Purgatory Golf Club Reviews

28 | Noblesville, IN
See photos, pricing and details

28 Reviews for Purgatory Golf Club

Recommended by 94%

28
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.7

9 User photos

Purgatory Golf Club 1
Purgatory Golf Club 2
Purgatory Golf Club 3
Purgatory Golf Club 4
Purgatory Golf Club 5
Purgatory Golf Club 6
Purgatory Golf Club 7
+ 3
Sort by:
  • Lisa

    Lisa · Married on 09/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heavenly time

    For my husband and I, we chose Purgatory based on the beautiful scenery, the ability to have an outdoor ceremony and most importantly for us the price point was much more competitive than other venues in the area. We had also read that the food was good which was a major plus.

    What we didn’t realize is that the best thing about Purgatory ( the taco bar was a really close second) was having the event coordinator Samantha throughout the process. Samantha is the opitimy of professionalism and extremely organized. We felt from the beginning expectations were set and we never felt as if additional costs were being thrown at us without us knowing.

    Throughout the process, Samantha sent reminders at 1 year, 6 months and more frequently as we got closer. At the tasting, not only did we pick out delicious food but we were able to utilize the time as a planning session. This was about 3 months out from the big day and really helped us gain perspective as to what We had accomplished, and what we needed to still complete. We felt a huge weight lifted off after this meeting. At six weeks she senta timeline that outlined everything she needed from us, whether it was payments, or guest count - again it was all lined out so no last minute surprises.

    The day of the wedding, there are always some kinks and try as we might to breakdown a schedule ahead of time, life happens and we were running behind. Thankfully Samantha is a pro and she kept us updated. She was very level headed and made me feel a wave of calm. She was able to work with her staff to get 200+ people through the buffet so that people could enjoy the taco bar. Samantha helped make our wedding dreams come true and we are so thankful she there to help our day run smoothly.

    Sent on 09/30/2019
    Purgatory Golf Club 8
    Purgatory Golf Club 9
    Purgatory Golf Club 10
    Purgatory Golf Club 11
    Purgatory Golf Club 12
  • C

    Cynthia Cullom · Married on 08/31/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful to work with!

    Samantha at Purgatory was so helpful when we were planning our wedding. The opportunity to do a tasting with the Chef was great. Samantha was flexible, when we made a couple of additions to our list the week before the wedding. The bartenders were friendly, as well as the servers. The place is a beautiful setting if you love the feel of a lodge. We are lovers of the outdoors and fell in love with the venue. I loved that their prices are posted on their website, there were no surprises.

    Sent on 09/09/2019
    Purgatory Golf Club 13
    Purgatory Golf Club 14
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beyond Expectations

    LGBTQ friendly venue! Samantha was incredibly responsive and helped us through every step of the way. We had a vendor back out the night before our wedding and Samantha and David pulled together to get a replacement and I am aka thankful to them. I can't begin to thank the people at Purgatory enough for how truly amazing they were to us before, during and after our wedding. Thank you so much.

    Sent on 10/24/2018
    Purgatory Golf Club 15
    Purgatory Golf Club 16
  • M

    Mitchell · Married on 06/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sam and her staff were absolutely fantastic. We could not have had a better experience during the planning stages and wedding day. Fun, flexible, and attentive. We are constantly hearing from our friends and family how great the venue and staff were. Thank you Sam and the rest of the Purgatory staff!

    Sent on 07/12/2018
  • S

    Susan · Married on 05/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just had our daughters wedding and reception at Purgatory. We couldn’t have asked for a more positive experience! Working with Samantha was as easy as it gets. She was very professional, knew all the ins and outs of what it takes to put on such a great wedding and reception for ourselves and our guests. She guided us all he way through from beginning to end. She was very accommodating to our needs and responded to our many questions within a timely manner. Our guests raved about the food (taco bar) and the venue overall. My daughter was looking for a rustic venue site and not a banquet hall. Purgatory was the one and only place we looked! If you want a stress free experience, go take a look at what Purgatory has to offer. I promise you won’t be disappointed!

