113 Reviews for Rev. Erika Hewitt

4.9
out of 5.0
User Photos
todo alt text
todo alt text
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Non-religious (2)
Customized Vows (2)
No Denomination (2)
Unitarian (2)
Single Religion (1)
Rehearsal (1)
Catholic (1)
Agnostic (1)
112 Rev. Erika Hewitt Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Erika was amazing. I loved her writing so I knew she was good, but seeing her officiate for us live—she's really good. Our families raved about her afterwards. I think what makes her so special is that she feels the language, breathes life into it, and is so anchored in that moment that she facilitates everyone else being present--stopping what can be a hectic time to appreciate the reverence and joy of the occasion.

Profile Picture Mark, 7/27/18, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

Reverend Erika was amazing!! We couldn't have been happier with anyone else for our wedding day! She worked with us patiently and professionally and made our ceremony tailored fit to meet our needs and vision. She is a beautiful spirit and she shines from the inside out and delivers a beautiful message for your wedding and guests!

Profile Picture Lisa, 7/3/18, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
4.9

Erika officiated our October wedding, her services were fantastic. She got to know us both individually and as a couple through emails, skype calls and cups of coffee. She delivered a beautiful service, energized our audience (friends and family) and held our hands through the process. She was one of the most impressive vendors at our wedding. The only slight negative w Erika is she is on the more expensive side relative to some of her peers, that said, her service is excellent and thus great value.

Profile Picture Jay, 1/7/18, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

What’s not to love? She’s fun, engaging, and she radiates joy, authenticity and life itself. Erika was unquestionably the right choice for us. She personalized our experience in every imaginable way. Our day would not—I repeat—would NOT—have been the same without her. We eloped in October and with only a few weeks notice, we knew from our first Skype session that she was going to be a great fit. More than anything, we wanted the focus on the meaning of our relationship and the bond into which we were entering, and she found a way to make it feel like she had known us forever and she helped us “create” a ceremony experience that truly represented who we are together. She helped make it much less overwhelming with the options she provided, but because it was so customizable, by the end it still felt very much like our own. My spouse told everyone, even though he knew basically what was coming next in the ceremony, Erika made it come alive and he was transfixed by her. It was the best of both worlds. We were able to tie ourselves to the words and experience we all helped to create in advance and when the day came, we were able to truly BE in that moment and EXPERIENCE it. I can’t say enough about how important Erika was to making our day sacred, meaningful, and significant in all the ways that spoke to us. With deep thanks. We highly recommend her and are thankful to Nora McCormack from S/P films for referring us to her.

Profile Picture Jamey, 10/24/17, 5 Reviews
Category: Officiant
Services Used: No Denomination
5.0

Erika was wonderful and exactly what we were looking for. She was extremely easy to work with, I think she really took the time to get to know us as a couple and figure out what we really needed for our ceremony. Everything was adopted to what we had asked for, I felt we had a lot of freedom in designing the overall feel of the ceremony and really making it our own. Couldn't be happier!

Profile Picture Justin, 10/20/17, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

We were so incredibly fortunate to have found Erika for our ceremony. We had some ideas about what we wanted and did not want for a wedding ceremony, but there is no way that they would have come to fruition without Erika's ideas and guidance. She helped us to incorporate creative ideas that allowed us to have a ceremony that felt intimate and unique and all of our family commented on her incredible, warm presence and loving, laid back vibes. Her willingness to meet with us ahead of time helped us to discuss and flesh out our ideas and we felt incredibly comfortable with her on our big day despite not meeting face-to-face until then. Thank you, Erika, for your incredibly thoughtful work with us!

Profile Picture Tim, 10/16/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

Oh my goodness, where do I even beginning?! Rev. Erika is the BEST!! She was recommended by our venue and she was the only minister that my husband and I reached out to doing our search. We reviewed her website and had a video meeting with her. By the end of that meeting, we both knew we had found our minister for our big day, without question! She made the process so easy but so detailed that we were able to customize our entire ceremony with ease. My husband and I had absolutely no idea where to begin or how to begin planning our ceremony. We were so grateful that Rev. Erika sent us a packet that had multiple different options for us to select for every part of the ceremony. We were able to pick and choose exactly what we wanted in order to make the ceremony completely ours. The day after our wedding, I had multiple wedding guest and family members express to me how amazing they thought Rev. Erika was during our ceremony! We could not have asked for anyone better to officiant our special day!

Photo for Rev. Erika Hewitt Review
Photo for Rev. Erika Hewitt Review
Profile Picture Myranda, 9/23/17, 13 Reviews
Category: Officiant
Services Used: Customized Vows, Catholic, Unitarian, Single Religion
5.0

Erika was great to work with. I loved that we were able to communicate with her throughout the process to customize our ceremony. Despite only meeting Erika in person at the rehearsal, she did a great job making our ceremony feel personal and intimate.

