Ph.D.-serts & Cakes Reviews

39 | Tampa, FL
See photos, pricing and details

39 Reviews for Ph.D.-serts & Cakes

Recommended by 100%

39
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • User4906861 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I fell in love with her cakes when I saw the pictures. When we met with her she had MANY samples to taste and ALL were delicious. The was amazing! It was EXACTLY what I wanted. Not only did it look beautiful but it was also delicious! Thank you!

    Sent on 06/07/2015
  • H

    Halie · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ph.D.-serts & Cakes provided a fun cookie cake for our rehearsal dinner and a beautiful wedding cake for our reception. The design and taste of both cakes were fantastic! Melanie is super sweet and was so great to work with throughout the planning process. I would definitely love to use Ph.D.-serts again for future special events.

    Sent on 05/12/2015
  • S

    Stacey · Married on 11/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't even know where to begin when it came to my wedding cake and service from Melanie. First, I must note that Melanie took on my order even though she was going to be 8 months or so pregnant on my wedding weekend! She worked with me to make the most perfect cake- the middle tier design was a TWIN to the Italian lace on my dress. We had white almond, red velvet and carrot cake for the three tier cake, and also funfetti cupcake to go along the side. I must also mention that there were a couple of really unique icing ideas to go with the cakes- including berry flavors which would be great for a Spring wedding! All the flavors were magnificent and the top tier came off easily and was packaged for keeping until our 1 year. The attention to detail and taste were magnificent! All of our guests "oo'ed and ahh'ed at how lovely it looked and enjoyed eating it too! This was one area of my wedding where I had 0 stress- perfection!

    Sent on 02/09/2015
  • K

    Kyle · Married on 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melanie made us the most amazing cake I've ever seen. We got so many compliments, and I hated that we had to cut into it! She was fabulous and easy to work with and I would recommend her without hesitation to anyone celebrating anything! Could seriously not have asked for a better cake!!

    Sent on 11/16/2014
  • S

    Seneca · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    PH. Dserts was the perfect choice for my wedding. The process of designing the cake and choosing it's flavors was simple and easy to schedule; Melanie was so flexible with her communication and timeliness and was extremely professional yet welcoming at the same time. I definitely recommend using PH Dserts for any event one is hosting.

    Sent on 11/20/2014
  • K

    Kayleigh · Married on 10/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melanie was absolutely wonderful to work with and so sweet! I gave her a rough sketch of my idea for our cake and she made it happen. It was so amazing seeing the cake I'd dreamed up brought to life! Every single person at our reception said how beautiful the cake was and how good it tasted. I could not have asked for anything more perfect and I was so sad to cut into it. Every single little detail was perfect! I would recommend Melanie to anyone and everyone!

    Sent on 10/28/2014

    Ph.D.-serts & Cakes's reply:

    Thank you, Kayleigh! You and Rimon were a pleasure to work with. You honestly make my job easier when you can tell me specifically want you want your cake to look like. Then I get to do the fun part and bring it to reality. Congrats!
  • G

    Gail · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    PH.D-serts & Cakes was absolutely wonderful to work with and created exactly the wedding cake envisioned for wedding reception. The cake design included very intricate lace design which was done by hand and was so beautiful...it truly was a work of art. I would so recommend Melanie at PH.D-serts & Cakes!

    Sent on 10/15/2014
  • J

    Julianne · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melanie is awesome! Her cakes are delicious and beautiful! She spent a lot of time with me via emails as I went back and forth on my cake design. Melanie is very professional and is very quick at responding to all questions. My wedding cake was absolutely stunning! It fit in perfectly with the wedding decor. I highly recommend Melanie for all of your cake needs!

    Sent on 10/20/2014
  • C

    Carrie · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melanie's cake was absolutely amazing! She made the wedding cake for our recent wedding and the entire process fun and easy. She is so flexible and easy to work with that when I completely changed my mind on the color, shape, and overall design of the cake several weeks before my wedding, Melanie was more than happy to accommodate. She helped me narrow down my ideas to come up with a perfect design that fit our wedding theme. I wanted a different lace detail on each layer and Melanie sent me pictures of lace samples so she could get the detail I wanted perfect. She is truly a perfectionist! When I saw the cake displayed at my wedding I was blown away. It was more beautiful than I imagined; it was perfect! It was also delicious and moist, and we got tons of comments on how great it tasted. All the flavors we chose (with Melanie's help) were amazing and delicious. It truly exceeded my expectations! I highly recommend Melanie and Ph.D.-serts for your wedding or next event.

    Sent on 10/20/2014
  • User4341474 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very professional and easy to work with!! Our wedding cake was not only elegantly decorated with fine detail but also tasted amazing! We ordered the vanilla almond cake with raspberry cream filling and buttercream icing for our biggest layer and chocolate cake with fudge filling (buttercream icing on top) and all of our guests were very pleased and impressed with how detailed the design of our cake was!! Melanie is awesome!!

    Sent on 08/21/2014
  • B

    Becca · Married on 07/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cake was absolutely amazing! It not only was beautiful, but it tasted fabulous! Melanie is so talented and such a pleasure to work with!

