Penny Dinn Photography Reviews

91 | Hanalei, HI
See photos, pricing and details

91 Reviews for Penny Dinn Photography

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

91

31 User photos

Sort by:
  • H

    Holly A. · Married on 12/08/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible Photos. Incredible Experience.

    While I don't think I can fully convey in words what the beautiful moments captured by Penny meant to our family, I will do my best to give proper kudos to Penny's talent as a gifted Photographer and describe how much we appreciated her and enjoyed working with her.

    We hired Penny to capture our parents' surprise 25th wedding anniversary celebration at the Kauai Marriott this summer. I found her on the internet after doing extensive search for Photographers on Kauai. I emailed my sister Penny's website link and she agreed that "Penny was the one". We loved Penny's gorgeous photography style and the variety of candid, artistic images. Penny was lovely to work with - so kind, sweet, and accommodating.

    The images we received from Penny after our celebration were amazing. I was hoping to capture the actual surprise part of our surprise celebration and and I don't think Penny could have delivered anything more exceptional. The expressions, the emotion, and the joy depicted in Penny's images was incredible. My parents are very vibrant and unique individuals and Penny captured their essences perfectly. My parents LOVED going through the photos of their celebration and said it was like experiencing the evening all over again. Mom was almost in tears because she felt like she looked beautiful in the pictures, which is rare for her. What a gift.

    Penny is a master of her craft and a true artist. I wish I could have her capture all of our special family celebrations. We will cherish pictures from our parents' 25th anniversary celebration indefinitely.

    Sent on 10/28/2019
  • Heather

    Heather Y. · Married on 02/20/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    More than I'd hoped for!

    I was immediately drawn to Penny's style when I discovered her website. Our experience with her was wonderful and the pictures are stunning. Truly... All I'd hoped they would be and more! Even through bouts of rain, she was able to capture beautiful moments. She is a true professional who has a genuine concern and connection with clients. I could not recommend her more!

    Sent on 03/03/2020
  • T

    Tracy P. · Married on 10/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything we wanted

    A friend referred us to Penny, and she was thankfully available on super short notice. My husband and I eloped and Penny was able to capture all the moments we cherished during the ceremony. We then went off and found beautiful atmospheres for some more photos that felt like us. Penny spent the time to get to know us, and looking at the photos, it’s clear she understood what we were looking for — warm, natural and all the aloha vibes.

    Sent on 11/19/2019
  • E

    E. Caris · Married on 09/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Penny is professional, easy to work with

    Penny did our engagement photoshoot. We were very happy with the outcome, so we hired her to do our wedding too. She is professional and creative, highly recommended!

    Sent on 06/01/2020
  • G

    Grace · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You will LOVE Penny!

    Penny is an absolute gem! We feel incredibly lucky to have had her as our photographer on our wedding day. From the moment she met our family and friends, she made all of us so comfortable and at ease. Penny is not only a professional but she's incredibly down to earth, personal and so sweet. Our friends and family couldn't stop talking about how much they loved her. We absolutely loved the photos she provided. She captured every moment, intimate and candid. My husband and I also chose to have sunset photos taken on the beach while our guests and we were initially worried and thought it would be awkward but Penny presence made us forget about everything and we were able to be ourselves. Hiring Penny as our photographer was the best decision we made. We were so happy with all of our photos - quality, quantity & service were top notch. She went above and beyond to check in on us after our wedding, including providing constant updates and timelines, ensuring we were doing well back at home. We had the honor of having her for 6 hours and when she came to say goodbye to me afterwards, I was honestly so sad to see her leave. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 09/04/2019
  • S

    Sara · Married on 06/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A dream photographer for a dream wedding!

    If you're getting married in Kauai, you must have Penny take your wedding photos!!! We had such a great experience with Penny as our photographer. We had so much fun with her and could not be happier with our photos. Penny is extremely talented, super sweet, and such a pleasure to be around. So grateful to her for capturing our memories. Our wedding day was the most special day of our life to date, and we were so lucky to have Penny around to capture all our precious moments. Highly highly recommend!

    Sent on 09/06/2019
  • M

    Mindy · Married on 06/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    True storyteller

    Penny is a true storyteller through her work and such a joy to work with. From the beginning, she was a consummate professional and a wonderful person. Her beautiful photos captured the procession of emotions through our wedding day, not only the big moments, but all the ones in-between.