Profile Picture Rebecca, 9/16/17, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

When planning our wedding we knew we wanted an intimate and personal occasion. We searched for an officiant who would create the personalized, warm ceremony that we had envisioned-- and we found her!! Rev. Erika Hewitt was a pleasure to work with from start to finish(organized, prompt, so friendly...) but most of all, made us and our guests feel so comfortable and celebrated on our wedding day. Erika is a natural public speaker and her passion for what she does was evident during our ceremony. During the planning process she allowed us to customize any aspect of the ceremony, made sure we were comfortable with all of the language used, and was completely open to any special requests we had. In the end, we had one of the most memorable, happy occasions of our lives. We highly recommend Rev. Erika Hewitt!

Profile Picture Lindsey, 9/14/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

Erika was our wedding officiant on September 9, 2017. Being far away living in New York, we met via Skype. We immediately felt at ease with her manner. She listened carefully to us and cheerfully and succinctly explained her process to us. She made it clear that the fit was the most important. We did not feel rushed as she listened to our vision and perspective and even graciously allowed me to prattle on about our background and genesis story for a long while (I can get a little excited). After our conversation, for no other reason than the good vibes we felt, we ended up emailing Erika fifteen minutes later to ask her to work with us.
At the start of the planning process Erika provided information and materials to help us develop a sense of format for the ceremony and the wording we could use. It enabled us to outline what we really wanted to say and the general feeling we wanted to create. Two and a half months out from the wedding we met with Erika in person. We were impressed that Erika set aside a number of hours just to meet us and clarify the details and expectations of the ceremony.
For the wedding weekend, Erika attended and conducted our rehearsal with our wedding party. What we really appreciated from Erika was her ability to capture the attention of all present and impress upon them directives that we had previously discussed with her (e.g. specific procedures and positioning, and no phones/cameras during the ceremony). This freed us up to relax knowing that she communicated our wishes to everyone without equivocation.
During the ceremony, she was bright-eyed and spoke with a gentle but unmistakeable gravity. She incorporated all aspects of the procedural elements we had asked, and even had everyone laughing recounting my proposal story.
Three weeks later we are still hearing feedback from friends and family gushing about Erika and the ceremony.
Erika really helped us create something special and real. Can't thank her enough.

Profile Picture Sean, 9/9/17, 3 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

We cannot even begin to express how happy we were working with Erika. From beginning to end she exceeded our expectations and made us feel like we were the only couple in the world. She was professional, caring, upbeat and well versed. She was always in constant communication with us and made sure we stayed on task leading up to and on the big day. Without a doubt our ceremony would have not been as special and loving as it was without her. She not only created the perfect ceremony that reflected me and my husband, she presented it in a way that made all of our guests feel connected. Our guests themselves could also not stop complementing on how well our ceremony was and we know that it all stemmed from Erika. Without a doubt or hesitation we would highly recommend Erika. She is absolutely one of a kind.

Profile Picture Christine, 8/24/17, 8 Reviews
Category: Officiant
Services Used: No Denomination, Rehearsal, Non-religious, Customized Vows
5.0

We couldn't be happier having Rev. Erika Hewitt officiate our wedding! From the very moment we reached out over email, to video chats over Skype, meeting in person, and the actual Rehearsal and Ceremony, Erika was incredibly friendly, inclusive, and organized, and she always made us feel at ease about planning. Erika is super detail oriented and truly cares about making every moment, every word reflect our specific feelings about love and marriage, and she always took our guests into consideration (but never put their preferences over our own). To start planning our ceremony, she sent us a massive template with tons of wording options for each section and a bunch of optional sections, and she encouraged us to modify anything with our personal touches or use our own ideas to make a completely custom ceremony. Picking up details from our conversations, she even crafted the story of our relationship and shared all these special moments with our friends and family. Erika expertly blended heart, passion, levity, spirituality, personality, past and future into a ceremony that left more than a few of our guests in tears. Thanks to Erika, our ceremony was perfect!

Profile Picture Monica, 8/12/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

Words simply can not express how grateful we are for choosing Erika to be our wedding officiant. Upon our first interaction, we immediately knew that she was the perfect person to officiate our wedding. Her unequalled calming attitude combined with meticulous professionalism allowed for us to be stress free throughout the whole wedding process. She was immensely thorough with her preparation and took the time to graciously learn about us as a couple and our families. During the ceremony, Erika's delivery was flawless. Her unwavering compassionate demeanor had everyone in the moment and there was not a dry eye in the house. Countless attendees approached us after the wedding and we are still receiving calls from people professing how wonderful of a job she did and how beautiful she made the ceremony. We are truly fortunate and blessed to have Erika be part of our day. She is a wonderful and caring human being who should receive nothing less than praise for her work! I fully recommend her to be your future officiant, you will not be sorry!

