Weddings

Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel Reviews

Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel

Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel

Raleigh, NC
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 25 Reviews
View more information

25 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 25
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

18 User photos

Sort by:
  • Tiffany
    Tiffany Married on 01/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    loved the Renaissance

    I, The bride, checked into my complimentary hotel suite at 1pm on the Friday night before my rehearsal dinner (rehearsal dinner at coquette a few doors down) and did not leave the hotel building until Sunday 1pm.
    The convenience of waking up and getting ready on my wedding day (Saturday) and then having a mobile hair and makeup team come to my suite and then attend my wedding which was just down stairs just made it so much easier to actually be able to enjoy my wedding day. Special thanks to Liz who always said yes to any crazy requests i had. The Renaissance even made a custom cocktail inspired by an Australian dessert i love (I'm Australian and wanted to incorporated something from home)
    Everything went beyond smoothly and i cannot recommend this venue enough
  • Mackenzie
    Mackenzie W. Married on 08/29/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Venue in Raleigh

    When looking for a wedding venue, The Renaissance was the only place in Raleigh that fit our needs: convenient location, indoors, room for getting ready, and phenomenal food (to name a few). I was so shocked to find out how reasonably priced it was to work with them! There is so much included in the small fee you pay to rent the space; we were saving a ton of money by having our rentals and planner included. Although we had to change our reception venue due to the pandemic and gathering restrictions, we were able to host the Bridesmaids' Luncheon there the day before the wedding and the Renaissance honored our existing room block. We have heard so many horror stories from other couples about their venues being unwilling to work with them during the pandemic - either forcing smaller guest counts or hefty postponement fees. Even though we could not have our reception at The Renaissance, I have never been more thankful for their team and service. We could not have had the wedding of our dreams without their support and kindness. A special shoutout to Liz Talley and Anna Swicegood for all they did for us!

