Phil's BBQ Reviews

16 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Phil's BBQ

Recommended by 99%

16

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • K

    Kaitlyn · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am soon happy we found Phil's BBQ event center for our Welcome dinner/rehersal dinner! From the planing to the execution everything was great! We did the chicken and ribs combo with beans, cole slaw, potato salad, and a add on of pulled pork. The food was amazing! Everyone raved of how good it was. The bar tender/event lead that was there was so accommodating and friendly throughout the whole event. She kept asking how things were and when we were running behind was very helpful making changes. I love this event center! You get the amazing food and service from Phil's without all the hustle bustle.

    Sent on 12/03/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I attended college in San Diego and know all too well how amazing Phil's BBQ is. And so, we wanted to share the incredible food and experience with our family and friends. We had our rehearsal dinner at Phil's BBQ Event Center. We worked with Maura and the event was flawless even after we had to make a last-minute addition to the guest count. We ordered the baby back ribs, BBQ chicken, baked beans, potato salad, corn bread, lemonade, and iced tea. Everyone loved the food; by the end of the night, there were no leftovers! The event staff was amazing and accommodated all our needs and wants. I highly recommend Phil's BBQ for any event that you want to cater or just to eat great BBQ in San Diego.
    Note: Phil's BBQ Event Center is located in the same plaza but on the other end (not attached to Phil's BBQ restaurant).

    Sent on 08/09/2016
  • A

    Amy · Married on 12/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phils did the catering for our wedding, and I was told by a guest that this was the best wedding food he had ever eaten. Their prices are great, they are super organized and I couldn't have asked for better food!

    Sent on 12/23/2015
  • M

    M · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phil's BBQ. Need we say more?

    My husband and I worked with Maura at Phil's BBQ and we had the best tasting any bbq lover could ask for. Everything was fresh and we literally got to try every great thing Phil's makes and caters to big events - even fresh corn bread made just a few hours prior! We knew that we wanted GREAT food at our wedding that our guests would rave about for years to come, and Phil's did not disappoint at all.

    We had our wedding in Orange County, over 80 miles away from the nearest Phil's. Phil's suggested that we do on-site cooking of the meat to ensure freshness and our guests LOVED that the food was being prepared right in front of them! They could smell the food near the end of our ceremony and many couldn't wait to try what was in store for them!

    We did pay a premium for freshness and mileage, but we don't regret it one bit. It was our #1 priority to have our guests have finger-licking appetizers during the cocktail hour and to have the best wedding meal they've ever had. Phil's even brought so much extra (they do this without extra charge, it's a courtesy!) that our guests were going home with a take-out box FILLED with ribs.

    We've gone back several times after our wedding and we will continue to do so for MANY years to come. Thank you Phil's for feeding us and our guests and making ALL of our tummies very happy!

    Sent on 12/23/2015
  • C

    Csilla · Married on 01/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved, loved, loved having our rehearsal dinner at Phil's BBQ. The pricing and quality of food are amazing and our guests loved it! Also, the Event Center in Point Loma is a nice place inside. The best BBQ in San Diego definitely gave us the best rehearsal dinner experience...and we had some leftovers because they give generous portion sizes that our guests were still enjoying throughout the weekend.

    Sent on 05/31/2015
  • M

    Mafalda · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were here early and had the buffet set up on time. The BBA pork & chicken were outstanding. Plus mixed fresh vegetables, beans & cole slaw. All delicious. Everyone commented on how great the food was.

    Sent on 08/26/2014
  • D

    Deborah and John · Married on 11/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phil's BBQ is the best in quality and taste. They provided everything we needed for everyone to enjoy the great food and everything tasted wonderful.

    Sent on 11/24/2013
  • K

    Katrin · Married on 12/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Best wedding food ever," "OMG!" All our guests loved Phil's BBQ. They were flexible (it started pouring so they had to set up inside), friendly, and delicious. Jory was super helpful and cheerful to work with in the planning process.

    Sent on 01/20/2013
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There's a reason that there is a two hour wait for lunch everyday of the year at this restaurant; they are absolutely incredible! Apart from the fact that their food is so mouthwateringly good, the event staff were impeccable in their set up and service. Working with them was a joy and I will use them for every event I can in the future.

    Sent on 07/31/2012
  • K

    Kristy · Married on 06/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phil's BBQ was the first thing that came to our mind for wedding reception food. Everyone knows their food is amazing, but I don't think enough are aware of how good their catering prices are compared to others. Everyone was excited to eat dinner, which is a little rare at a reception. The food was great, and the the catering staff was just as wonderful. Kristina and Michelle were both a great help, and helped us out with our budget.

    Sent on 06/04/2012
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 04/15/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING! I would 100% recomend Phil's BBQ as your caterer. Not only do they have the BEST barbeque in San Diego, but they LOVE being your caterer. They are very responsive and flexible. They work with Classic Party Rentals on all rentals and know what they are doing. Sarah, the catering manager, and Wayne, the cook, are simply there to make you happy and want everything to be perfect for you.

    I am proud to say that my wedding was the test subject for Phil's BBQ's first ever MASHED potatoe bar. They dont serve mashed potatoes and were hesitant at first, but after I told them how much it meant to me, they gave in and were excited about trying something new. The mashed potatoes were a huge hit.

    The service at the wedding was awesome. My husband and I had a sweet heart table and the waiters never let our water glasses get empty or our plates sit there for over 2 minutes. They were attentive and professional, but also fun and flexible onsite as well.

    Sent on 05/11/2011
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 07/17/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phil's was so great. I used them for my wedding reception and couldnt have been happier. My contacts were both so easy to work with. They were honest and so helpful which is so refreshing when planning a wedding. The food was delicious and was one of the cheaper caterers I could find. We also ordered a whole roasted pig thru a Filipino restaurant, and Phil's was great about it. They even had Phil himself come and carve it. Their set up was great and they packed up and left without disturbing us at all... this wasnt something I thought about but after it was done it was something I really appreciated. Big thumbs up to Wayne who runs the show on your day-of... he was fantastic and one of the best parts of working with Phils.

    Sent on 12/16/2009
  • B

    Yadira · Married on 07/12/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    good service, price and food =)
    everyone loved Phills BBQ

    Sarah (the catering contact) was super helpfull with our DIY plans





    Sent on 08/05/2009
  • K

    Karen · Married on 10/04/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were the first event held in Phil's BBQ's Event Center, which was before they were officially open. That means it was before a lot of the features were ready. Still, our rehearsal dinner was a success.

    The evening before our wedding, I had so much to do. It was nice to have one night to be able to wear jeans or sweats and a tank.

    Some of our family had never heard of or tasted Phil's because they live in North County. Now that there is a San Marcos location, they are very excited!

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

    Sent on 04/22/2011
  • mrsshamel

    Kimberly · Married on 08/16/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phil's was outstanding in every way! Sarah was always helpful and courteous and the food was sensational. We had so many people complimenting the food. They were on time for the setup and breakdown at the venue and always answered my questions promptly, no matter how stupid. I highly recommend them. Not only is the food awesome but their prices are too!

    Sent on 09/07/2008
  • cheshirecat8

    Paige · Married on 07/11/2008

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Phil's BBQ provided our guests with incredible, yummy food and excellent service. Our contact there was on her game right up until the day before our wedding coming through with rentals, food and amazing service onsite.

    Sent on 09/16/2008

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review