Skip to main content
Weddings

Reverend Deborah Young Reviews

Reverend Deborah Young

Reverend Deborah Young

San Diego, CA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 38 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
5.0 out of 5 rating
5.0 out of 5 rating
38 Reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

38
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • Alexander
    Alexander R. Sent on 05/17/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Deborah is a gem!

    Deborah simply did a fantastic job officiating our wedding. Great to work with and did a great job making our ceremony unique to us. We received so many comments from guests asking specifically about her and how the ceremony was so heartfelt. And stylish! She wore a robe that complimented our attire and our surroundings. Her oratory was clear and easy to understand over a mic. She just has a calm energy that radiates love and confidence that she knows what she's talking about. Very professional and she made it easy to decide what type of ceremony we wanted to have. She's got it down! We couldn't have asked for more. An excellent choice!
  • D
    Dominic D. Sent on 05/08/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    She is wonderful

    Deborah, our wedding officiant, was an absolute delight. Her professionalism was top-notch, and her voice was simply captivating. She effortlessly captured the essence of our love, making the ceremony feel incredibly natural and heartfelt. Deborah truly made our special day unforgettable.
  • E
    Emily F. Sent on 04/17/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Reverend Young

    Deborah was a pleasure to work with in developing our wedding. We wanted a quaint and personal experience and Deborah gave us that.
    She met with us personally and got to know us and who we are as individuals and how we see each other as a couple in order to create the best outcome !

    Thank you for being professional and detailed !
    Emily Feneis
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Jennie
    Jennie E. Sent on 06/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Deborah is delightful and goes the extra mile!

    Deborah is wonderful to work with, as I have on several occasions. I’m a photographer and am constantly impressed by her level of service, compassion and collaboration with her clients; really going the extra mile to make the day a success.

    Deborah has a gift of words, and she adds custom graceful elements to the ceremony. Her spiritual essence brings a calming and inspiring vibe to her weddings. Deborah is a delight!
  • Tsaetia
    Tsaetia Sent on 01/19/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A big contributor to our wedding success

    Deborah did an amazing job for our wedding being our officiant. This is such an important role that wedding couples can overlook. The detailed questionnaire she provide really help set the tone and context of what will be said during the wedding. Our friends and relatives came away knowing us more and and have a better understanding of our love for each other, making it a romantic experience. Her ability to use such information and to convey it up on the stage with her clear, soothing, lively and eloquent voice created the perfect wedding ambience and everyone was touched by it!
  • Alta
    Alta Sent on 06/13/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic ceremony

    Deborah wrote us a beautiful customized wedding ceremony and we really enjoyed having her officiate our wedding. She was a pleasure to work with and was a great speaker.
  • Marcos
    Marcos R. Sent on 10/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So nice we hired her twice!

    We had the pleasure of having Rev. Deborah Young as our officiant twice! She made our baby blessings extra special by caring about every detail and accommodating our overall vision for the event. We strongly recommend Rev. Young, hands down.

    Reverend Deborah Young's reply:

    Thank you Marcos for your kind words. It was a great pleasure to bless your adorable son and then five years later your precious daughter. Both Baby Blessings were at such a beautiful location and you and your wife are so charming.
  • C
    Christiane B. Sent on 02/17/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Deborah made our ceremony beautiful and perfect in every way!

    I can't sing enough praises for Deborah. She was extremely professional and experienced in her work. She took the time to go through everything in detail, from wedding vows to the ceremony tips and insights- she knows it all and is happy to pass on her expertise to make sure your day goes flawlessly. We had a small wedding with no rehearsal, but with Deborah’s guidance, it was beautiful and perfect in every way. She took control of the ceremony and made sure everyone was on the same page- from the groom, to the wedding party, to the coordinator. She kept reminding me it was my day and was happy to accommodate every detail of my vision.

    I personally hope other couples seek Deborah’s wisdom and care, she will truly make the day as special as it should be for a couple. Not only that, but the love and light she brings to the couple and the ceremony will make for an experience you will never forget.

    Our guests all agreed it was the most fun and elegant ceremony they’ve been to. We can’t thank you enough, Deborah!
  • Jordan
    Jordan B. Sent on 10/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Deborah is a gem!

    We love Deborah! She made our elopement so special and we would highly recommend her! After our initial phone call with her, we knew we wanted to move forward because of how she really cared about us and our story and how special she wanted to make our ceremony. My favorite thing she did for us, was to have my husband and I write the reasons why we loved each other and send to her separately. Then, during our ceremony, we got to read what we wrote to each other and it truly was the most special moment and one I will never forget. Deborah is a gem and the best at what she does!

