Potts & Pans Steelband Reviews

79 | Crystal Lake, IL
See photos, pricing and details

79 Reviews for Potts & Pans Steelband

Recommended by 99%

79
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • S

    sarah · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I always wanted a steel drum band for my big day. And it was a fabulous accent to my cocktail hour.

    Sent on 08/26/2012

    Potts & Pans Steelband's reply:

    Thanks Sarah,
    We really had a lot of fun providing music for you and your guests. Thanks for the great tune suggestions and expanding our repertoire!
  • F

    Fiona · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This review is long overdue. First let me say, Potts and Pans are PHENOMENAL:). My husband is Haitian and I’m Trinidadian and from the moment we got engaged, I knew I wanted a ‘panman’ at our wedding. We hired Matt, Christina and Anthony to play during our wedding ceremony and cocktail hour and I’m sooooo happy that we did. They had our wedding guests singing and hyped up for the reception, and they even got the older folks (like my parents and the in laws) dancing which was awesome!! I could hear the singing and the music from the ceremony room while the hubby and I took pics and wanted to hustle so I could get some food and join the party:). Throughout our wedding preparations, there was never a time where we were worried about what Matt and his team would perform for us. After we heard them play Lucy and Happiest man alive at our initial meeting, it definitely sealed the deal for us. Our wedding guests were mostly young 20-30something Caribbean people, and the only requirement for Matt and his team was that the music be recent, festive and recognizable to our guests (translation: plenty soca and calypso….lol) which it was. It was really great working with Potts and Pans, and Roby and I couldn’t be happier with choosing them as one of our wedding vendors!!! Money well spent

    Sent on 02/05/2017
  • User6511278 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent program. This is a wonderful community resource. The presenters were very knowledgeable and have such passion for their music.

    Sent on 03/22/2016
  • Z

    Zeev · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My experience with Potts & Pans is probably atypical in that we rented pans but not players, since I did the music and my best friends, all pan players, did the performance. Knowing that I wanted pan at the ceremony, I had been so stressed trying to find instruments...until I got in touch with Matt. He was so easy to work with and flexible, dropping off the pans before the ceremony so that we had enough time to rehearse and picking them up afterwards - the whole experience was so easy and seamless. In the midst of wedding craziness it was such a relief to know that Matt was so professional and reliable. I would absolutely work with Potts & Pans again the next time I need instruments.

    Sent on 10/19/2015
  • A

    Aaron · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great job entertaining us. My wife was shocked and loved you guys. Thanks again. Highly recommended

    Sent on 10/16/2015
  • A

    Aaron · event on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys are awesome! Beautiful music. Nicest people! Was concerned with all aspects of my event from start to finish. We are planning to have them back next summer!

    Sent on 07/27/2015
  • N

    Nancy · event on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked "Potts and Pans" for a Arlington Heights Memorial Library off-site event at a nearby park. Matt Potts and his musicians were amazingly talented, very friendly and welcoming to the attendees and most of all they kept the music flowing while adjusting to the crowd. The audience included a wide variety of ages and the response was overwhelmingly positive from all!

    Sent on 07/02/2015
  • B

    Becky · event on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Your band added a great tropical feel to our Beach Party at Woodstock Water Works. Thank you so much for joining us. We hope you will come back!

    Sent on 07/28/2015
  • J

    Jeff · event on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steel drums added a great vibe to dinner. Excellent performance.

    Sent on 08/01/2015
  • L

    Libby · event on 07/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an adult event (120 people) and our theme was a Luau! We wanted Carribean type music and Potts and Pans WERE EXCELLENT. Not only was this exactly what were we looking for but the three members of the band that performed were very professional, gracious to all of our attendees and made our event even more memorable! We have already booked them for our next event!!!!

    Sent on 07/22/2015
  • C

    Cindy · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    He made everything better! He was very professional and responsive. We would rehire!

    Sent on 07/14/2015
  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anthony was terrific! The music was just what we had asked for and all of my guests were enthralled to have something different at a wedding. I would highly recommend him for any occasion.
    Job well done, thank you!

    Sent on 07/16/2015

    Potts & Pans Steelband's reply:

    Thanks Kathleen! Your ceremony was fantastic, I was thrilled to be a part of your big day!

