Positive Energy DJ Productions Reviews

26 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for Positive Energy DJ Productions

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.5

Awards

26
Order by:
  • J

    Jing · Married on 12/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly amazing. They can adjust to whatever plan we have. Perfect DJ for wedding in SD! Love it!

    Sent on 01/16/2013
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kris was recommended by a friend and we were so happy with his work. He played all the music we hoped for, kept the mood light and played great music for everyone. He kept us on schedule, working with the wedding coordinator to make sure everything was on track. I didn't have to worry about a thing! It really was the best thing I could ask for! A great DJ is crucial to an awesome wedding. A bad one can really put people off and ruin your night. Kris is amazing at what he does!!!!!

    Sent on 08/19/2012
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 11/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BEST DJ Ever! Positive Energy were the DJs at my sister's wedding and I knew we had to have them. Kris is great about emailing and making sure everything is taken care of before your big day. I sent the guys a list of what we wanted played during the ceremony, cocktail hour and during the reception and they executed it flawlessly. I was so happy with the flow and that Kevin, our DJ, got all of our favorites in. He kept the requests for the Electric Slide at bay (phew!) but played a few last minute requests for my family based on what they knew I would like. He made our day really special and it was just an awesome party!

    We are already plotting when we can have them DJ again, they are that good!

    Sent on 12/07/2011
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 03/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Positive Energy with Kris Valentein performing the DJ duties, was one of the BEST decisions we made. The professionalism and attention to detail were superb! Kris did an exceptional job!!!

    The wedding flow was seamless, the editing of songs was perfect for the ceremony and we had so much fun on the dance floor. He kept the music hopping and read the guests very well as far as their taste in music, along with playing the songs we had requested. Everyone loved the job he did. We had several positive comments from the guests.

    Thank you so much for being a part of our BIG day and helping to make it perfect! It was an evening we will never forget and you were a huge part of that.


    Sent on 03/09/2011
  • S

    John · Married on 11/07/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Positive Energy Productions was absolutely amazing. I was recommended through one of my friends who is a club DJ. Kris is the owner and the nicest guy. My wife and I were really picky with our DJ as the music was one of the most important aspects of our wedding. He was priced fairly when compared to some of the other top DJ's and was very humble. Looking back I would higher him over and over again. He has my highest recommendation and really knew how to feel out the crowd, and transitioned slowly from oldies to pop songs to club music (so that nobody would be scared away). Some DJ's are really cocky and extremely over priced. Kris also does lighting if needed. He has a great eye for design, and also follows requests and direction really well. This means a lot coming from me as I focused my architectural thesis on night clubs, and am very opinionated.

    Sent on 04/21/2011
  • Christy

    Christy · Married on 10/02/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kris has amazing professionalism and is very kind. He deals with frazzled couples very well and manages to deliver exactly what is asked for. Our guests had THE best time and he played all the right music. They loved our DJ! We had the most killer monogrammed GOBO on the wall behind our sweetheart table and about 10 red uplights around the room. These small additions really put the WOW in our reception and were of little cost above the standard DJ tasks. His announcing is superb and we wanted to pay him to stay longer as we still had guests wanting to dance, but the venue closed us down at midnight. He was so personable and fun and we made the best decision in hiring him.

    Sent on 10/29/2010
  • B

    Brenda · Married on 02/06/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kris Valentine from Positive Energy did an amazing job. I would highly recommend him to other brides. It is really important to have a DJ who is familiar with weddings and he is someone who can deliver on such an important day. Kris is very detailed with every single aspect of the music and scheduling of events for the entire day. After meeting with him in person I felt at ease knowing he had eveything under control and ready to make it happen on the big day.

    Sent on 06/22/2010
  • K

    Kim · Married on 06/20/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    True, full-service DJ. Professional and classy! Kept the event on track, never had to be reminded of anything, perfect voice and MC'ing. Worked in sync with all other vendors. Only suggestion I would make: Be sure to give him not only a list of MUST and DON'T plays, but make use of the whole list of sample songs he gives you, just to give him a clear idea of what you want played as he "reads the room". % of slow vs. fast dance songs. Don't hesitate to specify the style of music you would like to be played during the time your guests are awaiting the arrival of the wedding party. AND, take him up on his lighting suggestions! We opted for 6 uplights and the cake spotlighting at the last minute, and they absolutely MADE the room! Don't scrimp here....

