Passion Fruit Chefs Reviews

68 | St John, VI
See photos, pricing and details

68 Reviews for Passion Fruit Chefs

Recommended by 99%

68
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

20 User photos

Passion Fruit Chefs 1
Passion Fruit Chefs 2
Passion Fruit Chefs 3
Passion Fruit Chefs 4
Passion Fruit Chefs 5
Passion Fruit Chefs 6
Passion Fruit Chefs 7
+ 14
Sort by:
  • E

    Elaine Condon · Getting married on 01/06/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome dinner at villa

    Two weeks ago, we arrived on St John and had a magnificent meal prepared by Laura at our villa on our first night. A wonderful relaxing evening after a long day of travel. Food was fabulous, wine and pain killers provided. Wonderful, friendly service. All cooking, service and clean up done by Laura. Very accommodating, one person doesn't do fish so we had 5 Mahi Mahi and 1 Chicken. Also, we ordered breakfast for the next day to be delivered at same time so we could enjoy our Easter morning. Fruit, delicious pastries and roasted vegetable frittata. Great suggestions and lots of options. I would highly recommend them! Will definitely use them again when we return to St.John

    Sent on 05/12/2019
  • Cari

    Cari Godin · Married on 07/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful presentation, perfect meal!

    We had been looking forward to our meal with Chef Laura our entire trip, and we were not at all disappointed. Prior to our meal, She kept in touch with us and made sure to prepare a custom menu that fit our tastes and many specifics (food allergies, sensitivities and pescatarians), and she presented a meal that excited all 7 of us, which was no small feat. The opening appetizer of vegetable fritters was flavorful and perfectly crispy, and I had to stop myself from eating too many. The first course of shrimp bisque was creamy with bits of shrimp, and more than enough, which was good because we would have fought over the leftovers. The main course of grouper was tender and had a special addition of sweet orange and kiwi. Our children, and the kids at heart raved over the brownie sundae. She made our villa beautiful and the presentation of food was pristine.
    Chef Laura is extremely personable and accommodating, and was the highlight of our trip to St. John!

    Sent on 07/25/2019
    Passion Fruit Chefs 8
    Passion Fruit Chefs 9
  • Chris& Patti

    Chris& Patti · Married on 07/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spectacular Presentation & Service

    Laura was our chef at our ARBNB villa in St John for 3 couples. She catered a fabulous meal, the presentation was marvelous, her conversation intriguing and fun, the appetizers, entree and dessert were absolutely delicious. She was attentive to food allergies in her presentation. She made our dinner part of the highlights of our trip. Thank you!

    Sent on 05/05/2019
  • Tamara

    Tamara and Steve Foti · Married on 06/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Professional, fun and delicious

    Laura and her team were very professional and friendly to work with!!! We had many of our guest mention what an awesome job they did and how good the food was. The entire team was very receptive and attentive to both our guest and the wedding party needs. We would definitely recommend them for your event!!!

    Sent on 07/08/2019
    Passion Fruit Chefs 10
  • J

    James F · Married on 06/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CEO of telecommunications Co

    Laura and her team are true professionals with amazing food, service and the extra touch whenever needed. All of our guests want to use her when they come back to visit St John. Highly recommend

    Sent on 06/28/2019
  • V

    Vanessa Bell Calloway · Married on 06/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent service!

    I was in St John, an island that I’d never visited before and I wanted to host an intimate BBQ for my best friend the day after her wedding. I hired Passion Fruit because it was the caterer that my friend hired for her wedding. Everything was lovely, excellent service, stress free and the food was good. I’d recommend them for any event!!!
    Vanessa Bell Calloway
    Actress, director & producer.

    Sent on 06/14/2019
  • Richad

    Richad and Susan Best · Married on 06/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything you may need and want!

    Laura Samms and her staff were wonderful, patient and fun.

