Queen of Cakes Reviews

199 | Minneapolis, MN
See photos, pricing and details

199 Reviews for Queen of Cakes

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

199

2 User photos

Order by:
  • Renee

    Renee Reuper · Married on 09/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding service and taste

    Our cake was phenomenal! Chocolate with Bavarian creme.

    Sent on 09/19/2019

    Queen of Cakes's reply:

    Thank you for your review, Renee! It was a pleasure to work with you and Gordon! We loved the design and hexagon shape of the cake that you chose. We hope to see you again in the near future!
  • S

    Simone · Married on 08/31/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    SO yummy!!!

    Terri is amazing. She sat down with my mother and I and allowed us to sample all of the cake flavors. She listened to our ideas and drew them up as we spoke. She gave us a quote and even allowed us to let our imaginations soar. She is willing to try new things just to allow you to get the look you desire. Very approachable, very reasonable and so knowledgeable.

    Sent on 02/07/2019

    Queen of Cakes's reply:

    Thank you very much for your review, Simone! It was great working with you and getting to be a part of your special day. We hope to see you again in the near future!
    - Terri
  • S

    Sally Margarit · Married on 06/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BEST wedding Cake around!

    Terri was just PHENOMENAL to work with! She created the most beautiful cake of our dreams and it was SO tasty!
    Her quality of work for her price can't be beat!
    Terri is so dedicated to providing top notch service she was so easy and kind to work with! My husband and I are so happy we found Queen of Cakes!

    Sent on 07/05/2019

    Queen of Cakes's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review, Sally! The cake design you chose was so elegant, we truly enjoyed making it for you! We hope to serve you again soon in the future.
    - Terri
  • Beth

    Beth Caron · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cake to die for.

    Obviously the cake needs to taste amazing and look great, and this cake was 100% that. We loved that we easily determined which flavors we loved at our tasting and the entire selection process was enjoyable and efficient. Also- the whipped topping was phenomenal! our guests raved about the cake, what more could you want!? Thanks Queen of Cakes!

    Sent on 05/20/2019
  • G

    Grace · Married on 12/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tasty Cake!

    It was delicious and they were able to take the pictures I sent and make them into a reality. Beautiful.

    Sent on 12/25/2018
  • R

    Rose · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED our cake! We had a smaller tired cake for the cake cutting photos and then ordered 3 different flavors of sheet cake for the wedding guests. Our special cake was exactly as we wanted and we couldn’t be happier! Our guests loved that we had different options to choose from. And having Queen of Cakes deliver the cakes on the day of our wedding was nice to have one less thing to worry about! The cakes were all very delicious, we have some leftovers and have been enjoying it all week! We highly recommend Queen of Cakes!!

    Sent on 09/03/2018
  • T

    Tony · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cake was amazing, the folks that run this shop are the best in the business. We had a ton of comments on how great the cake was. We had looked at a ton of different shops and tasted multiple places. Don't let the size of this bakery fool you, the make the BEST cake in the twin cites!!!!!

    Sent on 07/15/2018
  • J

    Jeri · Married on 07/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Queen of Cakes has made 12+ cakes for me over the past 18 months. I found them after a very snotty pastry chef at Byerlys wanted to charge me $700 for a birthday cake for my granddaughter and would not guarantee they could keep it safe for nut allergies. Queen of cakes really worked with me to make the exact cake, offering suggestions for lowering the price (smooth buttercreme frosting vs. fondant). Three tiers, tops turvey, hot pink, black, silver, for a third of the price. Allergy safe and delicious! They were amazing, helpful, very creative and KIND. They have made horses, Grease, Beauty and the Beast, Paw Patrol, astronaut in space, mermaid, under the sea, golfing, and Wizard of OZ with all the key characters! They will accept your design ideas, come up with their own, or partner with you to create a masterpiece for your event. Best part is the cakes taste amazing with many flavors and fillings to choose from. I highly recommend them!!!

    Sent on 07/31/2017
  • A

    Ana · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Queen of Cakes made our wedding cake and we would highly recommend them--they make the best cake and they have the best customer service! From the cake tasting to the day of the wedding, they were so helpful and friendly. You won't find better cake, better service, or better prices!

