Skip to main content
Weddings

Pastries by Design Reviews

Pastries by Design View more information

125 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 125
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

3 User photos

  • Angela
    Angela M. Married on 09/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So many compliments on our dessert table!

    I couldn't be more happy and impressed about how our dessert table turned out. Even our venue said it was the best table they have ever seen and they have weddings there every weekend 🤩
  • Luda
    Luda K. Married on 01/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best cake ever!

    Pastries by design not only professional, accommodating but also make the best tasting fresh cakes. Maria and Alex are the best! Chocolate peanut butter, carrot and they icing are to die for! Great design too!
  • N
    Natalie Married on 07/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alex was so much fun to work with - we had scheduled a last minute tasting (just about 4 weeks before the wedding) because we had been indecisive on our cake. She assisted us right away and gave us her recommendations based on our tastes and wishes for a design. We worked with our florist to coordinate bringing fresh flowers to the reception and her team arranged them beautifully on the cake. The cake was quite possibly the most amazing cake I had ever tasted! Not to mention it was absolutely beautiful. She gladly accommodated our guests who are gluten free, and some who were both gluten and sugar-free with delicious cupcakes. That was something we had a hard time finding elsewhere and we were extremely pleased when she was so happy to assist!
  • Cali
    Cali Married on 11/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    After doing some research into a cake for my wedding, I made an appointment with Alex for a cake tasting for my husband and I. There are SO many different flavors to choose from, both regular and premium flavors. We picked out a handful of combinations we thought would be good and sent them to her. She had everything ready when we got to the appointment and her cakes are out of this world good!!! When we agreed she would be the one and were talking about prices, she was super straight forward with us. We wanted flowers on our cake and she told us up front "I can do the flowers in icing, but it would be cheaper to go through a florist and have real flowers" We wanted ribbon on the cake as well and she told us she could use hers or we could get it from wal mart for like .98 and just drop it off. We also had the option of renting one of her cake stands or using our own. She wasn't trying to nickel and dime us on everything, she was straight forward and after paying so much for everything else in the wedding, we really appreciated someone trying to help us save some money. That was the one of the main reasons we chose her. She also let us change stuff a few days before the wedding. I told her I wanted a cake topper that I received as a gift and she told us it was no problem. I brought the cake stand and topper to the wedding, Alex coordinated with my day of coordinator and florist to get the cake there with everything on it and it was absolutely gorgeous!!!! It looked and tasted better than I could have ever imagined and we are still getting compliments on it 2 months later. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND pasties by design for weddings and everything else!!!
  • Nicole
    Nicole Married on 09/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I worked with Alex to make my cake for our wedding on September 3rd. The theme was Beauty and the Beast. As soon as I showed her the cake I wanted to started with ideas on how to make my dream cake, make it tasty, but still affordable! Everyone LOVED the cake and I would absolutely go there again for other events! Thank you Alex for your awesome work!

    Pastries by Design's reply:

    Nicole, Thank you for your kind words. We absolutely loved working in your cake. Congratulations!
  • K
    Kristi Married on 03/25/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    These ladies did an amazing job on my wedding cake! I ordered 1 month in advance since it was a simple cake. As a former wedding cake maker/decorator I know the time and hard work it takes even for the most simplest cakes and these ladies are spot on! Pricing is right and quality is 100% there. My (now husband) picked up the cake the day prior. They had it perfectly packaged for him to transport easily! I highly recommend using Pastries by Design as your wedding cake one stop shop!
  • L
    Laura Married on 02/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Yummy, delicious cake like always!!!!!! this is like my 4th cake from this place, they are awesome! Thanks to Alex for all the coordination and help making my wedding cake just like I wanted it!

    Pastries by Design's reply:

    Thank you Laura! ;-)
  • J
    Jessica Married on 01/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding cake as gorgeous and exactly what we wanted. Everyone raved about how delicious the cake was. We also order mini apple and pecan tarts which were a hit! Great value for the quality. Alex was a pleasure to work with!

    Pastries by Design's reply:

    Thank you!!
  • User2944949 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alex was wonderful to work with. Our experience started with an amazing tasting. The wedding cake Alex designed was absolutely beautifully and just what we had in mind. It was delicious too!!

    Pastries by Design's reply:

    We are glad that you had a great experience working with us. Thank you for your comments.
  • K
    Kaitlin Married on 12/11/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Working with Pastries by Design was a great experience from start to finish. Our tasting was a really fun experience with delicious cakes, icings and fillings to try, and the end result was beautiful. We wanted a half naked cake and various flavors, and they helped us find a compromise to ensure we got the types of cake we wanted without risking the structural integrity of the design we had selected by having a side cake for a certain flavor. We were so happy with how our cake turned out, and our guests loved it!

    Pastries by Design's reply:

    Hi Kaitlin,
    thank you for taking your time to write your comments! We love naked cakes, specially playing with different flavors and colors ;-). We all at Pastries by Design wish you a wonderful life together!
  • V
    Victoria Married on 12/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Pastries By Design created THE most stunning cake for my wedding this past Friday. It was delicious and so beautiful!! I also have a gluten allergy and this bakery catered to it, so my whole cake was gluten free and irresistibly delicious!! I highly recommend this bakery for all your dessert needs and wedding cake!!

