President Lincoln's Cottage Reviews

38 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

38 Reviews for President Lincoln's Cottage

Recommended by 100%

38
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
38 President Lincoln's Cottage Reviews
Sort by:
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unique venue with great service

    President Lincoln's Cottage is an incredibly beautiful and unique venue for a wedding! We held our cocktail hour in the Cottage and on the surrounding lawns, where guests got to explore and learn some history, enjoy cocktails and appetizers, listen to live music, and play lawn games. We held our reception in a tent on the lawn, which had a relaxed, inviting feel. The venue is very photogenic, and the statue of Abe Lincoln made for a cute "photo booth" backdrop. Although it's a historical site the regulations are not overly restrictive at all, and we were still allowed to do a sparkler send-off. Sahand was awesome to work with leading up to the wedding and the day of; he is very friendly, responsive and eager to help. Our guests raved about the venue, and we would definitely recommend President Lincoln's Cottage!

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance and I held our reception at President Lincoln's Cottage about 10 days ago, and can't begin to say enough wonderful things about the venue and about our POC, event coordinator Sahand.
    The venue itself is just stunning. It was honestly the first and last place that we looked at for our wedding, full-stop. Our guests loved the historic aspect of it while still enjoying all of the modern amenities (air conditioning and bathrooms) of an outdoor/garden wedding. We were able to hold cocktail hour inside the cottage and then put a wonderful clear-top tent up that could accommodate out 130 guests (though they are one of the few venues in DC that can hold up to 200).
    On the wonderful, amazing, ever accommodating Sahand, we really lucked out. Since over a year ago when we asked if we could tour the venue, right up until our wedding day, he was amazing and we honestly couldn't have felt any better taken care of (important when you have so many other things going on leading up to and the day of your wedding!). My finace and I don't miss a lot about the wedding planning process, but the main one is that we don't get to talk to Sahand anymore!
    All around A++ experience, wonderful time, and great memories. We couldn't recommend this venue more.

  • E

    Eduardo · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our wedding venue. We didn’t want to get married in a faceless generic hotel ballroom and looked for a site with character and charm.
    President’s Lincoln Cottage was perfect. The ceremony took place at the lawn adjacent to the house, the cocktail hour in the veranda and the dinner was held inside. It was intimate and classy. The events coordinator was outstanding.

  • Z

    Zoe · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    President Lincoln's Cottage is an incredible venue with a rich history and we just feel so lucky that we were able to get married there.

    First, the space: The house itself is beautiful and both the front and back yards are absolutely gorgeous. We had the ceremony in the back yard under the striking magnolia tree, the cocktail hour in the house, and the reception under a tent in the front yard. The tent went over the statue of Lincoln, which was very cool and got a lot of praise from our guests. It also feels so special to be in the presence of so much amazing history and on the grounds of the old soldier's home. If you're a history/social justice/civil rights nerd, this is the absolute perfect venue. I was in heaven.

    Second, the people. Sahand, who is in charge of events for the Cottage, is absolutely incredible. He helped me plan this wedding for two years, including a gazillion details, logistics, and emails. He was prompt, pleasant and helpful every single time. He didn't miss a beat. On the day of the wedding, he was amazing. He went above and beyond to take care of us and our guests. He was somehow both unobtrusive and incredibly attentive! I don't know how Sahand does it but we are so grateful for everything he did to make our wedding wonderful.

  • K

    Kaitlin · Married on 05/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier with choosing to have our wedding at President Lincoln's Cottage!

    This incredible venue is a hidden gem in DC sure to entertain both locals and out-of-towners. We were looking for an outdoor wedding venue in DC, and this was the first one we visited. We were blown away by Sahand's professionalism and down-to-earth personality as well as the beautiful venue. After we visited PLC, every other venue paled in comparison!

    Throughout the wedding planning process, Sahand was extremely knowledgeable and attentive. I love that PLC offered a preferred vendor list - we ended up hiring all but one of our vendors through that list. Their preferred vendors have worked a ton of weddings at PLC and know the ropes like the back of their hand.

    Another reason we were interested in PLC was their rain plan. Most venues we visited didn't have a rain plan or you'd have to pay an extreme amount, but Sahand graciously offered the 2nd floor of the cottage as a rain plan in our package. It did end up raining on our wedding day, but we were able to still hold the ceremony outdoors and moved dinner inside. Having an intimate dinner with your friends and family in Lincoln's master bedroom where he wrote the 1st draft of the Emancipation Proclamation is not a bad rain plan :)

    Our bid day was the most beautiful and special day I could ever have imagined and that is mainly due to Sahand and the staff at PLC.

