Skip to main content
Weddings

Phoenix Marriott Resort Tempe at The Buttes Reviews

Phoenix Marriott Resort Tempe at The Buttes

Phoenix Marriott Resort Tempe at The Buttes

Tempe, AZ
4.8 out of 5 rating, 25 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.8 out of 5 rating
25 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating
95% Recommended by couples

Awards

25
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

13 User photos

  • Erum
    Erum H. Sent on 07/27/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Impressed with the professionalism of the staff quick service on the first gi everything was done and taken care of responsibly thank uou

    They allowed us to come a day before the event to check out if everything is done accordingly. Service staff was awesome their hard work plays a significant role in making our event successful. Thank you🙏

    Phoenix Marriott Resort Tempe at The Buttes's reply:

    Thank you so much, this means a lot to us. We loved working with your group and hope PICO will come back to celebrate with us in the future!
  • C
    Chandani H. Sent on 06/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Reception location

    The Marriott Buttes is a beautiful location and wonderful staff to work with. They did whatever they could to make my reception successful. Most of my family stayed at the resort and they all were very pleased and they had such a great time. The buttes were very hospitable. Definitely recommend doing your events at their location!

    Phoenix Marriott Resort Tempe at The Buttes's reply:

    Thank you so much Chandani. Your event was beautiful and we wish you and Asad a blessed married life!!
  • K
    Kristina C. Sent on 08/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Picture perfect Arizona Wedding

    We had a beautiful intimate wedding at The Buttes in April 2021. The ceremony was on the Top of the Rock patio and reception was in the Cholla Vista room. Shannon, Anita, and Team were absolutely amazing to work with and took take off every little detail. It was picture perfect and a day we will never forget!

    Phoenix Marriott Resort Tempe at The Buttes's reply:

    Kristina,
    Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure working with you and your lovely family. We wish you love and happiness always!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • V
    Vivien Sent on 03/18/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    They were truly a gem!

    Working with Chelle was absolutely amazing. Most of the work and contact with Chelle was done over email or phone as my (the bride) parents live out of state.

    I knew the venue was great off of pictures alone but they truly went above and beyond from making sure our guests were comfortable and fed (they even set up a "tying the knot" pretzel bar pre-ceremony!) to ensuring we had the perfect ceremony site since we got married the day it rained, snowed, hailed, etc. by setting up two ceremony locations.

    We knew the theme but were lacking direction on how we wanted it to look so we literally dropped off a pile of decorations and let the pros handle it and it was truly stunning!

    There was even a small snag with our reservation but there was no worries. Before we even knew it had happened they had already comped us one of the most amazing suites I have ever seen with perfect views of the snow covered mountains.

    Let's not forget how hospitable the staff was. The reception staff were so kind and attentive to our every need, very clear with communicating, and our lead David was even kind enough to trek all the way back to our suite to retrieve something we forgot for our daughter.

    There's so many options for your dream wedding here, if you're searching, look no further.

    Phoenix Marriott Resort Tempe at The Buttes's reply:

