Rev. Mary Calhoun Reviews

21 | Seattle, WA
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for Rev. Mary Calhoun

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

21

1 User photo

Order by:
  • M

    Mallory · Married on 04/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After meeting with Mary for the first time we were hooked. What more could you want from an officiant than someone who not only takes the time to get to know you as individuals and as a couple, but also wants to know more about your wedding party and family?! She helped us form the most beautiful and heartfelt ceremony; she provides you with a wonderful guide but also lets you make it as personal as you'd like. We don't believe we would have had as personal of a ceremony if we wouldn't have chosen Mary to be our officiant. You are making the right choice by hiring her!

    Sent on 11/11/2017
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So many guests approached me at the wedding ooing and awing over how wonderful and intimate our wedding ceremony was. I couldn't agree more. Everyone had tears and laughter from happiness and everyone said it was because she hit the nail on the head when describing us. I was told by many that they had never been to a ceremony that was so true to the couple. Again, I couldn't agree more.

    I didn't think I cared much about the ceremony before the wedding... But wow. I'm still in awe over how beautiful it all was. So many classy touches Mary had that I would have never thought about (and I'm a researching bride).

    We originally asked a dear friend to be our officiant and there was unfortunately a conflict and he was unable to make it. While I love our friend to death and wish hopelessly he could have been at our wedding, I am so happy that we ended up going with Mary. I have to admit that when I heard Mary's price, I was surprised (we were originally having a friend do it, remember)... But we already decided that we really liked her and I figured that since we wanted to have all top-notch wedding vendors, it made sense that we would pay a pretty penny.

    By the end, you'll feel like Mary is a good family friend. My dear husband does NOT believe that he would feel that way in the beginning and hates meeting knew people... and he even ADORES her now. Your guests will feel like she is a family friend as well.

    So happy we met Mary and so happy she performed our ceremony.

    Sent on 07/08/2016
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If 10 stars were possible that's what I would give Mary! Mary is a pleasure to work with, my husband and I felt honored to have her marry us. She helped to make a tailored ceremony to us. She was always so calm, cool and collected which helped to ease any stress we were feeling. I feel that she went above and beyond what most reverends do. I am sure not all brides can say that their reverend had them over for dinner and cooked them the best pasta dinner they had ever eaten! Mary is truly an amazing person and will always hold a special place in both mine and my husband's heart!

    Sent on 11/01/2015
  • Mark

    Mark · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When presented with a list of esteemed officiants from our unflappable wedding coordinator BreeAnn (Pink Blossom Events), my wife immediately chose Mary. While it was a mystery to me in the moment, upon meeting with Mary we found ourselves helpless in her tractor beam. The rays of compassion, care, sincerity, and knowledge for her craft was not only apparent in her presentation, but in the book she authored and presented to us, The Distinctive Wedding Ceremony. Not only did Mary guide us through the wedding/officiant process, but we felt so comfortable we decided to spend more time with Mary in support through counseling sessions to enrich our own relationship. We wanted Mary to know us through and through, and we found ourselves wondering why we had a Mary sized hole in our life previously. We have quickly grown to miss Mary and crave seeing her for check-ups, pointers, tools, advice, and as a sounding board for our developing interactions as a marital team; a wise mirror of sorts to help guide and redirect us, if need be. We have found not only an officiant who guided us through the marriage ceremony - the verbal contract and proclamation of love, but someone who is also guiding us to love each other through life’s most diverse challenges day in and day out.

    The mechanics of Mary’s role in our wedding varied. She orchestrated the wedding rehearsal and a specially crafted and unique ceremony we had for our daughter. I could not have dreamed of having a more intimate, customized, and special sentiment crafted for our wedding than what Mary provided. Her participation was so integral and professional that it permeated through the rest of the event, and we will forever have fond memories of that day. Mary’s ongoing role in our lives is that much more special, as the woman who married us is also helping us grow together.

    Sent on 11/20/2015
  • K

    Kari · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mary is the sweetest and very sincere person. She is very sensitive to our family situation and provides great advice that's beyond her services. She officiated our ceremony beautifully, and afterwards, several of our guests have approached us and inquired about her.