    Sent on 11/19/2009
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 04/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kris was awesome!! He was so proffesional, he knew my timeline better than myself- he was always checking with me before an event happened so nothing was a surprise. He was the best!! Thank you!!

    Sent on 04/27/2009
  • W

    Christy · Married on 05/31/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    He was amazing. He made the day perfect. He spent so much time making sure what i wanted was happening. He showed up super early to help out, and made the day go by smoother than i couldve ever imagined. Thank you

    Sent on 08/10/2008
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 03/08/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris did such a great job at our event. He provided all of the sound equipment for our outdoor ceremony at the beach and at our reception. Our pianist had to back out the morning of our wedding, so I thought we wouldn't have any music for the ceremony. But Chris already had our songs on a back up CD and was able to set it all up to play. He definatly did not steal the show at the wedding. He was totally in control of the schedule at the reception, which allowed me to relax and enjoy the evening. I would highly recommend him to anyone. He did a fabulous job and had some great recommendations on music!

    Sent on 09/17/2008
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 03/30/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Greg on our wedding day and we couldn't be more pleased. He was very professional and energetic. We didn't give him much to go with in regards to music requests, but he went to every table to introduce himself and to get a feel for the kind of music our guests would enjoy! He went above and beyond to make our day perfect.

    Sent on 04/02/2013
  • B

    Brigid · Married on 05/27/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kris was so great and I would highly recommend him to anyone! It started with his being helpful and patient while we were determining our needs and providing a helpful planning sheet, but since we first were in contact he was always completely professional!

    Then for our reception, we gave little guidance (short do not play list, though originally I had wanted to select EVERY song that was played) - but it was all fabulous. Our dance floor was completely packed all night and everyone commented that they'd never seen so much dancing at a wedding! The playlist was great, and he helped coordinate all the music and the few requests we did have. He even helped keep things in order during the speeches!

    I am certain you will be extremely pleased if you pick them - and I encourage you to do so.

    Sent on 06/30/2012
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 04/06/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired positive energy productions for wedding! Kris was our DJ and he was amazing. Our wedding was on the beach and during the day so we had little hope that people would get up and dance, but his choice music made it so that almost every single guest was up and dancing! Even my 94 year old great grandmother! He made our day very special and very fun!

    Sent on 04/09/2013
  • X

    Xuan-Binh · Married on 04/18/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great music selection. Kept the party going. Created a looping music track that I'd requested. Bundled some services for discounts, but probably should have just stuck with the DJ services alone. Had to cue him to change from the cocktail hour music to the dinner music. But otherwise, still recommended. We gave him a very specific list of songs to play and we endorsed our love of EDM type music. He perfectly blended the songs with beat drops and everything in an EDM style. I think the EDM was overdone in the end, but that was a miscommunication on our part regarding how much we wanted, and the fact that he could make so many different songs fit well in to an EDM style is a testament to his skill.

    Sent on 11/18/2015
  • K

    Kirstie · Married on 08/20/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kris was great to work with! He is extremely professional and easy to get along with. We were impressed with him from our very first meeting with him - he was well organized, had lighting samples, pictures of his equipment and suggested playlists. On the day of, the music was great and the lighting was awesome. And definitely at a very good price!!! Even before our wedding day, my husband had already began referring Kris to others who booked him as well!

    Sent on 09/02/2011
  • julie

    Julie · Married on 11/18/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We hired Kris as our DJ for our wedding. Having the right music was so important for me. I felt nervous to trust someone I didn't know to control the mood and ambiance for the wedding. But once I heard the music as I was getting ready to walk down the aisle I WAS SOOOOO HAPPY!!!! ALL the music was wonderful, the music for the ceremony, the dinner music (LOVED IT!!!!), and for the reception. He played a perfect mix for everyone and it was mixed flawlessly. This review is coming from someone who has DJ'd for years for fun so I'm very picky and have a critical ear. I WOULD RECOMMEND HIM 100%
    THANKS KRIS!!!!!

