Skip to main content
Weddings

Poplar Hill Wedding and Events Venue Reviews

Poplar Hill Wedding and Events Venue

Poplar Hill Wedding and Events Venue

Blackstone, VA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 14 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
5.0 out of 5 rating
5.0 out of 5 rating
14 Reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

14
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
Weddingwire
5.0/5 14 reviews
Google
4.8/5 44 reviews
  • E
    Eve Sent on 10/14/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bridesmaid

    This venue is absolutely stunning!!
  • Glenda
    Glenda P. Sent on 02/03/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent experience

    Bernie and Megan are the best! Very laid back and flexible, it’s great to count on people like them when it comes to planning great, yet stressful events.

    Poplar Hill Wedding and Events Venue's reply:

    Thank you so much! You and your hubby are so sweet! We are grateful for the opportunity to get to know you and help with such a special day. ♥️
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Susan
    Susan M. Sent on 11/05/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful!

    Megan and Bernie are awesome! They make the process very easy and are extremely flexible whenever I needed to come to the venue to take measurements for decorations or figure out layouts.
    We also had our rehearsal dinner there and the food was outstanding! We had them do everything from start to finish and it made the process very simple for us. We got many many compliments on the food!!! I highly recommend Poplar Hill😁. (The price I listed below is for the rehearsal dinner only).

    Poplar Hill Wedding and Events Venue's reply:

    Thank you so much! We loved having you and your family! So glad you enjoyed the food and we were able to make everything go as smooth and worry free as possible.
  • Angelica
    Angelica R. Sent on 11/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Miffleton Wedding 09/14/19

    When looking for wedding venues in the Blackstone area, we immediately fell in love with Poplar Hill! The owners Bernie and Megan were fantastic to work with! They took time to answer all of our questions whether by telephone, stopping by for a meeting or via email. We felt like family through the entire process and not like another couple getting married. Our family and friends raved about the accessibility, amenities the venue offered, beautiful charm of the venue grounds, and the amazingly friendly staff. Our wedding day was perfect and we highly recommend anyone looking for an outdoor, southern style wedding to check out Poplar Hill Wedding and Events Venue! We were so fortunate to have found it!

    Poplar Hill Wedding and Events Venue's reply:

    Thank you so much for the sweet review. We loved having you and your families here! You all were so wonderful to have and always welcome back! Thank you for trusting us with your special day! ❤️
  • Taylor
    Taylor Sent on 09/19/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Poplar Hill saved my wedding

    I found Poplar Hill through Facebook, more like they found me. I had posted about my previous venue ghosting me. I was left with nothing, even my money is still with my old venue. Poplar Hill reached out and offered me to come for a tour! I fell in love before I even saw all of the grounds. It’s beautiful and open, so so perfect for any type of wedding at just about any time of year. They worked with me and stayed in contact almost weekly! Any questions I had were answered quickly and thoroughly. The bridal suite is so gorgeous, it’s roomy and cozy with a ton of natural light. Poplar Hill was an easy choice for me, do yourself a favor and take a tour! Once you meet the owners and see the grounds, it’s honestly a no brainer.

    Poplar Hill Wedding and Events Venue's reply:

    Thank you Taylor ,it means so much to hear this. We strive everyday to improve and facilitate the venue to provide a day to remember for our brides and seeing these words lets me know we are getting it right. You and Ruben were awesome and the day could not have been more perfect.Thank you both for trusting us with your special day and we look forward to many anniversary parties to come.
  • C
    Courtney W. Sent on 11/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our experience with Poplar Hill

    Choosing Poplar Hill was the greatest decision my husband & I made. Bernie & Meg were there to answer any questions we had & even let us take our engagement pictures there & come meet with them to plan prior to the wedding. They helped alleviate any stress we had with the planning process. They also hosted our reception dinner and the food was wonderful! On the day of our wedding they went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect and went smoothly. We are so happy we chose Poplar Hill!

    Poplar Hill Wedding and Events Venue's reply:

    Thank you so much Courtney ❤️ we loved having you all and are honored that you chose to have your special day at Poplar Hill!
  • Deborah
    Deborah W. Sent on 05/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fairy tale Wedding

    If you want a gorgeous outdoor wedding then this is your venue! The grounds, scenery, and horses in the background make this venue very unique. The bridal and groom suites are top notch. Very reasonably priced and the owners make you feel like family . My daughter had the wedding of her dreams 5/4/19.
    Thank you Bernie and Megan

    Poplar Hill Wedding and Events Venue's reply:

    Thank you so much for the review!!! We really appreciate it and loved having you and your family here.
  • L
    Lynn Sent on 07/12/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My daughter got married at Poplar Hill June 23. It was the most beautiful wedding and the most gorgeous venue I've ever seen! Not only is the 17th century home and gardens beautiful and meticulously landscaped it has such welcoming touches like lights in trees that house a lovely porch swing, and numerous picture perfect photo opportunities with horses in the pasture and breath taking sunsets. The pavillion comfortably seated our 100 guests with plenty of room left over. The owners bend over backwards to make your day special. I can't think of any better place to have a wedding!
  • K
    Kristin Sent on 07/12/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My wedding was a dream come true thanks to Poplar Hill Wedding and event venue. Everyone keeps saying it was the most beautiful wedding they ever have been to. And it us because this venue is so breathtaking. Every part of the farm and home is decorated beautifully and the owners are some of the kindest most helpful people you will meet!
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 07/13/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our engagement photos taken here as well as our wedding held at this venue. I could not have asked for a more beautiful wedding day or venue. The natural beauty of this location is absolutely breathtaking, which makes needing decor minimal. Bernie was amazing and I would recommend using this venue to everyone. The outside pavilion is amazing and has so much space for your guests. The beautiful pastures directly behind the pavilion make for amazing sunset portraits. There so so many little special areas around the venue that make taking pictures such a breeze and gives you so many different types of backdrops. I live not to far from the venue and now when I drive by I am so fortunate to remember all off amazing memories we made there. I couldn't have phone a more perfect and accommodating venue!
  • L
    Lalaini Sent on 07/14/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My son was married here in June. I grew up in Blackstone and passed this location hundreds of times but had never visited. Let me tell you, I was completely blown away by the beauty of the landscape. The flower beds and gardens have been perfectly planned over the years. The pavilion overlooks the rolling pasture and the sunset view is breathtaking. The bridal party spent most of the day getting ready at the house and the room is equipped for everything a girl needs. The owner has put alot of thought into making your wedding day as perfect as possible. I captured a moment that seemed magical and for me sums up how I feel about this venue.
  • Bernard
    Bernard Sent on 06/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The experience at Poplar Hill is one that exceeds expectations.
  • B
    Beth Sent on 07/17/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My daughter was married here on May 5th, 2018. The grounds are breathtaking. The house is gorgeous and accommodated a large wedding party. The owner is great and works hard keeping the grounds beautiful from landscaping to the room and the open air pavilion with unique vignettes great for photos. He helps personalize the event and we had about 159 guest and we got many complements about how beautiful an event it was and that is thanks in large part to the owners efforts and the natural beauty of the historic home and farm. We also took bridal portraits at the venue which were extraordinary.
Responds within 24 hours