    Reverend Deborah Young's reply:

    Thank you Jordan for your lovely review. You and Nate were such a joy and a great couple. It was a magical day at the cliffs and I wish you a fabulous lifetime of love.
  • M
    Monica Sent on 01/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Forest Elopement

    My partner and I decided to elope on the autumn of 2018 on a beautiful mountain in southern California. We wanted something small, intimate and meaningful, so picking our officiant was a very important part of the process. Though we spoke with a handful of officiants willing to make the hike with us, Reverend Deborah Young was the one who stood out the most. There was a sense of familiarity with her from the beginning. Talking with her about our love and relationship, and what our marriage meant to us, was very easy and reassuring.
    And as elopements usually go, some things are spontaneous and don't always go as planned. But we're grateful for Reverend Young who was so graceful and made it all better. Deborah was able to bring us back to center with her own grounded energy and wholesome words. We couldn't have imagined a better ceremony. Thank you!
    Ps; Rev. Young also has a beautiful sense of style!
  • D
    Diane Sent on 09/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding was yesterday 9/21/18 IF YOU WANT THE BEST OFFICIANT YOU NEED TO HIRE DEBORAH. So many people in the audience got emotional by the way she explained our "Life Story" that started 10 years ago. The biggest compliment was from Dr. Dave Irwin DMD (age 75) and his wife who said " We have been to Many weddings in our lifetime and this the most fantastic and memorable experience we will never forget" Congratulations! Deborah was wonderful the way she performed the ceremony UNFORGETTABLE had us crying the way she performed it. Pieter and I Diane profusely thanked Deborah the ultimate professional WE SAY EVERYTHING SHE SAID AND DID FOR US WAS A TOTAL 10 If you want the best PLease look for Deborah.
  • C
    Carolyn Sent on 07/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deborah is a wonderful officiant who has an elegant voice and a calm and pleasant demeanor. Leading up to our wedding she worked with my husband and me to ensure our ceremony was tailored to us. She cared about the details, like matching her outfit to our wedding color scheme and having us fill out a ceremony questionnaire so that she could speak knowledgeably about our relationship. The more genuine and thoughtful answers you give, the better Deborah is able to craft a warm, personal, and meaningful ceremony.

    We were very pleased with Deborah’s services and think she did a fantastic job. My Dad was especially impressed with what Deborah had to say about love and partnership and even cut his welcome speech short noting that Deborah had already touched upon some of his most important points during the wedding ceremony.
  • D
    Dolores Sent on 07/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you are looking for the BEST wedding officiant, Deborah is it! She is beyond amazing! I had booked my wedding from PA to California and she married us at Paradise Point Resort in San Diego. We met with her a few months before the wedding and she was so easy to connect with and made sure the day was perfect.

    My husband and I would give her more than 5 starts if it was possible here on the knot website. At the ceremony, she was very heartfelt and it felt like she had known us for years as a couple. Every word and emotion from her to us and our guests was perfect. We received multiple compliments from her as our officiant and also have a lovely picture with her to remember. We got married on June 9, 2018 and as the bride, I seriously thank you Deborah for doing an amazing job! I have watched our wedding video many times since with Justin and still end up in tears and laughs of course. The best part was when Deborah had my husband propose to me again in front of everyone-and yes we loved it. The point was that we had checked into Paradise Point Resort (a year before when Justin was getting ready to propose) and Justin wanted to propose to me there at Paradise Point Resort, but our room wasn't ready to check in to. So Justin drove me down to Del Mar beach and proposed. We didn't know Deborah was going to do that and WE LOVED IT and so did the GUESTS!! I almost cried but it was so hard holding some tears back-was teary eyed and full of smiles and giggles.

    So if you are looking for the best officiant, go with Deborah Young. She will make your wedding day as you imagined: beautiful, unforgettable memories of the best day of your life. I wish I could relive the ceremony all over again (Ive told my husband this too)

    Thank you Deborah for everything!!

    ~Del and Justin
  • A
    Ashleigh Sent on 07/02/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deborah Young is beyond amazing! The ceremony was very intimate for Chris and I and also very entertaining for our guests. Our family and friends said it was the best ceremony! Deborah spent time getting to know Chris and I. She put us at ease with the process of writing our vows and planning our ceremony. She cared about the details and came beautifully dressed with an aquamarine scarf to match my bridesmaids. We had family members traveling from out of state and Deborah acknowledged how special it was for Chris and I to have them join us to celebrate. Also she organized a special rose ceremony for our mothers and my godmother. They were touched. She truly made everyone feel a part of our amazing day. I am so thankful for Deborah Young.
  • P
    Philippe Sent on 10/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deborah is very helpful. We really enjoyed having her as our officiant. Deborah made our wedding feel so special. Her voice is very calming and warm. Thank you Deborah! Please consider having her as your officiant.
  • K
    Kay Sent on 01/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deborah was amazing!! We had a non-traditional wedding and she was so accommodating and made the ceremony so very special! I had several guests come up to me and say that it was the best ceremony that they have ever been to! I cannot thank Deborah enough!!