    Wedding location: Princeville Resort, Kauai
    Wedding date: September 2019

    Planning process: From our initial inquiry, Penny was responsive, and I was never worried about getting in touch with her. She checked in throughout the planning process. Her experience and in-depth knowledge of the process and venue are apparent. She provided great, detailed, anticipatory guidance and helped us create a wedding day timeline that translated so well to our big day.

    Day of: Penny brought such a wonderful energy to the day; we felt like she was part of our wedding party. So many of our family and friends commented on what an amazing, cool person she is, and we are in complete agreement. She worked so hard and managed to make it look incredibly seamless.

    Post-wedding: She sent us a beautiful assortment of sneak peek photos shortly after our wedding day and then an on-time delivery of the full set.

    Great reviews led us to work with Penny, for which we are so thankful. We highly recommend working with Penny, without any reservations!

    Bottom line: beautiful person, beautiful photos.

    Sent on 11/07/2019
  • G

    Gabrielle · Married on 06/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lovely photographer!

    Penny was such a lovely photographer to work with! She shot our wedding ceremony at the Hanalei Bay Resort and did an incredible job capturing both the beauty of the setting, but most importantly the feeling of our special day in our photos. She was very prompt with her responses and had great communication with us, especially when we had to make some last minute arrangements. Overall, she is a truly kind person and talented photographer!

    Sent on 06/16/2019
  • Elizabeth

    Elizabeth O. · Married on 05/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic!

    Penny was the photographer for my wedding and I can truly say she is not just a wonderful photographer but a wonderful human being. She's a person that really loves what she does and it shows. I really appreciated how she was very responsive to my emails to discuss the details and always gave the correspondence a personal touch. In that way she was able to invoke a feeling of relaxation for my husband and I when it was time to take our photos because it felt like we were working with a friend who knows us. The type of photography she does is right up my alley - all the photos were sweet, sentimental, and natural. She was also great at finding the right candid moments. She has her own ideas for cool shots and is also willing to take direction when requested. And when it came time for her to send us a sneak peek (a little over a week from the wedding) I was shocked at how many photos she edited and sent. I was so pleased to receive 4 times what I expected! I wanted to use these photos for a wedding announcement so I was really pleased at how quickly I received them and appreciated the variety of different photos she sent. Penny is a true professional!

    Sent on 08/23/2019
  • Vo And

    Vo And L. · Married on 02/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We felt the Aloha with Penny!

    Penny is a wonderfully charming, darling person with one of the best set of photographer’s eyes we’ve ever met! Her style isn’t cliché, and we noticed that she captured moments and details that were absent from other portfolios. She worked well with our other contractors who also give her high commendations! We reached out to her based on her outstanding portfolio and reputation. . . but then upon our first dialogue with Penny, we immediately became enamored with her! She’s a delightful professional with a warm and easily approachable presence. We actually looked forward to every interaction with Penny not necessarily because of the job, but because she was such a delight to be around! At our wedding, she blended in with our guests, never sticking out and never getting in the way. Her smiles were contagious which meant she got lovely smiles from everyone she photographed. She produced some amazing shots that I don’t think any other photographer would have ever caught! Without a doubt, we’ll be recommending Penny to anyone who deserves as warm, friendly, and extremely talented photographer.

    Sent on 07/13/2019
  • V

    Vanessa · Married on 01/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a rock-star!

    Penny was the best! Our wedding photos are beyond amazing. We could not be happier.

    Sent on 01/18/2019
  • Sanchita

    Sanchita C. · Married on 01/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful person, beautiful work

    Penny is now a part of my life because she was such a pleasure to work with from day one and is a great friend. She kept in contact with me up until the wedding. I always looked forward to hearing from her because she was as excited as I was for my big day! Her work is incredible, I'm so impressed with every photograph and how beautifully she captured our big day. She is willing to travel and is very flexible, even was down to wearing a cute Indian outfit to blend in with my guests. Her energy kept me sane the whole night, and I'm very glad she's in my life now! My husband is SUPER awkward about taking photographs. No one has ever made him feel comfortable as Penny did. Would recommend to anyone, anywhere, trying to get the best moments captured. She listens to you about what your vision is but her expertise brings a completely different perspective and the faces of your guests, yourself, your partner, your family.... being captured in those sweetest most perfect moments. AHH! She's so good at that. Thank you, Penny! You made me feel like I was a beautiful bride!