    Sent on 06/15/2019
    Passion Fruit Chefs 11
    Passion Fruit Chefs 12
    Passion Fruit Chefs 13
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 04/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Caterer

    We have been to many weddings throughout the years and Passion Fruit chefs made the best food by far!!! We are so thankful to have had the opportunity to work with Lauren and her team for our wedding and brunch the day after. Lauren was so incredibly helpful to plan with along the way, she made great suggestions, and even made last minute meal changes for a family members restricted diet. We cannot thank you enough for being such a crucial part of our wedding day. I can honestly say that everyone loved their dinner and devoured the deserts! Passion fruit chefs also has the most amazing staff! They were all so kind, fun, and helpful throughout the entire event and the next morning! In fact, we did not receive the coffee we ordered and one of the staff members was so sweet and not only made us two pots of coffee with her own personal coffee she had bought but she also left us the rest for the week. Passion fruit completely exceeded our expectations and put their personal touches on everything! Thank you so much!

    Sent on 05/01/2019
  • Lindsey

    Lindsey Wohning · Married on 01/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious!

    Laura and her team were absolutely fantastic. After having to change our reception four weeks before the wedding and go from a restaurant to needing a caterer, Laura was amazing in helping us choose the perfect menu for our wedding day. From passed hors d’oeuvres to dessert, everything was delicious and our guests raved about it, even days later. If you’re in need of a caterer on St. John, look no further!

    Sent on 02/15/2019
  • J

    Joanna Leszczak · Married on 01/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Superb food and service!

    Superb food and service! Laura and her crew catered my daughter's wedding on New Year's Eve 2018 on St. John. We had Caribbean pig roast feast, with other Caribbean dishes in addition. Can not say enough good words,how delicious everything was, and every one of our 150 guests was very satisfied with the taste, preparation and appearance. Thank you very much Passion Fruit Chefs for making that wedding a very memorable event on the culinary side :)

    Sent on 01/08/2019
  • J

    Jeannine Tornese · Married on 11/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Corporate Event by Passion Fruit

    Laura couldn't have been more accommodating. She was very responsive and worked within our budget. The food was amazing and truly made our event fabulous. I also loved the table decorations! Thanks again Laura for contributing to a success work retreat while in St. John. I hope to return someday soon!

    Sent on 11/14/2018
  • S

    Shayanna Sims · Married on 10/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Catering was such a breeze with Passionfruit Chefs

    We worked with Passionfruit Chefs to cater a company outreach trip that spanned over the course of 4 days and 3 different locations. Laura and Lorna were amazing, super responsive to all of our asks, and very professional. We were blown away with the service before we even had a chance to taste the food! Once we had the lunches delivered they were AMAZING! Every single day. Even though our situation was more complicated because we were not onsite and had to have packaged catering, the quality did not suffer at all. The dessert was literally to die for. I've never had such moist dessert. I'm still dreaming about the lemon cake almost a week later. If you're looking for an organized, professional and most importantly, talented chef, please do book with Passionfruit Chefs!

    Sent on 10/30/2018
  • G

    Gillian · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Passion Fruit catered our wedding at Villa Serenita on 8/25 and OH MY GOODNESS they are amazing. Every single guest commented on the food and said it was the best wedding food they had ever had. We had a cocktail hour with passed apps and a charceuterie station. For dinner, we had a grill station with two types of potatoes, ceviche, and hearts of palm salad. We then had 4 types of dessert in addition to the cake: mini key lime pies (Cassandra's special recipe, I'm still dreaming about them), tiramisu, gourmet brownies, and the most dense, delicious cupcakes I've ever had. We also went with the top shelf bar, and they let us choose our own alcohol and wine. Laura and Cassandra were by far the most enjoyable people to work with from our wedding from the very beginning. They were SO responsive, communicative, and patient. We also hosted a brunch the following day and it was DELICIOUS. We had an Omelette action station with potatoes, bacon, sausage, and pastries. Their team of chefs, servers and bartenders are TOP NOTCH. They were all so much fun and were unbelievably professional. There wasnt a single guest that didnt comment on the staff and how great they were. One of our amazing bartenders even had her teenage daughter sketch a photo of us and we have since framed it!! Don't even consider anyone else...HIRE PASSION FRUIT RIGHT NOW!!

