Skip to main content
Weddings

Pierce House Reviews

Pierce House View more information

31 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 94% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 31

19 User photos

  • E
    Erica V. Married on 05/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    BEST last minute decision

    The Pierce house was a very last minute decision for us, as we had to change our wedding venue several times due to covid regulations and I will admit that this wedding was PERFECT because of the Pierce House. It is such a beautiful venue inside and out. Cocktail hour on the porch to enjoy the scenery was just so beautiful. My guests would not stop talking about how gorgeous it was (and it makes for amazing pictures!). Victoria was a pleasure to work with, so friendly and easy going. You wont be disappointed!

    Pierce House's reply:

    Thanks so much Erica!! It was so incredible to apart of your special day!! xoxo So happy to have you met you and Stefano.
  • C
    Colleen A. Married on 04/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    More than just a typical Venue!

    PERFECT WEDDING! From the time we chose to have our wedding at the Pierce house until Our wedding day, we couldn’t have been happier with Our choice! The beautiful house, the lush and romantic grounds, the beautiful tent set over the patio (not on grass ....which was awesome) , the porch for cocktail hour, and with out a doubt, our personal favorites..... The Trees!!! Weeping Willows and Shady Oaks gave us the perfect backdrops for so many amazing pictures! Victoria Otis was beyond wonderful to work with and made us feel so special! Her attention to detail is flawless and she truly cared about making our day everything we wanted it to be! Five stars isn’t enough!!

    Pierce House's reply:

    Thank you Colleen!!
    I LOVED working with you and your daughter to make her a wedding day the best day of her life.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Robyn
    Robyn L. Married on 10/17/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional, Flexible, and Well Maintained

    Site management is top-notch! The Pierce House is crazy clean and well-maintained. Site Manager Victoria walked us through and shared tons of tips, including full knowledge of options for handicap access throughout the property, which I found so valuable for family members. We booked Pierce House on the spot, got a "goody bag" and prompt support, and couldnt wait. COVID forced us to cancel and Victoria saw to it that we were completely refunded within a few days. Just a professional vibe that we wish we'd gotten a chance to see through for our reception. We plan to celebrate something there when we can.
  • S
    Sarah D. Married on 07/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue

    I had my wedding at the Pierce House in July. This venue is absolutely gorgeous. Both the house and the grounds (30 acres I believe) give you endless options for your event. When I toured it they told me that they wanted it to feel like it was our house for the day. You are able to decorate and use the property as you’d like. I also really appreciated that we didn’t have to pick from a set list of vendors (they have recommendations but you have complete flexibility). The tent out front is also very reasonably priced and easy to rent. Everyone was very responsive and informative. We were able to have the exact wedding that we wanted here, and without spending nearly as much as we would have at other venues. I absolutely recommend it!
  • A
    Andrea Married on 10/06/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We had a beautiful, custom wedding thanks to the Pierce House!

    My partner and I got married here October 6, 2018 and it was STUNNING! Nancy was so easy to work with and let us add our own touches to the house to make the evening even more sentimental. We put up family pictures all over the house. We looked at a lot of venues before selecting the Pierce House. The other venues that were even close to the beauty of the Pierce House all had in house caterers or 2 that you could choose from and were incredibly overpriced. The Pierce House lets you customize your event. The only tricky part for us was picking a caterer who met the insurance requirements for the Pierce House, but that turned out to be a blessing in disguise because we ended up with a caterer from their recommended list who saved our wedding (rental disaster) on more than one occasion. Guests went on and on about how beautiful everything was! We highly recommend the Pierce House!

    Pierce House's reply:

