Rev. James Hary Reviews

54 | Strongsville, OH
See photos, pricing and details

54 Reviews for Rev. James Hary

Recommended by 100%

54
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
54 Rev. James Hary Reviews
Sort by:
  • C

    C. Reape-Weiskittel · Married on 11/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great day, no matter what happens.

    We planned this day, outside. It was 23 degrees, and still turned out perfect. Thank you Rev. James Hary

    Sent on 11/10/2018

    Rev. James Hary's reply:

    Your love triumphed over the weather. I wish many years of happiness and warmth to both of you and again I thank you for having had me perform your ceremony. You're a great couple! Rev. Hary
  • T

    Theresa · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. James Hary did a beautiful job performing our wedding ceremony! We wanted a short and sweet christian ceremony, and that is exactly what he gave us! We will definitely recommend him to others!

  • Vicky

    Vicky · Married on 02/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We researched several officiants until we decided on Rev. Hary. What made us choose him was: 1. He is a real minister, not somebody pretending with internet credentials. 2. He was very understanding as to how we wanted our ceremony and spent ample time talking with us about it. 3. His fee was on target. Our wedding was conducted with joy, professionalism, and came across with true sincerity. Rev. Hary performed a great wedding service for us and so we give our highest recommendations.

  • J

    julie · Married on 12/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Hary did a wonderful job with our wedding. He was willing to come to our rehearsal to practice with us. We had a large group and he coordinated everyone well. He did a beautiful job of incorporating religion into our non-church wedding. We were very pleased with his services.

  • T

    Tammy · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev Hary did a great job, we were very satisfied with his services!

  • Blake

    Blake · Married on 04/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding day was beautiful and Rev. Hary helped to make it the best day of our lives. His ceremony was moving, special and just all around enjoyable. He was an eloquent speaker and a great coach that fully prepared us. He had an amazing demeanor and a friendliness that made us feel at ease and like we had known him for years. All our guests said how much they liked the ceremony he did. Yes, HIGHLY recommend him!

    Sent on 04/18/2017

    Rev. James Hary's reply:

    I was honored to have done your wedding ceremony and enjoyed every minute of the reception. Thank-you for having me! Congratulations again and may you have many years of love and happiness.
  • Mitch

    Mitch · Married on 04/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loni and I aren't overly religious, but we believe in God and didn't want an internet ordained pretender from some fairyland website. We contacted officiant after officiant and they either had an internet ordination, avoided a direct answer with saying "don't worry I'm licensed", or changed the subject by pointing to their reviews or offered to beat any price. We noticed that Rev. Hary was the only one with a photo inside or outside a church so we contacted him. We found that he was a genuine minister who had pastored a church and proved it to us. As far as how he did our rehearsal and wedding; he was great! The words he used touched us and our guests profoundly. His fee was reasonable and well worth it. If you want a real minister and a real good wedding, he's the best!

    Sent on 05/31/2017

    Rev. James Hary's reply:

    I'm happy that you were happy with me. I always do my best to try to please everyone. Quite the coincidence that there were 2 other couples at your wedding that I had married previously! Again, my thanks and best wishes...Rev. James Hary
  • Gwen

    Gwen · Married on 04/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. James Hary was extremely nice and easy to work with. He took the time to get to know us as a couple and how we wanted our wedding. His ceremony was personal, romantic, and flowed nicely. Highly recommend him to anyone wanting a ceremony that is not simply yada yada yada!

    Sent on 04/02/2017

    Rev. James Hary's reply:

    Thank-you Gwen. I try my best with each wedding to make it so everyone 's interest is kept and no one falls asleep. You and Clark are pretty amazing yourselves and again I wish all the best for the 2 of you and especially as you prepare to move to Arizona. :) Rev. Hary
  • Terri

    Terri · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our ceremony was the highlight of the day and Rev. Hary was spectacular. His ceremony reflected our reasons and goals for marriage and had everyone's attention. It was a very special way to start our married life together. Rev. Hary was professional, flexible, and always kept a smile on our faces. His price was very fair and honestly a bit low for how good he is. Unlike others we had contacted that wanted an arm and a leg, it's clear he isn't driven by money.

    Sent on 03/30/2017

    Rev. James Hary's reply:

    I appreciate your thoughtfulness in taking the time to submit your review and the kind words. I love to meet people such as you and that's the biggest part of why I enjoy doing what I do. :) Rev. Hary
  • Joe

    Joe · Married on 02/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy we chose Rev. Hary! He did an incredible job with our wedding. Our guests loved him too. He was on time, friendly to all, and extremely professional. He helped us through all the stages of planning and guided us completely. It could not have turned out better. He has a calm about him that was able to quell my nervousness and that of my bride Stacey. I cannot fully express or emphasize how stress free it was to work with him. He had the ceremony memorized and was able to make eye contact with us instead of reading out of a book. We also liked the fact that he is a real minister and not someone with one of those fishy online certificates. We had met with 2 other officiants before meeting Rev. Hary. When we asked them what church they were with, one refused to answer and abruptly ordered us out. The other one had one of those online certificates from something called Universal Life Church. On a scale of 1 to 10 Rev. Hary is a 12. Amazing man!

