Skip to main content
Weddings

River Stone Manor Reviews

River Stone Manor

River Stone Manor

Schenectady, NY
View more information

93 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

93
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

23 User photos

  • Julia
    Julia J. Married on 08/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Top quality food

    Beautiful grounds! Food is outstanding! We ordered all three dishes and shared them because it was so good. Plenty of space and an all around great value.
  • J
    Jennifer H. Married on 10/17/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue

    We got married last weekend at River Stone Manor and we couldn't be more happy with the outcome of our wedding. Skip and Samantha at River Stone were EXCELLENT in terms of helping us organize the perfect reception. They were extremely responsive and professional. The outside area there is beautiful, right along the river. The inside banquet hall is also beautiful. The food was AMAZING! Our guests still continue to comment on their delicious food! We would definitely recommend this to others for any type of wedding, showers, parties, etc. We absolutely plan on holding future events here. Thank you again!! :)

    River Stone Manor's reply:

    Thank you Jennifer for your kind words. I am glad that you and your guests were happy with everything. It was a pleasure working with you and Dan. We wish you the very best =]
  • Michelle
    Michelle A. Married on 09/26/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Beautiful Wedding, Even in a Pandemic

    My husband and I chose to get married during a pandemic. The good news? Pretty much any date we wanted was available!

    The hard news? We had government requirements about how many people could attend, health requirements, masked servers, hand sanitizers set out as favors for the guests, and no dancing. We also opted to have our wedding and reception outside to help guests to feel more spaced out and comfortable with Covid concerns. The outdoor tent was a beautiful space for our reception on a lovely fall day.

    River Stone Manor was so flexible with us a we sought to have a beautiful ceremony in a difficult time. My family could not decide where the bride and bridesmaids were going to get ready. We ultimately ended up requesting to rent a space to get ready in the Manor. Skip made this happen, even at the last minute. He had delicious mimosas provided for us, as well as a small smattering of snacks. Our hairdresser was able to come and style all bridesmaid's hair just before the ceremony. It ended up feeling like a little party of close friends and family before the grander party.

    Our meals were incredible. My husband and I especially enjoyed the vegetable risotto that we selected for an appetizer. Our food was warm and delicious, servers were friendly, and Skip and other leaders were flexible and helpful in providing suggestions and guidance as we made our decisions. We thoroughly enjoyed having our wedding at River Stone Manor. We are so thankful for all of your hard work.

    River Stone Manor's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words Michelle.I am so glad that you were happy with everything and that we were able to help in making your wedding day special.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Paul
    Paul S. Married on 07/30/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue

    Our wedding was so special! Skip is the ultimate professional and his venue is absolutely perfect for an outside wedding! I have had so many people tell me that our wedding was the best they have ever been to. We just went back and renewed our vows ten years later! They now are even serving dinner in the terrace where we had our reception. The grounds are still magnificent a decade later! We will be back to have the delicious food at the restaurant again! 💕

    River Stone Manor's reply:

    Thank you sooo much !!! It meant a lot to us that you were so happy with your wedding that you wanted to renew your vows back at River Stone Manor. It was great to see everyone and hope to see you again soon.
  • V
    Veronica M. Married on 07/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Pandemic Wedding

    The second I got engaged, in 2018, I knew from their photos I wanted to get married at Riverstone. My now husband and I toured several other local venues and Riverstone won by far. We wanted an outdoor ceremony and indoor reception. I used the manor house to get ready, we were married outside by the river, had cocktail hour in their beautiful terrace tent and then a reception in the air conditioned ballroom. All finally happened a year after our original wedding date due to Covid restrictions. Dealing with a pandemic as a bride was not easy, dealing with a pandemic as a business owner in the wedding industry must have been unimaginable. Skip did a great job of staying in touch, keeping our contract, and assuring me of every detail even though I was falling apart. There were several wedding planners to walk us through details and a fantastic day of coordinator to make everything run smoothly. The food was delicious and their menu options are constantly growing. The venue was gorgeous and well-kept. I cannot thank Skip and his team enough. A special shout out to Skip's dog, Mr. Wilson, who helped us plan the whole wedding.
  • Dawn
    Dawn Married on 06/26/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect storybook wedding

    Despite having the virus Skip And his team were so professional and made sure to be as accommodating as possible. Our special day was absolutely my perfect storybook wedding and I couldn't have done it without them. The food was fantastic and just to die for!!
  • D
    Darlene P. Married on 08/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Pettit Melkonian Wedding

    Cannot say enough kind things for Skip, Rena, Maureen, and the River Stone Manor They made our daughter Rebecca's wedding the most fabulous event imaginable. Their attention to detail and pride in the facility showed thru in every aspect from prior to the ceremony in the manor house, the ceremony, to cocktails in the tent thru to the reception in their gorgeous ballroom. The food was exceptional. All our guests were so very complimentary. Even though we had planned on an outdoor ceremony, they had a plan with options which were as beautiful. Skip and Rena took care of every little thing we asked and even the things we did not ask for were covered with an effortless grace. The wait staff and bartender's were also exceptional. We could not have asked for more or been more pleased. We are forever grateful to River Stone Manor for making Rebecca and Mike's day a most enchantingly unforgettable event.

