Prevailing Winds Lodge Reviews

3 | Blue Mounds, WI
See photos, pricing and details

3 Reviews for Prevailing Winds Lodge

Recommended by 99%

3

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • Leah

    Leah Granitz · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Lodge, Amazing Property, Excellent Service!

    We had our wedding at Prevailing Winds on October 6th, 2018 and we couldn't have been happier with Steve & Jen's services! We've received feedback from many guests about how gorgeous the views were on top of the hill, even on an overcast day! We wanted to, as much as possible, be surrounded by nature for our wedding day and this was the perfect venue for that! When envisioning our wedding, we had wanted to create time and space for family and friends who we don't see very often to gather and spend time together...the lodge was warm and welcoming and perfect for this, allowing for small gatherings before and after the actual wedding! We even hosted our rehearsal dinner of about 45 people at the lodge. With a couple of additional tables we brought from home, it fit everyone comfortably and helped to created a laid-back and fun atmosphere which is exactly what we wanted for the evening! The lodge was clean and well-maintained with comfortable beds and couches. The sun room was the perfect space for my bridesmaids and I to get ready the day of!

    Throughout the planning process, Steve was incredibly helpful, answering e-mails, phone calls and texts promptly and thoroughly. He offered ideas and suggestions for what had worked well in the past, but was also very open to trying new things (specifically, purchasing and hanging fairy lights in a certain way). Steve went above and beyond in many ways to help my vision become a reality, but what I appreciated most was his philosophy of "its your day - we want to do everything in our power to make your vision come together." He was also incredibly patient throughout the whole process, but especially the days before and after the wedding, fielding countless questions and requests from me and my crew.

    One of the perks of having your wedding at Prevailing Winds is that you can really customize the space. Since you're starting with a blank canvas, there is naturally a lot of freedom in how you decide to decorate and what kind of atmosphere you choose to create all with a beautiful, natural backdrop of rolling hills, WI farmland, and lush greenery. If I were doing this all over again, I would most definitely choose Prevailing Winds again with one addition - a day of wedding coordinator! Steve & his crew did an amazing job on the day of the wedding, helping out with whatever was needed, transporting guests to the ceremony site, assisting with logistics, etc. However, it may have been because of the fact that it rained a lot the night before AND the fact that I had quite a few decorations and things to set out near the ceremony site, but I felt like I ended up asking a lot of my family and friends the day of the wedding. Everything came together beautifully, but I do think having a day of coordinator to help with additional decorations, details, logistics, etc. would have be helpful in my case. However, I do think this is contingent upon the specific couple's vision for their day, how they choose to decorate, the weather and personality of the bride/groom.

    Overall, I am SO happy with our whole wedding weekend at Prevailing Winds - it was exactly what I had envisioned and I credit the beautiful venue, Steve and his crew, and my family and friends for making everything come together so perfectly!

    Sent on 02/24/2019
  • A

    Alison · Married on 07/23/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here on 7/23/16 with 180 guests. I always wanted an outdoor wedding in the middle of a field, the thought of a wedding in a closed off banquet room makes me cringe. We originally booked at barn near by and when I was looking for a place for our whole bridal party to stay, the Prevailing Winds Lodge popped up. After looking at the website, I knew this would be the perfect spot. We cancelled at the barn and booked here. The property is BEAUTIFUL. Since our wedding was in July, the prairie at the top was in full bloom and was even prettier than when I saw it in November (with snow) and in May (right when things were turning green). They don't have many weddings there as they want to preserve the property, which is so admirable. Steve is the nicest person and was very responsive. He's good at emailing and texting as well.
    Since we basically planned this wedding from scratch, it was a bit more expensive, but completely worth it. Steve and Jennifer have a bunch of things you can rent so it's one less thing you have to get from a rental company.

    It down poured on our wedding day but Steve stayed cool and helped move all 180 chairs down by the Lodge up to the prairie and under the tent. There were so many other things him and his team did to help make our wedding the best. He didn't have to help us the day of the wedding, but he was there until 12:30am. He also strung our patio lights for the tent. He saved me so much stress! We rented out the Lodge Thursday - Sunday since we didn't want to wait until Friday afternoon to check in. The Lodge was the best place for all of us to gather before the wedding. We had 7 bridesmaids and 7 groomsmen and we had a majority of them stay there and the others stayed at nearby hotels. The girls got ready in the sun room while the guys got ready in the basement.

    I definitely recommend this venue to anyone! Steve and his team were exceptional and I wouldn't have wanted our wedding anywhere else!

    Sent on 08/28/2016
  • User5440637 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding weekend at Prevailing Winds Lodge over 8/15/15. We rented the lodge from Thursday through Sunday and held our rehearsal dinner, ceremony, and reception there right onsite.

    We can’t say enough about our experience with PWL. The lodge itself is just beautiful; we stayed there 3 nights with our wedding party (13 people) and spent some time hanging out in the lodge or outside on the incredible grounds. The setting for the ceremony and reception was incredible, up on a gorgeous hilltop with circumferential views of the surrounding prairie and farmland. Walking the long but gorgeous prairie aisle with my parents up to the ceremony site was one of my favorite memories of the wedding. It was great for our size of wedding (about 65 people) but could have supported a lot larger crowd as well. Being able to stay at our venue with our favorite people/wedding party for essentially a weekend-long celebration was the other huge benefit for us, as most of our guests were from out of town and we felt like we really got to spend quality time with them.

    The owners, Steve and Jen, were incredibly helpful throughout the planning process. They responded to loads of emails and questions. Steve was available for questions/help during our weekend, helped coordinate with our tent rental company to make sure things got set up right, and help us move some of the heavier things like tables, etc up and down from the ceremony site. They were wonderfully friendly with my family and guests and were great to interact with throughout the day.

    Doing our wedding at PWL worked out to be exactly what we wanted- a laid back but beautiful outdoor setting. It definitely took more legwork to have a wedding here than an all-inclusive type setup at a hotel or something like that, and we perhaps had more to do in terms of coordinating vendors, setting up tables/chairs/décor ourselves and other tasks than at a more traditional venue, but we loved every minute of it a

    Sent on 09/15/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review