Skip to main content
Weddings

Paula Varsalona Reviews

Paula Varsalona View more information

14 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 14
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

5 User photos

  • Amanda
    Amanda L. Married on 05/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Custom During Covid!

    With so many businesses risking closure I was hesitant to buy a custom made dress at all! I searched online, on foot, and in person...none compared to the service and treatment I received at Paula Varsalona NYC! I was excited to learn this designer was truly unique as she teaches as the Fashion Institute of Technology AND 100% American Made, (everything is handmade in her studio), WOW! The Designer herself, Paula, agreed to meet with me via ZOOM, a service she offered on her website, which by the way was awesome - tons of photos of dresses to look at including her custom design work, check out her CUSTOM TRADITIONS COLLECTION (it really feels like no two gowns are alike, and I LOVED that!) We discussed the process of having a dress custom made to my specifications , we even discussed incorporating elements of my grandmothers dress into my gown, this wasn't a problem at all for Paula, in fact she loved the idea! I came in for an in person consultation, we designed the perfect look for me! The staff was kind and accommodating, they sketched a preliminary design and I am not gonna lie, its not cheap, but the craftmanship is like NOTHING I have ever experienced, its well worth the splurge. Paula made sure my dress was perfect and that I was happy. I even brought my Mother and Aunt and they both decided to have gowns made for my wedding here too! They were also happy, especially that they actually felt beautiful in their gowns and since they were so well made they lasted the entire day, nothing shifted or slipped down when we danced. In the end I would highly recommend Paula Varsalona NYC if you want something no one else has and trust me they will make you look amazing! Thank you to Paula, Susan, Gena & Staff for as you said, The Varsalona Experience! It was absolutely a positive experience and I encourage others to consider NYC's hidden gem in Bridal and Special Occasion!
  • Catherine
    Catherine P. Married on 01/02/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Designer

    Paula is a master at her craft. From the minute I met Paula she knew exactly what I wanted and how the gown should fall on my body-from design to color. Every fitting was a mastery of art. The details, the work the Paula put into making the dress is beyond words. I was the mother of the groom but I felt like the queen of the ball. Thank you Paula and a big shout out to Susan!!!

    Paula Varsalona's reply:

    A 5 star review from a 5 star client!! Thank you Catherine and Louis for your kind words and friendship! Your smiles speak for themselves. We enjoyed designing your one of a kind dress for such an important day. Congratulations on your growing family and best wishes for a happy future together! #VarsalonaExperience
  • Susan
    Susan S. Married on 09/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A Piece of Wearable Art!

    Paula and her team of extraordinary professionals created a magnificent piece of art for me to wear to my son's wedding. They applied their creativity and incredible skill to my vision and suffice it to say they exceeded my expectations in every way! Strangers stopped to admire the dress, (not me, LOL) with more than one exclaiming that it was one of the most beautiful dresses they had even seen! I recommend Paula, Susan, Gena and the rest of the amazing Varsalona team wholeheartedly, and without reservation.

    Susan S

    Paula Varsalona's reply:

    Mrs. Sangillo,
    Thank you for your kind words! Not only was it an honor to design this truly unique gown for your son’s wedding, but it was truly a pleasure getting to know YOU! We are so overjoyed that you embraced the #VarsalonaExperience and look forward to many opportunities for our team to work with you again!! Wishing you and your newly expanded family much love and happiness always!
    Auguri!
    Paula & Staff
  • B
    Barbara B. Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Paula Varsalona

    The mother of the groom dress I purchased from Paula was a stunner!! Absolutely perfect.

    Paula Varsalona's reply:

    Just wanted to reach out with thanks and gratitude for your kindness and wish you and yours a Happy Healthy New Year!

    Paula & Staff
  • M
    Melissa C. Married on 09/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding gown

    Paula is amazing and creative I’ve had an amazing experience with her ! She has created a beautiful wedding gown for me I loved everything about it .

    Paula Varsalona's reply:

    Just wanted to reach out with thanks and gratitude for your kindness and wish you and yours a Happy Healthy New Year!

    Paula & Staff
  • J
    Jessica Married on 06/24/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Why sweat and fight your way through racks of clothing and unpleasant dressing rooms with something you love not being ‘quite right’ in the fit when you can go to Paula’s salon and be taken care of in a personal setting, modify fabrics, lengths and conjure up the unique version of YOU... a fabulous experience. I felt like a Godess and the ladies at Paula Varsalona made sure I was treated like one.

    Paula Varsalona's reply:

    Just wanted to reach out with thanks and gratitude for your kindness and wish you and yours a Happy Healthy New Year!
    we would love to see some photos of you in your gown!
    email us at: askpaula@paulavarsalona.com

    Paula & Staff
  • A
    Annemarie Married on 03/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am so pleased that I had Paul Varsalona and her team create the gown I wore for my son's wedding. She truly knows how to create for your figure, and has impeccable styling and workmanship. I not only recommend her, I will absolutely use her again. Her entire team is professional, approachable and truly caring. What a marvelous find!

    Paula Varsalona's reply:

    Just wanted to reach out with thanks and gratitude for your kindness and wish you and yours a Happy Healthy New Year!

    Paula & Staff
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 11/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I could never thank Paula and her staff enough.. they made my DREAM dress everything I ever hoped it would be..
  • A
    Andrea Married on 06/27/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I stumbled into Paula Varsalona's shop on a whim, and fell immediately in love with her dresses. I was on a budget, so couldn't afford for the store to make me a new dress (which is their primary business model), but they let me look around at the sample dresses on the rack. I fell in love with one particular dress, but it was a bit more than I wanted to spend. The woman helping me--who is actually a seamstress there--asked what I was hoping to spend, and said, "We can do that!" (they were moving inventory to prepare for the new season). I also needed part of the dress tailored, and she was happy to help me. They were even able to ship the dress to my home in Washington. I LOVE my wedding dress, and am so glad I found them!
  • E
    Emily Married on 10/25/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I originally purchased my dress from a small boutique in Westchester, NY, which unexpectedly closed two months into my wedding planning. The designer of my dress, Paula Varsalona, immediately invited me to her studio in NYC to continue my fittings. Paula was present at the first fitting and took the time to speak with me about my wedding and my expectations for the dress. Susan from her team was also helpful throughout the process. She was responsive and supportive. When I picked up my dress, I was blown away by how perfectly the dress fit! Thanks to Paula and Susan, I wore my dream dress at my wedding this past weekend. The tailoring was incredible and I received so many compliments from my guests. I feel blessed to have worked directly with the designer and recommend Paula to all brides!
  • User1030433 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Most beautiful wedding gown ever! SO great to work with Paula and her team. Professional, A+ service!!
  • N
    Nicole Married on 10/18/2014
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Paula's team were great! They worked their magic and made the wedding dress fit like a glove. The dress was amazing. I felt perfect on my wedding day thanks to their alterations.
  • U
    Sarah Married on 06/30/2007
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They were very snobby when we first arrived, but we liked that, it added to the appeal. When it became clear that we were serious customers, the designer came out, once again, she was not friendly, but I still felt important. The dress was amazing, expensive, but amazing, and we also bought my headpiece from the vendor. The service was extremely good, they even advised me how I could get my dress across the Atlantic (as hand-luggage on the plane in a garment bag), and they packed it up with a cardboard body inside so it would not crease. The dress was ready well in advance of when I needed it.
  • V
    Valerie Married on 03/21/2015
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    I found a stunning gown at Varsalona Bridal during a sample sale. Her dresses are absolutely gorgeous. It was a choice between 'beautiful' and 'more beautiful'. I was somewhat put off by the cost of the alterations, as it seemed that there were extra charges for things that I thought were included. Also, I came for one of my fittings and another client - a mother of the bride - was still there from an earlier appointment. Although she vacated the fitting room, she continued to command the attention of Paula and her staff. I did not appreciate this encroachment on my appointment and the attention that I needed to get my gown fitted properly. It worked out in the end, thankfully.