    It was such a beautiful wedding, and even in the rain, you were stunning! Isn't that supposed to bring a lifetime of good luck? Congratulations to a wonderful couple!
  • T
    Tatiana Sent on 08/07/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Breanne Belge is AMAZING! She is a great organizer, good listener and has helpful suggestions. Very responsive and willing to make the event special. I recommend working with her, she played a major role in making the wedding a beautiful event. Our guests complimented us on how delicious was the food. When does that happen at a wedding? The chief was able to provide vegan food for the bride and groom. We picked The Buttes because it has great family memories of stay vacations.
  • A
    Antra Sent on 10/20/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Marriot is great! excellent service, ballroom was epic and beautiful. Nice and elegant- made me feel great and happy on my big day!
  • E
    Erica Sent on 05/08/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    It was everything we imagined!! You won't have to decorate much at all!! It's already so pretty!! The staff will take care of you! The guests will be so impressed with the food! You won't want to leave! Lauren and her team...all staff for that matter really take care of you!!
  • N
    Nicole Sent on 04/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Thanks for a great weekend for our wedding with family & friends! The staff was amazing and everyone loved it!
  • W
    Whitney Sent on 02/08/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Lauren and Mary helped us put together the perfect ceremony and reception. We had our ceremony poolside, with a beautiful natural rock backdrop under the shade of a mesquite tree. Our reception of about 135 had a wonderful time, complete with fantastic food that was tailored to our tastes, customized signature cocktails, and a seamless experience throughout the planning process and the day of. It was wonderful to have a venue that coordinated catering, A/V, and the bar--so much less to deal with! The Buttes team also helped set up on the big day and ensured everything went as smoothly as possible. Although I knew we would be well-taken care of, I was surprised to have so many willing helping hands. Really, the day could not have been more seamless or beautiful but really the staff here make it special. My husband and I are forever grateful to Lauren and Mary for the care and precision with which they approached our big day--it doesn't hurt that the venue itself is stunning as well! With views of the entire Valley, an authentic desert atmosphere, and easy access to the airport, downtown Phoenix, Tempe, and Scottsdale, you cannot go wrong with The Buttes. Can't wait to celebrate anniversaries at a place that will always hold a special place in our hearts.
  • User2454333 Sent on 12/04/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Monica is the Catering Sales Manager and so much more! She made the entire wedding planning process so easy and enjoyable; additionally, she is an excellent coordinator and is very knowledgeable and professional. Carrie is also very helpful and nice to work with. The wedding was perfect, including the outdoor ceremony by the waterfall, and the poolside cocktail hour and delicious dinner, and the poolside reception. The venue is beautiful. The Marriott offers very reasonable room rates for the wedding guests and the hotel rooms are lovely as well. The resort location is closer to the airport which is nice if you have out-of-town guests, yet it feels like you are at a secluded and luxurious oasis at the Marriott Tempe at the Buttes, with many amazing views of Phoenix. The wedding packages available are budget-friendly, especially considering the elegant venue. There are different options at the Tempe at the Buttes for ceremony and reception locations, indoor and outdoor. Monica was onsite the day/evening of the wedding to make sure everything went as planned. The bride and groom could not have been happier. We highly recommend!
  • M
    Monique Sent on 11/30/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our Wedding at The Buttes was absolutely wonderful. Chelle was our event coordinator and she was an absolute joy to work with. She answered all of our questions in a timely and professional manner throughout the planning process. She, along with the staff, did a great job of helping our vision come to life. We held our ceremony in the morning at the waterfall site and received a number of compliments from our guests about how beautiful the scenery was. Our reception was in the Tequila on the Rocks room and was the perfect size for our guests. The view from the room was incredible and enhanced the decor of the room. We opted for a lunch buffet and all of the food was truly amazing. The waitstaff even used some of our leftover decor and made displays for the serving area which was a nice touch. I would definitely recommend this venue. It was a fantastic value with breathtaking views.
  • E
    Elizabeth Sent on 07/02/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Beautiful setting coupled with amazing service!!!! This is the place to pick when you want everything to go as planned!!!!!
  • M
    Melissa Sent on 11/26/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had the best experience at the Buttes from the early planning stages to our wedding weekend events including our rehearsal dinner, wedding, and Sunday brunch, with each event taking place at a different unique location within the resort. Sloane Hansen, our coordinator at the Buttes was a joy to work with. She always had timely answers, suggestions, recommendations, and an extremely outgoing personality. She made everything possible and easy! My guests were impressed by the friendly and hospitable staff. We all agreed that the food was delicious and the presentation of it was outstanding! The natural beauty of the Buttes is one of a kind. We enjoyed the elegance of the resort while it also provided a fun and relaxing time. In fact, we extended our stay there to continue to enjoy ourselves one extra day! I would highly recommend the Buttes to anyone that wants to share in a wonderful time with their guests and have the perfect wedding.
  • User1408266 Sent on 10/29/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were very happy with our selection of The Buttes for our wedding. For starters it’s in a beautiful setting, but didn’t come along with the Scottsdale prices! Sloane, the event coordinator, is also wonderful to work with. She is very quick to answer any questions that you may have and is willing to help you out in any way she can. There were several other weddings going on the weekend we got married and I still felt like she gave us the time and attention that we needed. We had our ceremony on the waterfall deck which was just a beautiful back drop and our reception and cocktail hour at Tequila on the Rocks (located below Top of the Rock). We were originally going to have the reception in a small section of the Market Café, but once Sloane had our final guest count she asked us about moving it to Tequila on the Rocks where we’d have a little more room. We came back in and looked over the space and decided to move it and were very happy we did. It was a great suggestion on her part. We couldn’t have been happier with choosing The Buttes for our day!
  • Holly
    Holly Sent on 01/23/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I hosted my engagement party at Top of the Rock restaurant at this resort and it was absolutely perfect! Sloane Hansen, the event coordinator, did an impeccable job. She was perfect and the event was amazing! Everything went like clockwork and the food was delicious. I cannot say enough good things about this venue and Sloane Hansen!