    Sent on 08/15/2017
  • B

    Bradley · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Terri and the entire Queen of Cakes team blew us away!!! Not only were they wonderful people to work with, but the cake was DELICIOUS!!! And we didn't ask for just any cake...we had a very specific request...and it wasn't easy...or at least we thought. But Terri made it come to life and she far exceeded our expectations!!! Our friends and family are still raving over it!!! Highly, HIGHLY recommend...prices were fair, quality was incredible, responsiveness was perfection, and we LOVED coming into the cake studio for our tasting and meeting everyone!!! LOVED!!!!

    Sent on 06/25/2017
  • Brooke

    Brooke · Married on 01/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Queen of Cakes was the second bakery we met with when searching for someone to do our wedding cake. I had a particular vision of how I wanted our wedding cake decorated and so I had made a drawing of it because I wasn't finding any photographs like it online. The first bakery flat out said it couldn't be done. Queen of Cakes had no such issues. At our first meeting we were given several different methods of how they could achieve the design I was requesting. I was contacted a couple of times closer to the big day to make sure that they definitely understood what I was looking for. It was perfect! Exactly what I had envisioned. I was so happy. Plus, it tasted great too! I would definitely use them for anything I need a cake or cupcakes for in the future.

    Sent on 01/09/2017
  • K

    Kim · Married on 12/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    High quality customer service and delicious wedding cake are what you can expect from the Queen of Cakes. You can only bring one person with you to the tasting (the space is limited), but it was my favorite tasting of the 3 different bakeries I tried. Stephanie helped us and she was very informative and provided suggestions on how to achieve the look I was after. Queen of Cakes will give you up-front, easy to understand pricing (basically, you pay per serving with some add-on fees for extras like hand painting, but the basic decorations are included). I found some other bakers were not so transparent with their prices. We ordered a 4-tier cake (6 inch, 8 inch, 10 inch and 12 inch) which served about 127. There were so many cake flavors I loved that we decided to get three different flavors - white with chocolate mousse, marble with raspberry mousse, and lemon with strawberry mousse. We listed the different flavors on the dinner menu and the the guests got to choose, which was appreciated. We also rented their beautiful gold stand which was free (the deposit is refunded if returned within a few days of the wedding). After placing my order, the baker and owner contacted me several times to verify things and finalize the design. The customer service was superb, and well above and beyond the service you're likely to get the larger wedding cake bakeries in the Twin Cities.

    Sent on 12/30/2016
  • E

    Eleanor · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cake was beautiful, and absolutely delicious!! Terri is so nice to work with, and was very helpful with the design. We would definitely recommend Queen of Cakes!

    Sent on 11/13/2016

    Queen of Cakes's reply:

    Hi Eleanor! Thank you for this review, we had fun making your cake! I personally did the decorating and delivery for your wedding cake; it was fun to see your creative ideas for the centerpieces and the cake toppers! These are the type of weddings that make our job so rewarding. Hope to serve you again soon!
    Terri
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 09/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at Queen of Cakes was amazing, they spoke with me several times about how I wanted my cake and made it look PERFECT for my wedding day. I appreciate how accommodating they were and made me feel so valued. I purchased a 2 layer cake for pictures and cutting, it was 6 inch on the top round with ivory color and the bottom was 8 inch with all gold color, SO BEAUTIFUL!

    Sent on 10/06/2016
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Queen of Cakes was just amazing. They were the second cake place we went to. They made us feel special and important. They made it easy and understood what I was envisioning for the cake and helped make the design happen and make sense. The cake was beautiful and exactly what I was thinking. The taste of the cake was wonderful. The best cake i have ever had! Thank you!

    Sent on 03/10/2017
  • Caitlin

    Caitlin · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Queen of Cakes (and Terri, the owner!) was a perfect vendor for our wedding cupcakes! Terri let us do a number of varieties and combinations (with no minimums), and decorated them to perfectly match our theme. They have cupcake stands to rent, and honestly - the cupcakes are just as good (if not better!) than the much-more-expensive cupcake-only vendors out there! My only gripe is that the cupcakes were so good that they disappeared so quickly! Next time, I would order at least two for every guest!