    Andrea, we as so happy you chose the Pierce House for your wedding. It was simply beautiful and I know we were all worried about your rentals. It all turned out to be just gorgeous! Thank you for making the Pierce House sparkle with love and happiness!
  • M
    Marina Married on 08/11/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Pierce House was the perfect venue for our August wedding. My husband and I were looking for a wedding venue with both indoor and outdoor areas which could accommodate 150 guests. the Pierce house far exceeded our expectations. Nancy, the house manager, is lovely to work with. She helped coordinate vendors and deliveries, and was so helpful day-of moving the ceremony into the tent and the buffet into the house to accommodate the rainy weather. The house itself is beautiful. We were able to hang family photos throughout. The dressing rooms were light filled and made for good pictures! There were so many spaces where people ended up sitting and talking late into the night. The tent is also beautiful with the fairy lights, and we had no trouble fitting all our guests inside with room to spare. Importantly for us, we were able to use the vendors we wanted, and brought our own alcohol. I highly recommend the Pierce house for any wedding!
  • E
    Erica Married on 08/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Pierce House was the perfect venue for our wedding (8/4/18). First of all, it's absolutely stunning. The house itself is such a beautiful backdrop, and the surrounding gardens and rolling lawns add so much natural beauty. There really isn't a bad place for a picture here!

    The Pierce House is a very "DIY" venue, but that's what my fiance and I were looking for. I felt like they were very upfront from the beginning about what they would and would not provide - they made it clear that they would basically provide the space and we would provide everything else. This was perfect for us since we wanted freedom in choosing our vendors and didn't want a pre-packaged hotel deal. The only vendor you have to use is their tent rental company (Come Rain or Shine) for the outdoor tent and dance floor, but I found them to be very easy to work with.

    Nancy, the manager at Pierce House, was very responsive and helpful - we even showed up unannounced one weekend months before our wedding to show the venue to my parents, and Nancy welcomed us and gave us a full tour. Her assistant, Laura, also stepped in to help during the final walkthrough with our caterer. You will need to hire a separate wedding coordinator, but it's nice to have Nancy on hand to answer venue-related questions.

    Overall, we were very pleased with Pierce House, and our guests were definitely wowed by the house and gardens. It's a great spot!

    Pierce House's reply:

    Dear Erica, Thank you for the wonderful revue! We really appreciate
    it. We love to share in our guests' special days. Though wedding
    coordinators are wonderful to have, it is not essential to having the
    wedding of your dreams (which is our goal) at the Pierce House. Thanks again for your very positive feedback! Best wishes always!
    - Laura and Nancy
  • D
    Dea Married on 05/26/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My daughter just had her wedding at the Pierce House and all was perfect. It is a venue with beautiful outdoor spaces with gardens and pond around a historic home, lovely indoor spaces than can be personalized if you wish, and the ability to hire your own vendors. Nancy, the Pierce House manager, is great. She was very responsive from day one and willing to help you make it the wedding you want. She had a list of caterers, florists, nearby hotels, etc. for our advice, but we were not restricted to those folks. It is a great spot for a do-it-your own wedding, as well as a wedding planner wedding. Highly recommended.

    Pierce House's reply:

    Thank you so much Dea for the glowing review. The wedding was just beautiful and everyone seemed to have so much fun! I loved working with you! Nancy
  • M
    Maggie Married on 05/26/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were married at the Pierce House in May and it was absolutely beautiful! Gorgeous outdoor spaces (including pond, garden, a huge open field...) and the house itself is stunning - with an option to personalize rooms with photos and items from home. We had the perfect day, and Nancy was so helpful and organized in making it all happen. The price is right, too - especially if you get the Lincoln resident discount! Highly, highly recommend. It was the best day of our lives, in the most beautiful setting!!!
  • M
    Michelle Married on 10/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We held our wedding on 10/1/17 at the Pierce House and it was the absolute perfect venue for our special day! As a wedding planner myself, I was very particular when it came to the venue we would hold our wedding at and Pierce House truly exceeded our expectations.

    Nancy is wonderful to work with. She was so patient with me and let me tour the venue several times before my wedding day so I could feel comfortable with the layout my vendors and I had come up with. And the way Nancy has decorated the house is really beautiful. The property is so unique and there are so many locations for great photos.

    We were married on a Sunday and with the 9 pm noise ordinance so we decided to host a Silent Disco for the last hour of our reception. It was a HIT with our guests and I suggest it for anyone considering a Sunday date or really, anyone that wants to add some more fun to their wedding day!

    The Pierce House was really the wedding venue of our dreams!