    Sent on 11/22/2012
  • M

    Shauna · Married on 08/13/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Greg did a wonderful job! He went way beyond his DJ duties and checked in with us throughout the day, he even got us drinks during the reception! He checked in with our guests to see if they had any requests and did a fantastic job-even if we didn't have the dance party I thought we would! He really did make my day easier and I am so thankful that he was there to help out! A big thanks again Greg!!!

    Sent on 08/17/2011
  • M

    Sara · Married on 04/05/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kris did an excellent job at our wedding. I would hire him again ina second if I had any events that needed a DJ. He did our ceremony music, cocktail hour, reception, Reception mood lighting and was a great MC-- talked enough...but not too much!! He knew how to work the crowd and get everyone moving. WE have received a ton of compliments on the music at our wedding...he knows how to DJ a great party!!

    Sent on 09/08/2008
  • L

    Lysa · Married on 04/16/2005

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great guy to work with!

    Sent on 05/12/2008
  • User3968786 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I was curious about what some of the bad reviews were about, and they just didn't seem to match our experience. Maybe they had a contracted out DJ (?). Kris (main DJ) played a lot of the songs we requested during the dancing portion of the reception. Note: if you have specific music you want played during cocktail hour and dinner before the dancing start, just make a playlist on an ipod and ask the DJ to press play. Can’t go wrong with that. I never trust reviews with 1 or 5 stars, which is the only reason I didn't give 5 here.
    I spent hours researching DJs online. Positive Energy was on my shortlist of DJs to set-up conversations with, and was the 1st we interviewed which was in-person. I did not bother following up with others because it was clear he would work. In the end, I chose Positive Energy because he seemed professional, didn't seem too proud to play the songs we requested and click play from playlists provided for chunks of the reception. He also provided a drape, uplighting inside and outside, as well as market lighting outside. It was nice to consolidate as much as possible into 1 vendor. For DJ prices, he wasn't the cheapest (good, those guys scare me) but was far from the more expensive. Probably below the avg pricing models, and more than reasonable meeting other vendor pricing on lighting and the drape, given that I was acquiring more than just DJ services.
    THE EVENT. Punchline: no problems, everything turned out as expected. Set-up looked great and was done well in advance of the wedding which was a relief. Speakers for the outside ceremony and speeches worked fine. He had backups ready (from what we were told), so not sure what happened to that bad review wedding. He played enough requested music during the dancing to satisfy us, and music he selected seemed to mesh well with our requests. He ended it well by "giving the people what they want" by accepting a one-more-song chant from the crowd.

    Sent on 03/14/2014
  • I

    Dustin · Married on 11/11/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kris with Positive Energy DJ Productions was great. He was very professional and provided us with a great package that included everything we wanted. Music was good and he played our requests and even burned us a wedding CD with our favorite songs. Great value and very professional.

    Sent on 11/19/2011
  • M

    Nicole · Married on 06/30/2007

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Positive Energy did a great job with our ceremony music and our reception. Kris did a great job of making sure the reception flowed nicely and was a great MC as well as playing fun music to keep everyone dancing.

    Sent on 07/14/2008
  • User3209285 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Being out-of-towners having a wedding in San Diego, Kris made everything seemless and was very responsive to our questions and requests. He provided music during dinner and MC'd the reception. Kris had the excellent idea of projecting our names on to the dance floor (which several of the wedding guests absolutely loved and we were really pleased with, as well).
    Our music selection requests were quite long and extensive and if yours are the same, I would definately encourage you to work very closely with him to prioritize/underline/highlight the songs which are most important. There were several songs that didn't get played that we would have liked that may have encouraged more of the older folks in attendance to get up and dance.
    Overall, he was a great guy to work with and would definately recommend him to friends getting married in the San Diego area.

    Sent on 04/20/2013
  • User3816682 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This DJ ended up resolving everything I was concerned about and made me a happy customer. Thank you for being so responsive!

    Sent on 01/14/2014