    Sent on 07/31/2014
  • M

    Mercy · event on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My family and I went to check out another baker before we found Phd-serts. For one cake they wanted $3000 and that was with the top layer not even being cake! We left that place completely discouraged. I found Mel on WeddingWire the next day and saw exactly the cake I wanted on her website. I set up a time with her and she made my dream cake at a third of the cost of the other baker! It was beautiful and the taste was amazing! I still have people talking to me about the cake. She also made an awesome tribute cake for my brother who is leaving for the Navy in a few weeks. She did a cake and filling she had never made before and it was so very tasty. My friends and family took all of her cards and I even had some other people ask for her information because the cards were gone by the time they went to get cake. I would highly recommend Mel for any event! She truly made my day the best!!

    Sent on 07/02/2014
  • Mrs. Hensley

    Crystal · Married on 06/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding and ordered our cake from Melanie. We happened to see her delivering another wedding cake to our venue when we were touring it, which is how we found her! Melanie was a pleasure to work with. She designed our cake beautifully and it was absolutely perfect!!! We are huge Disney fans and she even hid hidden mickeys on our cake for us to find. There was a larger Mickey on the back for only us to find when we did the cake cutting ceremony. We had a pearl and blinged out cake with tiffany blue accents. Also, we can not explain how delicious the cake came out!!! We had one tier left over so we split it between the families and it's been over a week and the cake is still moist and delicious! Our families kept mentioning that our cake didn't taste like a typical wedding cake, it was moist and the icing was the perfect amount of sweetness. We ordered red velvet with lemon icing, almond cake and cream cheese, and lemon with banana cream and each flavor is so good! Melanie always responded to emails and calls quickly and she was so nice about the thousand questions we had. The cake was such a major part of our big day and it couldn't have tasted or looked more perfect! Did I mention how tastey it was? Because we could eat that cake for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! Who knows if we will be able to wait until our 1 year anniversary to eat that top tier!!

    Sent on 06/23/2014
  • User4184099 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melanie was a pleasure to work with. Very friendly and professional. I would recommend her and use her again for special events.

    Sent on 06/18/2014
  • User4095326 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful cake but most important is she is so organized and prepared! Has a great list of flavors and fillings! We had a beautiful cake everyone enjoyed it and she is great to work with!!

    Sent on 05/12/2014
  • User4109636 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great service and awesome cake! Wonderful to work with! :)

    Sent on 05/18/2014
  • User3210519 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ph deserts/Melanie is the best at what she does. She never disappoints and always see my vision through and even makes it even better. I have bought cakes from her for several years now for other events and have always been happy and heard nothing but great things from my guest. Cake not only looks stunning but taste as great too!!! You will not be disappointed if you went with this company I promise.

    Sent on 05/07/2014
  • T

    Tara · Married on 03/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Melanie was a joy to work with and made it an easy process. Her cake looked wonderful and perfectly fit our zoo wedding. The cake was the best cake I have ever tasted!

    Sent on 04/18/2014
  • M

    Missy · Married on 03/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love the cake. It was beautiful and tasted great!!! Would recommend her to anyone!!! Everyone at the wedding commented on how great the cake looked and tasted!!!

    Sent on 03/24/2014
  • L

    Laura · Married on 03/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melanie made our daughter's wedding cake for a Lowry Park Zoo wedding this past Saturday. It was absolutely beautiful and the most delicious cake anyone had ever seen or tasted. She was very accommodating with the cake tasting prior to the wedding and helped the couple make their decisions to best fulfill their wishes. She delivered the cake and set it up completely. It was a true showpiece. She is a professional through and through. Melanie will create a special cake for any special event not just weddings. Once you place your order with her you can rest assured it will be done to your desires. Thank You Melanie.

    Sent on 03/26/2014
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 03/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melanie did an absolutely amazing job with my wedding cake. It was both gorgeous and delicious and I have heard nothing but compliments about it. She made my vision a reality and it was even better then what I wanted!

    Sent on 04/01/2014
  • S

    Shanda · Married on 01/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the first conversation Melanie was great to work with. She made both my cakes(Grooms cake and wedding cake) The cakes were perfect and everything we had expected. Melanie was wonderful to us.

    Sent on 02/06/2014
  • K

    Krystan · Married on 01/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I always knew that I wanted a "unique" wedding cake for my special day. The moment I stumbled upon the site of "Ph.D.serts" I knew Mel was the right person for the job! Her work is absolutely brilliant! (Plus, I love her story of how she became the "Cake Doctor" lol ) Right from the beginning, Mel was a joy to work with. My wedding theme was travel. Traveling is a passion that my husband and I share. I had envisioned a travel themed cake, and Mel was able to bring my vision to life! Actually, it was better than I had envisioned. She is a true artist! Also as a surprise for my husband, I wanted Mel to create a "Groom's cake". My husband is a huge Star Wars fan, so of course, what wouldn't be more perfect than a Star Wars cake!! He loved it! My cakes were definitely a huge hit at the wedding. People still talk about them! Thanks again Melanie!! :)

    Sent on 05/04/2014
  • L

    Laura · Married on 11/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved our wedding cake! Melanie was very helpful in brainstorming ideas for a unique zoo themed wedding cake. It looked so beautiful the day of and tasted wonderful as well, all the guests loved it! Thank you so much, could not ask for anything more!

    Sent on 11/24/2013
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 10/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ph.D.-serts & Cakes was wonderful! I did a lot of shopping around before choosing a vendor and I had a fairly clear idea of what I wanted my cake to look like, but was also trying to be very cost conscious. Melanie's prices were more than reasonable, and she gave me the freedom to help design the cake I really wanted instead of settling for something basic only because it was more affordable. The cake turned out beautifully (and delicious)! I could not have asked for a better experience.

    Sent on 10/29/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review