    Mary also taken it into her hands in orchestrating our rehearsal, and this is probably the smoothest rehearsal I've every been to (and am I glad that it's my own :) ). She's able to get all of our wedding party engaged and focused to their tasks, while keeping the rehearsal fun and to the point. She even drew out a very nice seating and processional chart for us. What more can you ask?! IT was amazing!

    We really cannot thank her enough for all the wonderful things she has done for us, and the wonderful words she has given us during our wedding. Give Mary a call, you won't regret it!

    Sent on 08/02/2015
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 02/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had been investigating officiants and had seen Rev. Mary. Then, she was recommended to me as an option by my wedding planner. We really enjoyed our first meeting. She made dinner for us while we talked through everything. Our ceremony was perfect. The right amount of spirituality that was fitting for all in attendance. What a blessing she has been for us. Thank you!!

    Sent on 12/21/2015
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 06/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I call her a woman with a big heart. She was very kind, professional and so great. Friends and family loved how she made our ceremony fun and memorable. We absolutely adore her. I couldn't help but to admire and love this woman. On the day of our wedding, I was shaking so badly because of excitement and nervousness (mind you, I think its always the case for first time brides). Ms. Mary went to my dressing room and Oh la she gave me a foot massage! She calmed me down and assured me that everything will be alright. Despite that we have no much time to prepare for rehearsal because of some issues my husband and I ran into she made everything seamless. We received a lot of praises how good she was. Was asked how we found her and of course we pride of finding her through Loren Callahan of Alante Photography. She will forever be treasured and will definitely have her renew our vows. Thank you Rev. Mary! You did a great job worth remembering!!

    Sent on 10/02/2013
  • J

    Jill · Married on 03/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just LOVED working with Mary. The most important thing for our wedding was the personalization and customization of our ceremony. Mary's experience and expertise was extraordinary, but what made her unique was her ability to receive responses from our guests such as "the best and most special wedding ceremony I've ever been to." Some of our single guests said..."this is exactly the wedding I want when I get married." Mary was wonderful and helped make our day perfect!!!

    Sent on 09/30/2013
  • Dawn

    Dawn · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Reverend Mary is truly an amazing woman! We were so blessed to have found her to perform our wedding ceremony. From the first phone call to our wedding, she was extremely upbeat and organized. She made sure that we were on track to have all the elements of our dream wedding in place. When you invite Reverend Mary into your wedding ensemble, you have made a friend for a lifetime. She gave us a book of many options for each part of the wedding ceremony. My partner and I took the time to read through them all and create the perfect wedding verses that fit our relationship. We also got to include a part of the ceremony with our kids, bonding our new family together in front of our friends and family. I love how on task she is and how she took the reins when it came to planning for our wedding, even our rehearsal. She made her expectations known so we knew exactly where to go and when. She worked extremely well with our wedding coordinator and other vendors, which helped in the wedding going on flawlessly. Thank you Reverend Mary for giving us the ceremony of our dreams!!!

    Sent on 08/13/2012
  • C

    Celine · Married on 02/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't even know where to begin. I had my wedding this past Saturday, and Rev. Mary was beyond amazing.
    Between my husband and I, we have many complications in our families (parents that are divorces with new spouses, etc). Mary made the process for our 200 person wedding SEAMLESS and absolutely beautiful.
    She helped facilitate the entire process, beginning when we first met with her 6 months ago. Her expertise provided so many helpful hints on making sure that everything went smoothly and that my husband and I were able to focus on the real reason that we were there, our commitment and love. I HIGHLY recommend Rev. Mary Calhoun... we could not have gotten through it without her.

    Sent on 02/14/2012
  • E

    Eva · Married on 01/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I feel bad that I'm just getting to this now, but the honeymoon and newlywed life has kept us busy!
    Mary was our wedding officiant for our small ceremony on New Years Day. I couldn't agree more with these reviews... she was so loving, warm, funny, welcoming, and professional. Her message was beautiful and she has already been hired for my sister's wedding and my childhood best friends. What a special person!!!!

    Sent on 02/14/2012
  • A

    Alexia · Married on 11/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had previously been really nervous/intimidated about having a public ceremony, but thanks to Rev. Mary that really melted away - we ended up really loving our wedding ceremony. It was touching, personal, funny, different, lighthearted and fun - which is exactly what we wanted, and it felt very true to who we are. We got a ton of compliments from family and wedding guests and everyone really seemed to enjoy the ceremony, which we loved. Rev. Mary helped run our rehearsal too, which I thought really helped calm some nerves and gave us a taste of what to expect. I have nothing but good things to say about her and I recommend her whenever I can!

