Weddings

Rev. Bonnie McKinstry Reviews

Rev. Bonnie McKinstry View more information

36 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 36
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

5 User photos

Sort by:
  • Ashley
    Ashley W. Married on 12/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend

    Bonnie was amazing. She was so nice and responsive through everything. Our ceremony was perfect. So glad I chose her!
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer R. Married on 12/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing experience

    Bonnie was perfect for our ceremony, She was full of joy and made us feel calm and able to focus on each other and not the hectic wedding surrounding us.
  • Julia
    Julia A. Married on 11/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exactly what we hoped for

    Rev Bonnie was perfect from our first meeting through the end of our ceremony. She was fun and inclusive and loving throughout. She made us feel so comfortable. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Cannot recommend too highly! Thank you!
  • Max
    Max B. Married on 11/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rev. Bonnie is for Everyone

    Reverend McKinstry, or Bonnie as she likes to be called, was the perfect choice for our wedding. My wife and I wanted someone that could recall the warmth and welcome we felt growing up in the protestant faith but who could also hold a more relaxed and earthly ceremony. We found that balance with Reverend Bonnie. She gave us several ceremonies to choose from and modified our favorite so that it was perfect for us and our guests. Reverend Bonnie put in the effort to get to know us before the wedding so she could be a friend and confidant to us on our big day. And when the rehearsal or ceremony needed to begin, she called the room to attention tactfully. Throughout the entire process, Reverend Bonnie was kind, helpful, accessible, and prompt. I would recommend her highly.
  • T
    Teal S. Married on 04/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Reverend Bonnie is wonderful!

    Reverend Bonnie was so helpful in making our wedding special. Her approach felt like a celebration of our relationship and our future together. She incorporated our family's traditions into the ceremony. Most importantly she was a warm and calming presence on the day of our wedding. She made us laugh and helped us remain calm even when a few surprises and unexpected delays happened.
    If you are considering Reverend Bonnie contact her you will be so happy to have her as a part of your wedding day.
  • Laura
    Laura Married on 02/17/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing experience working with Rev Bonnie

    Our decision to work with Reverend Bonnie was hands-down the easiest part of our wedding process and I don’t think our experience could have been better. We had plans to meet with a few different folks, but meeting Bonnie over coffee, that one conversation was enough to convince us she was absolutely the person we wanted to be our officiant.

    On all fronts, she ‘met us where we were’, offered insight and suggestions when we asked for them, but was equally collaborative in the process, and just genuinely kind and nice. She brought such a positive energy both in our wedding planning and especially the day of the wedding. Leaving our meeting with her, we legit just discussed on the walk in the parking lot and had essentially made our decision by the time we reached the car.

    As an officiant, and honestly just as an individual, we couldn’t recommend Reverend Bonnie more highly. From all we saw, atop handling her duties as an officiant with a rare balance of reverence and lightheartedness together, she just struck us as a genuinely kind person and that made the process of working
    together so effortless. Thank you again, Bonnie!
  • E
    Eileen Married on 11/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The sweetest officiant.

    Rev. Bonnie was just the sweetest. From the moment we met her, we knew she was the one. So kind, thoughtful, honest, communicative and genuine. We are so glad she was our officiant and her words made the day so much more special.
  • T
    Travis Married on 07/20/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bonnie is an incredibly wonderful person. She worked with us on our elopement at enchanted rock and it couldn’t have turned out more perfect. She wrote to us with words from her heart and connected with us as we joined ourselves in marriage. I honestly couldn’t have imagined anyone else but her.
    She’s the best! And she is the light the world needs more of.
    We love you Bonnie!!
  • S
    Sarah T. Married on 05/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Loved Bonnie!

    My husband and I were so happy we found Bonnie to officiate our wedding. She was very sweet and flexible with us having a more laidback wedding, working with us on our vows and always quick to respond to emails leading up to the big day. Thank you so much, Bonnie!
  • A
    Andrew Married on 04/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful officiant!

    We loved having Rev. Bonnie officiate our wedding! She was very warm and flexible and allowed us to tailor our ceremony just the way we wanted.
  • R
    Rebeca Married on 03/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bonnie is so wonderful! My husband and I honestly could not have been more satisfied with her. She was fun, responsive, her ceremony was beautiful, and above all, we truly loved interacting with her every step of the way! Do yourself a favor and book Bonnie.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 05/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We feel so lucky to have found Rev. Bonnie McKinstry to marry us. She has such a wonderful personality, very considerate and also flexible with our ceremony. She worked with us to make it just right, and we really appreciated that. We couldn't have asked for better!
  • C
    Cynthia Married on 11/14/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rev Bonnie made my husband and I feel so comfortable and made our guest laugh. If I ever renew my vows I would totally use her again.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 11/08/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bonnie was incredible. Totally willing to be flexible based on our vision. We felt comfortable with her right away.