    President Lincoln's Cottage 1
    President Lincoln's Cottage 2
    President Lincoln's Cottage 3
    President Lincoln's Cottage 4
    President Lincoln's Cottage 5
    President Lincoln's Cottage 6
  • P

    Phil · Married on 04/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Full disclaimer: we didn’t end up choosing the Lincoln Cottage as our wedding venue (primarily because our party ended up being very large), but wanted to still leave a review based on our impressions of the premises and of Sahand, the event coordinator, who, by the way, is a complete boss.

    This is a wonderful venue. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept, and the cottage beams with historic significance and elegance. The house itself can accommodate a fair number of guests for a standing reception and / or seated dinner – it would make a perfect place for a very classy cocktail hour in my view, and you would need a bare minimum for decoration purposes, as it’s already stunning. There are a number of DIY customization options (lawn games etc) that are possible here, which is very nice. We were looking for a venue with an outdoor component that is still close to downtown DC, and this is one of the few places that fit the bill. Parking logistics seem very easy, and it’s located on a military base.

    The ultimate reason you may want to choose this venue though, in addition to its beauty, is Sahand Miraminy. Planning a wedding is stressful, and you want to be able to blindly trust an on-site coordinator with overseeing the logistics on this all-important day. Fear not – Sahand is an incredibly well-organized, friendly, professional, kick-ass resource. Just having met him once, we would have hired him on the spot. He is worth his weight in gold. I strongly encourage anyone to check out Lincoln Cottage – a great place that has a lot of potential for a great wedding.

  • E

    Emma · Married on 04/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We feel incredibly lucky and grateful to have hosted our wedding at President Lincoln's Cottage. The setting is simply beautiful, charming, and historic. It is truly special to be able to host a wedding here and we highly recommend it to anyone considering it.

    We had planned an al fresco outdoor dinner for our big day, but got edged out by the spring rains. We'd been nervous about this, but honestly, the indoor backup rain plan turned out BEAUTIFULLY. Having dinner upstairs in the cottage felt like being in a time capsule and allowed our guests a more intimate experience with this beautiful setting.

    The team at the cottage is AMAZING. Sahand Miraminy was such a joy to work with. He kept us laughing throughout the entire wedding planning process at put us at ease when moments of stress arose. He made the wedding running so smoothly.

  • R

    Ryan · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the very second we stepped foot on the grounds of the Cottage, we knew that we wanted it to be our venue. It is picturesque, beautiful, and historic without feeling stuffy or overly done. There is a relaxed and grounded nature to the cottage that is very welcoming and immediately made us feel right at home. Living up to its past, it truly feels like a retreat from DC while also feeling rooted in the city. We also loved that the Cottage has a rich history that fuels the amazing work and activism that the staff there carries forward to this day. Overall, as a DC venue, it surpassed everything we were hoping to find.

    But beyond the venue itself, Sahand (the events coordinator repeatedly mentioned in other comments) truly is one of the best individuals that we had the pleasure of working with throughout the process. He was honest and upfront, professional, hilarious, engaging, knowledgeable, and accommodating. He made the experience very personal to us, provided us with insanely helpful advice, and was very quick to respond to any questions that we had. And on the day of, his staff went ABOVE AND BEYOND to make sure that everything was executed exactly how we wanted it -- all while keeping a smile on his face. (Seriously, cannot stress enough how blown away I was with the work the staff at the Cottage did on the day of the wedding.)

    Selecting the Cottage as our venue was 100% without a doubt the best decision we made when planning our wedding, and we are insanely happy we will be able to be a part of the Cottage family for years to come.

  • J

    Jason · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would literally give the Cottage twenty stars if I could. Not only is an incredible historic venue that will wow every guest, but it is such a picturesque place to hold a wedding and a perfect venue for a fall wedding in particular. But as great as the location is, the people make it even better. Sahand is the single best person we worked with during this wedding, and probably one of the greatest people I've worked with on ANYTHING before. So responsive, so fun yet professional, and was literally willing to do anything within reason to make our day special. It's rare that you can say a wedding venue is an incredible value for the money, but the Cottage is worth every penny (and probably more). Sure, you can probably pay tens of thousands of dollars and have a ridiculously lavish wedding somewhere in DC; but for a rustic and historic wedding that EVERY guest will fondly remember, and a top-notch experience for the special couple, there's no place else to even consider than the Cottage.

