Rabbi Margie Jacobs Reviews

25 | Berkeley, CA
See photos, pricing and details

25 Reviews for Rabbi Margie Jacobs

Recommended by 98%

25
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 03/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Margie officiated my wedding in March, 2018, but we spent almost a year working with Margie over 4-5 sessions. Initially we weren't sure we wanted a rabbi, but when we met Rabbi Margie she really spoke to our values and the work she did with us on exploring and reinforcing our relationship was invaluable and she really enriched our ceremony and relationship. The ceremony she crafted in response to getting to know us was perfect and we had so many compliments on how lovely it was from our guests and sensitively integrated Jewish traditions we felt comfortable with and our feelings for each other. It was a pleasure working with Rabbi Margie and I'd recommend her for anyone who wants to explore their or their partner's connection to Judaism in constructing their wedding ceremony.

  • L

    Leora · Married on 06/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't thank Rabbi Margie enough for the incredible presence, care and thoughtfulness that she brought to our ceremony AND, more importantly to our entire wedding planning process. I felt deeply witnessed and held in the tradition and mindfulness that Margie brought to our ceremony -- she was the perfect match for our desire to have a ceremony in tune with both our Jewish heritage and our meditation practice as a couple. Margie met with us a couple many (maybe 8?) times before our wedding not only to get to know us as a couple but to help verbalize what our long-term commitment really meant to us, and to help us form a ritual that was truly authentic to OUR relationship. Our work with Margie is helping me to continue my own learning around ritual and Judaism in a way that continues to unfold beautifully and with many surprises, and helped guide my partner and I through the beautiful and challenging process of bringing together our families and our lives -- guidance that came with calm, wisdom and good humor at all times.

  • User3638907 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Margie officiated our wedding last month and was such a pleasure to work with. She met with us five or six times in the lead up to our wedding to help us craft a ceremony that really captured our personalities and relationship. She is very genuine and caring as a person and helped us to stay connected to the things that were most important about our marriage during all the chaos of wedding planning. She did a fantastic job delivering the ceremony and has a very gentle and warm presence. I can't recommend her enough; we feel very lucky to have found her and can't imagine our wedding without her.

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Margie made our wedding flow beautifully. The many hours of work she put in with us prior to the big day helped me (and consequently my family) feel profoundly connected to the Jewish ceremony even though I am not Jewish. I am so grateful that she was part this life event and I will continue to turn to her for guidance moving forward.

  • E

    Eric · Married on 09/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Margie helped us bring the vision of our wedding and our ceremony to life. She guided us through the entire process with a gentle and loving hand - while encouraging us to look deeper at what's most important to us. Her support, coupled with her wisdom is exactly what needed and hoped for through this experience.

  • M

    Matt · Married on 09/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Margie is so warm, sweet and fun. She was incredibly helpful during our engagement and really stepped up and delivered during our wedding. The ceremony may have been my favorite part because Margie had such an interesting set of prayers and speeches that brought in our whole family. I would highly recommend her to anyone seeking a very intuitive, thoughtful rabbi that genuinely cares about the couple's well being and how they are portrayed during the ceremony.

  • D

    doug · Married on 08/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best possible rabbi. So great. She connected with us and was sensitive in every way. So many people at our wedding felt thrilled and delighted by Rabbi Jacobs. She helped set a tone and a mood and a feeling at our wedding. I am honored to write this review.

  • User3633967 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Jacobs officiated our wedding ceremony recently. From our first meeting with her we felt that we would be in capable hands, and it turns out we were, from the beginning of the process all the way through our wedding day.
    She is a warm, sensitive and perceptive person who helped guide us through the process of moving from being an engaged couple to a married couple. In the meetings we had with her she offered us a space to focus on our relationship, not just on planning the ceremony.
    As we did move into the ceremony planning phase, she was very helpful. She helped us to tailor the traditional Jewish ceremony to be the most meaningful to us as a couple. Almost all of the guests I spoke to on our wedding day (and since) have commented on how much they appreciated the energy and intimacy she brought to the event. They have often commented on how warm and personal the ceremony felt.

  • K

    Kirsten · Married on 07/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our ceremony was the highlight of our wedding, which is actually not at all what we were anticipating when thinking about our wedding. Maggie truly listened to exactly what we wanted and got an accurate sense of us as a couple and made the ceremony so perfect for us.

  • A

    Andrey · Married on 07/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Margie was a great officiant and we had nothing but exceedingly positive comments about our ceremony from both sides of our family. We planned our SF wedding from the East Coast and got to know Rabbi Margie over the course of a year. She made us feel comfortable discussing intimate details of our ceremony and lives together as a couple. She was very organized planning the ceremony -- meeting with us for lunch a few days before the wedding to ensure the planning and details were right. Because of that, our wedding ceremony was perfect (no mistakes, no awkward moments). My wife's family is Catholic and she was very sensitive to their expectations and making our Jewish ceremony inclusive of her family. We could not have asked for a better officiant and our wedding really felt surreal and meaningful!

  • User3634209 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbie Margie Jacobs was a wonderful officiant at our wedding. She was warm, personable and made sure that the whole ceremony was about us specifically, and not something general that one could perform for about anyone. She spent a lot of time with us in preparation and gave us a lot of great input and guidance not just for the ceremony but for our life together as a couple. She was absolutely the best choice for us to perform our wedding ceremony.

