Rev. Julia Jarvis Reviews

47 | Takoma Park, MD
See photos, pricing and details

47 Reviews for Rev. Julia Jarvis

Recommended by 99%

47
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You will not be disappointed! Julia is fabulous! From the first time we spoke to her, we knew she'd be perfect for our intimate ceremony in our home. All of our guests loved the ceremony!

  • J

    Jane · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia made our wedding ceremony so memorable and special! I couldn't have asked for a more perfect ceremony! She is extremely caring and attentive and was focused on crafting a ceremony that mirrored our vision. I was most happy with how she was able to incorporate our multi-faith backgrounds into a fluid, cohesive, and beautiful ceremony. Julia was very prompt and responsive to all our inquiries. Overall, we were extremely happy with her services.

    Sent on 01/20/2017

    Rev. Julia Jarvis's reply:

    Thank you so much Jane. Hope you both are very well. Many many years of bliss!
  • B

    Brian · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia was absolutely amazing, from the very first time we talked to her my wife and I had an overwhelming sense of comfort with Julia conducting our ceremony. In our subsequent meetings she took the time to get to know us as a couple and really took an interest in who we are as people and wanted to give us a great foundation to make sure we have a strong lasting marriage. As an interfaith couple we were really looking for someone who could respect both of our beliefs and integrate them into a personable ceremony that fit our personalities. Julia performed our ceremony flawlessly and provided both great intuition but also tremendous support to Angie and I. She was a pleasure to work with and we couldn't have asked for anyone better! I would recommend her to anyone and everyone who is looking for an amazing officiant for their wedding.

  • C

    Colin · Married on 08/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia made our special day so easy and so beautiful. She had great insight into the process, and her experience helped us shape the perfect ceremony for us. She was always available to consult and responded to questions almost immediately. We were so happy with our time with Julia, and so happy with the beautiful ceremony she gave us.

  • E

    Emily · Married on 05/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia gave us the most magical wedding ceremony we could have asked for! She was so flexible with the plan for the ceremony and even went above and beyond to offer us more than what we asked for. Julia was very timely as well as professional but she also cared enough to really value our relationship moving forward. Our wedding ceremony brought all the guests to tears and it wouldn't have been the same with her!

  • User5457023 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia was wonderful and made our wedding day perfect. She is so kind and understanding and put everyone at ease. During the ceremony both the groom and I were quite nervous and she made us calm in a matter of seconds. I would recommend her to anyone!

  • R

    Ryan · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Me and my wife loved Julia and we opted to have the pre marital counseling and are extremely happy we did. She was amazing at listening and really adding insightfulness which helped us better understand where the other was coming from. I would highly highly recommend Julia.
    Day of she was very calming and professional and did and amazing job. You can tell she really cares and puts her all into it and made our day special.

  • User5340710 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We feel so lucky that we came across Julia in our search for an ordained minister that was willing to give us a non-religious ceremony. Julia was so respectfully of our wants and our beliefs and listened to what we wanted incorporated into our ceremony. Throughout our wedding prep we skyped with her a couple of times and met with her in person, which helped her to get to know us and who we are as a couple. These meetings were all her suggestion and we see now how important they were to personalize our ceremony. We looked forward to these conversations as she is always so friendly and easy to talk to. During our wedding ceremony she gave us a gift that we'll cherish and which meant so much to us; it was just one of the ways in which Julia makes your ceremony special. Lastly, she saved the day by going out of her way to borrow a microphone and speaker the day before our ceremony as we hadn't thought about the need for one in our ceremony space.

  • User5323453 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We feel so lucky that we came across Julia in our search for an ordained minister that was willing to give us a non-religious ceremony. Julia was so respectfully of our wants and our beliefs and listened to what we wanted incorporated into our ceremony. Throughout our wedding prep we skyped with her a couple of times and met with her in person, which helped her to get to know us and who we are as a couple. These meetings were all her suggestion and we see now how important they were to personalize our ceremony. We looked forward to these conversations as she is always so friendly and easy to talk to. During our wedding ceremony she gave us a gift that we'll cherish and which meant so much to us; it was just one of the ways in which Julia makes your ceremony special. Lastly, she saved the day by going out of her way to borrow a microphone and speaker the day before our ceremony as we hadn't thought about the need for one in our ceremony space.