  • roman_holiday

    Jennifer · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    While my fiancé and I didn't ultimately book this venue because our guest list kept growing, we absolutely loved working with Sahand over the past month while we made our decision. The venue itself is a wonderful combination of an historic property and great ambiance - it has a special charm that you don't find just anywhere. Sahand was extremely professional and responsive, I would have loved to work with him to plan my big day!! Ultimately, we just had too many people for the venue's size, which is why we didn't book. If your event is within their capacity, I highly recommend checking out President Lincoln's cottage - you won't be disappointed!

  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We may be biased, but President Lincoln's Cottage is hands down the best place in DC to get married, and has the best staff of people to shower you with support and encouragement throughout the planning process. We were looking for a meaningful, historic venue with a good amount of outdoor space and knew immediately when we toured Lincoln's Cottage that we had found what we were looking for and more. And as other reviews have stated, Sahand is a pro! He gave us great tips throughout the process and made us feel as though our wedding had a unique importance to him and to everyone at the cottage. We're so happy to have chosen President Lincoln's Cottage for our wedding, and we look forward to visiting and remaining connected to the cottage throughout our marriage.

  • N

    Nancy · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    President Lincoln's Cottage was the perfect location for a wedding! We had family and friends traveling in from all over the country, and having our wedding at an historic, Washington DC venue made it extra special. All of our guests loved the venue and got a real kick out of being there. Plus, the location is absolutely beautiful! Finally, you get to work with Sahand, who is wonderful, super responsive, and flexible! Really, this place can't be beat and, if you're looking for a place that lets you have both an outdoor and historic component (and really embrace a DC vibe) to your wedding, this the ideal venue. It's worth every penny!

  • J

    Jamila · Married on 04/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What does it mean to get married at President Lincoln's Cottage? For students of history, from 3 to 90 years old, it meant perfection. We dined under his magnolia tree, played checkers on the Cottage’s checkerboard, and waited for the ceremony to begin in a very special dressing room. During the cocktail hour, we received guests in the home where President Lincoln penned ideas for the Emancipation Proclamation. Our wedding day was special, magical, historic. Our guests were awestruck by the beauty and significance of the surroundings; we were all deeply humbled to celebrate such a special occasion in such a special place.

    We knew from the moment we found it that "the Cottage" was the right place for our wedding. Sahand - the Events Coordinator - is warm, enthusiastic, attentive, and has an extraordinary command of Cottage history. Our only regret is that our wedding day is over, but we look forward to attending the many incredible programs and events at "the Cottage" in the future.

  • D

    David · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I recently passed our 1-year wedding anniversary and not a day goes by without our reminiscing fondly about the magical wedding experience we had at Lincoln Cottage. The cottage hosted our evening wedding reception after we celebrated our ceremony at a church in downtown Washington in the late afternoon. We had about 80 guests and rented both floors of the cottage. We hosted a cocktail hour with hors d'oeuvres on the first floor, and then a buffet-style seated dinner on the second floor, followed by cake, music and dancing back on the first floor. The setting was absolutely magical - just a very special, traditional jewel nestled outside of the bustle of downtown Washington. Sahand was our liaison at Lincoln Cottage and he was just a wonderful guide and partner during our planning process. He patiently helped to answer all of our questions and tailor an event that fulfilled all of our wishes. We highly recommend Lincoln Cottage to anyone who's considering!

    President Lincoln's Cottage 7
  • S

    Silke · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Imagine getting married in the summer home of Abraham and Mary Todd Lincoln. A gothic revival cottage noted for its understated elegance. The place to which Lincoln chose to escape the hustle and bustle of the White House and Capitol Hill. The place he chose to be in order to be near wounded soldiers returning home from the war. Imagine having one's wedding reception in the same room where Lincoln wrote the first draft of the Emancipation Proclamation. Such is the historical significance of the Cottage.

    But President Lincoln's Cottage is also known for its disarming charm. The space is adaptable to accommodating the needs of every couple. We hosted a cocktail reception on the first floor with a bar on the veranda. Dinner was served on the second floor in the Emancipation Proclamation Room. And cake cutting took place on the first floor in front of the fireplace with the band set up in an adjacent room. Our 80 guests enjoyed a memorable experience as did we. We had the wedding reception of our dreams.

