Poetry In Motion Catering Reviews

9 | Watsonville, CA
See photos, pricing and details

9 Reviews for Poetry In Motion Catering

Recommended by 100%

9

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen, Andrea, and their fantastic team were amazing. My husband and I could not have been happier with our whole experience and our actual wedding day. Karen for one is an extremely good chef. She led us through a very casual but delectable tasting about 6 months before our wedding where we finalized our menu. Since my husband and I are total foodies we wanted to incorporate a few of our favorites, but also let Karen show off her skills. We gave her a list of our favorite foods, and links to a few of our most frequent restaurants and she crafted a menu from there. We ended up with:
    Appetizers: Crab stuffed Mushrooms, asparagus puffs, and a charcuterie and cheese station.
    Main (we did buffet style but know Karen easily does any menu style): BBQ Chicken Tikka (thighs, and so moist and juicy!!), Tri-tip with a mushroom sauce, rice pilaf, haricot verts, and a spring salad.
    Dessert Bar: chocolate chip cookies, brownies, long stemmed strawberries, & fruit hand pies. (I think this was all...I didn't get a chance to eat most of them)
    Everything was devoured! We also thought all the food was even better on our wedding day than when we did our tasting. It was easily the best sit down meal we've had over the years at weddings. They also made the entire process a breeze. Karen knew what was fresh, and was ready to substitute if she didn't like what was at market, and Andrea was on point with making sure all our table and flatware was beautiful. They both made us feel relaxed the entire week before our wedding, even offering to handle last minute items that popped up. Andrea was also a constant presence throughout the wedding day checking in with both me and my husband to ensure we were happy.
    We knew we were in good hands from the start, but felt like everything exceeded our expectations. It was a fabulous wedding day at Nestldown.

    Sent on 06/09/2018
  • Lisa

    Lisa · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One word. Wow!!! The food was amazing, cooked to perfection. All the guests raved about the food. Karen was easy to work with and she handled all the rentals with ease. Easy setup, and clean up. The venue looked amazing. Thanks to The Poetry in Motion staff my wedding was perfect.

    Sent on 09/17/2015
  • M

    Molly · Married on 10/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen just knows what she is doing and therefore, you can relax! Her knowledge of rental options for your table set up and other decor is impressive; it made all the planning so easy for us. Everything just magically looked exactly the way we wanted it to on the day of our wedding!

    Let's talk about food! I'll admit, "food" was not at the top of my priority list for the wedding day. I rarely remember what I ate at my friends' weddings. However, Poetry in Motion made the MOST DELICIOUS appetizers and buffet style dinner for us!!!!! I was BEYOND IMPRESSED!!! I will NEVER forget what I ate at my wedding, and our guests commented all night long about how wonderful everything tasted!

    Prepping our menu for the wedding was easy as well! Karen is open to using your own family recipes, if you'd like that added personal touch. Not only that, but her menu options are so organized and easy to narrow down. I found that I was very overwhelmed when viewing other caterers' menus. I loved how straight forward, yet flexible and versatile Karen's menu ideas were.

    Her staff was incredible and SOOOO efficient! The bar tenders were extremely friendly, and the serving staff was always on top of helping us! My husband and I had champagne and treats waiting for us right after our ceremony, and hot, full dinner plates waiting for us when we entered for dinner. Karen brought some of her own signs and decor to make things easier on us-- I was grateful for this because I was planning this wedding long-distance and didn't have much time to find all those little items. Her decor was tasteful and beautiful.

    We had S'mores for dessert, and everyone said the set up looked like an "Anthropologie" display! It was so lovely and included flavored marshmallows and chocolates; way more than we were expecting!

    The attention to detail throughout the day was phenomenal! Everything-- I mean EVERYTHING-- ran so smoothly the entire day! It was a dream :) Thank you!!!

