Paradisus Playa Del Carmen Reviews

25 | Cancun, MX
See photos, pricing and details

25 Reviews for Paradisus Playa Del Carmen

Recommended by 90% of couples

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.3

Awards

25

6 User photos

Paradisus Playa Del Carmen 1
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen 2
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen 3
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen 4
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen 5
+ 2
Order by:
  • M

    Kareemah · Married on 07/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Paradisus La Perla

    We had the most wonderful experience with our travel agent at this resort. She handled everything to a T. She was very sweet and even though our guests didn't follow all of the deadlines, she remained professional and helpful at all times. She followed up and only did what was requested of her and asked plenty of questions before making any decisions. Naydia is her name and we haven't met her yet but she has amazing this far. This resort gets 10 stars for her alone.

    Sent on 07/03/2019
  • A

    Allie · Married on 09/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If weddings were events you planned to repeat multiple times, I still think that I would choose to have ours at Paradisus Playa del Carmen every time. This is not only because of course, our venue was beautiful, but that everything was so easy and manageable. Our resort Romance Coordinator was Araceli (along with help from Sandra) and she coordinated everything flawlessly and easily coordinated with our vendors (even if they were not "resort partner" vendors). We had our ceremony on the Gabi Bridge, which overlooks a picturesque view of the ocean, without having to have our guests walk through the hot sand. It is always hot and humid in Playa, so we opted into having our reception indoors at Hadar Restaurant. The decor is elegant enough, and after Araceli and Sandra had coordinated the decor, it was absolutely beautiful.

    Paradisus utilizes Planner 1 Events for decor, we worked with Candi who was smart and very willing to go above and beyond (without any specific request) to make our event beautiful. She planned details that were not even on my radar.

    We also used Novia Mia photography, we are still waiting on all of our photos as we were just married the end of September, but from what we have seen so far they are absolutely beautiful.

    We used an outside vendor (additional charge of $1000) for our audio and visual services, UNO Audio Visual with DJ Luca. Not to sound redundant, but this company was top notch and such a good value (even considering the additional charge). We did not use the in-house audio/visual company because their prices were pretty high; plus when my husband saw the light-up dance-floor, he had to have it at our reception and that would have been an additional +$2500 to the base price. UNO Audio Visual offered a similar floor (not the exact same model, but awesome nonetheless) for a much more reasonable additional fee to their already reasonable fee for their DJ Services.

    Paradisus Playa Del Carmen 6
    Sent on 10/05/2018
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 08/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Araceli and her team (Lucero and Sandra) have been the most incredible help! She replied to my every email and would support me with every choice. She helped make my wedding and absolute dream where we turned Hadar into a castle! It was stunning and the food was phenomenal and went beyond everyone’s wildest expectations. If you are lucky enough to get married at Paradisus, you must work with Araceli! I am forever thankful!

    Paradisus Playa Del Carmen 7
    Paradisus Playa Del Carmen 8
    Paradisus Playa Del Carmen 9
    Sent on 08/11/2018
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 02/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Adriana went above and beyond to help us create the wedding of our dreams. She surpassed all of our expectations and went out of her way for us. All of our guests said that it was by far the best wedding they have ever gone to. While planning a destination wedding can be difficult, Adriana was sweet and patient with us. She answered all of our questions and reassured us throughout the entire process. We will forever be grateful for all of her help as well as the rest of the staff at the Paradisus for what truly was the time of our lives!!!

    Sent on 01/19/2017

    Paradisus Playa Del Carmen's reply:

    Dear Melissa,
    Thank you for your kind words, it encourages our staff to keep doing the best for our customers, we really appreciate you take the time to do it.

    Best,

    Alain Velázquez Melendez, CWS
    Romance Manager
    Paradisus Playa del Carmen
  • D

    Dianely · Married on 01/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words can not explain how amazing this resort is. I recently had my wedding here and I couldn't have picked a better location. The staff , food and service are by far the best I have ever had. The attention to detail that they provided for our wedding was excellent. They made it feel like a second home to us. I didn't wanna leave :). I recommend this resort by far for any occasion. We will definitely be back.