    No review of the Cottage is complete without full acknowledgement of the incredible professionalism and expert coordination of Sahand Miraminy, the event coordinator. He is one in a million as event coordinators go. Sahand embodies the uniqueness and charm of the Cottage. And he knows its history better than anyone else. He is a passionate protector of the history and legacy of the Cottage.

    You will not regret choosing President Lincoln's Cottage as the venue for your wedding ceremony and/or reception. I promise.

    President Lincoln's Cottage 8
    President Lincoln's Cottage 9
    President Lincoln's Cottage 10
    President Lincoln's Cottage 11
    President Lincoln's Cottage 12
    President Lincoln's Cottage 13
    President Lincoln's Cottage 14
    President Lincoln's Cottage 15
  • S

    Susan · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It's hard to find the words to adequately describe the simple majesty of this venue. We held our daughter's wedding on the grounds and in the Cottage on October 29, 2016. From the minute guests passed through the gates onto the property, they knew they were in sacred space. The Cottage is located on the grounds of the Armed Forces Retirement Home, a beautiful campus that has provided services and residences to certain retired members of the US military. The Cottage is where President Lincoln and his family lived for the summer months during three of the four years he served as president. It is where he penned the Emancipation Proclamation. It is where he slept the last night of his life. Its an exquisite and unique place in the Nation's Capital! With the unflappable help of the Cottage event coordinator, we held the ceremony, cocktail reception, and dinner dance in three unique places on the property. Our guests had access to the visitors center as well. So not only is the venue steeped in meaningful history, it is convenient and beautiful. We highly recommend President Lincoln's Cottage!

  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Sahand and Lincoln's Cottage. The site is so unique and the team is so professional. Everyone raved about having dinner in Lincoln's bedroom! It's such a special location and working with the team made the planning experience just as wonderful.

  • J

    Jeff · Married on 10/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    By far the best people to work with, and an absolutely gorgeous venue! You'll have no regrets going with President Lincoln's Cottage!

  • M

    Melinda · Married on 10/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so blessed to have our wedding and reception at President Lincoln's Cottage.
    Sahand and the rest of the staff couldn't have been nicer or more professional.
    From Day One, we knew that we had lucked-out.
    The location is beautiful by itself, but when you add in the extra details such as a preferred vendors list (can you say, "Less to worry about"?), and all of the one-on-one assistance that Sahand helped with (down to where the best place would be for the bar and violinist), you really can't go wrong!
    Even on the Day Of, Sahand and the rest of his team were there early making sure we didn't have to worry about anything and that our guests were happy.
    Thank you, thank you, thank you for making our day memorable and worry-free!!

  • E

    Elise · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a really special location and we feel incredibly lucky to have contributed to its history. We had an excellent experience across the entire process. Sahand was quick to respond to all our questions during planning, and was accommodating to make meetings work within our schedules. We were planning on an outdoor ceremony but when that didn't work out, Sahand performed like a magician pulling solutions out of thin air and herding cats... I mean our guests.

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is an absolutely incredible place to get married. It was more perfect the day-of than I even imagined it would be. The tent for dinner+reception, outdoor ceremony, and house for cocktail hour and after party worked so well. Sahand was the best, we want to make him be our friend now! No doubt he had everything under control, worked with us to problem-solve every step of the way, and I'm sure went above and beyond (except we didn't notice cause everything at the wedding ran so smoothly!). Our guests were also totally wowed, both by the property and its history. Highly recommend!

  • B

    Beth · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was beautiful. The event coordinator made sure everything was exactly how we wanted it and was very responsive to our many messages and requests. Most DC wedding venues cost at least double what we paid, and do not come anywhere as close to the beauty of Lincoln's Cottage. It was amazing to have a wedding at such a historic site. They also made is very easy for us to identify a caterer and other vendors that we needed. They made the whole process super easy and we did not have to stress out about wedding planning at all.

  • M

    Michael · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had approximately 200 people at our wedding, and the venue was the perfect size! I particularly liked the flexibility of choosing your own DJ and photographer. Lincoln's Cottage made for very beautiful pictures, especially at sunset!

  • A

    a · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding at Lincoln's Cottage was a great decision! Sahand was great to work with and the event went super smoothly. HIGHLY recommended. =)

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review