    Phoenix Marriott Resort Tempe at The Buttes's reply:

    Dear Holly!
    It was a magical event and you were glowing! I had the best time planning this event with you! Best wishes for the wedding and if there is anything I can help you with, please dont hesitate to ask!
    Warm Regards!
    Sloane
  • T
    Patricia Sent on 04/13/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Since it was early April everything was blooming and it was absolutely gorgeous. We were able to do minimal flowers for the ceremony site and since the reception was at Top of the Rock the view was all you needed up there! The food was absolutely delicious and the everything was so elegant and nice. Sloane was our coordinator and she is fantastic! Our wedding couldn't have been any better!
  • J
    Judy Sent on 03/12/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were married at the Top of the Rock patio and had our reception in the restaurant. Sloane Hansen, the catering manager, was responsive to all of our requests for special foods and reception set up. The bridal suite at the hotel was a real treat.
  • M
    Megan Sent on 03/05/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Buttes was a BEAUTIFUL place to have a wedding!! We love the resort and frequently go there during the summer to stay a night and enjoy the pool and scenery. We had our wedding ceremony near the pool and our reception in the Top of The Rock restaurant. It was perfect. Sloane was our coordinator and she was fantastic. Very professional, kind and really went above and beyond for us. The restaurant was great because its a different layout. Its not a typical ballroom setting and it sits up high and has all glass windows so at night, the view is incredible. The whole day was perfect. They do a fantastic job there and you just cant beat the views.
  • C
    Christine Sent on 01/10/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our reception at Top of the Rock at The Buttes Resort was wonderful. Sloane Hansen, the wedding coordinator there, went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect - and it was! She took care of everything and we were able to just relax and enjoy ourselves! The venue is gorgeous, the food was great and the staff is awesome.
  • Jessalyn
    Jessalyn Sent on 11/02/2013
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had the most amazing wedding and ceremony at the Marriott Buttes. Most of our guests came from out of town so we wanted to provide them with an experience they would really enjoy. The weekend at The Buttes was so wonderful and all of the guests, including my husband and I felt very special. Sloane was our wedding planner and she was so accommodating and easy to work with. By the end of the wedding I felt like she was a close friend! Everyone really enjoyed the scenery and atmosphere The Buttes provided and are begging us to do it all over again for our one year anniversary! Everything was perfect and there isn't one thing I would change about the entire experience, except for maybe making time freeze so it could've lasted longer! Thank you to Sloane and her fabulous team for giving us the wedding of our dreams.