    River Stone Manor's reply:

    Darlene,
    Thank you for the kind words, we appreciate you taking the time to share them.
    It was such a pleasure working with you and serving your family and friends. We wish Rebecca and Mike the happiest happily ever after. Thank you for choosing River Stone Manor!
  • S
    Sydney Married on 07/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Wedding!!!

    My husband and I had looked at a lot of venues, but when we went to Riverstone we knew that is where we wanted to get married. Skip and Renea were wonderful to work with. They made everything seem so easy and every question we asked they were happy to answer!!! Our wedding was so beautiful and I could not have imagined a more beautiful place to get married. Thank you Renea and Skip for doing an amazing job at our wedding!!!!!!

    River Stone Manor's reply:

    Thank you for the kind review Sydney! It was an honor to be a part of your special day. Thank you for choosing River Stone Manor for your wedding ceremony and reception. We wish you and Matt a blessed and happy life as husband and wife!!
  • Elaine
    Elaine T. Married on 05/31/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolute best

    Stunning venue and awesome staff. They are absolutely fantastic and made my wedding day.
  • K
    Karen K. Married on 03/29/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue

    Skip and Samantha were very gracious. They worked hard to make our wedding day special. The entire staff was very accommodating to any request. The food was delicious and plentiful. The venue is beautiful.
  • H
    Holly Z. Married on 10/20/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best of everything!

    Hard to know where to start with complimenting River Stone Manor... We heard good things and read positive reviews, but nothing compared to actually hosting our wedding there to know how true it all was! Rena Gallup, venue coordinator, worked with us throughout the year including visiting the venue, emails and answering countless questions. We had sit-down meetings with both her and Skip (owner), who truly complement each other well. They listened to our vision and made it happen both aesthetically and logistically. Almost every guest commented on the food quality... one guest who works in the restaurant business said it was the best cocktail hour food he'd ever had (book the Terrace Tent for this if you can!), and many loved the unique, seasonal side dishes that came alongside the perfectly cooked meat. The River Stone staff literally couldn't have done anything to make our day any more perfect, and we are forever grateful to them!

    River Stone Manor's reply:

    Holly,
    Thank you for the kind words. We are so delighted that you were happy with everything. It was a pleasure working with you and such an honor to be a part of your special day. We wish you and AJ a happy and blessed life as husband and wife.
  • R
    Rachael Married on 10/07/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding!

    Rena, Skip and team were wonderful to work with and made planning a wedding easy and organized. They left no detail unnoticed and were very attentive during the wedding reception. All of our guests raved about the food and service. Saying that it was the most fun they've had at a wedding. Thank you!

    River Stone Manor's reply:

    Rachael and Andrew,
    It was such a privilege to be part of your special day! Thank you for choosing River Stone Manor.
  • User3619210 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely perfect wedding. From the bridal party getting ready in the manor house, to the ceremony by the water, on to the cocktail hour in the tent and finishing with the reception in the main dining hall. Beautiful - they made everything just perfect - everyone should be lucky enough to have this for their daughter.
  • A
    Ashley Married on 05/26/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    With our short time frame, River Stone Manor exceeded our expectations. The venue looked so beautiful and the owner was very accommodating. Our wedding went very smoothly and everything was amazing!
  • P
    Philip Married on 10/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The River Stone Manor is truly a hidden gem in the capital region. Some venues may be more popular or well known, and some will definitely charge you more to feel 'elite', but the River Stone Manor is a gorgeous venue with a fantastic staff, and is reasonably priced to boot. My wife and I were married there on October 21st, 2017, and the entire experience with River Stone was nothing short of perfection. Skip, Renee, and the entire staff were there every step of the way to support our wedding - both in the months leading to it as well as during the actual ceremony and reception. If you are planning to have your ceremony at the same venue as the reception, and want an outdoor ceremony, there is no better choice than River Stone. Book soon, before more people discover this hidden gem, and Skip finally realizes he can raise his prices. :)
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 10/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Having our wedding at the riverstone manor was by far the best decisions my husband and I made while planning our wedding. The planning and coordinating staff were super friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and this waterfront venue is perfect for any wedding theme or style!
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 10/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We could not be happier with the way our wedding turned out. Skip and Renee where fantastic to work with. I highly recommend getting married at Riverstone Manor. You wont regret it!
  • E
    Eileen Married on 10/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything at Riverstone Manor was perfect for our wedding. The food was fantastic and the staff is very professional. We would highly recommend this venue for a special event.
    Thank you
  • R
    Riley Married on 09/30/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you want a stress free, breathtaking ceremony and reception then Riverstone Manor is the place to go! We cannot say enough about Skip, Rena and Maureen. They take care of every little detail so you can fully enjoy your day. (We brought extra decorations, they put them out.) Everything was packed up promptly the next day. The ceremony started on time to the minute! Skip even managed to get a helicopter ride for us, complete with decorated golf cart next door at Octoberfest. We even enjoyed their fireworks! Nothing is too much for the Riverstone staff. Easy to work with, phenomenal food and a friendly and caring staff. We booked the manor house for pre wedding and the terrace tent for cocktail hour. Definitely the way to go! If you want as close to perfect as you can get, book them now!
    Riley & Hayden 9.30.2017
  • A
    Alexis Married on 08/26/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Skip, Rena, Maureen, and the entire team at River Stone Manor were absolutely amazing to work with and helped ensure a perfect wedding day for us! My bridesmaids and I got ready in the manor house, we had the ceremony on the lawn, the cocktail hour in the terrace tent, and the reception in the ballroom. Everything throughout the entire day ran extremely smoothly and just as planned due to the professionalism and diligence of the entire staff. The whole team was a pleasure to work with every step of the way in the planning process by offering their suggestions, accommodating all of our changes, and delivering everything above and beyond what we could have hoped for! The setting of this venue is gorgeous, the staff is beyond attentive, and the food was absolutely delicious - you can't go wrong here!
  • R
    Rachel Married on 08/25/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Skip and Renee were so wonderful throughout the planning process and the day of! Skip, the owner, helped us pick a menu that fit our budget and Renee was very responsive to all my emails and questions. The day of every staff member was friendly and smiling and Renee checked on us often at our sweetheart table which was so nice! They also helped us coordinate the sparkler send off. Beautiful grounds and patio during cocktail hour; the ballroom was beautiful with the full wall of windows facing the river. I can't wait to see all the pictures of the day!
  • L
    Lukas Married on 08/20/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Skip the owner and Rena the manager are wonderful people who will go out of their way to make sure that each event is unique and enjoyable. They made sure that my wife and I were able to enjoy our wedding reception, instead of being stressed about it. We would highly recommend The River Stone manor for all types of events. A+
  • M
    Meg Married on 08/19/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    A wedding at River Stone Manor was a phenomenal experience! Rena and Skip are professional, enthusiastic, and prepared to make sure your day goes according to plan. Wouldn't change a thing about our wedding!
  • R
    Christine Married on 08/18/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We visited River Stone manor on a recommendation from a friend. As soon as we saw the ceremony space and the outside terrace tent we fell in love. Thankfully when we looked at the costs it was in our budget as well! Meeting with Renee and Skip leading up to the wedding was very helpful. Renee really thought of every detail even when we didn't. Every step of the way we felt like the options were limitless and River Stone was willing to accommodate whatever we desired to make our wedding day perfect.
    River Stone's truly immaculate outside area allowed us to have our entire wedding, ceremony and reception, outside just as we had dreamed. The weather forecast called for a small chance of scattered showers. We discussed a whole contingency plan with River Stone the day before in the event we wanted to move the ceremony and/or the reception inside to the banquet hall. As luck would have it just as our ceremony was starting it began to rain. We still wanted to finish the ceremony outside even if it was lightly raining. Skip was quick to act passing out umbrellas to our guests who were already seated. He even walked beside the bride as she made her way down the aisle with an umbrella covering her. Despite the brief rain shower the ceremony went on and everything was very memorable and beautiful.
    The outside terrace tent looked amazing and thankfully it stopped raining shortly after we concluded the ceremony. With the sides to the tent removed letting the breeze and sun right into the reception area, everything looked and felt amazing, which was just what we wanted.
    Leading up to our wedding, anyone who we met that had been to River Stone before would always mention how great the food was. River Stone's excellent food reputation is well earned. Most guests had an entree of Grilled Salmon or Sliced Strip Steak. Guests raved about both in addition to the assortment of appetizers they enjoyed. Our wedding was amazing in large part due to River Stone's beauty and excellence.
  • N
    Nicole Married on 06/16/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had one amazing ceremony. working with skip and Rena was such a blessing. They always responded to me in a timely manor and answered all questions i had leading up to the big day. The view at the site of the ceremony is breathtaking. Then comes the reception. Wow!! what an amazing time. Everything went so smooth and was on time! the food was amazing. I would recommend this venue to anyone!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message