20 Reviews for Photography by Paul

5.0
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Engagement Shoot (1)
High-Res Images (1)
Wedding Portraits (1)
Digital Files (1)
Prints (1)
20 Photography by Paul Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Let me start off this review by saying that I hardly ever write reviews.. The only time I write reviews is if the service was beyond horrible or exceeded my expectations. Paul DEFINITELY exceeded my expectations! My wife and I found Paul at a bridal bazaar at the convention center in downtown San Diego where we won a free engagement shoot with Paul. After doing the engagement shoot, we knew that Paul was the guy for our wedding! He made us feel very comfortable, in a calming/soothing way amidst all the stress and chaos that comes with a wedding. We met with a lot of different vendors, some a lot more pushy than others, but from the beginning and all the way through the wedding, Paul always made sure that we were comfortable. During photo ops, he was always willing to give a helping hand to my wife to fix her hair and dress, as well with me to straighten up my suit/tie etc. to make sure we looked good for the shots. We went with his deluxe package, and it is a great value!!! When comparing the quality of Paul's work and pricing to other vendors, his pricing and value is definitely worth it!! Not to name names, but I think his quality of work is just as good, if not better, than some of the other vendors who were charging a lot more than Paul does! Paul and his second shooter were always professional! Paul was always an email or a text message away and always responded promptly! I will always look to Paul should I need a photographer and will always recommend him to anyone and everyone!

Profile Picture Geramie, 10/7/17, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

My husband isn't much of a picture taker and doesn't smile much for photos. The first time we met Paul, he had my husband laughing and that's all it took, I hired him on the spot! He made us feel so comfortable and was so easy to work with! I highly recommend Paul, as he made our wedding day so special!

Profile Picture Susan, 9/24/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

My (new) husband and I heard about Paul's photography services after attending a bridal bazaar at the Del Mar fairgrounds. We spoke with another vendor who personally recommended Paul and said she'd had clients who loved working with him and his photos were stunning. We are SO glad we went with Paul. We got to know him when he did our engagement shoot and his humor put us at ease quickly. When we received our engagement pictures, we were so happy to have gone with Paul. Our pictures were stunning! The day of the wedding, Paul worked with our schedule to make sure we got all the shots we wanted. I also sent him pinterest pictures that I wanted to recreate and he made sure to recreate them all the day of our wedding.

Paul was fun and easy to work with. We enjoyed every minute with him. Yesterday Paul sent us a link to view all of our wedding photos. They are all absolutely stunning! We did not find a single photo we didn't love! Paul is affordable and so talented! We are SO happy to have had him shoot our wedding and would absolutely recommend his services!

Profile Picture Lisa, 7/17/17, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Engagement Shoot, High-Res Images, Wedding Portraits, Digital Files, Prints
5.0

While I know it's early since we don't have pictures back yet (wedding was 2 days ago) I had to give props where they were due! Paul was a referral from my MOH and her pictures were fantastic. I have no doubt mine will be just as fabulous! Paul is super fun to work with and so patient with trying to get the right pictures and putting up with lots of kids. He was right on time for everything and kept us on track! We highly recommend him at this point and no plans to change that!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Steph, 4/1/17, 8 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Paul was excellent to work with! My wife loved the pictures, and I loved the professionalism of his work!

Profile Picture jason, 8/8/16, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

I met Paul at the San Diego Bridal Bizarre last year. I knew instantly that he was the one! He is very personable and knows his stuff and has a great vibe! He is so easy to work with and is very honest. I feel that he does not charge enough for the quality of his work. He is very reasonable with his pricing and was willing to work with us on our budget. He even set up a manageable payment plan.

On the day of our wedding, he came well prepared and knew what his plan of attack was. When situations got rushed he had this calming affect and just handled his business with out being rude or disrespectful. Paul is amazing! I cannot say enough about how great and talented he is. When our photos were available to view, my husband and I both viewed them at separate times. When we asked each other what we thought. We both said, "awe, man, he made me cry all over again" He really knows how to capture those moments to bring you back and to relive that day. Thank you so very much Paul, your are the best!

I wish I knew how to post pictures cause I would love to share with the world Paul's many talents and gifts.

