Petals and Twist Reviews

21 | Raleigh, NC
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for Petals and Twist

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

21
Order by:
  • K

    Kacy · Married on 08/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were totally blown away by the flowers Leslie designed for our wedding in Orcas Island early this August. Initially, I didn't know much about flowers and gave her general idea of what I was looking for. Leslie knew exactly how to narrow it down just by asking few questions and showing me few flower photos. On my wedding day, I was literally in tears of joy when I first saw my bouquet. It was absolutely stunning! And, Leslie looked after all the details of the flower arrangements from boutonniere, corsages, hair flowers, cake and dinner table centerpiece. Everything was perfect! They exceeded our expectations and we received endless compliments from our guests.

    We really enjoyed working with Leslie and would highly recommend her business to others. She is a phenomenon artist. Her passion for flowers, knowledge and expertise with decor and taste is simply brilliant. Thank you again! You are a rock star!!!

    Sent on 08/26/2015
  • User5382804 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Petals and Twist did our wedding at Rosario Resort and I was so so so happy at how everything turned out. When we first looked at Rosario as a venue option, I loved everything about it but I was a bit hesitant about the Beach House, which is the venue for the reception. It's in a beautiful location right on the water but the inside is a bit sparse and unimpressive. Petals and Twist listened to everything we were concerned about, talked to us for a long to get a sense of what we wanted and when I walked in, it was more than I could have dreamed of. They made it so beautiful with flowers everywhere, plush, cozy furniture spaces, cute beachy classic looking touches- it looked exactly like I imagined. They did our bouquets and they were the prettiest I've seen. They also did our chuppah (Jewish wedding ceremony tent) as well as the flower petals along the aisle and it was just stunning. I couldn't have picked a better florist. Thank you Leslie and Petals and Twist for making my wedding dreams come true!

    Sent on 08/26/2015
  • M

    Matthew · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leslie and her team were truly incredible and worked with us to turn our general ideas into a fully formed, gorgeously created, exquisitely personalized event. You should definitely hire Leslie. She is flexible as to what services to provide, and matches her style, price and team to what you want. For some events, she was able to just provide us with contacts, small rental items and advice. For our main reception she transformed a relatively vanilla room into a garden of delights and experiences. She is not cookie-cutter--she will stretch her talents to match your vision. She is an amazing, even-keeled and wonderfully warm collaborator. And she was there every step of the way to make sure we realized our dream wedding. I don't know what else to say, Hire Leslie! -- Ashley and Matthew, August 2015

    Sent on 08/30/2015
  • User5231132 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow, what an amazing group!! We couldn't have felt more blessed to have chosen Leslie and the entire Petals and Twist team to do florals and decor for our wedding on Orcas. We can't say enough good things about Petals and Twist, but we will try to give a few examples here. First, Leslie made the entire planning processes incredibly fun and personalized to our "dream" wedding. She always listened to our needs, was prompt and organized, took time to offer thoughtful ideas and opinions, and was always conscious of our budget. Second, Leslie and her team are extremely gifted in knowing what needs to be part of an event to make it special. She has been involved in countless weddings and events, and her extensive experience really shows in all her work. She puts her heart into everything she does and that was very clear in the outcome of our wedding. Finally, and most importantly, she creates BEAUTIFUL, unique, and creative designs. Our wedding bouquets, tent decorations, and floral crowns were more gorgeous than I could have imagined. She created an intricate design within our tent which included greenery garlands on the tables, cafe lights, hanging greenery garlands, as well as florals. Leslie's team has an eye for detail that is unparalleled. Even after receiving our photos back from the wedding, I continue to be impressed with everything Petals and Twist created for us in one day! Any bride would be lucky to have this team working with them. We are very grateful for all they did to make our wedding the happiest (and most beautiful!) day of our lives.

    Sent on 08/30/2015
  • User4383323 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am planning an elopement on the island and Leslie was more than helpful. She is very friendly and even emailed me names of other vendors that could help me with what I needed for planning. I highly recommend her and am happy to have found her!

    Sent on 09/08/2014
  • B

    Bess · Married on 08/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could bottle Leslie up and carry her in my pocket, I would. And if I did, I'm quite certain my life would be more colorful, more stylish, and more all-around fabulous thanks to Leslie's good influence. Leslie has an uncanny ability to know just what you want, even without you saying it out loud. She knows people, she knows flowers, she knows lighting and space and vibe and the importance of having everything look just so. She is it.
    We met with Leslie and her team a year before our wedding. As a non-traditional couple in every way (same sex, two kids, living a thousand miles away from the wedding site), we needed someone we could trust to carry out our vision (which, to be honest, we didn't even have just yet), hold our hands when needed, let us run free when that was called for, and generally help us pull off the event of the year. Leslie exceeded all expectations at every turn, from the confidence she instilled in us at our first meeting, to rolling with every change we made along the way (including springing on her mid-way through the planning that we were expecting our third baby just a few weeks before the big day), to leaving us completely in awe when the wedding weekend came together in the most spectacular way. Leslie coordinated, cajoled, and coached us, the vendors, the guests, and anyone else who would listen throughout the entire wedding process, from our first meeting until the last dance. She is, in a word, genius.
    Leslie listened, she responded, she shared, and she listened some more. With over 150 guests (including 30 kids under the age of 7) descending on a rural island for the weekend, there was ample opportunity for mistakes, missteps, and general mayhem. Leslie pulled off every event masterfully, from coordinating decor to providing the most stunning flowers to handling every last detail, even ones we had never discussed nor considered. People may still be talking about our wedding, but we are still talking about Leslie.