    Sent on 09/05/2012
  • User2624393 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Calhoun contributed greatly to making our wedding day the most joyful experience of our lives. She was professional, reliable, and nurturing. During the ceremony planning process she was the steady, calming influence who helped us to reflect on our relationship, explore how we wanted to symbolize our love, and plan for our future together. We will be forever grateful for Mary's warm, supportive, and spiritual presence at the commencement of our marriage.

    Sent on 08/28/2012
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 03/25/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Mary made our wedding planning process and teh day of the ceremony really wonderful.
    First, she invited us into her home for a gourmet home cooked meal and from the moment we sat down at her table we felt like we were old friends. She immediately helped take all the wedding pressure and jitters away, and we were able to really focus on making our day special and unique to us. Her event planning background really showed, as she sent us several amazing recommendations for vendors who we also ended up hiring. She was so organized and knowledgeable through the process, and the ceremony that she created specifically for us was BEAUTIFUL. I am grateful to have had her as our officiant and happy to now call her a friend.

    Sent on 04/24/2011
  • K

    Karen · Married on 03/18/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Reverand Mary was a wonderful officiant! She had a geat planning package that helped you effortlessly plan your servce, she invites you over to her house and makes you dinner to discuss the details of your event, and she is a truly kind and caring person. Even though we had only met a few times before the event, she was able to conduct the ceremony with genuine feeling and warmth, it really made the service special. Thank you Mary!

    Sent on 04/20/2011
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 01/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mary was an amazing person to work with. No wonder she was voted "Best Of" in Seattle Bride Magazine. She made our ceremonies personal AND perfect!

    Sent on 04/20/2011
  • L

    Linda · Married on 12/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Mary was gracious, supportive, organized and such great fun. She took time to get to know us and our families. Great advice on all matters and we loved our date night at her house and YUMMY dinner. Money is well spent here. She kept us focused on each other and not the craziness. It was the ideal ceremony created just for us - everyone said so! Can't wait to do our vow renewals in a few years. Rev. Mary we want you in our life forever! One of my bridesmaids has already called her for her wedding next summer.

    Sent on 04/20/2011
  • A

    Andi · Married on 11/13/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She was the BEST! Rev. Mary spoiled us with her attention to detail, her
    ability to interact with the other vendors, she drew diagrams in Photoshop and the DJ loved it - so did our event planner. My husband keeps emailing her photos of the honeymoon. Don't think about it, just call her!!!!

    Sent on 04/20/2011
  • J

    Jt · Married on 09/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were lucky enough to have friends who had personal experience with Reverend Mary and highly recommended her. They had nothing but good things to say and they were right! Looking back I have no idea how we could have gotten through this process with out her!

    Reverend Mary invited us into her home and treated us to wonderful home-cooked meals while she took the time to get to know our story, our values, and our hopes for our ceremony. I was very stressed from all the planning and organizing, but after I left our meeting, I felt so much weight lifted off my shoulders. Mary put us at ease with her confidence and compassion, and helped us to remember that we were planning for a wonderful, joyful event.

    Based on our meetings Mary suggested some readings and crafted a detailed wedding book that was simply perfect for us. There were some key things that were important for me to be included, or not, in the ceremony, and her ideas were just right.

    The day of the ceremony, Reverend Mary helped me to stay calm and did an amazing job of keeping our families civil. We had SO many compliments on the ceremony, many of which were specifically about Mary and what a good choice she was!

    Getting Reverend Mary to perform our ceremony was one of the best wedding decisions that we made and we can't thank her enough for her amazing, positive influence on our marriage.

    Sent on 08/28/2012
  • A

    Abigail · Married on 08/09/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She was so organized and wonderful! The women knew what she was doing! She was great. She has beautiful prayers for us to choose from and just had everything under control. I love her!

    Sent on 01/24/2009
  • A

    Alicia · Married on 08/28/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    provided amazingly unique and personal ceremony that was special for all who attended.

    Sent on 10/04/2011