    Sent on 01/25/2017

    Paradisus Playa Del Carmen's reply:

    Dear Dianely,

    Thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure for us to host your wedding, Jaime and the entire Romance Staff thank you for giving us the opportunity to be part of this special moment.

    Warm Regards,
    Alain Velázquez Melendez, CWS
    Romance Manager
    Paradisus Playa del Carmen
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 11/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Araceli and her team was amazing! I don't even know where to start! We have been emailing for about a year. She answered all my questions prior to arrival within 24 hours. Once we got closer to the wedding date about 2 months out, we had everything nailed down and paid for. She reconfirmed everything and made sure all my vendors where booked (hair and makeup, photo booth, DJ and décor). Once we arrived, we set up a meeting time to take us around the resort, and help us visualize how everything was going to be set up. She set a time schedule and layed everything out very clear. I had lot of questions and was so nervous and she helped ease our concerns about weather with a fantastic back up plan. Overall, she was just so happy and you can tell she genuinely wanted us to have the most perfect wedding even though they had 36 planned this month alone! and 10 were this week. She still seemed so caring about the details of ours and her hard work showed. I can honestly say Araceli made this wedding perfect for us! If we do vow renewals, or if any one I know wants to have a destination wedding, you HAVE TO see Araceli! She even took photo booth pictures with us! We just loved her personality as well. Welcome to our family Araceli, we will never forget you!

    Sent on 11/09/2016
  • Laura

    Laura · Married on 01/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BEAUTIFUL cannot fully describe this resort. Knowing that I always wanted a destination wedding I had my work cut out on finding an amazing resort. Once I found the Paradisus I knew it was the one. It is great they have an adult only resort La Perla and a family resort La Esmerlada. This gives your guests the options of where they want to stay. From the start the Romance team was amazing and prompt. This resort has a love at first site package for the couples to come check out the resort. My advise is to take advantage of it if you can you will not be disappointed. You meet with the resorts preferred vedors if you choose to use them, get to do a menu tasting. Our Romance team member for the wedding was Araceli she is amazing. She took great care of us and ensured that nothing was left undone. She was always just a call or text away for us even on her days off. She made the wedding day flawless for us. You can't go wrong choosing the Paradisus!!

    Sent on 03/28/2016
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 11/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough AMAZING things about our wedding and stay at the Paradisus Playa del Carmen. From the very start, the planning process was very easy. The hotel kept in touch, was easy to contact and prompt to respond. They connected me right away with all of their vendors for the wedding day. I was able to contact them right away and have things booked well in advance for the wedding day.
    Upon arriving, our guests were so impressed with how amazing the hotel was. Its gorgeous, well kept and HUGE! Our guests could not wait to explore and have fun before our big day. We had 63 guests attend who all LOVED every second of their stay.
    We were able to meet with our planner the day after we arrived and go over all the wedding details. They showed us locations and back up spots and even helped us with a rehearsal and booking a rehearsal dinner on site.
    The day of the wedding things went flawelessly. It rained the entire day, but the Romance group kept us informed and we quickly decided to use our backup location. Which actually ended up being even more gorgeous in pictures. The Romance group made sure I was comfortable and informed all day. Marcela, our planner, even gave me her cell phone number to be in touch with her at all times. When it came time for the wedding, they got my guests in place, my bridal party in place and finally the bride in place. The ceremony was perfect! Just when I thought it could not get better, we entered the reception. All of the decorations were placed as I expected, even the things I brought on my own were put in place. Dinner was served quickly and the food was good. They made sure that my guests had a great time and the reception went well. They even accommodated when at the last minute we decided to add an hour to the reception because we were having so much fun! It truly was the most amazing day!