    Pastries by Design's reply:

    Hi Victoria,
    Thank you very much for your comments. Your cake was absolutely special!
    At Pastries by Design we wish you the best ;-)
  • D
    Denise Married on 11/05/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wow! We were so blown over by our cake! Alex worked so hard to understand what we were looking for in our cake design. She nailed it! Our consultation was great and the cake tasting was a blast! The final design was perfect. The cake was delicious! Our guests are still raving about it!

    Pastries by Design's reply:

    Thank you Denise! It was a pleasure working with you ;-) and we absolutely loved your beautiful cake!
  • C
    Cassandra Married on 10/22/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Pastries by Design is incredible! They made our wedding cake and groom's cake. Everything was absolutely perfect! Not only were the cakes GORGEOUS but they are the most delicious cakes you've ever had in your whole life. Look no further - this is where your dream wedding cake comes from! Alex and the team are stellar!!

    Pastries by Design's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are so glad you liked your cakes! – (The groom´s cake was actually one of my personal favorites!) We look forward to seeing you again soon :-)
  • J
    Jocelyn Married on 09/03/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alex at Pastries by Design is amazing! She and her team made my wedding cake dreams come to life! Every other baker I called turned my ideas down or were outrageously priced. She not only made my cake, she made it better than I had imagined and it was affordable! We had 2 flavors and both were so yummy and moist. We don't live in the area, but every time we come to town, we stop in for cupcakes. Book her and you won't be disappointed!

    Pastries by Design's reply:

    Thank you Jocelyn for this amazing review. We loved making your cake!!
  • K
    Katie Married on 06/26/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Pastries By Design was great!! I sent them a picture of how I want our wedding cake to look and they made it exactly the same as it was on the picture... Oh and the taste???? OMG it was soooooo good, all of our guests loved it!! Thank you for everything! Katie & Corbin
  • J
    Jacqueline Married on 06/24/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding cake was stunning, but more importantly our guests raved that it was the best cake they had ever eaten! Thank you for spending time to make our wedding cake beautiful (2 design changes later) and most importantly something so delicious our guests are still raving!
    Wonderful vendor with great cakes!
  • K
    Karin Married on 02/06/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Pastries by Design made mini cupcakes for my intimate destination wedding. Everyone LOVED them, only wish I had ordered more as we ran out! Alex, the owner, was great to work with. My father and I have Celiac disease, and Alex was able to provide gluten free choices so we could enjoy along with the rest of our guests. There are so many great flavors, but I highly recommend the White Chocolate Raspberry and the Key Lime!
  • B
    Julie Married on 01/30/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alex with Pastries by Design did a fantastic job with our cake, surpassing our expectations!! Our guests loved the flavor and wanted more :)
  • L
    Lynette Married on 01/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I asked for a naked cake and sent a picture (just expecting something similar). They got it on point!!!!! It was perfect just like the picture! And it was delicious!!! Super exceeded my expectations!! They were also wonderful to work with, very nice and professional. Definitely recommend!!!
  • L
    Lyndsey Married on 01/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alex was extremely helpful and responsive to our cake design ideas. She took the time to discuss different styling options during our tasting since we were unsure of what would be best given our wedding size. It was very difficult to narrow down but we ended up with a 4 tier cake with 4 different flavors. The cake turned out absolutely beautiful and tasted amazing. We had guests comment on how awesome the cake was. Highly recommended!!!
  • D
    Dana Married on 10/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When I went for a tasting I KNEW I just had to use this bakery. I used them for both the grooms cake for the rehearsal dinner and the wedding cake. We got the "espresso machine" flavor (chocolate cake soaked with espresso and espresso buttercream) for the rehearsal dinner and they did a 2 tier camoflauge Bass Pro Shop cake. The details in the camo, deer, flounder, bass, turkey, and bow and arrow were absolutely amazing. I could not believe it when I saw it. For our wedding cake we got the "Key Lime" flavor (vanilla cake and cream cheese filling with key lime curd). It had white buttercream outside (so smooth and not a flaw in the outside icing), 3 tiers, with silver edible sequins going in a burst design with fresh flowers. It was gorgeous. I could not have imagined anything more perfect. Alex was amazing to work with and so helpful as counts changed. I would recommend this bakery to any bride who wants quality. freshness, detail oriented bakers.
  • S
    Sharon Married on 05/24/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The most amazing wedding cake I have ever seen or tasted. The grooms cake was so cool too. We served both cakes to make the best use for serving. Alex. the new owner, and her bakers were WOW

    Pastries by Design's reply:

    Thanks so much for choosing Pastries by Design and for the wonderful pictures you sent to us. Congratulations!
  • User2149095 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We LOVED how our cake turned out for our beach wedding. It was exactly what I hoped it would be. We were never able to go in for a tasting because we were coming from Chicago but we were AMAZED with how great it tasted. We're both chocoholics so we had the dark chocolate raspberry and death by chocolate. It was ridiculous...we've never had better tasting wedding cake in our lives.

    Pastries by Design's reply:

    Thanks so much for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure to create your special wedding cake. Congratulations on your wedding.
  • User2204553 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Truly a work of art. This is the place where you will get the most beautiful cake in the world.

    Pastries by Design's reply:

    Thanks so much for your comment... We take pride in our delicious cake flavors and designs. We appreciate your continued business. -Pastries by Design
  • L
    Lisa Married on 04/25/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Absolutely amazing. I had cupcakes and they perfect and very good.

    Pastries by Design's reply:

    Thank you Lisa! :-) Congratulations!!
    It makes us very happy to know that you loved your wedding cake!