Skip to main content
Weddings

Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

South Yarmouth, MA
4.9 out of 5 rating, 10 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
10 Reviews
98% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

10
Weddingwire
4.9/5 10 reviews
Google
4.3/5 691 reviews
  • A
    Alex D. Sent on 06/25/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Unforgettable – Definitely Recommend!

    I wish I could rate Red Jacket even higher than a 5/5. Everything magical about our wedding weekend was thanks to the unforgettable care, trust, professionalism, and creativity that came from the Red Jacket team.

    In every instance that we had a vision for our wedding, Red Jacket accommodated exactly what we asked for – and in every case that we hadn't thought of the specifics or were underprepared, Red Jacket came to the rescue with a thoughtful plan to cover the finest of details.

    The facilities were stunning – as long as you're okay sharing the resort with other visitors – and offered a great getaway treat for our guests on top of the party we had planned. And the food was spectacular too. Most importantly, though, the staff went above and beyond to make us feel special. Communication was clear, honest, and supportive at every step. Our point of contact Karen Rood was our wedding guardian angel. We owe it all to her.
  • A
    Amy Sent on 07/01/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Red Jacket Beach Resort was unbelievable for our wedding ceremony, reception and rehearsal dinner. All of the staff were great to work with and it was a pleasure meeting them all. Hannah, the coordinator was great to work with and on my wedding day, I didn't have to worry about a thing because she had it all covered.
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 10/29/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't say enough good things about the Red Jacket Beach Resort for a wedding. I worked with Jyl Deering on all of our plans and she was a god-send. She was extremely responsive to all of my (many) emails and questions (I was planning the wedding from Chicago!) and made sure everything happened smoothly on the day of. The food and beverage staff made delicious meals that everyone really enjoyed and you can't really beat the lawn ceremony overlooking the beach. I would highly recommend this venue to any bride looking for a classic cape cod wedding. Especially if you're planning from out of town and need an attentive staff who will help you get everything done.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • User1847489 Sent on 10/06/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't say enough great things about the Red Jacket. We couldn't have been happier with the way our wedding day went. Chris was so easy to work with and so patient with me and all my questions. All of my guests raved about the food and how beautiful everything was. It was great to be able to have our out of town guests stay at the resort instead of having to drive to a nearby hotel or home afterwards. They made our day amazing. I would highly recommend the Red Jacket Beach Resort for your beach wedding :-)
  • M
    Meredith Sent on 10/01/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived until we left! We cannot thank you enough for making our dream wedding possible. From the spa makeup to last minute dinner guest changes everyone at the Resort was more than accomodating. Thanks to Janel, Chris, Joe, Becca and Laura (in spirit!) and all the front desk staff for their hard work and dedication. We cannot wait to celebrate our first anniversary (and many more) at the Red Jacket!
  • C
    Caitlin Sent on 05/18/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had never heard of the Red Jacket until I started looking for wedding venues on the Cape - I'm so glad I did my research! I went to look at it in the middle of the winter and their landscaping was beautiful even then! Their site on the beach can't be beat - the hotel literally sits on a huge beach. They have many different price packages that make it easy to fit your budget. And, best of all, they have reasonable hotel rates so your guests can actually stay there (unlike many other wedding venues on the Cape where a night's stay is over $300!!!!). I worked with Sally, their wedding coordinator, who was completely on top of everything the entire way through (including dealing with my Dad-zilla!) The food tasting was phenomenal - Chef makes the best lobster bisque my family has ever tasted. Even with all of these promising signs, I expected my wedding day to be just good, because I hadn't spent the huge price tag that many luxury wedding venues on the Cape charge. However, I'm not exaggerating when I say that literally every element of my wedding was PERFECT. It didn't hurt that the weather was 75 and sunny, but during our outdoors cocktail hour the passed hors d'ouvres were to die for, the waitstaff friendly and helpful, and the drinks were great (we had a signature cocktail which turned out perfectly!) Then Sally shooed the wedding party upstairs at exactly the right time so we could get settled before we were announced. My husband and I took a peek at the room before we went in and it completely exceeded our expectations! There were little lights under the sweetheart table, cake table, and candy buffet. The cake table, guest table, place card table, and candy buffet were set up so beautifully with accents like seashells and beach glass, candles, ribbons, and flowers. It was truly artistic. Then the food came and my decidedly "foodie" family and friends were completely impressed. The night went on perfectly, and then we had rented one of the many cottages on property that the Red Jacket owns for the "afterparty", which was also perfect! I apologize for the long review but all in all the wedding was absolutely above and beyond our expectations and I would STRONGLY recommend anyone looking for a beach wedding on the Cape check them out!
  • S
    Stephanie Sent on 06/10/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everyone at the Red Jacket Resort was very nice and helpful. The Banquet Manager, Sally, was absolutely AMAZING to work with. She made sure everything for both our rehearsal dinner and the wedding came out exactly has we had hoped. There was a little miscommunication between the sales office (who we booked the wedding through) and the actual hotel when we first booked the wedding, but everything turned out fine in the end. I would ask to start speaking with Sally as soon as possible to make sure everyone is on the same page.