    On our wedding day, the hotel served as the perfect backdrop for our pre-ceremony photographs. The bridesmaids utilized the hospitality suite and the groomsmen utilized their complimentary king suite for getting ready - we had more than enough space to fit our group. We were also able to flip the hospitality suite to accommodate a virtual viewing party for guests at the hotel that were unable to attend the wedding ceremony due to church capacity restrictions. We could not have been happier with how convenient the location was and how attentive their staff was throughout the entire weekend. Our guests could not have been happier with the cleanliness and service, plus the deal they gave us on our room block was hard to beat. I can't wait to stay at The Renaissance again!
  • User2635648 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can't say enough about how wonderful this hotel was for my daughter's recent wedding. We reserved a block of rooms for out of town guests, plus a king suite for the bride and her bridesmaids to get ready in. The location couldn't have been better. So much to do within walking distance. The staff handed out the hotel gift bags as guests checked in and were extremely professional and courteous. This was like a destination wedding as both the bride's and groom's families were from out of state. As mother of the bride, I so appreciated this hotel as my homebase for the wedding festivities! Worth every penny, which was not as expensive as you might think!! ($165/night for guest rooms)
  • L
    Lisa Married on 04/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I live in Michigan and the bride lives in Raleigh, North Carolina. She wanted the wedding at this venue because she walked into the hotel and automatically knew this was the perfect place to start her married life. I was concerned because I live in Michigan, and I didn't know anything about North Hills, Renaissance Marriott or North Carolina. And then I met Ronda Barnes and her staff. The rest is history. DO NOT LOOK ANY FARTHER than this venue. Ronda and her staff treat you like you are their only client....that this event is the MOST IMPORTANT to them. Every detail was attended to in the very best possible way. Ronda is incredibly organized, intelligent, professional and has a great heart and sense of humor....which was so necessary because I was so nervous about these plans. She was respectful of our budget and was willing to offer any advice and ideas asked of her. I wish thank you was enough to say to show our gratitude, and appreciation. YOU WILL BE GLAD YOU BOOKED WITH RENAISSANCE NORTH HILLS. Our wedding was beautiful and so meaningful....just like Ronda promised it would be. Thank you!!!!
  • A
    Ann Married on 09/12/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was the most amazing venue!! WE had so any out of town folks and most stayed here so it made things extra easy!! Our comments about the entire weekend were mostly about the great service and wonderful area and hotel amenities!! Lots of folks exclaimed that they thought they were at a Resort! Really a great deal of credit goes to the staff and especially Anna who helped us arrange everything from the very beginning! She was so calming and professional that it took most of the worry and stress off of us. Highly recommend her and the Renaissance for future events!!
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 12/06/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Loved working with Ronda and Anna. The best of the best! Everything went off without a hitch. All needs were met. And their personalities shined through the entire time, so we felt as if they were in it with us and not just hired professionals. The space is gorgeous. The Renaissance hotel itself is flawless. Easy and effortless choice!
  • S
    Sandra Married on 12/06/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wonderful people to work with form the valet staff up to event planning.
  • T
    Taryn Married on 10/18/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding reception at the Renaissance and they did not disappoint. From the beginning they were very professional and responsive to view the venue and provide us with information. The staff worked with what we wanted to provide and helped make our wedding day the best possible. We went through the transition of their wedding coordinators changing, but never felt like we were forgotten. All of the details we discussed prior to the new wedding coordinator starting were documented and maintained throughout the planning process. I also can't express how many of our guests complimented us on how good the food was. Choosing the Renaissance for our wedding reception was one of the best decisions we made!
  • User2038828 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    There were two "problems" for lack of a better word. The cake cutting knife was not there when the bride and groom cut the cake. They had to use the groom's father's table knife. This was discussed before the wedding and the venue was to provide the knife. The bride had one but we thought it was one less thing to have to worry about.
    We have no idea what happened to the top of the cake. If it was put in the bridal suite refrigerator, we were never told about it. Staff was to offer iced tea at dinner. When asked, they served my husband and myself but no one else.This was discussed prior to the wedding. (We didn't want iced tea at each place setting and have it go to waste.) The gifts were to be taken to the bride's parent's hotel room directly after the cocktail hour. It was MUCH later than that. My husband's mom commented on that and he had to track someone down to have them removed from the hallway to our room.
    Minor problems and this bride is pretty easy going. Another bride may have had a problem,especially with the missing cake.
    Other than that, the venue was WONDERFUL. Beautifully decorated. Staff was amazing. DJ through Blue Box was amazing. We were getting comments "Thank you for giving such a good party" The parents of the groom relayed to us that people were still commenting on how fun a time they had weeks after the wedding. I have already given your information to a friend of my sister's who daughter lives in Raleigh and whose parents live in Erie, PA. The Location of your hotel was great. We felt like we gave them a "get-away" weekend, not just a wedding. Luckily for us, a band was playing (Eagles songs) the Friday night before the wedding and most of our guests went to see them. Also, the outdoor market on Saturday was a wonderful way to spend some time before the 3:00 nuptials.
  • K
    Kate Married on 07/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Renaissance Hotel in north hills was wonderful for our wedding last July. Everyone was so loving and helped us out any way they could. We highly recommend the Renaissance to any bride and groom who are looking for a great wedding experience!!
  • T
    Tinishia Married on 07/05/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My guests were amazed at quality of service, staff , food and facility !
  • M
    Melissa Married on 10/19/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Keri Pluchino and her staff were amazing to work with! They made the whole process of having my reception there stress free. Everything from the food to rooms were top quality and more than I expected! Keri was always quick to respond to any questions or concerns that I had. I would recommend this venue for any kind of event!