    Sent on 12/08/2015
  • Inna

    Inna · Married on 03/31/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband I got married here on March 31, 2012 - and we are still on cloud 9 about our wedding, AND our friends and family are STILL talking about it. A good sign indeed!!!

    I did a site inspection at this property before it even officially opened in Nov '11. And while I knew immediately this was 'the place', I had no idea how amazing things would actually turn out. The venue - service, staff, food, quality, etc - all of it surpassed our expectations and we are so happy to have celebrated this special moment in our lives here!

    I would recommend the Paradisus Playa Del Carmen (La Perla & La Esmeralda) to anyone/everyone considering a wedding in Mexico. That being said, I wouldn't recommend anything else!

    This IS THE PLACE!!!!!!

    Sent on 05/03/2012
  • C

    Chicobe · Married on 04/29/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm not a beach person but this place was AMAZING!! It left my wife happy which in turn leaves me happy. The planning team was very courteous and definitely willing to work with you. My wife and I wasn't a fan of the food options right off the bat but the staff was willing to basically let us pick and choose the courses we liked. Everything was nicely done and they make sure they bring ideas and visions to the table. The only thing that might be a hindrance is the price. There are fees for not using their in house vendor, but aside from that there are no other negatives about this resort. They worked directly with all of our outside vendors to make sure everything was perfect. I was super hesitant since we never saw the resort in person until 3 days before the ceremony but there were no issues. The wedding staff was very accommodating and even added some very nice touches that we hadn't thought of. I recommend the ROYAL SERVICE to anyone going and has the budget for it!!

    Sent on 08/16/2017
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 04/04/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The resorts romance team is expectional! So accommodating and willing to work with you. Day of event they made sure everything was taken of and there were no hiccups! Will definitely recommend to anyone thinking of a destination wedding !!

    Paradisus Playa Del Carmen 10
    Paradisus Playa Del Carmen 11
    Sent on 04/11/2018
  • M

    Michele · Married on 06/25/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The resort is beautiful and the food is delicious! Our guests had an amazing time at our Welcome BBQ and the Wedding of course. My Wedding planner Araceli was the best! Very attentive and accommodating. We will go back again for sure. It's a must see for a "Love at First Site" tour at the very least. Top notch. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 07/10/2017

    Paradisus Playa Del Carmen's reply:

    Dear Michele, Thank you for your kind words, it encourages our staff to keep doing the best for our customers, we really appreciate you take the time to do it. If you do plan to be in the area again, please contact me and I will personally assist you with anything you may need. Best, Claudia Perez Romance Manager Paradisus Playa del Carmen
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 02/11/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My (now) husband and I decided to have our wedding at Paradisus because they have both the family friendly side and the adults only side, which was the perfect option for our group. The wedding was better than we could have even imagined! Araceli Arenas was our wedding planner and was absolutely wonderful. Without exaggeration, she was there for us every step of the way. Her planning exceeded our expectations and no detail went unnoticed by her or her team. In the days leading up to the wedding, she organized a meeting to show us all of the spaces, bring together all of the vendors and make sure that we were clear on every single detail. She was kind, calm, cool and collected, even when we were asking her a million questions. Even the food at the rehearsal dinner and the wedding was AMAZING. The cake was delicious, beautifully decorated and included in our package. We used the in house vendors including Planner One for florals, YHI Spa for hair and make up (ask for Vanessa!), Novia Mia for photography and JSAV for the DJ. We coordinated all of our photography needs through Camillo Alvarez, who was very quick to respond and incredibly friendly. The day of the wedding, we worked with Arturo and Fabian who could not have been nicer - we genuinely enjoyed being around them while they took our photos and we walked from site to site and the photos are absolutely STUNNING. I’m not very knowledgeable when it comes to music, but I worked with Steve Eck who talked me through each of the packages and sent me pictures so that I could better understand what was included. The night of the wedding, Benjamin Solis, worked our wedding and we got so many compliments on his music choices. He totally nailed it and it was the perfect mix of fun, new, songs as well as some oldies because he was totally reading the crowd. We had a wedding that exceeded our wildest expectations because of Araceli and the team at Paradisus!