    Sent on 08/29/2018
    Passion Fruit Chefs 14
    Passion Fruit Chefs 15
    Passion Fruit Chefs 16
    Passion Fruit Chefs 17
    Passion Fruit Chefs 18
    Passion Fruit Chefs 19
    Passion Fruit Chefs 20
    Passion Fruit Chefs 21
    Passion Fruit Chefs 22
  • K

    Kevin · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at Villa Serenita on Saturday 8/25 and were SO HAPPY with Passion Fruit Chefs. Hands down the best food at a catered event I have ever had. We had a cocktail hour with passed apps with a station as well, grill stations for dinner and a full bar. Laura and Cassandra were by far the easiest people to work with. They were very communicative and responded quickly to our questions and concerns. About a month before our event we decided to add a brunch on the following Sunday and they totally rocked that out as well Their team of chefs, servers and bartenders absolutely blew us away. They were all so engaging, fun and professional. The next day at the brunch the bartender from the night before came back to work and her daughter had made us an amazing sketch of us from a picture that was taken. It was so so so cool! Our minds were completely blown by the entire experience and Passion Fruit made it happen.

    Sent on 08/27/2018
    Passion Fruit Chefs 23
    Passion Fruit Chefs 24
  • T

    tracy · Married on 07/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura is such a pleasure to work with. Everyone at the wedding was so polite and kind and seemed so happy to be there. And on top of all the attention to details, the food is absolutely amazing. My guests could not stop talking about how wonderful everything tasted.

    Sent on 07/18/2018
  • T

    Thomas · Married on 06/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mt husband recently arranged a most memorable surprise to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. On one of our first nights in St John, Laura showed up at our villa door, bringing with her all the necessary items to prepare the most amazing meal any of the 4 of us had ever had.
    She quickly made herself busy in our kitchen, preparing incredible appetizers as she chatted away with us as if we had always know each other. By the time the hor doerves she had prepared were ready, she had without our knowing prepared a beautiful table outside on the deck, where we sat for the next glorious 2 hours as she served us a delectable 4 course meal. It was a meal and an experience none of us will ever forget! Laura is a gem in every way...from her sweet cheery personality to her amazing talent in the kitchen! One of the highlights of our trip!,

    Sent on 05/25/2018
  • G

    Georgiana · Married on 06/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment we first spoke with Laura on the phone, she was very welcoming and happy to answer all of our many questions. We truly felt that we were dealing with professionals and that made us very comfortable from the beginning. As with any wedding, we were not sure what to expect or how to handle the reception dinner and select items that everyone could enjoy. Laura took that burden from us by offering suggestions and helping us create the perfect menu! She then created a timeline for our day, which was the first time we were able to have a better understanding of how a wedding on the island would play out, which in turn helped us work with our coordinator (IBW) to have a better idea of what we are looking for. We sent multiple pictures of cake ideas and indicated what we liked about each one, and the Passion Fruit Chefs team made it exactly as we had hoped! We had to reschedule our wedding from September due to the tragic hurricanes that devastated the islands, and Laura was so kind to help us move everything to our new date in June 2018. A few days prior to our wedding, we had an idea and decided to try and add mini champagne bottles for each of our guests to open for the toast. Laura quickly called us back and had placed an order to allow this to happen. On the day of our wedding, the team worked hard to make everything perfect. They were all so friendly. The appetizers along with the chicken and fish we had selected were so delicious, and our cake looked stunning! Laura and the entire team were so helpful and attentive throughout the planning process and on our wedding day, and we would highly recommend Passion Fruit Chefs for any special event!!

    Sent on 06/14/2018
  • Kamli

    Kamli · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Passion Fruit Chefs exceeded our expectations for our wedding on St. John over the past Memorial Day weekend! The owner, Laura, made planning a destination wedding from FL very easy. We booked Passion Fruit Chefs in June of 2017 and Laura was very helpful throughout the entire process. She was always very responsive and went above and beyond for us. Laura looked into beaches and accommodations for us and our guests to ensure access/availability post-hurricanes and even made my mom a cake for her birthday, which was the same day as the wedding rehearsal. We did not expect to have superior quality of food given that it is a wedding and we have never experienced amazing food at weddings, so it came as a wonderful surprise to have DELICIOUS food served at our wedding! From the appetizers served during our cocktail hour to the plated dinner, everything was delicious and served hot. Laura's staff was very friendly and attentive. I really appreciated that the staff brought the bride & groom a side of appetizers with our salads since we were gone during cocktail hour taking pictures and did not get the opportunity to try the food being served during that time. We were VERY hungry once we sat down to eat and a salad alone would not have been enough at that time, so many thanks for that! All of our guests were raving about the food and told us it was the best food that they have ever had at a wedding. We had two successful executive chefs attend our wedding and they too were raving about the food. A major thank you to Passion Fruit Chefs for making our wedding so perfect. If you are getting married on St. Thomas or St. John, you MUST hire Passion Fruit Chefs. I promise you will not be disappointed!