    Pierce House's reply:

    Michelle, Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We truly had the best time hosting your wedding here. The silent disco was an absolute blast and I delighted in your guests enjoying it so much. I am so glad you chose the Pierce House for your wedding! Nancy
  • E
    Emily Married on 10/31/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Pierce House is an excellent choice of venue for anyone who is looking to make their wedding truly their own. The house and grounds are as picturesque as you can imagine, and you can decorate the house as little or as much as you'd like. (Bonus: There are working fireplaces, and candles are allowed to be lit indoors.) What I loved about the Pierce House is that I could select my own vendors and not have to pick from a handful of standard packages. Richard, the manager, is organized and responsive, and was completely open to our non-traditional ideas. (He even dressed in costume, per our suggestion!) Another thing I loved about the Pierce House is that there is a beautiful bridal suite that we were able to use for the day to get ready. Overall, our experience was outstanding!

    If you are someone who is looking to have every aspect of a wedding planned for you, I wouldn't recommend the Pierce House only because it is not solely a wedding venue, and you will need to take care of a lot of the planning (including working independently with the tent rental company and the like). But if you are someone who is relatively organized and has a good vision for what you want, definitely do yourself a favor and give the Pierce House a look!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 09/25/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Pierce House is a gorgeous venue that for us was the perfect combination of do-it-yourself and professional wedding venue. The house and the grounds are incredibly beautiful and allow you to decorate as much or little as you want. I wanted a venue that wasn't the typical hotel ballroom or country club and the Pierce House was the perfect setting. Unique with beautiful details without being pretentious. Richard, the caretaker, was fantastic to work with (and had even gathered up all of the things our guests had left behind for us to pick up the next day). We had our ceremony outside by the garden, cocktail hour inside the house and on the wrap around porch, and the reception was in the tent attached to the front of the house. The tent, lights, and dance floor are rented through a company that works with the Pierce House, and can be split with the wedding before or after yours. We went with the strands of small, white lights and the pictures from inside the tent are stunning. We could not be happier with our experience at the Pierce House and I can't imagine our wedding being anywhere else.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 10/12/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Pierce House is a stunning venue for a wedding ceremony and reception. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. I had an outdoor ceremony by their garden and it was the perfect backdrop for an outdoor wedding. They have a beautiful wrap around porch and several rooms inside where we had cocktail hour (and a piano that can be used so we had one of our ceremony musicians play during cocktail hour). There is a large tent with a stone floor on the lawn for dinner and dancing. Richard, the caretaker, was very easy to work with. This is a great venue for a bride who wants to decorate the wedding "herself" (I'm sure you won't actually end up decorating - but your ideas) as there is a lot of space to display pictures, flowers, candles and you get to work with your own rental company to bring in all of the tables, chairs, etc. Overall highly recommend the Pierce House as a wedding venue, especially if you're a do-it-yourself type of bride!
  • User1801446 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Lovely spot to get married! We had sporadic wild weather day and had to put up a second tent last minute for the ceremony—but it was still gorgeous. Richard was very helpful throughout the process and made setting up and planning a special day very easy.
  • User1956914 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Couldn't have had a better venue! Beautiful setting and professional staff. We had a crazy day of weather (think 95 degrees and humid followed by crazy rain and then tornado warnings) and Richard was so helpful in planning and helping keep our guests happy and safe. The party turned into a celebratory dance party in the rain that no one will forget. Thank you!
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 10/06/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Pierce House was a beautiful location for our wedding! Richard, the caretaker, was fantastic--sweet and accommodating. He quickly answered any emails and he worked with me to make all of my ideas happen. The house itself is gorgeous. Our wedding day was rainy, which was too bad, since we had planned to make use of the stunning grounds and gardens, but the house was just as beautiful. Guests enjoyed wandering around the historic place. Highly recommend!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 06/29/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    LOVED it. Great location, beautiful grounds. So happy we had our wedding here in June 2013.
  • User1243399 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We couldn't have asked for a better venue!! Richard was fantastic to work with, he truly helped arrange all of the vendors and make sure our wedding was spectacular. The Pierce House is a BEAUTIFUL setting for a wedding. Our family and friends couldn't believe how amazing the location was. I highly recommend having your wedding here!!!
  • J
    J Married on 10/09/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I highly recommend working with the Pierce House. We had our wedding on a beautiful day and the property and grounds were HEAVEN. The combination of having the house open for cocktails, reception and dancing under the tent, and whatever else out on the lawn was a great dynamic. Wonderful venue, solid curator, great environs.
  • D
    Diana Married on 06/12/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Richard, the house manager, was great to work with--very responsive and flexible. He's also very respectful of diversity!