    Sent on 05/06/2018
  • F

    Faith · Married on 05/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a beautiful place! Very prompt and accomodating! Sam was awesome to work with and made our day perfect! Our guest were in awe over the food, reception hall, and ceremony! They went above and beyond and made us feel very special!!

    Sent on 05/22/2018
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 09/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pretty amazing so far. We will see how it all turns out!

    Sent on 05/09/2017
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Purgatory Golf Club was such a beautiful place to have our wedding reception! People were very impressed with the natural outdoor scenery and the beautiful main room. Samantha was very quick to answer any and all questions and was accommodating to any changes we made. The staff was also very friendly and patient- even when the groomsmen were being a bit pesky! We had to set up ourselves but the staff had the room prepared the day before for us to come in and set up. We were so happy with how everything turned out! I also appreciated the golf club allowed everyone to leave their cars there overnight!

    Sent on 08/16/2017
  • C

    Callie · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful experience getting married at Purgatory. We had planned to use their outdoor ceremony site for our ceremony, but due to 3 days of flash flooding in the area we instead moved it inside. It was so smooth and easy, even though we had the ceremony in the same room as the reception. I think it was SMOOTHER than it could have possibly been outside, as had been planned. Luckily it was a beautiful day and we were still able to get pictures outside on the gorgeous golf course. The food was amazing, as we knew it would be from the tasting and from going to several of their monthly wine dinners. A lot of our guests were vegetarian, and we were very happy that there had been several vegetarian options on the banquet menu. We both had the vegetarian option, but I heard a lot of guests raving about the stuffed chicken breast. Majorly recommend the mac and cheese as a side! The staff was awesome and very easy to work with - HUGE props to Samantha and Kelly and the Purgatory staff for being highly competent professionals and making our wedding day so easy. Making things easy was definitely one of our goals, so having the ceremony and reception in the same place was something we were specifically looking for -- finding a venue that also does catering (and AWESOME catering) was the cherry on top. Given that we were talking to a lot of wedding vendors, it was also refreshing to talk to people who were straightforward and never tried to upsell us on anything. We had a great day at Purgatory!

    Sent on 05/15/2017
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 12/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue itself is beautiful! The staff were all so great at getting back with me and quick with their response times! The day off they had everything ready for us, and our reception turned out awesome!

    Sent on 12/13/2016
  • M

    Mandy · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have been happier with this venue! It's absolutely beautiful and the staff are outstanding. They are willing to work with your ideas and will do whatever to make sure your day is perfect. It was raining all morning the day of my wedding and Samantha was willing to wait until the last minute to move everything inside if we needed to. Luckily the rain stopped and it was a beautiful evening for our outside wedding. I highly, highly recommend using this venue if it is on your list of wedding venues to chose from!

    Sent on 09/30/2016
  • M

    Mackenzie · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Samantha at Purgatory made our wedding planning so easy! She was always so quick to respond and helpful in letting us have access to the venue whenever we needed. The entire day went off without a hitch, thanks in large part to her and her wonderful staff!

    Sent on 09/17/2016
  • A

    Alyson · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I used Purgatory Golf Club as our reception venue in August. The event coordinator, Samantha, was fantastic from day one. She was very well organized and made the entire planning process extremely easy. The Purgatory staff that worked our reception were extraordinary. They were all so attentive, upbeat, and very helpful. I would highly recommend Purgatory Good Club as a reception venue.

    Sent on 09/25/2016
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely loved everything about Purgatory and it's staff! Samantha kept us on track and her flexibility is beyond any other venue we looked at. Thank you for making my vision for our day the most magical day possible!

    Nikki and Brandon

    Sent on 09/10/2016
  • B

    Blaine · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was so nice to have most everything taken care of in one place (the venue, food, and alcohol). They were extremely accommodating to all of my requests and even with me dropping in to check things out. The food was absolutely delicious (even made for a huge group). The grouper was to die for and our specialty cocktail was a hit!

    Sent on 09/13/2016
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 04/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Purgatory is affordable, beautiful, and simple. The employees genuinely want to make this day a huge success! They are so easy to work with and the location and building are just stunning! Love this place so much!