    Sent on 10/08/2014
  • User4332614 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You should hire Petals and Twist!! Leslie Ginnes and her team will provide you with the wedding of your dreams. Enormously talented designers who are fabulous to work with -- creative, collaborative, unflappable, and great listeners.They go all out for every event, thinking of every beautiful detail. Leslie is a total whiz at listening to what you like, then creating stunning personalized environments that reflect the bride and groom. They know everyone on Orcas and other San Juan Islands, and supported us through every aspect of what turned out to be a 4-day wedding bash. The rehearsal dinner set up, the morning after brunch were some of the most beautiful events I have been to (and this was a second wedding so I have been to many parties over the years). The wedding set up itself -- the outdoor ceremony, the dining room and tables, the dance party set up were so gorgeous I was blissing out just being there! HIghest recommendation possible.

    Sent on 10/07/2014
  • L

    Liz · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris and I live in Seattle and got married on Orcas Island in early June. We could not have executed this event without Patina; the team does absolutely phenomenal work! Leslie and Sarah are the artistic decor/floral side, while Kimaya and her assistant, Zanetha, are the logistical masters. Leslie and Sarah created stunning flower arrangements and were with me through the whole conceptual and design process. I made and brought some my own decor, and they had some essential pieces I could rent -- so nice to minimize the amount of stuff to bring to the island! All right, I brought A LOT of my own decor, and Leslie and Sarah integrated everything into the event better than I could have imagined. Kimaya and Zanetha made the rehearsal dinner and entire wedding day run flawlessly; and bonus, they even stopped traffic for our wedding to walk from the ceremony venue to the reception -- who does that?! Awesome. Kimaya and Leslie were instrumental in helping me contact on island vendors; sometimes it's hard to get islanders to respond to us off island folk, and Patina opened the lines of communication instantly. Not only are these ladies exception at their jobs, but they are also a joy to work with. They are clearly excited and engaged throughout the planning process, and went the extra mile multiple times to make my vision happen. I have no regrets about my wedding day -- everything went as perfectly as possible (no, really, I'm not being glib -- I have high standards) and the ladies at Patina were a fundamental part of this! I highly recommend their services!

    Sent on 06/25/2014
  • L

    Liz · Married on 11/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After hearing nothing but great things about Patina from locals and other wedding vendors, we booked Patina for our wedding flowers. Leslie was FANTASTIC to work with. I don't know a lot about flowers and just had a vague idea of a loose, white and red color scheme that I wanted, and that I loved peonies. Well it turns out that peonies weren't even in season for our wedding, but Leslie went out of her way and somehow managed to find my favorite flower to feature in the bouquet!

    Patina was prompt, easy to talk to, and completely professional at every turn. Leslie did a great job of talking me through the process of envisioning what our flowers might look like by sending photos along with the descriptions. On the wedding day the space began looking nice, but by the time the flowers were delivered and the tables were filled with flowers, everything looked truly stunning and even more beautiful than I had imagined!

    Thank you to Leslie & the team at Patina for doing such a wonderful job. And if you're researching your wedding flowers or planning on Orcas, definitely book them now!

    Sent on 08/20/2014
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not be more thrilled with Patina! I had a small get-away wedding on Orcas Island - I live in Seattle and had to plan everything from a distance. Leslie and her team were incredibly responsive to my needs and created exactly what I never knew I wanted. Everyone who came to the wedding LOVED my flowers. Patina offered a great value as well - I gave them my budget, and they did everything to stay within it.

    Sent on 12/21/2013
  • User3463373 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a wedding invitation for a wedding party that I was giving on Orcas Island. The invitation was cute with a very fancy high heel shoe on it. When I showed them the invitation and asked for some fun floral help they searched and found high heel shoes out of wire for the flowers. It was knock out. Wonderful fun to work with and did everything they promised and more.
    Ellison

    Sent on 08/13/2013
  • P

    Pepper · Married on 07/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Orcas is really a community and having people who know that community available to help connect you to the right vendors is extremely important. Additionally, because it was on our property, everything was brought in from off property. Thinking of *everything* you're going to need is near impossible-- so having Kimaya coordinating everything was indispensable. I had a vision that I wanted for the wedding, and Kimaya understood that vision and was there both when we were on island and off to make sure all the pieces came together. She even recommended our officiant-- who was perfect for us and the ceremony we hadn't even imagined yet. Long story short, you really need someone at the location to help with planning...and if that location is a private property-- even more so!

