Skip to main content
Weddings

Prairie Museum of Art & History Reviews

Prairie Museum of Art & History

Prairie Museum of Art & History

Colby, KS
4.2 out of 5 rating, 10 Reviews
View more information

10 Reviews

Rated
4.2
out of 5.0
Recommended by 83% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.2 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    3.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 10

4 User photos

  • Kristen
    Kristen C. Married on 09/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Wedding Venue

    This barn is so beautiful! We will forever be able to look back on our wedding photos and be amazed at how amazing our wedding was in this barn!
  • J
    Jamie Married on 10/25/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Christina was phenomenal! Our schedules were crazy busy and she worked around them. She was SO helpful!

    Prairie Museum of Art & History's reply:

    Thank you, Jamie, for reviewing our services! I'm thrilled you enjoyed your beautiful wedding day and I don't think the weather could have been any more perfect for your late October nuptials. Congratulations to you and Alek. Your heartfelt vows and unique ceremony will be embedded in my memory forever. Wishing you both the best of luck.
  • D
    Dan Event on: 08/31/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    A great venue with amazing staff! An all around pleasant experience.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Mkaystickel
    Marci Married on 04/13/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We got married in the cooper barn on 4.13.2013 and we were very pleased with everything. It was a beautiful place & was perfect for us. Christina was great to work with & very flexible with us. 5 out of 5 definitely!

    Prairie Museum of Art & History's reply:

    Thank you for your sweet comments and thank you especially for taking the time to share your thoughts! It was a pleasure helping you and your family with your wedding plans and I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience!! Take care :)
  • R
    Ramona Married on 10/25/2014
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything was perfect! Virginia Umberger catered. The food was great. The portions she provided were a little small. I paid to feed 50 and we ran out with only feeding 42. But, other than that, it was perfect. Kristy decorated and did a beautiful job.

    Prairie Museum of Art & History's reply:

    Thank you so much for reviewing our services, Ramona! Having worked with Virginia and Kristy many times, I have become accustomed to referring them as often as possible without a second thought. They seem to pull through with impeccable service at the drop of a hat every time. I'm terribly sorry for the small portions you received and hope that you have shared your thoughts with your caterer. Assuming this is a bizarre accident, I sill value her terrific culinary skills and professional business. Thank you so much, Ramona, for being such wonderful clients. It was an absolute pleasure working with you and your thoughtful family!
  • User1894338 2+ years ago
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    It was a great experience and a perfect wedding. The only thing that I wish is could change is getting in to the barn earlier the day of the wedding.
  • S
    Sacha Event on: 06/01/2013
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Rocking M Radio held the annual "Farmers Ranchers and Listener Appreciation Night" at the Cooper Barn on the grounds of the Prairie Museum of Art and History. The museum personnel were extremely professional and helpful prior to and throughout the event.

    The event location itself is second to none. Perfect for any event!
  • User1189620 Event on: 02/28/2013
    4.1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    Great service! everything was taken care of. thanks
  • User1895964 2+ years ago
    2.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.5 out of 5 rating
    Got the feeling the event planner was "too good" to be there and that she had better things she could be doing.

    Prairie Museum of Art & History's reply:

    Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the services you received for your event at the Prairie Museum. I'm terribly sorry your expectations were not met for this very important day in your life. I'd love the chance to hear about your experience. Please contact me at prairiemuseum@hotmail.com or 785-460-4590.
  • Aidaly
    Aidaly Married on 08/11/2018
    1.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    First off, I’m not the kind of person to leave bad reviews. I have worked in retail for 4 years and I understand the frustrations of dealing with upset customers but my experience has been absolutely ridiculous and unnecessary. I rented their barn for my wedding on 8/11/2018. From the get go I was having problems with miscommunication with the staff. First, I was told and given information to rent the Cooper Barn for $1500 for 3 days. They reserved my day and I just had to send them a deposit. My deposit didn’t make it to them until after the first of the year and they decided that I would have to pay the new year price of $2000, even though all of my communication about renting was prior to 2018. I let it go when they informed me that I would be receiving a $500 refund when the barn was cleaned and returned to them in clean condition, which we did and I have video proof of cleanliness (which we left cleaner than the way we received it). Now, they are saying I never paid the refundable $500 even though I have a receipt that states I paid my balance. I have been emailing the chair head, Mike Baughn, I he said he would get back to me after talking to the board, which was over 2 weeks ago and I have heard nothing. The place is beautiful and my wedding was gorgeous but I don’t recommend coming here unless you want to deal with a head ache.