    Sent on 09/01/2016
  • User5425789 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you book for no other reason, like how absolutely stunning the place is, book for Samantha. She is absolutely amazing. She is the food and beverage director who also works like a wedding planner. She was very responsive to emails and questions and always had suggestions for things that may or may not work out better or that I may not have thought about while planning. The food was amazing and we received a lot of compliments on both the food and how beautiful the venue was. The rest of the staff was polite and fun to be around, but Samantha was worth every penny I paid and I can't even begin to express my gratitude for all of her help. I would recommend this place to anyone who asked.

    Sent on 10/27/2015
  • Carol

    Carol · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wanted an upscale country wedding and chose Purgatory Golf Club. We made an appointment with Samantha the Wedding Coordinator and Head Chef there and she was amazing. She worked very hard with me and allowed me every request I had from alternating napkin colors to setting up the tables exactly how I wished. We had our tasting in January because we wanted to cater with them. The tasting wasn't what I thought it would be so she gave us another one free of charge and it was spectacular! I didn't know what to expect but she made everything very clear and easy to work with. The ceremony was on sight and contributed to the higher venue cost but it was worth every penny and this is why: The ceremony chairs were a pretty white, the staff decorated the patio with beautiful potted flowers and plants, and they set up and tore down everything except the arch I had specially made for the venue. There is also a gazebo you can use but I chose the patio because I wanted my arch. Now the food. PLEASE use their catering. I've never had food seriously as good as the food Samantha's kitchen produced. We ordered garlic & cracked pepper spiced top round beef and sun dried tomato and mozzarella stuff chicken with a pesto cream sauce as our main protein and it was so excellently cooked I was floored! We also had a mashed potato bar which was a HUGE hit! The salad bar was fresh and delicious as were the hot green beans. We also had mini beef wellington, a chip and dip bar (homemade tortilla chips!), chicken quesadilla, and goat cheese and sage stuffed mushrooms as our cocktail hour snacks for guests during pictures. The guests said everything was perfect. I had many people from both sides come up and tell me how they had never had food so good at a wedding before. This was restaurant quality food. I have no idea how she managed to make so much food, so deliciously! She made sure everyone had glasses for the toast and champagne as well. We ordered four different wines, two specialty kegs,

    Sent on 09/20/2015
  • A

    Amy · Married on 08/06/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Purgatory was beautiful. Purgatory was an awesome backdrop for our wedding photos. Jon at Purgatory was a pleasure to work with. Food was amazing!

    Sent on 09/23/2011
  • M

    Mary · Married on 10/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have nothing but the highest praise for Purgatory Golf Club. The staff was friendly and attentive, the food was delicious, and the scenery was gorgeous. It was the perfect place for my wedding reception.

    Sent on 11/02/2010
  • S

    Shelby · Married on 06/09/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Samantha was wonderful to work with. The venue was beautiful. All of their rules and guidelines are very much like any other venue. The best perk was having golf cart services to and from the ceremony area on the course. This was very helpful for many of our guests. The food was very exceptional and we received many compliments.

    The only down fall was th disntace for guests and post wedding activities. There’s only 2 hotels nearby, so you have to make sure to block rooms right away.

    Sent on 06/23/2018
  • M

    Melodie · Married on 04/30/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were fantastic! I loved the venue itself and they were great to work with. Very professional and helpful! Definitely recommend.

    Sent on 09/06/2016
  • User3564952 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We ended up going through 3 different coordinators through the course of the year that we were contracted with Purgatory but the last one Samantha was wonderful to work with. She honored the contract we had from the very beginning, worked with us on everything, answered ALL of our questions and was just very sweet. I would def recommend a bride use Purgatory for their reception venue

    Sent on 10/18/2014
  • E

    Erika · Married on 10/21/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved this place the moment we saw it! The atmosphere of the reception area is so warm and inviting, and the outdoor ceremony cite made for a beautiful wedding!
    The staff was always nice and very helpful throughout the whole process! No major complaints! Great Place!

    Sent on 12/01/2017
  • J

    jonathon · Married on 09/03/2017

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    ajafJAOjoascpkamcoakmcoaksmcoiasmiomcoismco

    Sent on 11/16/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review