Red Oak Ballroom - Houston/CityCentre Reviews

7 | Houston, TX
See photos, pricing and details

7 Reviews for Red Oak Ballroom - Houston/CityCentre

Recommended by 70%

7

3.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.6
  • Professionalism 3.4
  • Flexibility 3.5
  • Value 3.7
  • Average response time 3.3
Sort by:
  • R

    Rick · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved everything! Professional staff, excellent food and great location. Highly recommended.

    Sent on 05/21/2013
  • L

    Lana · Married on 03/06/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is the place to have your reception!!! The Norris Center-Red Oak Ballroom is unique in that it has windows on one whole wall! Being on the second level allows for spectaclular views! But it is the attention to detail and personalism that make this venue special! From the very beginning when we made the contract we felt our event was treated with respect-everyone involved (especially Gail and Kaitlyn) were so professional! We got great responses on our sit down dinner (meal was great!), appetizers and special signature drink! The Norris center went out of their way to add special touches to our reception!!! You will not have to look any further after visiting with the Norris Center staff. The connecting skywalk to the Hotel Sorella makes it great for guests as well. Parking garage was easy for guests to use! Do not mess with Galleria traffic. This venue was 10 min. from the church and everyone enjoyed the new City Centre! This will be new wedding venue all brides will want to have their reception at!! We got more for our money here!!

    Sent on 03/15/2010
  • gigi1180

    Gigi · Married on 02/19/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The biggest selling point of this venue was the location & that it's attached by cat walk to Hotel Sorella...the staff is easy & great to work with. They took care of all the details & more :)
    I thought it was pretty pricey but SOOO WORTH IT :) The food was great. THanks for making my wedding reception amazing!

    Sent on 02/21/2011
  • M

    Mistura · Married on 01/26/2013

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    I had my wedding here and i have no regrets! The facility was big enough to handle all my guests and the staff was very helpful.

    Sent on 02/11/2013
  • Debbie

    Debbie · Married on 09/29/2012

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We used Red Oak for the reception only. The décor is beautiful – modern but not outlandish, simplistic but not minimalist. It’s location in City Centre and proximity to the church was ideal for our party, especially all of the out-of-state guests. We dealt exclusively with Terri Blue, who worked very hard to make sure we were happy with everything. We liked the attention she gave us for the eight months leading up to our wedding to ensure our day went smoothly. Our only complaint was that the waitstaff service at the reception was a little overzealous. We heard from several people after the wedding that guests would turn to the side to talk to people, and then turn back to find their plate had been taken away. This happened all through the night with dinner, drinks, and cake. It was like the waiters and waitresses were just waiting for someone to be slightly distracted so they could swoop in and gather dishes. The meal, which we had catered by another company, was served in a disorganized way. Everyone at the head table should have been served first, but there was one family member who had to wait a good 30 minutes on his dinner, the same dinner that had been served to other guests. At the end of the night, some of the attendants went in to gather stuff, and the waitstaff had taken food we had brought in on trays, and put them in a box on the same cart with dirty dishes. It didn’t seem like they had any intention of returning any of it to us. The bride and groom were also promised a “to go” box of the appetizers they were unable to try, but the wedding coordinator on site said no one told him that and he didn’t know anything about it so we didn’t get anything. In fact, we had talked to one of the wedding coordinators about that at a prior meeting so we assumed the staff would coordinate with one another. All in all, the venue is in a great location and it is beautiful inside. There were a few hiccups, but nothing that could have spoiled our day.

    Sent on 11/06/2012
  • User1559668 · 2+ years ago

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    PROS: beautiful view, very nice area, and next to hotel
    CONS: no security, no cameras (all of our wedding gifts were stolen), HORRIBLE management, no venue parking (Guests park in the same parking garage that everyone parks at for city centre; they told me it wouldn’t be a problem. Wedding night most of my guests were late because of parking and many had to park down the block.)

    The venue looked fantastic on my wedding night. I worked with some great people; unfortunately, my wedding coordinator left the company a few months before the wedding. I was told that I would be assigned a new coordinator but that never happened. They kept giving me dates and pushing them back and back. I had to work with someone different every single time I had a question or needed to discuss the venue arrangement. Finally they told me I would talk to the coordinator the week of my wedding. The week of my wedding they told me that wasn’t going to happen. That week I had to talk to someone new to finalize the venue arrangement. I met my wedding day coordinator the night before my wedding! The wedding night the blinds were not open to show the beautiful view which is why we booked there in the first place, I had a beer and wine bar from certain hours yet the prices were still up at the bar during those times and finally the gift table was not where it was supposed to be according to our venue set up. The gift table was placed near the entrance. By the end of the night we found out ALL of our gifts from our gift box (cash, checks and gift cards) were stolen - we only got monetary gifts. There are no cameras and no security. One of the staff saw 2 men standing by the table that looked suspicious. We talked to the owner a few days after and after “investigating” told me she could do nothing. She told me this in an email. Before emailing she told me we could discuss her email by phone. I called her several times and emailed her twice and she NEVER responded. Bottom line: I do not recommend.

    Sent on 07/11/2015

    Red Oak Ballroom - Houston/CityCentre's reply:

    We feel horrible that this particular bride had a negative experience at our facility. We did a full investigation of this event and, and is usually the case, there is considerable additional information that bears on each of the issues raised here. Outlining all of that here would not be useful, and would do little other than make us look defensive.

    We have been in business 25 years in total, and hosted hundreds of weddings of all types at our CityCentre facility in addition with hundreds of other types of social events such as anniversary parties, quinceaneras and the like. The results are almost universally positive, many of which are included in our website.

    I guess in conclusion, if a potential bride would like additional information regarding any of the issues raised above, we would be happy to share the entire history.
  • User3518765 · 2+ years ago

    0.2
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    The "Coordinator" Kim has no idea what she is doing. She promised everything the bride requested could easily be accomodated at the beginning and initial meetings. However, in the end she either altered previous agreed to items or just failed to have the Requested and PAID for accomodations. Red Oak was a beautiful venue and we managed to have a great time. However, until Kim is replaced or completes some type of training in this industry, I will not recommend this venue.

    Sent on 09/08/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review