Profile Picture Amanda, 8/9/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Paul was a fantastic photographer for my wedding. We spent hours on the phone going over his packages and what he had to offer, which was great pricing by the way. He never pressured us into anything we didn't want to do and was always open to others suggestions. He had a great spreadsheet that helped him stay on track with timing and who was who during family photos. He's cautious and understanding of the vision we wanted for our wedding photos but also offered his professional advise. The package we chose came with a 2nd photographer. I definitely recommend this. It seems like you wont need him but he really is able to capture moments and photos that you cant do with one person. Paul was able to direct him and he followed his footsteps. They did a great job together and I cannot wait to see our pictures as I am sure they all came out beautifully.

Profile Picture Kristina, 10/18/14, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

My husband and I hired Paul for our photos for our wedding in August. We started working with him many months before. He was so great to work with throughout the entire process from engagement photo session until the day of and beyond. All of the photos turned out absolutely beautiful! He has an amazing eye and knows how to give the proper direction. We are very pleased we decided to go with him and we highly recommend him to anyone! Thanks Paul for everything!

Profile Picture Kim, 8/10/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Paul did an AMAZING job and we couldn't have been any happier! I met him at a bridal bizarre booth and instantly we clicked...I met a few other photographers and I didn't seem to get a cordial vibe from any of the others. We set up our engagement photo session on the beach at sunset and our pictures were beyond spectacular! We took our pictures at our exact engagement spot and Paul captured that special moment perfectly. Down the road, we discussed our wedding day timeline by the minute in detail...for me, this is exactly what I needed to feel more at ease when the BIG DAY arrived. As time passed, all the sunny summer months of planning was perfect...then came rain on the ONLY day after 4 dry months! Yes, a rainy beach wedding with no Plan B of what to expect to tell guests and our vendors...and yes, our photographer was AWESOME and handled this situation with ease. He told us that our wedding was quite "unique" compared to other traditional weddings...and we couldn't have agreed more! Everyone said that when it rains on your wedding day that it means that we are LUCKY IN LOVE! The pictures Paul took of my bridesmaids getting our hair and make-up done were adorable and our beach shots were breathtaking. He captured so many guests having fun on the dance floor. ALL our pictures turned out gorgeous and we have Paul to thank for making it happen!

Profile Picture Ligaya, 8/2/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Paul was the photographer for my wedding on March 1st. I really feel like he listened to everything we said in the consultation. He was so professional and great on the day of and we are thrilled with the photos!

We had a small guest list, about 20 people total, so the personality of the photographer was just as important as the talent. Paul is so calm and relaxed, but also funny! He definitely fit right in with the group. He was always nearby capturing all of the important shots, but was never too overbearing like I have seen some photographers be. He did all of the classic portraits, even though I got a little grumpy (I don't like to pose) he took it in stride and kept things fun and moving along. There was a LOT of rain, that caused a little chaos for our outdoor wedding. Paul handled it amazingly well. He made the best out of any setting.

We were so happy when our pictures were posted. They were better than we could have imagined! We also ordered an album and 2 smaller versions for our parents. We got the digital proof for that yesterday, it is amazing! We didn't have a single edit or change.

Profile Picture Sam, 3/1/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
4.9

This is the email we sent immediately after seeing our photos...says it all:

Paul...the pictures are fantastic!!! Seriously...love all of them...we knew they Would be amazing...but they even far exceeded our expectations! Have no idea how we will narrow it down for the album :-) thank you for capturing everything about that night. You are so talented...the best!!!!!! (and all the exclamation points in the world don't depict how thrilled we are). Thank you!!!!!!!!! Rachel and Jacob

Profile Picture Rachel, 9/14/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Paul was absolutely great! He is so easy to get along with, very organized, and was very accommodating with regard to picture requests. Paul quickly responded to emails and/or phone calls to answer any questions we may have had. My daughter and future son-in-law lived out of state and did not have the opportunity to meet Paul before the wedding. On the day of the wedding, because of Paul's great personality, everyone was very much at ease and all went smoothly. The pictures are beautiful. I would definitely recommend Paul and if the need for a photographer comes in the future, we will definitely call Paul.

Profile Picture Diana, 7/20/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Paul did a fantastic job at my son's wedding. We knew he was awesome when we saw the shots from the engagement photo's from last year, but he outdid himself at the wedding.

He is so easy going and willing to take whatever pictures we wanted. The wedding was at Tom Ham's Lighthouse and the shots that he took were amazing. We received the pictures back yesterday and will have a hard time deciding on which ones to print.

He was also willing to work with us on creating a package that worked within our budget. It was so wonderful to get a photographer with his talent and expertise. I will recommend him to everyone I know.

