complete documentary of the day’s events, and I wanted something that would satisfy my own idiosyncratic tastes. The engagement shoot delivered on all counts. We used the images as gifts at the rehearsal dinner, and our families were blown away by the quality of his work.

    Beyond the actual product, Rob was a relaxing, discreet, and sometimes hilarious presence. My wife and I are not used to having our pictures taken, and he did a great job of putting us at ease. His assistants Steve and Nicole were very friendly as well.
  • Marelise
    Marelise Married on 07/10/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rob Holley was great to work with. We could not afford his prices, but he provided an associate photographer, Steve Maxwell, whom we immediately liked, and whom we could afford. Steve is easy to be around and gives you a questionnaire to help define expectations. We showed him photos that we like and don't like and he seemed to pick up our taste easily. We got married aboard a sailboat, and Steve was great at being unobtrusive so that we could feel relaxed rather than that someone was in our face. I'm sure the photos will turn out well and can't wait to see them!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 11/14/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rob is an amazing photographer. Our pictures are truly wonderful and something I know I will cherish forever. Everyone keeps telling me how beautiful I look and how great the pics are, etc. We initially did an engagement shoot with Rob which I would highly recommend to any couple. The pictures were great but it also gave us an opporutnity to met Rob and get used to getting our pictures taken. We had a ton of fun. Rob has an infectious laugh and just seems like a very happy person so it is very easy to get comfortable with him very quickly. I also appreciated how quickly he sent us a link to all of the photos which we could send to family and friends. I would tell any bride to go to his website and browse the galleries and read his blog. What you see is what you get and it is truly wonderful. As for value I definitely feel that I got what I paid for and that Rob is very fairly priced for the talent you get. I do note that I have not recieved my album yet but Rob brought samples of albums to our first meeting and I am sure that I will be impressed and satified with the final product.
  • K
    Kristen Married on 09/06/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Having Rob and his crew shoot our wedding was and still is the best choice we made for our wedding! We'll have our photos forever and wanted to ensure they truly captured our personalities and our day; it far exceeded our expectations. His work, professionalism and personality were an automatic sell to me and my fiance and he has continued to please us with the finished product. Having talked with fellow married couples, we have come to find out that our turn around for receiving our photos is light years faster than others. For those who don't feel comfortable having your photo taken...call Rob, you feel like you're in the park with a friend.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 07/18/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Having Rob Holley shoot our engagment and wedding pictures was the best decision I made while planning my wedding. I cannot say enough good things about Rob, his assistant and second photographer. Joe and I were comfortable with Rob from the moment we met him. He is easy going and likable; so important when you're spending your entire wedding day with him! His eye for detail is amazing, but he doesn't make you pose and feel unnatural. He is practically invisable at the wedding, yet he got shots of every single moment. I have received about a million compliments on our pictures already, and I can't wait to see the album. We would highly, highly recommend Rob to anyone looking for a profressional, likable and creative photographer who will shoot wedding pictures you only dreamed of having.
  • K
    Katie Married on 10/13/2007
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rob Holley and his assistants were professional, accomodating and talented. We had a positive experience from our first meeting to the receipt of our album. We would strongly recommend Rob Holley for anyone's photo needs.
  • C
    Carrie Married on 09/23/2007
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Robert was an amazing photographer! Both Chris and I were so impressed by his professionalism, we both knew we wanted to hire him the minute we left our first meeting. Our wedding photos turned out ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE! We loved almost every single one and had a really hard time picking out which ones we wanted for our album! Our friends and family were equally impressed by Robert's work!