  • A

    Amber · Married on 09/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Margie was such a pleasure to work with! She not only helped us prepare for our wedding, but also for our life together. She coached us, and served as a sounding board as we processed important topics ranging from religion to family to work/life balance. She pushed us to think deeply and supported us as we did so. I would recommend Margie to any couple looking for a wedding officiant. She is gifted at what she does, and will only enhance your special day.

  • A

    AJ · Married on 09/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Margie Jacobs was a phenomenal officiant. My wife and I made a decision to have a Jewish wedding a month before the wedding. We originally had plans to have a low-key wedding with one of our friends being the officiant, but then decided otherwise and on short notice Rabbi Margie was nothing short of fantastic.

    She was incredibly responsive in her communication and she was always available to talk. More than her impeccable quality of service, responsiveness, professionalism, and flexibility, the aspect of Rabbi Margie that my wife and I were most thankful for was her value. She asked thought-provoking questions and helped my wife and I make our wedding the most special and unique experience in my life. Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend Rabbie Margie.

  • T

    tori · Married on 07/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Margie made our wedding so personal and beautiful. It was commented by many that it was the "sweetest wedding they had ever been too." She went above and beyond to make our day amazing! I would highly recommend her.

  • T

    Theresa · Married on 07/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was wonderful working with Rabbi Margie. Thanks to her, our wedding ceremony felt so personal and touching. She worked with us all year long to prepare for the big day, not only for the wedding, but for marriage.

  • A

    Ali and Tim · Married on 05/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Margie for our wedding was an absolute joy. We had several meetings with her to plan throughout the year, and she always helped us keep perspective about what was important, sacred, and beautiful about going through this rite of passage together. Our ceremony was perfect and exactly what we wanted. Margie really captured the essence of who we are, our passions and values. She was extremely accessible and easy to work with, and I felt like I was getting the experience of being married by my family rabbi, even though we had just met one year prior. I could not recommend her more highly.

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 07/21/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Margie Jacobs was beyond amazing. She is brilliant and spirtual and created the exact Ketubah signing experience we were visioning for our wedding. I would recommend Rabbie Margie Jacobs hands down!

  • H

    Heidi · Married on 06/08/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Margie Jacobs officiated at our "tenayim" (a Jewish ritual like an engagement, in which we brought our community together to witness that we wanted to commit to sharing our lives together and publicly declare the values that are important to us for ourselves and our families). Rabbi Margie is WONDERFUL! She has such a calming presence. I've known her personally and professionally now for years, and it's always such a joy to learn with her and just be in the same space with her. I felt that she understood our needs beautifully (I'm Jewish and my husband is not) and she was able to translate our feeling and thoughts into a beautiful, inspirational, and very "heimish" celebration that we will remember forever. She is knowledgable and creative, and brings a calming, serene presence to her work. I highly recommend her. I now have been at a number of weddings and baby namings at which she has officiated, and at each one I've felt she has facilitated beautifully.

  • User2868289 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Margie has a joyous yet scholarly approach to ceremonies. She is committed, thoughtful, and fun.

  • R

    rachel · Married on 02/27/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Margie brought joy and spiritual presence to our wedding ceremony. She made our wedding a much deeper, more meaningful and more beautiful experience. Thank you, Margie!
    Rachel & Roger

  • B

    Beth · Married on 08/31/2003

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Margie was professional and personable. She spent time getting to know us and was readily available to us. Our ceremony was very intimate and personalized. I highly recommend her!

    Beth Handwerger
    Philadelphia, PA

  • A

    Andrew · event on: 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Margie was just who we needed for our son's Barmitzvah. She was kind, insightful and responsive tutor. She was able to read both our needs as parents and our son's needs and able to steer us in the right direction when we needed it. She also provided a service that let our son shine. She kept her own ego out of the picture and created an event that let our son's character and talents come forth. We got lucky with Rabbie Margie.

  • B

    Ben · Married on 08/02/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very supportive and responsive. Gave us some great things to think about through the process that we still find valuable 3 years later

  • J

    jill · Married on 09/22/2013

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Margie officiated our outdoor wedding this past fall in Marin County. We selected her primarily because she is very sweet, patient and seemed to really 'get' what we wanted from our wedding, since I am Jewish and my husband is not. The planning process with her was overall very good. Our conversations leading up to the day of kept us focused on the marriage itself as much as on the details of the wedding. It helps to have an officiant who thinks about the long-term (which we agree is the way it should!) She worked with us to alter the aspects of the ceremony itself so that they made both of us comfortable, as well as my father who is fairly traditional.

    Margie's calming influence became important on our wedding day when the venue had not set up a table for our Ketubah signing. We were pretty upset by this, and Margie's calming attitude and words were instrumental in getting us back to the important moment and focused on the meaning of the day.

    The ceremony itself went as wonderfully as we could have hoped and we can enthusiastically recommend Rabbi Margie. As a testament to her professionalism, a yellow jacket was harassing us for nearly the entire ceremony and she didn't miss a beat or even pause. She is a true pro!

  • K

    Kara · Married on 05/25/2013

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Rabbi Margie has a very sweet way about her. She was patient on the phone with my husband and me navigating through all of the interesting interfaith terrain in a delicate manner, assuring we were both comfortable by the time we hung up the phone.
    She seemed a little nervous when the ceremony first began but became more comfortable as it progressed and everyone ended up thinking it was a lovely ceremony-I am still receiving compliments.
    Rabbi Margie also conducted a beautiful Mikvah service the morning of the wedding- it was intimate and she shined in that environment.
    She is very esoteric and peaceful. If you like that vibe she is your Rabbi...

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review