Profile Picture Paige, 7/29/17, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

Rev. Erika was absolutely amazing! There are not enough words to explain how much beauty and love she pours into her ceremonies and clients. We had so many comments about how wonderful she was from our guests after the ceremony. People from all denominations and backgrounds appreciated her words. We also did a 2-hr premarital counseling with Rev. Erika which was very helpful and encouraging. She personalizes each and every part of your ceremony to fit you as a couple and your needs. She was able to make it spiritual for us and not too religious to make it uncomfortable for others or not religious enough for some, as much as that can make sense. It was PERFECT. Rev. Erika was PERFECT. We would HIGHLY recommend her to others!!

Profile Picture Laura, 7/1/17, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

Erika is nothing short of incredible! From our first FaceTime meeting with her we knew that we wanted her to officiate our ceremony. We loved that we could personalize our ceremony and Erika was very helpful when it came to making the final decisions. When we finally met Erika (on our wedding day, moments before our ceremony) she had such a happy, warm, calming presence all of our worries faded away. We were a little nervous as we chose not to have a rehearsal but Erika assured us everything would go smoothly and that we would recognize her cues for our parts and she was right. Our ceremony was so beautifully done and we couldn't be happier that we chose Erika to be a part of our wedding and would highly recommend her to be a part of your big day!

Profile Picture Kaela, 6/29/17, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

Reverend Erica was the perfect choice to officiate our special day. We really wanted to make our ceremony special and Erika definitely made this happen! She was very relaxed and flexible during the planning process, which helped take the stress out of it. She took a very personalized approach to helping us prepare, took time to learn our story and make our ceremony unique to us, meaningful and an event to remember. She was very organized, passionate and exuberant about helping us tie the knot - all of our wedding guests agreed that it was a fantastic ceremony, thanks to Erika. The rehearsal was super well run by Erika as well. I highly recommend her!!!

Profile Picture Shawna, 6/16/17, 3 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

There aren't enough words to express the gratitude we have for Erika. She is beyond amazing! We planned a destination wedding, planning everything via phone and email. Ten days before our wedding, we found ourselves without an officiant, despite having hired a different person several months in advance, and I was completely stressed. That's when we found Erika. She has a calmness about her that immediately eased all the worry I had about the position we were in. She jumped right in with emails, did a video chat, asked us plenty of questions and ultimately planned a beautiful ceremony for us, beyond what I could have ever imagined. She even went out of her way to accommodate our wedding date and time. A simple thank you does not seem enough to express our gratitude.

Profile Picture Kari, 6/5/17, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

Erika helped us make sure that the most important part of our wedding day -- the whole reason we were all there! -- was perfect.

We had been toying with the idea of asking a close friend to officiate our wedding, because we wanted to ceremony to feel personal. But after our first conversation with Erika we knew she was the right choice -- not only was she an experienced professional, she was warm and genuine.

Erika helped us create a unique and meaningful ceremony that spoke to us as a couple -- and our friends and family noticed. Every virtual meeting we had with Erika was a joy -- like dialing up an old friend. And that same feeling radiated through our ceremony. I can't even count the number of people who came up to as during the reception to ask how we had found Erika and compliment the wonderful job she had done. Some said it was best wedding ceremony they had ever witnessed!

We wouldn't change a single thing about her experience with Erika and feel truly lucky to have been able to work with her!

Profile Picture Abby, 5/27/17, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

Erika was great to work with! One of the things we enjoyed the most was the ability to personalize our ceremony using Erika's input, feedback and options. The ceremony turned out beautiful and we received so many compliments about how inclusive and unique it was. Aside from pleasing our guests, we have the memories of a truly special and personal ceremony that we will remember forever!

Profile Picture Keri, 5/20/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

Erika is definitely worth the money. She caters exactly to your needs for the ceremony to be just like you want. We decided to go with a Unitarian Universalist officiant, since I was raised from a jewish / protestant family and as a result went to a UU church growing up. My wife however was raised methodist. With this minor difference, neither of us are serious church-goers at the moment. However we both wanted to incorporate a form of spirituality in to the wedding ceremony. Erika beautifully customized everything to what we wanted, with plenty of options to offer for spiritual incorporation. She shared with us plenty of options for phrasing we would like her to use, during the ceremony, when speaking. Also examples and pre-written options for each of us to use for stating our vows to one another. In her sermon she told the story of how we met, based on both of our individual answers to multiple questions she had us fill out. The end result was a story of them beautifully woven together by her. One thing we totally did not expect, was that after the wedding we received this beautiful picture frame in the mail from her as a gift!