    The Pierce House is great for a wedding you really want to be involved in. You have to find all your own vendors, but that's perfect for really planning the event you want. They let you store things there and come by when you want, which is great. They also have things like a few tables and a kitchen that makes everything easier.

    Our wedding was on a Friday, which made the cost a lot better, but when you take into account the tent you need for an outdoor wedding with a significant number of guests, it raises it a little bit. But you can split the tent with other events. You are the only event that day, which is great, and you get the house for 8 hours exactly unless you pay for extra hours (which is relatively cheap and they'll let you do it by 15 min increments).

    The house is also gorgeous. It's got great land and great spots for photos--a pond, a little barn, woods, a peony garden.
  • lonleigh
    Lonnie Married on 05/30/2018
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    Pierce House is a gorgeous spot to get married. We went and visited it once (in the dead of winter, mind you) and absolutely fell in love. Even better was Nancy Beach. She's the caretaker of the estate now, and has taken many steps to repair some of the damage from the previous caretaker, as well as updating the venue. She's very flexible and willing to work with you and your vendors, as well as providing lists of other vendors that have worked with the Pierce House in the past.

    The Pierce House is basically a DIY venue. They give you the 30 acre property and essentially let you run wild. But DON'T suggest throwing anything (glitter, rice, rose petals, etc) and it's best to leave any notions of confetti at home. It makes sense, though, because it's a historic landmark that actually belongs to the town of Lincoln.

    The inside of this venue is stunning. I can't wait to get our photos back from our photographer so that we can show off some of the amazing interior shots of the building. The one thing that we didn't like was the tent. It may be fine for other people, but we HATED it. If you don't like it, tell Nancy!! She didn't charge us the thousands of dollars it would have cost otherwise. But we promised we wouldn't use it, and she waived that charge. She was also kind enough to allow us to go through her own apartment for our walk down the aisle.

    You can't go wrong with this as your venue, especially if you want to create the vision you already have.

    Pierce House's reply:

    Lonnie, Leigh, thank you so much for your wonderful review. What a beautiful wedding you had and you introduced me to a 4th location for a wedding ceremony...our front steps! We loved working with you both! And it was a beautiful day for a wedding. I agree that a tent is not for everyone, but it is a beautiful tent with gorgeous lighting should you want an outdoor wedding with lush surroundings. Thank you for choosing the Pierce House to host your wedding. Wishing you both the very best!
  • Sarah
    Sarah C. Married on 06/22/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous setting for an outdoor wedding!

    My husband and I had a great experience at the Pierce House. Nancy and Laura were very helpful and flexible, and we loved being able to customize our celebration with the vendors of our choice. All of our guests commented on how beautiful the setting was!
  • msgirl
    Miriam Married on 07/10/2010
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Richard is the best. He's quirky and wonderful and truly wants every bride to have the best possible wedding day.

    He has a set schedule and it's not 9-5 (I think it's morning hours) but he's pretty much willing to accommodate you as best as he can.

    The venue only has A/C in the bride's room, and there are only 2 stalls in the ladies' room (and somewhat small) but other than that - it's a wonderful place to get married!

  • J
    Julia Married on 09/08/2018
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    The Pierce House was a magical place to get married. The grounds are so beautiful and the house is warm and cozy. We were looking for that sweet spot between urban and rural and we found it with this rustic historical home. We loved the tree outside where we got married, the pond where we took photos and the garden where we gathered our families for more photos. Everyone complimented the ceiling of twinkle lights in the tent and the set up of the whole facility. The staff was accommodating in scheduling walk throughs with our vendors and our parents to show people around the space beforehand. If you want it to feel like you’re inviting all your friends and family over to your house for your celebration, this is the place to do it!

    Pierce House's reply:

    Julia, Laura and I want to thank you for the wonderful review! We delighted in hosting your wedding, it was so beautiful! Many happy wishes to you both. We will keep you posted on upcoming Pierce House events and we'd love to have you come back and vist!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message