    Sent on 04/15/2017
  • M

    Marion · Married on 09/16/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Went very well and the decor and set up was perfect. They did a great job and were very accommodating to requests!

    Sent on 09/26/2017

    Paradisus Playa Del Carmen's reply:

    Dear Marion.
    Thank you for your kind words, it was a real pleasure for us assited you with your unique day. We really appreciate you take the time to share your comments. If you do plan to be in the area again, please contact me and I will personally assist you with anything you may need.
    Best Regards.
    Claudia Perez
    Romance Manager Paradisus Playa del Carmen
  • D

    Deep · Married on 08/24/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alain (wedding co-ordinator) was extremely helpful; he made sure we had an amazing experience. He's very knowledgeable, organized, and quick with responding back to us on any query.

    Our friends and family were impressed with the great service!

    Sent on 11/01/2016
  • N

    Nelsy · Married on 04/17/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alain, Lillian, and the rest of the wedding team were great. They were very attentive and helped make our wedding day extremely special. The welcome BBQ and the wedding day itself were amazing. Lillian and her team carried out our vision and everyone was impressed. We have heard nothing but amazing compliments regarding the look of the wedding and how everything went so smoothly. The onsite team was present the entirety of the wedding and were extremely helpful. The only concern we had was during check-in. Our selected room was not available and there was some confusion as to what our reservation covered. We were surprised, and frankly confused, as to why the wedding/romance team was handling this since we expected to, and really only wanted to rely on them, for the wedding. The group sales department should have been handling the issue with the reservation and we did not see or hear from one person from that team despite the group sales contract we had in place. I don't think Alain and his team should have been made responsible for this issue. Despite this issue which was handled for us efficiently, we were extremely happy with wedding/romance onsite team; they were awesome and clearly experts. I would definitely recommend working with Alain and his team for your destination wedding!

    Sent on 04/21/2016
  • M

    M · Married on 06/10/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    My husband and I had our WEDDING (A Dream Day) at the Paradisus Playa Del Carmen - La Perla, June 2017. Araceli and the romance team was amazing! She set a time schedule with all the vendors and explained everything out very clear. She kept me on target with all and I couldn’t asked for a better person or location. All our guests were very happy with staff, resort, food-delicious. Again, Araceli was very professional, kind and always with a bright SMILE to greet me in any crazy I had. I will recommend this location to all my family and friends. We are planning to have our first year anniversary at the same location….Can’t wait!
    Best, M&C

    Sent on 08/08/2017

    Paradisus Playa Del Carmen's reply:

    Dear Magie,
    Thank you for your kind words, it encourages our staff to keep doing the best for our customers, we really appreciate you take the time to do it.
    See you next year for your wedding Aniversary. Please contact me and I will personally assist you with anything you may need.

    Best,

    Claudia Perez
    Romance Manager
    Paradisus Playa del Carmen
  • User6622699 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The venue is beautiful, great food & bev and good visibility & support of staff onsite. With possibility of rain, the day of our wedding we easily moved the beachside ceremony to another location within the resort and all our guests were contacted and the event was great. The package décor options are nice and offer easy planning. As with any planning, ensure that modifications are included within the contract as there are a number of different touch-points throughout the planning process.

    Sent on 04/21/2016
  • A

    antonella · Married on 11/03/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I am very happy overall with the way the hotel and the wedding staff ran my event! It was executed very well and we all had a wonderful time! It was a wedding that will never be forgotten by all our guests! Truly amazing! The areas in which I feel could be improved upon is the response time leading up to the event. All my questions were answered. However, as a bride to be, the wait can be nerve wreaking, especially when this event is far from home. The other item that can be improved upon is flexibility. For most of my requests, my coordinator had to check with a higher manager. I feel that if the coordinators had more power to make a decision to our requests upfront, there would be less stress in the planning process. However, above all, all did a wonderful job! I am also so happy with the DJ (JSAV) and photographer (Outdoor Photography)!

    Sent on 11/17/2016
  • J

    Janet · Married on 05/08/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got the most expensive tailor made package, but it did not included a lot of decorations. The decorations were very expensive. Originally the quote they gave me was 8k on top of the package for flowers... We ended up coming down to 5k for decorations. And another 3k on photography and video. We didn't like the vendors they supplied for the video/photo, so we had to pay another $1k vendor fee for our own vendors which I thought was too much. And they charge a service fee + 16% tax on everything. So when we thought we were paying $12k for this wedding, we ended up paying $20k not including travel expenses....

    Our wedding planner Araceli was very helpful. I brought a lot of my own decorations and she was able to help me set everything up. Last minute, I miscounted and forgot to order one more bouquet of flowers, and she was able to get that for me right away. Overall, the service was great, but I wasn't too happy with all the little additional add ons to the price during the planning process.

    Sent on 06/13/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 08/26/2017

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding went on without a glitch. The coordinator kept everything flowing and I didnt have to worry about anything but getting ready. They did so many extras too - added many decor items and special moments. We also celebrated our honeymoon here and the romance coordinator added several great memories after the wedding - including setting dinner reservations in private rooms with rose petals.

    Sent on 11/04/2017
  • User2987415 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The day that we got engaged, I knew that I wanted to have our wedding at Paradisus La Perla in Playa Del Carmen. We made a trip the next day to check out the venue and their Romance team was very accommodating to us. We did have some issues working with the group sales manager for the resort, but the rest of the company's teams were excellent. It was a perfect and beautiful place for our special day, the resort is truly a 5 star resort, and all of our guests were over the moon with their experience at the Paradisus. We loved being able to customize our wedding with their Romance team. The food at the reception was a hit and every staff member on-site that we encountered was professional and courteous.

    Sent on 07/08/2013
  • User3030920 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was a GREAT place to have a destination wedding! The only issue we had was with rooming - they overbooked the weekend for our wedding but that meant our guests eventually got bumped to bigger suites. In terms of $$ and quality, we got a 10 but didn't have to spend a crazy amount. Would recommend to anyone. Went off without a hitch!

    Sent on 05/28/2013
  • User5541274 · 2+ years ago

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    It's really hard planning a destination wedding on your own but Paradisus makes it as easy as possible. I love that La Perla and La Esmeralda are right next to each other. Its great because all your guest can stay on one side while you and your husband enjoy the adults only side. My only complaint it that the people who give rates on travel are not as prompt with getting back to you. Granted this could be because my wedding was booked almost two years in advanced but I would have appreciated the communication.

    Sent on 11/23/2015
  • A

    Agota · Married on 05/12/2017

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I'M SO HAPPY WE DIDN'T HAVE OUR WEDDING HERE! We felt like as soon as they hear the word "wedding" they just double the price on everything! The worst part we were not even upset about that... it's just frustrating that we were about to book 40 rooms and spend lot of money on the wedding but additionally they still wanted to charge $5000 for the private event space which not includes food, liquor or decor IN AN ALL INCLUSIVE place - I think that's just ridiculous!

    The worst part was that when we visited the hotel, they put us in a dirty room that was facing the bushes and when we complained the front desk didn't even want to talk to us. We felt like the staff was arrogant, specially the towel guy and front desk people on the phone including the manager. The hotel is dark and far from glamorous, the beach is tiny and mosquitos are everywhere. If you don't care where you getting married, this is the perfect place ... if you do care about your special day and your guests.. stay away from this hotel - there are so many other amazing resorts in Mexico .. this one doesn't deserve any stars.

    Sent on 12/18/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review