    Sent on 11/01/2014
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 11/03/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married on Nov 3, 2012 at Nestldown in Los Gatos. Nestldown has a list of caterers to choose from, and I contacted each of them. Karen was quick to respond to me and she worked within our budget, which no other caterer would do. She compiled a menu for us based on what we like and we met with her in July to try it. It was fantastic! The day of the wedding, she and her team worked behind the scenes and everything ran more smoothly than I could have imagined. Dozens of our guests remarked about the fact that they had never tried "wedding food" that tasted this great! They served cauliflower mac 'n cheese which everyone, especially the kids, loved! People went back for several rounds at the buffet!

    She was a great addition to our team of vendors and I would recommend her to anyone! She provided great advice and had awesome ideas to help make our day the best day of our lives!

    Sent on 11/10/2012
  • A

    Angela · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was fabulous. It was served hot and replaced as needed. There were personal touches everywhere. The staff were extremely professional and checked with me frequebtly to see if there was anything I needed.

    Sent on 10/22/2012
  • D

    Deanna · Married on 05/14/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen Major is an amazing woman. The second we sat down for a tasting, we knew she would be the perfect caterer for our wedding at Nestldown. The food was simply amazing. You can tell she has a love for cooking. With a last minute wedding date change, Karen was very flexible and accommodating. She went above and beyond her duties as a caterer, by connecting me with a florist, providing me with flower boxes, shopping for our bar beverages, choosing linens, tableware, etc. She was quick to respond and easy to get in contact with. Because of our last minute changes, we hit a few bumps in the road, but Karen maintained her professional demeanor, and we worked through it. Her full catering service, her staff, and her food, was just impeccable on our wedding day. We didn't have to worry about a thing. I would highly recommend her!

    Sent on 01/11/2013
  • Heather

    Heather · Married on 06/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I asked my venue for a recommendation for a caterer for my wedding they told me "You will want to hire Karen Major from Poetry in Motion." As soon as I spoke with Karen and saw her menu I knew they were right. Karen knows Nestldown, my venue, like the back of her hand and told me everything I needed to think about to have a successful event. Her prices are very competitive for the area and her food was amazing. My guests commented it was some of the best they have ever had. She is great for an indecisive or nervous bride because she will calm you down and tell you exactly what to do. All of her staff were extremely helpful, worked with a smile, and made sure everything was perfect for our day. If I ever need anything catered again I will call her first every time. Please check her out. It will be more than worth it.

    Sent on 06/28/2010
  • H

    Heather · Married on 06/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Poetry in Motion was one of the preferred vendors for Nestldown, our wedding site. When I asked the event manager for a recommendation for a caterer she said Karen with Poetry in Motion right away. Karen worked wonderfully with me from start to finish. She knew the site and knew exactly what we needed and wasn't going to charge us more than it cost her to get things done. She took care of all the rentals, staffing, set up, and bar along with all the wonderful food for our reception. Everyone is still talking about how good the food was over a month later. Her attention to detail and decisiveness was very helpful but her warm nature and all around hard working staff is what I will remember. I recommend her to anyone having an event who wants good eats.

    Sent on 07/24/2010
  • B

    Brittney · Married on 07/19/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Terrific catering!
    From the required vendor list I was given from my venue, I chose to have Poetry in Motion cater my wedding on 7/19/15. Best choice I could have made! It is very evident that Karen is passionate about her work and service to her customers! Having much experience under her belt with events at my venue, she was very knowledgeable about what my options were within my preferred budget. She went above and beyond for my wedding. She helped me with picking out linens and all place settings for my tables. She also provided helpful tips and options for food service and beverages. If there was any question or confusion about something, she was professional and cordial in clarifying. It is apparent that her creative desire is to see the personalities of the bride and groom come alive in the food she provides. The food tasting was also an intimate and enjoyable experience! The appetizers were outstanding! And the food at dinner tasted close to perfection. Karen even made sure the bride and groom had their own special meal!
    My only "complaint" is that some of the chicken served at the buffet was cold - according to some of my guests. My wedding was outdoors, and I had 170 guests. Other than that, her staff was very polite and hard-working. Overall, I had a great experience working with Poetry in Motion and would refer Karen's business to any bride!

    Sent on 09/02/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review