  • J

    Justin · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia was a joy to officiate at our wedding. She was courteous, friendly, and professional at all times. She helped us mold the ceremony to our unique personalities and was sensitive to our preferences. We would definitely recommend Julia to officiate at weddings and other ceremonies.

  • M

    Miranda · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want a wedding officiant who is open, compassionate and attentive, then I have to recommend Rev. Jarvis. She is very easy to work with and will help take all the stress out of your ceremony. My husband and I were totally clueless about how to form our ceremony, and she met with us and gave us tons of suggestions and advice and helped us to craft the perfect experience for our wedding. Give Rev. Jarvis a call, you won't regret it.

  • T

    Tanya · Married on 05/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev Jarvis was everything in an officiant that we wanted for our special day. She provided guidance, recommendations, and templates to assist us in our planning. Her leadership and presence the day of the ceremony was genuine and heartfelt. She personalized our ceremony for us -- it didn't feel scripted or rehearsed. We feel and felt connected to Rev Jarvis and fell grateful to have had her oversee our wedding. We give her 10 stars!

  • User4619425 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We came to Rev. Julia to plan our interfaith wedding ceremony and to receive interfaith marriage counseling. Our experience with her was fun, rewarding and very special. The counseling sessions are a wonderful way to pause and spend time together during your engagement, and she has extensive experience with interfaith families. With Rev. Julia, we easily created a memorable wedding ceremony honoring both our Jewish and Catholic traditions. During the cocktail hour, guests were raving about how unique and special our ceremony was, and how they took away pieces of it to apply in their own marriages. We highly recommend Julia to other couples. Getting to know her was a pleasure and we will be forever grateful for our unforgettable wedding ceremony.

  • J

    Julie · Married on 11/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I recently had the opportunity to work with Rev. Julia Jarvis for our wedding ceremony and we could not have been happier; she was perfect! We had an intimate wedding that included Julia and a photographer … no guests, just my husband and myself. You never would have guessed that, though, working with Julia. She treated us like every other couple; we worked together to create a ceremony, Skyped to discuss the details, and had a lovely time on our wedding day.

    Julia is professional, responsive, personable, creative, and on time. She'll make adjustments during your ceremony too, if necessary. Our wedding was held at a vineyard and the vineyard cat attacked my dress. Julia immediately took care of it and picked up the cat and put him inside the tasting room.

    I highly recommend Julia. She will exceed all of your expectations.

    Sent on 12/06/2014

    Rev. Julia Jarvis's reply:

    Thank you Julie! What a great time with that cat and you all. Hope your honeymoon was wonderful and that you all enjoy deep joy and growing love for many years to come.!
  • Yunyoung · Married on 10/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    At our first meeting with Rev. Julia Jarvis, she instantly put us at ease and we felt the warmth she exuded. It was clear from the start she was vested in our relationship and wanted to get to know us as a couple. Both of us felt very comfortable with her and asked her to be our officiant. We met with her for a few sessions before our ceremony which helped us tremendously in learning how to better communicate with each other. Other than a couple of scheduling mix-ups, she was always very responsive. She arrived early for both our rehearsal and ceremony. Our ceremony went beautifully and couldn't have imagined any other than having Rev. Julia be there to celebrate our day with us.

    Sent on 12/31/2014

    Rev. Julia Jarvis's reply:

    Hi Yunyoung and Josh! How are you? How was the honeymoon. Thanks so much for the generous tip I got in the mail the other day! Please know I'm always here for you and I do baby ceremonies too. :)
  • L

    Lesli · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia made our day very special. From day one she was very helpful and knowledgeable. Julia was always very professional and responded to all of our questions. The day of the wedding, she arrived early and even had a chat with me prior to the ceremony. The weather on our big day actually turned out to be interesting. It became very cold and windy and our ceremony was planned to be outside. Julia did a wonderful job performing our ceremony and even helped us out by making it short and sweet, like we wanted :-). THANK YOU Julia for making our day very special! We look forward to renewing our vows and having YOU there with us :-)

    Sent on 11/23/2014

    Rev. Julia Jarvis's reply:

    This was an extraordinary wedding. The families were so supportive even with the cold weather. I so love this couple and their love for each other no matter what.
  • M

    Michael · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We saw Julia at a friends daughters wedding and said we had to try and get her for ours. We were thrilled when she was able to do it and make our wedding special, memorable, and just they way we had envisioned it.