    --AJH
  • L

    Leigh Anne · event on 07/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the pleasure of having the professional ensemble along with the community band out to perform for our Cub Scout Day Camp lunchtime entertainment. The audience consisted of 140 boys going into 5th grade along with teenage and adult volunteers and some younger siblings. The performance was educational as well as entertaining and was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone! The boys loved that they even played 2 popular tunes that they could recognize from the radio and happily sang along. They also had 8 volunteers up for one song to play egg shakers (similar to maracas). The professionalism and attention to detail was outstanding. I really enjoyed working with Matt to make the arrangements and was treated with respect every step of the way by all of the performers. I highly recommend hiring Potts & Pans Steelband for your event!

    Sent on 07/12/2015
  • M

    m · event on 07/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The performance was great, the audience loved it!!

    Sent on 07/20/2015
  • T

    Theresa · event on 07/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with Matt Potts with the Potts and Pans Community Steelband as a 4th of July Parade entry. Matt was a pleasure to work with. He was very professional, accommodating, and passionate about the music. The band was timely and talented and the crowd seemed to enjoy them very much. I have no hesitations recommending this group to others.

    Sent on 07/24/2015
  • T

    Theresa · event on 06/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Potts and Pans performed for the child development center where I teach the school-age summer program. I was looking for a few different vendors to come in this summer as entertainment for all of the classes at our center. Potts and Pans did not disappoint!! They were fantastic and kept the kids attention (ages 6 wks - 13 years) for 45 min! They had they kids dancing and singing along to the music. I would definitely invite them to come back!! Thank you Potts and Pans for a wonderful experience!

    Sent on 07/13/2015
  • H

    Heather · event on 06/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt Potts of Potts and Pans was kind, easy to work with, professional and above all made great music!

    Sent on 06/29/2015
  • E

    Erin · event on 06/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    the kids really enjoyed the performance and the ability to get close and look at the instruments. The quality of music was fantastic!

    Sent on 06/25/2015
  • E

    Emma · event on 06/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We initially contacted Potts & Pans to have them perform as a band for our anniversary party. Unfortunately, we found out that we could not have live music. We then hired Matt as our DJ, he played everything I asked, was professional, accommodating, and courteous.

    Sent on 07/08/2015
  • K

    Katie · event on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt at Potts and Pans was amazing! Did a great job and was extremely personable and professional. Wouldn't use anyone else!!

    Sent on 06/25/2015
  • User5237391 · event on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt had been highly recommended to me by someone else who had used him. Although he was not available for our date, he worked extraordinarily hard to come up with someone that was a good match for what we wanted. It was all looking very bleak, but he didn't give up and we ended up with someone who exceeded our expectations. We wanted a caribbean/reggae feel for our high school sailors - something upbeat but not crossing the line of being too edgy. The gentleman who agreed to do it had a fabulous voice and was great on the keyboard and with his true Jamaican roots was perfect. He was patient, courteous and extremely upbeat. I can not say enough positive things about both of them.

    Sent on 07/07/2015
  • J

    Jim · event on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had Potts & Pans play at a Grand Opening of our Luxury Apartment building. They did an absolutely amazing job! We wanted some nice steel band background music to go along with the party on the rooftop and they were exactly what we were looking for. The performance was perfect for the occasion and people were constantly commenting on how great the music sounded. The set list they choose was also a nice combination of some newer modern songs along with some traditional mixed in - it really was the best of both. I would Seriously recommend Potts & Pans if you are looking for a steel band and I will certainly be using them for other upcoming events at the building.

    Sent on 06/11/2015
  • V

    Vincent · event on 06/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The group lead an interactive assembly at my school. They presented an interesting history of the steel drums, that had students clapping, stomping, shaking, and a few going up front to join the group. The students' attention was captured. Within the history lesson, some well known tunes were incorporated into the show that invited even more involvement, including singing along. Overall, a very enjoyable performance that was very well suited for the school.
    Highly recommend for your next assembly.

    Sent on 06/11/2015
  • User5151498 · event on 05/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There were good. Thanks for the fun.

    Sent on 06/07/2015
  • B

    Britt · event on 04/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Potts and Pans for a school assembly. The kids and teachers loved it! The group made some wonderful educational connections to the countries of origin and presented the information in a way that really stuck with the students.

    Sent on 05/20/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review