  • J
    Judee Married on 10/12/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Keri Pluchino was fantastic to work with. She was able to take our vision and turn it into reality. She was very professional at all times. She answered all of our questions no matter how ridiculous they might have been. She was always available for us through the phone, e-mail or if we asked to meet with her at the hotel.She took swift action with any concerns we had and certainly made us feel that nothing was too much to ask. I know that our daughter's wedding was her dream come true because Keri made sure of it. We can't thank her enough.
  • User1426572 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding at the Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel was everything we had hoped for. The set up was beautiful, the food was delicious (especially the crab dip), and the service was top notch! Most of our family stayed in the guest rooms- as did we- and we still talk about how lovely and comfortable the rooms were. We booked the venue about 10 months before the wedding, and we had wonderful communication and planning assistance with the event coordinator throughout. Most of our other vendors were recommended to us by the hotel and they were all SO wonderful. Seeing the reception space set up took my breath away, because it was exactly what I had always imagined. I'm so happy that we chose the Renaissance for such a special occasion!
  • N
    Nadiah Married on 09/28/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    A beautiful venue with an attentive and caring staff!
  • C
    Cindy Married on 07/27/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I started out working with Kristie but she has left Renaissance now and left me in good hands with Keri several months before the wedding. Keri took on her notes and followed up with me several times and met with me in person when I got into town a couple weeks before the wedding. She was professional, kind, personable, organized, accommodating, and seems to sincerely care about how everything goes. She really helped me put together a perfect cocktail hour (she placed out decorations, votive candles, guestbook, frames, etc) and reception. The banquet staff and catering staff are great! The food is AMAAAZING, do not think twice about that if considering Renaissance. It gets expensive but is manageable depending on the type of meal style you want and how many entrees etc + 22% gratuity on all food/beverages. But seriously, it was worth it to have both the ceremony and reception there. It was SO convenient, everybody really appreciated not having to drive/shuttle around in the NC summer heat. And, it was in the middle of North Hills - with lots to do and eat, easy parking and free gym/pool access to the Fitness club next door. The rooms are GREAT, pretty, clean, comfortable and spacious. LOVE renaissance and LOVE Keri and the staff, thanks so much!
  • V
    Veronica Married on 06/29/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I were really impressed with the ballroom at the Renaissance Hotel. The staff was incredible and very responsive whenever we had a question about our reception.
    The food at the Renaissance was wonderful! So many of our friends and family have commented that it was the best wedding reception they had ever been to.
    The hotel rooms are amazing. Our wedding suite was gorgeous! We didn't want to check out!
    We're so glad that we chose the Renaissance Hotel in North Hills for our reception!!!
  • User1122507 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My reception at the Renaissance Hotel was beautiful. The coordinator, Anna Bobbit, provided us with excellent service. She was very responsive and accommodating. Anna went above and beyond. I would recommend this venue to anyone.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 08/04/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I just had my wedding reception at the Renaissance and it was phenomenal! I chose this venue because it was a beautiful hotel with a lot of food and shopping nearby for our out of town guests (almost everyone). Although my wedding was at Duke Chapel (which is about 40 minutes away), this hotel felt more clean, modern, and elegant than any of the hotels closer to Duke and it had a much better price point. Not only were the rooms comfortable and clean for our guests and the ballroom gorgeous for the reception, but the hotel staff was also great. Kristie was such a huge help and was phenomenal about meeting all of our requests! We had a brunch the morning after our reception and that went very well too. The food and beverages were all good (both at the reception and brunch) and the guests had nothing but wonderful things to say about the hotel. I highly recommend this venue to other brides in the area.
  • K
    Kristin Married on 06/16/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    AMAZING!! That is is the only word I can use to talk about how great the renaissance was to work with! Anna was our coordinator at the hotel and she did everything she could to make our wedding personalized and run smoothly. Our guest raved about how great the food was and how beautiful everything looked. It was also great to have the convenience of a hotel right at our reception. It was an absolutely fabulous experience and wedding venue!
  • User2596631 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    great contact to work with and made the ceremony and reception a success.
  • G
    Gloria A. Married on 07/08/2017
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    My wife and I had a phenomenal experience with the hotel from the time we stepped in the hotel until the time we left. The staff went out of there way to accommodate us in every way from cost constraints, scheduling, to food options and quality.
    Amazing experience once again. Renaissance Raleigh hotel. Thank you for everything
  • User2585013 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Avery thing was great, people, arrangement, communication but the cost per person was a Littel bit high comparing to other nice places
  • J
    Joanna Married on 09/27/2014
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    We loved our experience at The Renaissance. Food was good, reception area was beautiful, everything was handled professionally. We stayed at the Renaissance, and we had about 10 rooms reserved for family & friends. The only problem we had was with the front desk at check in. I had made several phone calls & emails in advance to clarify room names & arrangements, and we were paying for all of the rooms but the front desk mixed everything up and caused a lot of confusion. We regret that the hour before our party was spent straightening out all of the room assignments when it should have been very straightforward.
  • Marcus
    Marcus M. Married on 12/28/2019
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5

    Paying for things outside of the hotel

    The hotel is gorgeous from the outside looking in. As you get inside most of the amenities are very basic and could be found in most places. For the price point it’s not worth it to us. We spent our honeymoon nights here and it’s not really made for that. This is probably best if you are in the area on business cause of the many shops located within walking distance.