    Sent on 02/20/2017

    Rev. James Hary's reply:

    Although I have been celebrating weddings for many years, every couple is special to me and the two of you are no exception. The vows I normally use are good and time tested, but I always suggest and encourage couples to consider coming up with their own vows as a more personalized alternative. The personal vows that you and Stacey created obviously showed the depth of your love of one another and had me a little teary eyed as you shared your innermost thoughts and feelings. It made for a very nice touch to say the least. I fully agree with what you said about people with fishy online certificates. Legal I don't know, but certainly not ethical in my opinion. Would anyone want a dentist with one of those? I thank-you for your kind spirited review of me and my hope is continued happiness always.
  • Donna

    Donna · Married on 02/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Hary is very good at what he does and how he does it. Our ceremony was traditional and yet he made it unique and personalized. He made time to meet with us and discuss all aspects of our ceremony before we hired him. He also fit the time for this meeting to our schedule, not his. He was very helpful in getting our rehearsal done so that it made things easy for everyone. The manager at our venue was also impressed by how well he did our rehearsal and wedding. She said that most of the officiants she has seen fumble and stumble like it's their first time. Rev. Hary also has a fun side to him. He is a joyful person and has a great sense of humor. We truly feel we had the best officiant anyone could ask for and recommend him to anyone 100%.

    Sent on 02/16/2017

    Rev. James Hary's reply:

    Thank-you Donna and Brad for your wonderful review. It was my honor to have done your wedding and I especially appreciated that you included me for dinner at your reception. Most of the time I just end up at McDonalds. I had a great time talking with Uncle Ed and Aunt Joan who were at my table. Such a small world to find out they were born in the same town I was. The polka band had very talented musicians and they really knew how to get everyone up and dancing. Your story of how you met as a result of a flood will probably come to my mind every time it rains. I wish you a fulfilling marriage and encourage you both to share your similarities and celebrate your love for one another each and every day in every possible way.
  • W

    Wanda · Married on 05/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Hary was helpful and supportive with making sure the ceremony went off without a hitch. He knew exactly how to keep us calm in front of everyone and I would highly recommend him to anyone planning to get married.

  • Hannah

    Hannah · Married on 10/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Hary's ceremony was a true blessing and reflected our love to one another with just the right amount of focus on what marriage is about and he helped us to personalize our vows which made it all the more special. Rev. Hary was thoughtful, considerate, and flexible throughout the whole process. He was worth much more than what he charged. So glad we found him!

  • K

    Kelli · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so glad I trusted Rev. Hary to be the officiant of my wedding. He is truly a gem! On time, organized, and was just overall great.

  • K

    Kim · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Officiant Rev. James Hary was wonderful, helpful, and attentive to quickly responding to questions leading up to the wedding. I could not have asked for a smoother, more pleasant person to have done my wedding and his ceremony was fantastic.

  • Tara

    Tara · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Hary seems to truly understand how brides and grooms feel at this important and special time. The way he did our ceremony showed his care in making our wedding day great. We are middle-aged, but I could see how he could identify and connect with any one of any marital age. Very flexible and easy going! We received glowing feedback from our guests and so we give our complete 5 star recommendation of him.

  • Jaqueline

    Jaqueline · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Hary was extremely responsive to all of our e-mails and phone calls and our wedding was so thrilling in a large part due to him and his ceremony. So glad we were able to book him!

  • Gail

    Gail · Married on 08/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Hary was professional, sweet, and smoothly helped us through the planning process. EVERYONE raved about how good his ceremony was. Our thanks to him for making our day so memorable!

  • Jesse

    Jesse · Married on 08/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was perfect with Rev. Hary. We were a bit nervous with the idea of finding an officiant online, but with what we read about him in reviews and seeing that unlike the other officiants, he pastored an actual church, we hired him. He was awesome and no disappointments at all.

  • L

    Lucy · Married on 08/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    He was enjoyable to be around and he exceeded our expectations. From the first time we talked to him we knew he was right for us. We are so happy we had him marry us!

  • Clarissa

    Clarissa · Married on 08/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Hary guided us through our options and gave us plenty of suggestions as "food for thought" as we put our wedding together. He made it so easy for us and yet so meaningful. Our ceremony went smoothly and all of our guests expressed that they enjoyed it immensely. We had at least 4 people tell us that if they got married again, they would want Rev. Hary to do their wedding! Based on the excellent service I received, I would recommend him to anyone who is looking for a wedding officiant.

  • R

    Randy · Married on 08/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    He did a spectacular job at our wedding and had a great personality and sense of humor. Very organized and easy to communicate with. No surprise he was highly recommended by our venue. Thanks again Rev. Hary, you made our day!

  • Kristi

    Kristi · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Hary did so much more than just marry us. Neither of us had been married before, so we were pretty much clueless from how and where to get the marriage license and all of the other things that go into planning a wedding. Right from when we first spoke with Rev. Hary we could see that he was someone with alot of experience, enthusiasm, and loved to marry people. He was patient with us and explained everything to us in a way we could easily understand. He definitely eased our worries. He was great at the rehearsal and his instructions were clear, concise, and made all of us feel much more confident. This made doing the actual wedding so much more stress free and jitter free. With his added sense of humor it was truly a wonderful event in our lives and a day we will cherish forever. He was also very "budget friendly" in terms of his fee. We had gotten some quotes from other officiants ranging from an arm and a leg, to cheap but did not seem to have the expertise of Rev. Hary. We didn't want to be penny wise and dollar foolish and end up with amateur hour! After the wedding we were given nothing but praises by our guests about the ceremony and so from our experience we fully recommend Rev. Hary.

  • Brian

    Brian · Married on 07/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were pleased and happy with Rev. Hary's ceremony that he did for us. A really good guy!

  • Marlene

    Marlene · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were pleased and happy with Rev. Hary's ceremony that he did for us. Our wedding party was very large with 8 on each side plus 2 ring bearers and 2 flower girls. The rehearsal went great with Rev. Hary getting everyone to understand what to do, where to stand, and how to walk in and out. I can't fully express just how good Rev. Hary was. One of the nicest things was that he didn't read out of a book or from a script. He had everything memorized!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review