    The food was by far my favorite part of the whole weekend! My husband and I are both picky eaters, and actually asked for seconds!! AMAZING.

    Also-- one thing I would def recommend for anyone who getting married there, make a weekend out of it (if you can). They hotel has these great cottages, and if possible, rent one of those for you and your bridal party. I got ready there the day of the wedding, and I think the background is better than it would have been in the hotel room or bridal room.
  • J
    Jane Sent on 12/07/2017
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The venue was ideal for a beach wedding. Kudos to the chef and Karen who attended to every detail. The food was excellent and exceeded food we’ve had at waterfront hotels in Boston. We did get negative feedback on the accommodations. The rooms are dated and the hallways are dismal. Updating is needed.
  • User1322949 Sent on 09/10/2013
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Red Jacket team was amazing throughout the wedding planning process. They were able to accommodate all of our requests, and carried out a seemless wedding. I would highly reccommend the Red Jacket for a ceremony and reception location!
  • A
    Ashley Sent on 07/09/2012
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    UPDATE: the Food and beverage manager contacted me today to inform me that they had top of our wedding cake in their fridge and apologized for not giving it to us at check-out. We are going to pick it up the next time we get down to the cape. Chris, the food and beverage manager, also explained the confusion around the bar tab. He explained he wasn’t informed that I wanted the gratuity to be included in that extension and in hindsight, should have verified the dollar amount at the time, but when he is told to extend an open bar “X” amount of dollars, it’s rare to assume that it would include additional gratuities." I appreciate his follow up and want to note publicly that Chris (the food and beverage manager), Mary (wedding coordinator at the resort), and Tom (the General Manager) have been a pleasure to work with. The are extremely responsive, professional, understanding, and accommodating. I am very thankful for all they did for our wedding.

    The red jacket beach resort was an absolutely amazing venue for our wedding. The grounds are spectacular, the food was excellent, and the service was impeccable. That being said there were several things that occurred which I was not particularly happy with:

    1. the air conditioning was not working properly in the ballroom and the resort knew about the issue for several days prior to my wedding and did not inform me. My wedding was on a 90 degree day and due to the air conditioning issue many of my guests were uncomfortable and left the reception and several guest reported being dripped on by the air vent condensation. My husband and I were given a small monetary discount for the issue after complaining to the General Manager several days later.

    2. The resort staff did not save the tier of our wedding cake despite the fact that I was explicitly told that this would be saved for us to keep. No remedy from the resort was offered to us for that.

    3. The resort failed to distribute wedding brochures that I had printed with timelines for the wedding to all guests at check-in despite being promised that this would occur. To clarify some guests did get the brochures but a number of guests did not.

    4. The resort called my in-laws 2 days after the wedding telling them they had a 400+ outstanding bill for the wedding. My husband and I were never notified of the bill. When I spoke to the general manager he explained that the bill was gratuity for the open bar; however, on my wedding day my mother's instruction regarding the bar to not exceed the money I had paid the resort. The General Manager agreed to cover the additional bill.

    5. The vegetarian meals I requested for several guests were never served to them. I had to pull a staff member aside and demand the meals after I realized that the guests were served the incorrect food. (I provided a chart of the guests who required veggie meals prior to the wedding).

    6. During the buffet meal, I witnessed a staff member tell one of the tables of guests "if you do not move to the buffet line now we are not going to feed you". I informed my wedding planner who spoke to the staff member directly.

    7. There is poor communication between the staff at the resort. I paid over the amount due for the ceremony and reception bill prior to the wedding to ensure that I would not owe money at the end. Two days before the wedding I received an email from the food and beverage manager stating that I still had a balance on the bill. I had to send him a copy all the payments I made to prove that everything was taken care of previously.


    Overall, it was a good experience but I wanted to tell future brides to keep the items described above in mind.
Responds within 24 hours