    Sent on 06/06/2018
  • W

    Whitney · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All I can say is... WOW! Passion Fruit Chefs (PFC) delivers quality, professionalism and delicious food. I recently had my wedding on Water Island, which meant PFC had to travel from St. John to St. Thomas to Water Island by boat with all their food, kitchen equipment and rental equipment. How they did it so perfectly is so impressive! During the planning process, they were very attentive to detail down to how the tables would be positioned, to meal place cards, to napkins, decorations, air conditioning, glassware... you name it. As a type A person myself, I was blown away! My wedding was actually on St. Thomas and PFC arrived four hours before the meal was served to begin preparations! By the time we all arrived to Water Island after the ceremony, they already had the Villa decorated and the tables were set and cocktail hour was ready to begin. The food the phenomenal! We had Makers Mark Tenderloin and Broiled Grouper. The chefs, Laura and Cassandra were so easy to work with. Cassandra even allowed us to move our entree serve time back an hour to accommodate for more wedding photography. They also cut the cake and made sure all our glasses were full of champagne and water at all times. The cleanup was taken care of.. all I had to do was enjoy my day with my husband and my guests. Thank you, thank you, thank you PFC for perfecting my day!

    Sent on 06/08/2018
  • Dana

    Dana · Married on 02/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great food and staff at Passionfruit Chefs. Everything was perfect.

    Sent on 03/04/2018
  • S

    Susan · Married on 02/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura is a treasure on St. John! She is beloved by her amazing staff, and they in turn help her create unforgettable dinner parties. She is devoted to her clients and can fulfill their every
    wish with total professionalism and a smile! My friends and I adore Laura, and you will too!

    Sent on 02/12/2018
  • C

    Christie · Married on 08/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Passion Fruit Chefs to cater my husband's 50th birthday party in St. John at Great Expectations. There were a total of 19 of us, ranging in all ages. Laura Samms is the best! She was so helpful and nice from the very first phone call to the time she cleaned up our dinner party. She is so pleasant, helpful and also professional! We hired them to setup for an outdoor dinner, bringing tables and chairs. The dinner food was absolutely amazing. Half our guests had the Chilean sea bass entrée with a mango salsa while the other half had filet mignon in a red cabernet sauce. Everyone said it was the best meal they have ever had. Large portions of food which were cooked to perfection. What a treat to dine outdoors and be served as if we were all in a restaurant. They brought everything, served delicious food, were so nice to everyone, and cleaned up everything at the end of the night. It was a very special dinner which made my husband's birthday absolutely the best. Thanks, Laura! You rock!!!

    Sent on 08/21/2017
  • M

    Mona · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible!! We had a small beach destination wedding on our favorite island St John in the Virgin islands. When looking for a caterer we came across Laura of Passion Fruit Chefs and I knew from the first email she was the perfect choice for us. We are foodies, and that aspect is important to us! She was so professional and helpful every step of the way and the food was just fantastic! Our guests raved about it for days! I knew when I tasted the appetizers we were in for a treat. We had Jerk Chicken and Beef Tenderloin as mains, both delicious and that tenderloin was the best I have ever had. We sent her a picture of the cake and she created that as well, and OMG it was SO divine. My brother is gluten intolerant and she made the whole menu gluten free so we had no worries. Laura's service, food and kindness were over the top and we are forever grateful to her for making our reception absolutely memorable and wonderful!!

    Sent on 07/21/2017
  • E

    Erica · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about how satisfied we were with the service from Laura and her team. They are absolutely amazing! I was blown away with how good the food was and how hard everyone worked to make sure we were well taken care of. We had the grouper, beef tenderloin and chicken for our wedding about a month ago. Everything was great, the fish was the best I have ever had, and my dad is still talking about those garlic mashed potatoes. Laura is incredible period. You will not be disappointed. Helpful and professional from the jump and continued to impress throughout. We truly thank you Laura! You are a beautiful person and an outstanding chef and we are so grateful to have found you for our special day.

    Sent on 08/01/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review