    Rev. Bonnie McKinstry's reply:

    Thank you, Sarah. Your wedding was wonderful. You were such a beautiful bride and a delight to work with.
  • V
    Victoria Married on 09/26/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rev. John Connor was the perfect officiant/minister for our ceremony. And what a beautiful ceremony it was! Rev. Connor worked with us ahead of time to determine what style of ceremony we would like for our wedding, and revised it to match our personalities. As Rev. Connor was not available the day of our rehearsal, he scheduled a time to meet with us at our home to rehearse and gave us great tips for a smooth ceremony. His delivery on wedding day was flawless - warm, genuine, and at times humorous. We could not have asked for a better minister or ceremony.
    Rev. Connor was professional, responsive, and great to work with. My husband and I highly recommend him.
  • Stephanie & Wesley
    Stephanie Married on 06/21/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I did a lot of searches for an officiant, and Bonnie kept sticking out. In our initial conversation, she was very laid back and I enjoyed her attitude. You can tell that she really likes what she is doing. She was the first person for us that made it past the phone call stage and the hubby and I decided to set up a meeting. As soon as she introduced herself, it was like we were old friends. She's a hugger, and it made us feel so welcomed. Her kind and gentle demeanor was perfect, and after about a 2 minute discussion, we knew Bonnie was the one we wanted for our special day. She provided us with multiple ceremony templates and was very open to having us adjust any wording, and add/subtract whatever we felt necessary (so important for secular ceremonies!). She is just so genuine and we absolutely loved her. She was one - of the many reasons - that made our day absolutely amazing. Thank you so much for everything, Bonnie!
  • User1679222 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bonnie was perfect! She did a great job of working with us to create a beautiful unique ceremony perfect for us. She was sweet, happy and so helpful. Our ceremony was elegant and beautiful, spiritual but not heavy, light hearted but still serious and so meaningful. Everyone was in tears by the end (even my rugged cowboy uncles) but they had smiles on their faces. It could not have been better. Thank you Bonnie!!!
  • Samantha
    Samantha Married on 10/05/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Reverend Bonnie officiated my wedding in October and she was wonderful. We found her online while looking for someone to officiate our secular ceremony, and after our first round of meetings, she stood out as our favorite. Bonnie let us amend her standard ceremony text in whatever way we wanted, and didn't balk at our decision to take out any mention of religion. She assured us that she considers all love to be spiritual, regardless of the wording used, and told us that most attendees would not even notice that the wedding was not religious.

    She offered to lead the rehearsal the day before the wedding, which was invaluable since we didn't have church staff or a wedding planner to take the lead. Our ceremony turned out to be absolutely lovely. Bonnie comes across as sweet and cheerful and genuinely delighted to be involved, and she added just the right amount of levity and sincerity to the proceedings. You cannot meet this woman and not like her. We felt close to her after only a few meetings, and that made the wedding feel very special and meaningful to us.
  • T
    Tessa Married on 04/14/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wonderful job , I could not have asked for a better experience.
  • M
    Maddy Married on 04/13/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Reverend Bonnie was perfect. From the moment we met her, we knew she was the right person to marry us. She was very sweet, caring, and you can tell she loves what she does. She made me and my husband feel very comfortable and made the ceremony exactly what we pictured our dream wedding to be . I would recommended her to anybody !!Thank you so much for marrying us.
  • A
    Ashton Married on 03/30/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bonnie was absolutely amazing! She met with my husband and I and really worked around what we wanted and our personalities. She helped us piece together the perfect service and delivered it beautifully. Plus, her fee was reasonable, she was willing to come to the rehearsal, and took care of filing the marriage license for us. We can't thank her enough for making our wedding even more special!
  • E
    Emily Married on 03/23/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Friends and family commented on how wonderful the ceremony was!
  • S
    Shelby Married on 05/05/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Reverend Bonnie performed our ceremony in May 2012, and we can't speak highly enough of our experience working with her. We were planning a destination wedding and didn't know any officiants in the Austin area, but it was important to us that our ceremony feel very personal, even if we were working with an officiant with whom we didn't have a prior relationship. We met with Rev. Bonnie over coffee several times prior to the wedding (and had many emails and phone calls with her), and she was so warm and interested in getting to know us as a couple that we felt like we had developed a friendship with her by the time the wedding came. We also had very specific ideas of what we wanted as part of our ceremony, and Rev. Bonnie was very willing to work with us. She did a wonderful job with our ceremony -- it was exactly how we had envisioned and she was an indispensable part of making that happen.
  • C
    Christine Married on 03/03/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rev. John Conner officiated our March 2012 wedding flawlessly. He was very pleasant to work with, always responsive, and even let me write our ceremony . He answered any and all questions we had along the way and even helped me gain composure when the waterworks started at the ceremony! Thanks Rev. John for being a part of our day!

    Christine & Kyle Smith
  • T
    Tara Married on 11/12/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bonnie was a last minute find for us because we were told only 5 weeks before our wedding that our Catholic ceremony (which had been planned for a year) could not take place at the church because its renovation would not be complete on time. With the wedding date only 5 weeks away, all the other churches were booked, so we had to have our ceremony at the reception site. Since the reception site was an outdoor garden, this was not considered a “sacred space” so we could not have a Catholic ceremony there. I was frantically calling around town to find someone who could perform the ceremony for us, and Bonnie said that she could do it even though she had another wedding that day. She would be able to fit our wedding in before going to her other engagement. I was just happy to find someone that could marry us on such short notice, but it turned out that we hit the jackpot with her! We had already planned our wedding ceremony according to the Catholic guidelines, so we were able to do pretty much the exact thing with her. Plus, we could change some of the readings and prayers to ones that had more personal meaning, which we wouldn’t have been able to do in a church ceremony. Bonnie was truly accommodating and helpful throughout the whole process. In the end, the wedding ceremony turned out much better with her than it ever would have in a Catholic church. Thank you so much Bonnie!