    Sent on 05/18/2019
  • S

    Steve A. · Married on 10/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Extremely pleased

    Penny perfectly captured the beauty of our sunset beach wedding in Kauai. She was professional and courteous and fun. She helped give us the stress free and perfect wedding day we wanted for our elopement ceremony by allowing us to be ourselves. We are thrilled with the pictures that take us back to all the moments of that day we love. Also our pictures were back to us in a very timely manner. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 01/28/2019
  • A

    Alison · Married on 09/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing photographer

    Penny's photography of our engagement and wedding was outstanding! I feel self-conscious and shy when having my photo taken, which often results in me making a silly face. But from the first time I chatted with Penny on the phone, she felt like an old friend. We didn't meet her in person until 2 days before our wedding, when we took engagement photos in Hanalei. We both immediately felt at ease with her, so comfortable even that she helped me change out of my dress and into another outfit! Our wedding was an intimate group of 20 at St Regis and Penny blended in with our little group seamlessly. We got several compliments from our guests that they really enjoyed her presence. She knows how to give you space to enjoy the sweet little moments with loved ones on your special day but at the same time captures those moments on camera effortlessly and naturally. My husband is also a photographer and he was thoroughly impressed with Penny's work when we received our photos! She is careful about positioning and lighting and her photo edits are very natural, not overly edited. You will love Penny as a person and as a photographer--we highly recommend her!

    Sent on 01/28/2019
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 07/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a beautiful photographer who captures beautiful photos!


    Penny was lovely to work with! She was so kind, you felt like you knew her forever. She was quick to reply to any questions we had and the whole process was so easy. My husband and I are not into taking photos of ourselves so I curious on how awkward we’d look! However, Penny has the amazing skill of capturing the beauty of the island and the pure joy we felt. Even the posed shots look so natural and easy, people said our photos should be in magazines! I am so glad we found her and so thankful that she was able to capture our special day in such a beautiful way.

    Sent on 01/16/2019
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband & I were married in Poipu last May and hired Penny as our photographer. Within minutes of meeting her, we already felt like she had been one of our close friends for years. I imagine she has that affect on most people, since she instantly makes you feel at ease. This characteristic of hers really came through in the photos, none of which looked staged or unnatural. Instead, she captured the most beautiful moments in such an effortless manner and made all our guests feel so comfortable while doing so. We couldn’t be happier with our photos and their quality- she encapsulated the soft lighting, the bright colors, and the beautiful scenery so perfectly. By the time Penny had to leave for the evening, we were so bummed and honestly wanted her to stay for the rest of the night because of how much we loved her! Thank you for our incredible photos Penny- we know they’ll provide us with incredible memories for the rest of our lives!

    Sent on 09/17/2018
  • C

    Chloe · Married on 05/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oh man, where do I even begin with Penny. She is just so sweet and easy to work with. My husband and I were contacting her from Oahu, and her correspondence just made us feel so prepared about the wedding day. I could go on and on about how wonderful of a person she is, and she helps make even the most awkward couple like us pose so naturally.
    Penny has different packages and will work with you to find what's most suited for your wedding. Since my husband and I had a small wedding, we opted for the 5 hour package, but it went by so fast! She also helped us come up with a timeline since we had no coordinator and was clueless on how a wedding should be run. Oh, she's also very fast at getting back to emails and was super patient with us. She captured moments of us from getting ready to settling down for the dinner. In addition, she was very familiar with our venue (Plantation Garden), so she knew exactly where would be best to stand etc. She is definitely a professional and knew how to bring the most beautiful side of everything. It just goes to show how wonderful she is, not only as a photographer but as a person. If you are looking for a photographer on the island of Kauai, I full heartedly recommend Penny Dinn :)

    Sent on 06/02/2018
  • Kristen

    Kristen P. · Married on 05/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Super Sweet and Talented!

    Penny Dinn was excellent!!!! She took some shots I would have never even thought of that turned out to portray our wedding perfectly. She was so sweet and understanding and seemed to know exactly what to do at all times! Highly recommend!!!

    Sent on 03/28/2019
  • E

    Elise · Married on 02/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were so happy that Penny was available to photograph our wedding. He and I had independently ranked the photographers whose work we liked, and she was easily the #1 choice for both of us. We were understandably nervous on the day and anxious being 'romantic' around a new person, but she very quickly put both of us at ease. It felt so natural to be ourselves and celebrate the day with her there. We are so pleased with the experience, her demeanor, and the amazing photos she took of us. You can't beat Penny for amazing photos and a warm and peaceful presence.