    Reverend Deborah Young's reply:

    Thanks so much for the review that is so kind of you, I really appreciate it. When I saw you standing there looking magnificent in your fabulous red wedding dress, it was a beautiful sight to behold. I loved how you were so creative in everything about your ceremony, the music choices, all the outfits, the nightime setting, it presented a a unique and perfect wedding that was a treat for everyone.

  • D
    Deartis Sent on 07/19/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Reverend Deborah Young officiated our marriage vows renewal on our 16.5 wedding anniversary at Sunset Cliffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The ceremony was EXCELLENT. This was a total surprise for my wife and Reverend Young assisted marvelously in helping me make this a spectacular shocking splendid surprise for my sweetie. The care, concern, and creativity Reverend Young put in preparing and performing this experience was nothing less than loving. I emphatically recommend her for any endeavor in which a positive spirit of love, nature, and God is desired to create a pique experience that will endure a lifetime. I am so thankful that I found her on such short notice where there was no shortage of professionalism. Reverend Young was completely considerate of our renewal ceremony and I am confident she would exercise that level of considerate compassion for anyone imploring her services.
  • M
    Monica Sent on 07/17/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deborah Young is so sweet, knowledgeable, and professional! She was everything I wanted in an officiant, which was someone who can share with the audience the idea of love and marriage in a way that brings about emotions from the crowd.. My guests even came up to me telling me what a wonderful job she did and how it was nice of her to blend in with the wedding by wearing my wedding theme color. Deborah took the time to get to know me and my husband. Her response to email/phone calls is very prompt. I highly recommend Deborah Young, and I hope to use her again in the future!
  • L
    Lupe Sent on 06/09/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deborah literally made our wedding a success! My husband and I were looking to have an intimate wedding but were having trouble finding the location to make it special. We found Deborah online, called the number and it became immediately evident that she was the right pick for us. At the end of the phone call, my husband and I felt completely relieved that we had found Deborah and were confident that our ceremony was going to be amazing. The day of, Deborah performed the ceremony at a level that exceeded our expectation. She found the perfect location and her spirit made the ceremony beautiful. I would recommend her to everyone! She even matched her outfit with my bouquet! The most impressive thing about her was her genuine care - I sincerely felt that she cared about making my husband and I happy- that's priceless.
  • L
    Lori Sent on 02/16/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deborah officiated over our last minute elopement. The "pre-paperwork" she sent over was very helpful in making our ceremony personal, yet not having the stress of having to do it all. The flexible structure suited our needs perfectly. She took the time to get to know "our story" and was then able to make the our nuptials individualized and authentic. Her sincerity was palpable which brought richness to our event. Thank you Deborah! I would highly recommend her!
  • M
    Michael Sent on 12/27/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Make the call and at least meet with her. If you are looking for a more spiritual, custom ceremony experience. Deborah listens and is invested in making it a perfect day.
  • S
    Stephanie Sent on 12/22/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deborah is all about making things personal. She truly puts in so much effort to know you and your story. I had many people comment on how special, unique, and personal our ceremony was. I'm so glad that we went with an officiant who understood and respected what we wanted in a ceremony.
  • J
    John Sent on 07/08/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you want a personal service that is catered to you personally, then go with Deborah. She was fantastic most all our guests commented on her ceremony. They all laughed, cried and smiled. Professional yet fun and dressed well, classic and appropriately. We loved her as did all guests
  • Brian
    Brian Sent on 01/23/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Book Deborah if you want the best wedding ceremony anyone has ever heard or experienced. Deborah made it clear from the first moment that every couple is unique and she made our ceremony match us as a couple. One of her first questions is how we pictured our wedding day. We are a couple that loves to laugh and said we wanted a wedding mullet, business in the front party in the back.

    The Reverend chuckled and then went with it to provide a ceremony that women cried over and had guys saying they loved every minute of it. Deborah wrote some beautiful words for us and incorporated things about us she had just picked up from conversation. Deborah speaks so eloquently, puts on a wedding event people will talk about long after and make you the center of attention. She also adds a special touch to make the ceremony yours; for us, it was laughter and Jack and Coke. . .I'll let Deborah explain.
  • A
    Anh Sent on 09/10/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved working with Reverend Deborah in creating a special ceremony for our wedding day. The process started out with a casual meeting and questionnaires that prompted us to talk about our relationship, our love, bond, and how we wanted to share our love story to our family and friends on the day of the wedding. She gave us the idea of a wedding ceremony box filled with memorabilia and letters to each other on our wedding day and letters we are supposed to open at various times in our marriage. I felt really comfortable working with Deborah, she was always professional, and she worked diligently on her creativity for the ceremony. She had a lot of tips and recommendations that I found very helpful to make the ceremony beautiful. She can easily be reached by phone, email, or in person. It's coming up 1 year for our wedding anniversary. I still remember how beautiful the ceremony was and how our guest gave us feedback some of their favorite moments of us.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message