    I highly recommend Julia as she was very creative, gave us options to work with, let us add / remove things that we wanted and did such a fantastic job that we will use her again!

  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We found Julia through one of our recently married friends' officiants, and are so glad that we did! We got to know her over the course of several months because we also chose to do premarital counseling with her (which was also great), but we have no doubt that she would put you at ease during your ceremony regardless of whether you chose to do any counseling beforehand. Every guest we spoke with after the ceremony said it was the most meaningful ceremony they had attended, and that they appreciated Julia's ability to lighten the mood and ease any nerves and tension as soon as the ceremony began (which we, of course, also greatly appreciated!). The materials Julia gave us to assist us with planning the content of the ceremony were also very helpful, and we really appreciated her openness to our more traditional requests. Thank you again, Julia!!

  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia met with us a year before our wedding and we knew right away that she was the perfect officiant. Her involvement in the Interfaith Family Project really helped us create a ceremony that blended our two religions. Additionally, her counseling sessions were invaluable and really helped us both to prepare for hte big day. The day of the wedding, Julia was organized and led a truly wonderful ceremony. Our guests could not stop raving about how fantastic she was. "Where did you find her? She is just amazing!" is an exclamation we heard again and again, and we couldn't agree more.

  • S

    Samantha · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We laughed! We cried! How fortunate for us that Reverend Julia was available to officiate our wedding this summer. She brought warmth and humor to our ceremony that made it the most comfortable, joyous, and memorable celebration we could have hoped for. My husband and I consider ourselves as more spiritual than religious and Reverend Julia took the time to get to know us enough so that she could tailor the ceremony to match our beliefs. We had a phone interview with her first and then met her for an office appointment. She also attended our rehearsal the evening before our wedding. We truly got the sense that she cared about making our wedding ceremony special in a way that meant the most to us. We heard numerous compliments from our guests about the service and we had a wonderful time.

    Reverend Julia was also extremely helpful in straightening out a paperwork issue when the Arlington Courthouse lost our signed marriage certificate after the wedding. She seems to genuinely enjoy her job and care about the people she helps. We highly recommend her services.

  • C

    Christina · Married on 06/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Julia Jarvis was wonderful to work with. She let us have alot of input in our ceremony so that it really felt personal. She added personal touches to the ceremony that were truly inspiring and, at times, quite funny. Afterwards many of my guests came up to me to say how beautiful the ceremony was. I highly recommend Julia to any couple looking for a unique/personal ceremony.

  • M

    Mike · Married on 05/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Reverend Julia officiated our wedding and did several sessions of pre-marital counseling. The counseling was tremendously helpful, and she conducted just the sort of ceremony we wanted. We especially appreciated Rev. Julia's officiation of our ceremony - it was moving, witty, and light-hearted all at the same time. We couldn't have been more pleased!

  • Jess

    Jess · Married on 04/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We first met with Rev. Julia Jarvis two months prior to our wedding. We had already met with one other officiant but, we didn't feel a connection. Julia was warm and engaging during our meeting. She immediately made us feel at ease and really helped guide us through creating a ceremony that felt like "us." On the day of the wedding, Julia added personal touches to the ceremony which made the day that much more special. Many of our guests walked up to us after the ceremony to say what a beautiful job Julia had done. We would HIGHLY recommend Julia to any couple looking for an unforgettable ceremony!

  • M

    Mark · Married on 04/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia was a delight to work with as we were planning our wedding. Like many other folks who get married, we had not done it before and needed assistance in shaping and composing the ceremony, choosing relevant readings, and preparing for the day. She was a constant source of positivity and really worked to understand us as a couple. She had no small part in contributing to a very special wedding day, and I would certainly recommend her to any prospective couples.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review