    Sent on 03/15/2018
  • T

    Tiana · Married on 10/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Penny is your perfect wedding photographer!

    Penny was so much more than just a wedding photographer. Not only did she take exquisite photos of our special day, but she was also the perfect calming, gentle and bright spirit that I needed by my side - and that you will probably need too!

    Everything seemed like a whirlwind before the actual ceremony - youʻve been planning for months and then everything starts to happen so quickly! As my bridesmaids and I got ready for the ceremony, I was so deeply in my own head (DIY wedding + WHAT Iʻm getting married??!!!??!) that I wasnʻt present in the moment - until Penny showed up! Pennyʻs cheerful self brought me back to reality and then I finally started to have fun and get in the pre-wedding groove! She made me look and feel beautiful as I was getting my makeup and dress on. She showed up right on time and got all of the pictures I wanted without rushing. I loved all the pre-wedding shots with my bridesmaids and grandma, and am so grateful that she perfectly captured these!

    During the ceremony, she was so respectful of our space and the view of our guests. I honestly didnʻt even realize she was there, but she captured each moment perfectly! After the ceremony, she was great at organizing our huge family photos. My favorite part was the photo session after the ceremony with my new husband. Penny made it so easy and comfortable for us to just be ourselves and enjoy that precious time together. My husband really didnʻt want to take much time at all with our individual photos and she got them done thoroughly - and without feeling rushed! Honestly, after the wedding preparation and ceremony I was soooo happy to take some time for our 1:1 photos and it was so nice to be with such a calming soul. She really did make me feel so beautiful (even though I was running on steam) and made these moments together feel very romantic!

    I would definitely recommend Penny for all of your photography needs! I absolutely loved all of our photos and she uploaded them to the gallery very quickly! You want good vibes around you when you are capturing these special moments and she definitely brings this to the table - meaning - sheʻs irreplaceable!

    Sent on 05/21/2020
  • N

    Nikki · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible Talented, Sweet, and Fun photographer

    I first met Penny when I was sixteen years old on the island of Kauai. She used me as a “model” for a school project while she was still a photography student. I remember her being so warm and friendly, yet perfectly professional. She took beautiful photos that day and continued to do even more incredible work over the years. Fast forward thirteen years, I knew this amazing and talented photographer was the perfect choice for capturing my wedding day. Reuniting and working with Penny for my wedding was even more wonderful then I imagined and remembered. She listened to what I envisioned, while using her talent and creativity to capture the perfect images. She made everyone at the wedding feel comfortable. She was even able to make some of the more structured parts of wedding pictures relaxed and fun. Choosing Penny was honestly one of the best decisions I made. The photos were everything I could have wanted and more. She was able to capture the night in the most perfect way. I would choose her again and again to take photos for any major event in my life.


    Sent on 12/20/2019
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Penny was extremely warm and professional, she made everyone feel at ease and it was almost like having an old friend shoot your wedding. The photos of our wedding and reception turned out better than we could have ever imagined! Penny truly captured the love and joyful memories from that day which we will treasure forever.

    Sent on 09/05/2017
  • Nathan

    Nathan T. · Married on 07/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Celebrates Love and Captures it

    Penny is impassioned with celebrating love and capturing it through her work. We can't say enough regarding our appreciation for her and photos we'll cherish.

    Sent on 12/09/2019
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 07/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were happy to have Penny as part of our wedding in Kauai. She was so easy to work with and she did a beautiful job as our wedding photographer. She and I went through the list of must have photos and timetable planning together. All the photos were first-rate but it was the candid photos that captured some joyful moments. I love how she was able to capture the true spirit of the wedding. For this and many more we thank her!

    Sent on 09/02/2017
  • R

    Ritika · Married on 06/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We truly had the most amazing experience having Penny as our wedding photographer. I had to pat myself on the back for choosing wisely from the short list that the St. Regis gave us ! Honestly , Penny has become a part of the family. She came and did a family shoot for us before the wedding so we could all get to know one another. The pics were fantastic !!! We were so happy with all of them ( and let's be honest - that rarely happens !!!) ! Since she had spent time with the family before hand , the wedding was super easy and comfortable. The pictures came out fabulous and she really captured some beautiful moments at our Indian wedding which consisted of so many little parts. So thankful for Penny - she is a wonderful photographer and now one of our dear friends !

    Sent on 09/04/2017