    My husband and I can't say enough praise for Kimaya. She brought up so many small and big things we never would have thought of -- and was there with answers to questions we hadn't asked yet. She's also efficient in the best way. She's really gets it done! Lastly, she also has an incredible network of friends who also happen to be artists, musicians etc. She connected us with (to name a few) our officiant, our electric violin player, our babysitter/face-painter, and a wonderful artist to make a map of our property.

    Finally-- they were very cognizant of our budget.

    Sent on 11/18/2013
  • M

    Debora · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leslie Glines, the owner of Patina Floral, Design and Planning was wonderful. As the mother of the groom, we heard nothing but rave reviews both from our son and from our future daughter in law. Once we met her, we understood why they enjoyed working with her. She was helpful in every way, professional yet knowing how to make all of us feel like we knew what we were doing! She and her business partner are the best. I wish we had another wedding so that we could use her again.

    Sent on 11/07/2011
  • Laura

    Laura · Married on 08/06/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where to begin with Leslie Ginnes and her husband (John) and assistant (Patty) - they were so incredible from start to finish. Leslie really got to know us and as a result provided us with absolute perfection. I have a lifelong friend in her. I don't know if I could have gotten through the details without her. She reminded me to give things to her and take them off my plate - she reminded me to relax and enjoy the day and time leading up to it. She is a doll and I wouldn't have done this without her - I suggest you don't, either. Thank you so much!!

    Sent on 08/10/2011
  • T

    Laura · Married on 06/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leslie and her team were amazing! I can't imagine having a wedding on Orcas Island with out her help. She truly made it a one of a kind event and our guests are still talking about it. She listened to what we wanted, had creative ideas, and worked within our budget. Most importantly, she reduced my stress level ten-fold. thank you leslie!

    Sent on 11/29/2011
  • L

    Laura · Married on 05/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leslie was wonderful to work with and she did a wonderful job on our wedding flowers.

    Sent on 06/28/2011
  • M

    Malia · Married on 08/21/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Patina Floral provided a very professional yet fun service to our wedding. The design sense is fantastic and wonderfully creative. They were a pleasure to work with!

    Sent on 12/21/2010
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 08/03/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Patina Design went over and above the call of duty for our wedding! We planned our special day from long distance, which can be tedious. Leslie stayed in close contact with us months before the wedding through e-mails and phone calls. We felt like we were friends before we even arrived! We were met with warmth and professionalism and felt that our wedding was perfect! We can't imagine a better setting or person to work with!

    Sent on 12/08/2010
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 08/20/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't know a dahlia from a daisy, but I knew in my mind what I wanted the flowers to look like at my wedding. Through pictures, many conversations and I'm sure a lot of patience on her part, Leslie completely captured my vision and brought it to life. She transformed a basic white tent, into a soft, warm, inviting space full of greenery, blooms and Orcas driftwood. It really is spectacular to see your vision become a reality! Thanks for making our day beautiful Leslie!

    Sent on 09/09/2016
  • A

    Abby · Married on 07/16/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Leslie on flowers, design, and day-of coordination for our Orcas wedding in July 2016. Leslie excelled in all three areas. We were looking for a elegant yet relaxed feel for our wedding, and Leslie captured our vision precisely. We were overjoyed with the beauty she brought to the day -- from the bountiful bouquets for bridesmaids to the eloquent centerpieces at our reception tables to her creativity in making a reception hall a space where we wanted to dance the night away. Leslie’s attention to detail and thoughtfulness toward both planning and execution were spot on.

    For day-of coordination, I am grateful I didn’t have a thing to worry about on our wedding day. I knew I was in the best of hands with Leslie leading the way. Her behind-the-scenes day-of coordination was incredibly valuable. Additionally, Leslie has very good relationships with vendors, which made planning our wedding from off island much smoother.

    We would highly recommend Leslie for your Orcas island event planning needs.

    Sent on 10/05/2016
  • User3891667 · 2+ years ago

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    The team at Patina make some wonderful arrangements. That being said, they were pretty disrespectful of the budget we had laid out clearly from the beginning. When we received a first quote that was three times what we wanted to spend, we asked to cut many things out. From that point on, the main designer was much less friendly, and passive aggressive. They also provided us with less boutonnieres than we had ordered. They can do beautiful work, but be careful if you don't have a large budget.

    Sent on 10/27/2014

    Petals and Twist's reply:

    We do care deeply about the work we do and how our clients feel about their experience working with us. We are saddened that a client has found our services wanting. We regret the opportunity to make things right for them has passed.