    ~Mark and Jessalyn
  • User2993016 Sent on 03/06/2017
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We used Tempe Marriott at the Buttes for our wedding hotel block for our out of town guests, our getting ready location and for a Sunday Brunch the morning after. The Buttes were incredibly helpful and responsive throughout the whole process. Our guests LOVED the AZ flair offered here with the incorporation of the Butte into the design of the hotel and the different types of cactus/desert plant life throughout the property. Our guests enjoyed the hot tubs, spa and top of the rock restaurant! My bridesmaids and I all got ready in the Chairman of the Board suite which was an experience in and of itself! It is gorgeous!! We also stayed there our wedding night! Loved our experience at this hotel. Thank you!
  • P
    Lori Sent on 11/29/2009
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    My wedding at The Buttes was well planned and executed by various staff members. They were very helpful and willing to accommodate me in several ways. The price of food was a little high if you want something unusual. Also the beverages were a little on the high end. Overall, the resort went above and beyond my expectations. I did not have to worry about a thing. It was very well organized and the food was AMAZING! The resort is beautiful and a great place for an all inclusive wedding especially for out of town guests.
  • T
    Tina Sent on 05/05/2013
    4.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    Sloan was a great planner for the Marriott Buttes. Hello, My name is David Knudsen (father of the bride) I’m writing you today to express my gratitude to the Marriott hotel at the Buttes Staff and more importantly my wedding planner Sloane Hansen. I was the nervous father of the bride and I was stressed and not calm. Sloane was the calming factor I needed to be around, it’s all I needed to walk my daughter down the aisle was to get a big hug from her. I felt like a friend had helped us plan and execute this fabulous event. Thank You Sloane
  • N
    Nicole Sent on 02/14/2014
    3.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    We used the Buttes as accommodations for our wedding party and guests. We reserved a block of rooms, but the day before our wedding, we find out that there are not enough beds per room. We had a lot of frustrated guests that paid for 4 adults per room and only got 1 king-sized bed. There were also scheduling errors in booking rooms for our bridal party and some of the groomsmen ended up on the floor...

    Ultimately, a lot of the problems were sorted out, but it was a headache on the day before my wedding.

    The best part was the "next day" brunch at Top of the Rock Restaurant - gorgeous and delicious.

    As for the staff - Sloane was very responsive, emailed or called back immediately, and even followed up after the wedding. Shawn, a reservations manager, went out of his way to get some of the booking errors sorted out. But calling and speaking with anyone at the front desk was kind of a waste of time and created the problems in the first place.
  • S
    Sarah Sent on 06/06/2008
    2.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.5 out of 5 rating
    Cassidy, as a representative for the Buttes was not very good. She told us we could have a plated lunch for our reception site (which was not true) and e-mailed me 2 days later to tell me that I would have to do a buffet which is $10 more per person and for a 100 person wedding amounts to another $1000.00. When told that there would have to be something done on behalf of the Buttes to rectify the issue, we were told that we could have the honeymoon suite for one extra day. This was not sufficient, but the Buttes did not feel as though it was their fault that we were misquoted on the overall price of the wedding.

    She was difficult to get a hold of, I had to call and remind her after not receiving a receipt for a deposit after two weeks had passed. She misappropriated one of our deposits to a wedding that was done in February. Therefore, despite correcting her when meeting with her the week before the wedding, The Buttes charged our credit card an additional $2400. When we called to have this remedied a week later (after our honeymoon) we were told that Cassidy was no longer working for The Buttes. NO WONDER!!!

    We paid for mimosas and the bartenders and waiters were filling glasses on empty (not set) tables so we were charged for 9.5 gallons of mimosas (at $125/gallon) when about 5 were actually consumed. The map of the layout for our wedding tables was NOT executed and the cake table was in the middle of the already limited dance floor!

    Our keys did not work for our honeymoon suite (they had been set for one time use only), so we had to keep going back to the lobby to get them fixed. We were told by the pool bar that we were not able to charge food or drinks to our room because we were listed as a cash account only. This was not true. Overall, we had a beautiful wedding, but the behind the scenes parts were TERRIBLE! I would not recommend using The Buttes for your wedding since you will be overcharged and underwhelmed.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours