Weddings

Paul J. Ciener Botanical Garden Reviews

Paul J. Ciener Botanical Garden

Paul J. Ciener Botanical Garden

Kernersville, NC
Rating 4.6 out of 5, 18 Reviews
View more information

18 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 92% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.5 out of 5

Awards

  • 18

5 User photos

Sort by:
  • Charity
    Charity Married on 06/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful!!

    Love this place so much! It holds a lot of meaning to me and it was very special to have been able to hold my wedding here!
  • J
    Julia Married on 06/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our experience with the gardens was absolutely amazing! (June 29, 2018) The space is breathtaking and Lynn was organized, responsive, super sweet, and very helpful on the day of!
    I have so many good things to say but I think the best way to convey how wonderful this venue is, is to share my experience with you. When I first visited, I was in AWE of how gorgeous this place is. Then after speaking with Lynn who couldn't be sweeter and more caring about our wedding and also realizing how reasonable the price is compared to other venues in the area even though this place was so beautiful and perfect, we pretty much immediately knew this was it. There is so much charm to this venue. It's hard to take it all in unless you're there and given a chance to walk around, so go visit! Once you book, the communication line is open and they are there to answer any questions in a timely manner.
    Our wedding was a fairytale – and that’s the word most of our guests chose when they raved about the wedding. It was just the most beautiful day! I’m not sure if people say this to all brides, but I cannot even tell you how many people have told me that our wedding was the most beautiful wedding they’ve ever been to. Thank you to everybody at Paul J Ciener Botanical Gardens!
  • S
    Sandi Married on 09/04/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you would like an amazing event choose this location! Such good help, service, and event space was perfect. Outdoor, and indoor facilities were perfect for our wedding. They were helpful, and made things work without a problem. Anna Marie helped us tremendously by answering our questions and giving us advice. Thank you for all you do!
  • A
    Aksana Married on 09/14/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This turned out to be a perfect wedding venue! I first visited the Garden in January and loved it despite nothing blooming and no leaves. I said if I love it in January I will absolutely love it in September for my wedding. It is a hidden gem in the heart of Kernersville! The tropical garden and terrace are such gorgeous spaces to hold events and the ballroom is really accommodating as well. They have a lot of equipment available and spacious bridal suite and a place for groom and groomsmen to get ready. Kristen was a pleasure to work with making sure that all the vendors were on the same page.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 05/24/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Paul Ciener Botanical Garden was the PERFECT location for my wedding reception! The gardens are so well maintained and the ballroom opens up to a gorgeous patio terrace that creates the perfect space for any occasion. Kristen did a great job helping coordinate all the vendors and ensuring everything went as planned on the big day. Highly recommended!
  • R
    Rebecca Married on 04/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It was a beautiful venue and the people were great to work with!
  • User1471585 Event on: 12/06/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This place is very beautiful, with lovely holiday decor and a huge real 13 foot decorated tree in the entry. They were very accommodating and had staff on site the entire event. They have great overhead projection capability.
  • R
    Rolfe Married on 10/26/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The entire staff at the Botanical Gardens were so helpful and excited to share their wonderful facility with us. We never felt like just another event or wedding party, because they treated us like family. The gardens were beautiful and provided so many interesting photo spots for the photographer. We viewed the venue in early summer and had an October wedding, and the gardens were impressive at both times. We loved the flexibility we had with the patio for the ceremony and the cocktail hour and then the ballroom indoors for dinner and dancing. The gardens, patio and ballroom are all lovely and well kept. This was the most reasonably priced venue we visited, and they provided tables & chairs in their price! Lovely venue but can't say enough about all the staff especially the event coordinator, Angie, who was just full of helpful ideas, energy and fun! Thank you all for a wonderful day!
  • B
    Brittany Married on 09/14/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The team at Paul J Ciener Botanical Gardens made our wedding more perfect than we could have imagined. We fell in love with the venue upon visiting the first time, and the day of our wedding was no different. Toni, Angie, and the rest of the team at the gardens was extremely helpful and made us feel welcome the entire process. Angie was unbelievable on our wedding day and truly went above and beyond what I expected. You can tell she truly loves what she does.

    We looked at many venues in the Piedmont-Triad area, and for the value, this far exceeded all of the others. Highly recommend!
  • K
    Kasey Married on 06/22/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I really love this venue. The pricing is very reasonable and the amenities you get are great. I spoke to two people, Angie and Toni. They are wonderful to work with and have a very laid back attitude. This is a hidden treasure. Angie helps the day of your wedding and goes above and beyond her typical responsibilities. She helped me with a minor hang up with Hauser Rentals and got the issue resolved. I would definitely recommend this place to brides trying to find the perfect location.

    This venue had a ton of photo opportunities.
  • B
    Beverly Married on 09/27/2014
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    After visiting a number of wedding venues in the Triad, we selected the Paul J. Ciener Botanical Garden because of the facility amenities and the staff! We wanted an outdoor wedding with an excellent rain plan, just in case, and the Garden provided that. Our wedding ceremony was held in the Tropical Garden and it was beautiful! Our family and friends enjoyed cocktail hour on the Patio Terrace overlooking the newly constructed Hourglass Garden and our reception was held indoors in the Ballroom, with a buffet dinner and dancing. We received numerous compliments from our guest about the facility and many of them are looking forward to visiting the Garden on their own in the future! They loved garden!

    Kristen Jones, the Facility Rental Coordinator, did an excellent job! From our first meeting to the day of the wedding, Kristen was great to work with. About a month before our wedding we walked through space with Kristin to review in detail our Wedding Day plan, including the rain plan. Kristin also reviewed our vendor list and confirmed the arrival times with each vendor. The day of the wedding she was at the facility the entire day and always ready to help if needed!
  • L
    Laura Married on 10/07/2018
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    A perfect day.

    My wedding at the gardens was beyond anything I could have hoped for. They were so kind and worked with us on how I wanted the ceremony set up on the patio, creating the most beautiful space. The gardens themselves were beautiful, and I cannot wait to see the pictures of everything in their spaces. Thank you so much!
  • M
    Marquita Married on 05/28/2017
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    The staff was phenomenal! Lynn Adams made herself available by phone and email to myself and vendors throughout the entire planning process. She was super sweet, professional, organized, & detail oriented. Many of my vendors complimented her timely communication with them. The venue itself was beautiful. Our wedding ceremony took place in the "tropical gardens" portion of the venue, we had our cocktail hour on the patio, & reception in the ballroom which gave our guests three very different & beautiful experiences. I highly recommend this venue for any special occasion.
  • Rachel
    Rachel Married on 09/28/2019
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Value

    Overall, I would recommend this venue as the venue is inherently gorgeous and there are a variety of areas to utilize for a wedding making this venue an incredible value for all you are getting out of it. The venue includes tables and chairs for portions of your event located in the ballroom or on the terrace which is convenient and a cost saver. The staff is very friendly and flexible. However, one of the downsides to the venue is that there is no outdoor lighting and, unless you bring in your own lighting, there is no way to enjoy the beauty of the venue and the terrace at night.
  • User2025127 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Kristin is extremely nice and professional. She is so easy to work with and gives you peace of mind that everything will work smoothly for your wedding. The gardens are beautiful and a wonderful backdrop for your wedding or reception.
  • C
    Christine Married on 06/27/2015
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    I would recommend using the gardens. All of my guests were amazed with the beauty of the facility and gardens. It made a great spot for photos. Communication was a little frustrating, but they were going through a change of staff around the time of my wedding. I am confident that this will be wrinkled out very soon.
  • A
    Amy Married on 07/16/2017
    Rating 3.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    I do not regret for a moment having my wedding and reception at the Botanical Gardens!! For the price, you get an incredible outdoor backdrop with endless photo opportunities and a very clean and well maintained indoor area. The set up is perfect for an outdoor wedding, cocktail hour, and indoor reception. We had to do very little in terms of decorating because the venue to so incredibly beautiful on its own. However, you do need to factor in the extra costs of a dance floor and outdoor chairs if you want an outdoor ceremony. The woman we worked with directly was very sweet and accommodating throughout the planning process, but there were a lot of extra rules that the gardens puts on wedding bookings that made things more difficult than needed. The venue started building an amphitheater stage the week before our wedding on the event lawn (where we were having our ceremony) and didn't tell us- we found out when stopping by to show our videographer the venue a week before. When we politely asked about the construction and whether it would be completed and/or cleaned up, the boss was very unapologetic and rude to my fiance. The time for decorating is limited depending on if there are other bookings on the days before or after you, but they're willing to give you time if it's available. The woman we worked with directly in planning only works part time, so responsiveness was spotty because of her hours. Beautiful venue that is well worth the money for the atmosphere, just be ready to do some dancing around to make things work!
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca Married on 06/08/2019
    Rating 1.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5

    Think carefully before booking this venue.

    I would not recommend this venue at all. The staff at this venue are not equip for events of this nature. They lacked in communication throughout the whole process and added much stress to wedding planning . When I spoke to the Executive Director about the inappropriate behavior on my wedding day and he stated that he could address the issues and that I would be compensated but nothing happen. While the venue is very beautiful, I would not recommend having a wedding here.