Profile Picture Reid, 12/31/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Officiant
4.8

Erika was wonderful to work with, she really worked with us to customize the service to our liking. I highly recommend her for any couple in which the two that are marrying had different spiritual upbringings, as with me and my wife. When it came to our vows and other parts of the ceremony, we were able to choose the phrasing from multiple options and make it our own. For sharing the story of how we first met, my wife and I separately filled out a series of questions which Erika then beautifully composed in to a story. Everything was personal and also professional. The ring warming, which Erika suggested was a unique idea and we are glad we incorporated that into the ceremony. Our guests will remember our ceremony for a long time and so will we. We received multiple complements on the ceremony from our guests too.

Profile Picture Reid, 12/31/16, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

Erika was a huge part of what made our day as magical as it was. She is without a doubt, a beautiful soul inside and out. She guided us through the ceremony process, taking time to get to know us on Skype calls along the way. She even learned the names of our three dogs and made the ceremony one that was unique to who we are as a couple. Our ceremony was captivating, clean, professional, personal, and absolute perfection. We would not have chosen anyone else in the world and are elated to have had Erika as the person to make our marriage a memorable occasion for all who attended. Thank you from the bottom of both our hearts!

Profile Picture Michelle, 12/31/16, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

We couldn’t be more pleased with our wedding officiant, Reverend Erika Hewitt. Through the planning process, during the rehearsal and on the big day, Erika was an upbeat, consummate professional. My husband is of Christian faith and had difficulty finding an officiant he was comfortable with, as he is not currently a member of any particular church. I am less religious than my husband - I wanted him to have the aspects of faith in the ceremony he desired but I hoped for someone who could also incorporate diversity into the proceedings. After initial contact, Erika was immediately responsive and set up a Facetime meeting. She was receptive to our wishes and assured us she could create a ceremony catered to our specific requests. She explained she would be in contact as much or as little as we desired and she held true to that statement. Our summer of planning flew by and it wasn't until shortly before the wedding we contacted her again to finalize vows. She was again immediately available to answer questions and assist. She provided a comprehensive breakdown of vow options and we used them to create the ceremony we dreamed of. Erika was generous with her time. We requested to meet in person to review vows line by line - a tall order! She was happy to meet us and was helpful and reassuring throughout the meeting.

At our ceremony rehearsal, Erika was organized, efficient and insightful. Our wedding party gushed about how incredible Erika was at explaining and demonstrating exactly how things would go the next day.

On the day of our wedding, my mother said it best when she said "Erika had so much joy in her eyes while she conducted your ceremony." It felt as if we were married by one of our oldest, dearest friends. She smiled sincerely, spoke articulately and projected beautifully. Our guests continue to sing praises about how wonderful Erika was.

We will highly recommend Reverend Erika Hewitt to anyone searching for a wedding officiant.

Profile Picture Rachel, 10/15/16, 6 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

I've been meaning to write a review for Erika since our wedding on October 1st and, to be honest, I kept procrastinating because I couldn't find the words to describe how incredible she was.

My husband and I live in Michigan but were married in Maine. Having a destination wedding is tough for a lot of reasons but one major concern was making sure that our ceremony was personal and representative of who we are. Mike reached out to Erika after we read all of her amazing reviews and we feel so thankful that she was available to officiate our wedding.

My favorite thing about Erika is that she totally gets that weddings are stressful and does literally everything in her power to help couples be at ease leading up to the wedding. We video chatted with Erika several times ahead of the wedding she could get to know us, but she left it completely up to our schedules. We also had the opportunity to completely customize the ceremony details. Erika made planning the ceremony a really fun and easy experience.

Erika genuinely enjoys learning about the couples she works with and it really showed on the day of our wedding. We had guest after guest coming up to ask asking how long we had known Erika for because she did such a phenomenal job telling our story and making our guests feel welcome. We just got pictures back a few weeks ago and every time our family has seen a photo of Erika, they comment on how amazing she is.

If you're looking for an officiant who is warm, kind, and will treat you, your fiancé and your guests like family, I couldn't recommend Erika more.

Profile Picture Dana, 10/1/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

We can't say enough good about Erika! She took the time to interview us twice, listened carefully to us and made it all into a unique and relevant wedding ceremony that we feel was a true reflection of our values, spiritual and otherwise. Erika guided us and helped us explore how we wanted the service to be. We received many compliments on the ceremony, in particular on Erika's conduction of it. We highly recommend her as a wedding officiant!

Profile Picture Amy, 9/24/16, 1 Review
Category: Officiant