    Sent on 09/15/2016
  • H

    heidi · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Queen of Cakes has the best tasting, most flavorful cakes I've tasted in the Twin Cities. Beautifully decorated and great customer service. Highly recommended.

    Sent on 08/14/2016
  • L

    Larisa · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Terri and the staff at Queen of Cakes was awesome! We have used Queen of Cakes for birthdays, our engagement party and knew we wanted book with he but we met with other wedding cake vendors to do our homework. Queen of Cakes is the best all-around, there are the most flavored that you can customize to your liking, creative designs (best for themed birthdays), easy service, and a great price! We went for white cake with triple berry filling and buttercream frosting for our main cake. Then for additional flavors and to serve all guests, we had sheet cake of chocolate cake, baileys filling and chocolate buttercream cake. They were absolutely delicious and we had received tons of compliments from the wedding guests!
    Queen of Cakes helped make our wedding day fabulous and we can't wait to work with Terri and the rest of the staff for future celebrations!

    Sent on 08/22/2016
  • J

    James · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Queen of cakes was phenomenal from the first meeting until the final product. Terry and her staff made our day very special. I highly recommend them for weddings and any cake needs.

    Sent on 08/22/2016
  • S

    Sheri · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a wonderful cake vendor. QoC is open to different options in terms of style and design. They will set realistic expectations of what they can design and what is better suited elsewhere. I really appreciated that they were the one vendor that did not stress out the bride…they were demanding and they allowed us the time we needed to get all of the elements together to determine what we wanted. The pricing was very reasonable considering how beautiful the cakes are and the wonderful taste of the cakes. I ultimately provided a photo of the design I wanted, and our cake was absolutely beautiful!

    Sent on 08/23/2016
  • T

    Tessa · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Queen of Cakes for our June wedding of 2016, and could not have been any happier with the service that they provided. Not only was our cake delicious, but it was more beautiful than we could have imagined. They incorporated every special request that we made, including ones that other vendors weren't willing to accommodate. They worked with us on a custom design, including buttercream icing whereas other vendors would have required us to use fondant, custom brooches (provided by us), and fresh strawberries instead of frozen (provided by them). If I could rate them higher than five stars, I most certainly would. People who don't even like cake came up and told us that they loved it!

    Thank you for helping make our day special. We would definitely recommend QoC to our friends.

    Sent on 06/24/2016

    Queen of Cakes's reply:

    Hi Tessa! thank you for this post! I loved making your cake; you chose a beautiful design, and I'm sure your choice of fresh strawberries was a hit with your guests!
    Please stay in touch with us, we'd love to serve you again!
    Terri & the QofC Wedding Cake Team
  • Kate

    Kate · Married on 06/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Terri and the Queen of Cakes Wedding Team were absolutely phenomenal! They made our "Bride and Groom's" cake for cutting and we could not have been more thrilled! It was absolutely stunning! We got so many compliments on it! Best of all, it tasted AMAZING! We highly recommend them to anyone looking for a beautiful and tasty cake for their wedding.

    Sent on 07/07/2016
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When looking for a wedding cake vendor, look no further than Queen of Cakes! We have used them for several cakes beyond our wedding cake and it's hands down the best cake you will ever eat. They have several options to choose from and all are so delicious it can be difficult to make a choice (a good problem to have). We brought in a photo of what we wanted for our wedding cake and they made it exactly how it was shown in the photo. Not only is the quality the highest, but working with Terri is such a positive experience--she is such a kind, patient and all around wonderful person! We do not have enough positive things to say about them. We love using them for all of our cakes and highly recommend them!

    Sent on 03/05/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 03/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake came out so cute! From the very beginning, Queen of Cakes was easy to work with, responsive and delicious. Our initial meeting was actually a lot of fun coming up with designs for our cake, and they were great about following up with us later to make sure everything still looked correct. Most importantly, we're big cake people and this cake was so good I'm still dreaming about it. It stayed extra moist into the next several days and they had a huge array of flavor combinations to choose from. Plenty of satisfied guests!

    Sent on 04/17/2016
  • User6680859 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning cakes. What a great place I had ordered from, the staff was great and the tasting was phenomenal. I had spent some time searching out a good vendor for my cake and they came out ahead with the best flavors, designs and delivery. I would use them again and recommend them!

    Sent on 08/24/2016