Thanks Paul!

Profile Picture Cathy, 7/3/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
4.9

Paul was an amazing photographer for our wedding! What I really liked about Paul was how much he cared that he captured the moments we wanted. We didn't just want the serious every wedding has pictures, but also wanted fun pictures. Paul was able to capture the important moments as well as the fun moments.

On the day of the wedding Paul was very out of the way. I didn't even notice him most of the time, but the pictures show he was at the right place at the right time.

Would recommend him to everyone and anyone.

Profile Picture Christina, 6/8/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We had Paul photograph our wedding last weekend and couldn't be happier with how everything turned out!

When looking for our wedding photographer, my husband and I concentrated on a few things:

- We wanted someone who would capture the important (and not so important) parts of the day without being an overly apparent part of the activities. We have been to too many weddings where we felt like the photographer was just as visible as the bride and wanted to avoid that.

- We wanted pictures that would capture our personalities and not make us look over posed. It's extremely unlikely that one would ever find my husband and me laughing hysterically as we skipped through a grassy meadow wearing galoshes and carrying parasols.

- We wanted someone who was laid back and down to earth and who would not only make us feel comfortable, but all of our wedding guests as well.

Upon meeting Paul and looking through his work, I could tell that he was very laid back, client focused, and incredibly talented at what he does. Then, when my husband met him, he immediately stated that Paul was 'the photographer'...which says a lot, as it was one of the few times that my stereotypically indifferent groom had an opinion during the wedding planning process ;-)

Paul did indeed match exactly what we were hoping for! I barely noticed him throughout the event, but know that he was there capturing every beautiful detail. Paul understood that we wanted very natural shots and worked with us to capture great photos while we didn't feel awkward. And, he made everyone he interacted with at the wedding feel comfortable. Not surprisingly, several family members and friends actually came up to me after the wedding to tell me how awesome and laid back they thought the photographer was!

I would definitely recommend Paul to anyone looking for a talented, friendly, and down to earth photographer!

Profile Picture User712197, 2+ years ago, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Paul is the best!!! When I sat with my fiance and we discussed what would be the most important things for us to both have for our wedding (besides each other) he said a great time/party and I said photography. We met with Paul and knew right away that he was perfect for us. Professional, comfortable, funny, warm....perfect! We love our pictures and they are the perfect memories from our perfect day! Thank you Paul, for all your hard work and wonderful results!!

-Amy Gibbs

Profile Picture Amy, 7/25/10, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Paul was very fun to work with and have at the wedding. He was very professional and made sure we got the shots we wanted of family and friends. We received our pictures very soon after the wedding. My husband and I were very happy with the service he provided. Definitely recommend his services to any bride and groom.

Profile Picture Leticia, 10/17/09, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Paul was wonderful to work with. From the beginning he was very flexible. Photography to most is going to be one of the most important things about a wedding as well as one of the most expensive. My husband and I did quite a bit of research as there are so many photographers to choose from in the San Diego area. When we came across Paul he was easy to work with and very responsive. He understood our needs and wants and worked with our budget. We were able to come up with a package that worked out financially for us as well as provided pictures, books, etc of what we were looking for. The engagement session was a lot of fun and we were able to choose the location of where we wanted to do the photo shoot. During the ceremony and reception he was very inconspicuous yet he still captures the pictures that you want. Paul was great to work with and I highly recommend him!

Profile Picture Erin , 8/22/09, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Paul was incredible! I really recommend him to anyone in the San Diego area. So many photographers work in San Diego, and they can all start to seem the same. Everyone is doing digital photo albums and all the portfolios look the same. Paul is down to earth, his work is incredible and he was flexible and natural while taking pictures. He isn't creepy at all, either, I had him in the room while I getting ready and he was fine. I wish I had more reasons to use a photographer, because Paul is great!

Profile Picture Heather, 7/13/08, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
4.6

Paul was the only photographer who was willing to work with us as far as albums go. Other photographers insisted on making the albums for us and charging for that, and were unwilling to let us have digital file, but we wanted digitals to print and make our own album, scrapbook style. Paul actually subtracted the printing cost and sold us the digitals. He was flexible with our work schedule, and very professional and courteous and friendly during our engagement session. At the wedding he was unintrusive -- we barely noticed him snapping away! -- and he took wonderful photos. I gave 3* on value only because I think all wedding photography is overpriced :-P Thanks Paul!

Profile Picture Anna, 3/17/07, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography