Skip to main content
Weddings

Papercake Designs Reviews

Papercake Designs

Papercake Designs

South Lake Tahoe, CA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 47 Reviews
View more information

47 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 47
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4 User photos

  • Ashley
    Ashley Married on 10/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Themed Invitations

    She was wonderful to work with and the product was beautiful. She took edits very well and created custom work for my wedding. I couldn't have asked for someone better to work with.
  • N
    Nicole Married on 01/27/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't say enough great things about Larissa & Papercake Designs. We ordered the custom Vintage Ticket invitations with a belly band and RSVP card with envelope and they were perfect! So happy with the quality and with how easy the process was from start to finish. Larissa sent me so many paper options, colors, fonts, and sample invites, and answered all of my questions promptly and thoroughly.
    Our wedding was in January and we sent out our invitations in November, and we are still getting compliments on the design! Many guests have said it's the most creative and imaginative invitation they have ever received, and that makes me feel good. I think a lot of guests assumed we designed them ourselves, and I always tell them there is an artist in northern California who created and designed them. We just gave her the info needed and she turned them into such a memorable souvenir for our vintage movie-themed wedding. One of our guests made us a shadowbox of our complete invitation and it's one of our most treasured wedding gifts (it's up on the wall of our living room so everyone who comes over can see it).
    We also came to her to design our place cards in the style of a vintage movie ticket and again, they were fantastic! Almost every guest at the wedding took their place card home, which is rare!
    Thank you so much Larissa & Papercake Designs! I will never forget the essential part you played in our wedding.
  • C
    Cindy Married on 08/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Larissa of Papercake Designs was terrific to work with. She did such a fabulous job on or wedding invitations, and we got a lot of compliments on them from our guests, that we asked her to create a lot of other things for the event, including menus, escort cards, table cards, welcome sign, party favor jar labels and framed drink, dessert and hors d'oeuvres menus. She was prompt and professional and worked with us to get the exact right design that we wanted for everything. For certain events, you want so much to go right and you want to be able to express your own style and personality in all the details. Larissa's great work allowed us to do this with every design that she worked on with us. We can't recommend her talent and professionalism and the care she puts into her work and into ensuring that it gets delivered on time highly enough! Thank you, Larissa! :)
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • B
    Norma Married on 09/30/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    She made the best custom Save the Dates for us.
  • J
    Joshua Married on 04/25/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you are seeking beautiful, memorable, and customized wedding invitations, go with Papercake!

    We wanted a unique invitation for our wedding and Papercake exceeded our expectations in every way imaginable! Larissa did a FANTASTIC job of capturing every single detail of our requests (and even custom-created a skyline from scratch). She was equally patient with us in the numerous modifications that we requested throughout the process. We even had a last minute change and she worked brilliantly to deliver for us.

    She was very responsive and we couldn't have been more pleased with her work. We even had several guests compliment our invitations, which was a great feeling!!

    Stop your searching now, and email Larissa. You'll be so glad that you did!!
  • S
    Shelby Married on 02/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Larissa was so great to work with. She was prompt in answering any questions and created a beautiful personalized design for our wedding invitation suite. I shopped around quite a bit before purchasing anything and her prices were the best I'd seen for everything that was included.
  • C
    Christine Married on 06/21/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Papercake Designs was a true godsend for us. Having no clue where to go, our wedding planner recommended Papercake and we were totally enamored with Larissa's beautiful, unique designs. A lot of our guests said that they were the BEST invitations they've ever seen. It was so much better than using one of the typical websites because Larissa makes everything from hand and there were so many personal touches. She really got the vibe that we were going for, too. HIGHLY recommend. It was an absolutely fantastic experience. Papercake helped make our day perfect.
  • User1613970 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Larissa designed the invitations, place cards, and programmes for my wedding a few weeks ago. She was fabulous! She provided lots of great suggestions and was very responsive. The quality of the final product was amazing - everyone loved the unique and special design!
  • H
    Hung Married on 02/15/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Larissa was very accommodating and even expedited our shipment when we only gave her a 3 week notice! She's great. THanks Larissa.
  • E
    Eunice Married on 09/07/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My highest recommendation. Larissa of Papercake Designs was one of my favorite vendors that I have worked with for my upcoming wedding.

    When my fiance and I started shopping for our wedding invitations, it was a struggle for the both of us. The fiance was constantly bored and I was constantly unimpressed. I've been told that I am very picky and am a perfectionist to a tee, so you can imagine how difficult it was for me to find a wedding invitation design that I loved. I then started researching for custom invitation designers and then found Larissa of PaperCake Designs through Yelp, and my life changed forever. From when my fiance and I first met her to every single email I sent her (at least fifty emails and counting, lol), Larissa has been so easy to work with. She was able to deliver exactly what I wanted and more, and our families and guests absolutely LOVED our invitations. We received numerous compliments and even my fiance continues to talk about how nice they are. I will truly love and cherish our wedding invitations forever.

    Also, we loved Larissa's work so much that we hired her to do all of our wedding stationary (ceremony programs, menu cards, seating chart, placecards, table name signs - you name it and Larissa is doing it!). My soon-to-be mother-in-law also hired her to do our rehearsal dinner invitations, and my mother has already said she'll be hiring Larissa for my sister's wedding (and my sister isn't even engaged yet lol).

    I will be referring all of my engaged friends to her and will always keep her in mind when planning for a party such as baby showers, anniversary parties, etc. I cannot recommend Larissa of Papercake Designs enough. You can trust that she will deliver and that is certainly one less thing for a bride to stress about.

    Thank you Larissa!!!
  • E
    Eunice Married on 09/07/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My highest recommendation. Larissa of Papercake Designs was one of my favorite vendors that I have worked with for my upcoming wedding.

    I tstarted researching for custom invitation designers and then found Larissa of PaperCake Designs through Yelp, and my life changed forever. From when my fiance and I first met her to every single email I sent her (at least fifty emails and counting, lol), Larissa has been so easy to work with. She was able to deliver exactly what I wanted and more, and our families and guests absolutely LOVED our invitations. We received numerous compliments and even my fiance continues to talk about how nice they are. I will truly love and cherish our wedding invitations forever.

    Also, we loved Larissa's work so much that we hired her to do all of our wedding stationary (ceremony programs, menu cards, seating chart, placecards, table name signs - you name it and Larissa is doing it!). My soon-to-be mother-in-law also hired her to do our rehearsal dinner invitations, and my mother has already said she'll be hiring Larissa for my sister's wedding (and my sister isn't even engaged yet lol).

    I will be referring all of my engaged friends to her and will always keep her in mind when planning for a party such as baby showers, anniversary parties, etc. I cannot recommend Larissa of Papercake Designs enough. You can trust that she will deliver and that is certainly one less thing for a bride to stress about.
  • T
    T And Married on 09/07/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The wedding has been over for a week and we are STILL receiving compliments on these very inventive invitations. Over half of our guests made comments on the RSVP cards noting how unique and just plain cool these invitations were. Music was a theme for our wedding so the invitations matched perfectly with the theme. Inventive, unique and one of a kind were terms often used to describe tem. High quality paper and exacting printing with vibrant colors are all just added bonuses to the very inventive design and over-all concept.

    Our hats (and veils) off to Larissa!
  • T
    Teri Married on 07/20/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Larissa Linn of Papercake Designs was so great to work with. I found Papercake Designs on Etsy when looking for Save The Date ideas.

    Larissa did a great Save the Date for us that looks like a football game ticket. We are huge Oregon Ducks football fans and she did a great job.

    She also did our wedding invitations which were just what we had been looking for. Larissa was so responsive and quickly answered all of my emails with suggestions and helped us in making a decision on invitations.

    We would recommend Larissa and Papercake Designs to future brides and grooms.

    Tim and Teri
  • N
    Naomi Married on 10/20/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you want customizable, unique and beautiful wedding invites, Larissa/Papercake Designs is your gal. I found Larissa online and prior to booking her for any services, she sat down and met with my fiance and I to get an idea of what we wanted. She came with different types of papers, colors and a ton of sample invites so we could get a clear idea of what she could create. I was having a hard time looking at invites online, so having her sit down and show us all her various options was very helpful.

    Larissa will customize all kinds of details for you. We had her draw in the University of San Francisco in our San Francisco skyline because it's where we met. She offers helpful suggestions along the way, and if you want to some portions of your invites or programs as DIY, Larissa mocks up your invite and you print. A great way to save money if you have the time to do some DIY. Disclosure - I had Larissa print everything because I didn't have free time and it was very helpful!

    Larissa always went the extra mile for us. She even altered our monogram to fit on CD labels for no extra cost so we could make custom CD's. We got so many rave reviews and compliments on on our wedding invites & programs. Larissa is truly a gem when it comes to wedding invites, and her pricing is reasonable for how much she does.
  • User863016 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Larissa did an absolutely wonderful job designing our concert ticket escort cards. We received so many compliments on how cute and creative they were. She was also very prompt and helpful during the design process. I would highly recommend her work!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 05/05/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Larissa was amazing to work with! She took our very vague ideas and color schemes and turned them into the most beautiful beach themed wedding invitations. She also made fantastic maps to help the guests find all of the events at our destination wedding. As we kicked ideas around she was always very on top of communication and the turnaround time from ideas to product was fantastic. We've already recommended her to friends, but our invitations beat us to it:-) We had friends and family asking who had done our invitations so they could refer their friends!
  • K
    Katherine Married on 05/05/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Larissa is amazing at producing beautiful cards and paper products for every part of a wedding! She helped us design a custom theme and then continued that theme from save the date cards to our thank you cards! Our friends and family are still talking about our gorgeous invitations and the adorable custom maps she made for our many destination wedding events.
  • Amanda
    Amanda Married on 10/01/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Larissa is fantastic to work with. She made our custom, save-the-date, invitations, place-cards, table cards, favor tags, and note tent cards for the disposable cameras we had on each table for our wedding, and they were all beautiful and done so well. She sent us samples of the cards, gave us ideas with various paper choices well in advance of our wedding and also had everything shipped in plenty time for our big day. The service she provides is bar-none the best… Her quality of work is excellent with very reasonable prices. I would recommend Larissa services to any bride for her wedding needs.

    Larissa – I look forward to working with you in the future.
  • User851422 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't believe it's been a year since our wedding and I hadn't had a chance to post this review! Larissa has been amazing from the start. My husband and I are eye surgeons and she made every effort to contribute to that theme. She made the best "save-the-dates" in the form of an eye chart--our friends could not stop RAVING about them. Then, she made our invitations, which had an ISHIHARA plate logo (look up "ishihara color plate" on google) with our initials on it. She had to make every circle of different shapes and shades by hand to simulate a test for color blindness! She worked tirelessly on this challenging theme. She was very open to critiques and requests. She was also prompt. Larissa actually got very sick while making our invitations--but she forced herself to make it by the deadline--nearly on her deathbed.
    Larissa is so talented and dedicated. I would completely trust her again for an important occasion. She's pretty much capable of anything!
  • K
    Kerry Married on 06/18/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    She was great! This was the second wedding she helped with (first my brothers, then mine) and I would recommend her to anyone looking for creative and fun wedding invites!
  • C
    Carolyn Married on 04/30/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had an excellent experience working with Larissa. She made custom theme placecards and table cards for our wedding, and they were beautiful. Working from across the country, she sent us samples of the cards with various paper choices well in advance of our wedding, and had everything shipped to us in plenty of time for our big day. She provided good quality work at very reasonable prices. I would highly recommend Larissa's services to any bride for her wedding paper needs!
  • N
    Aileen Married on 03/19/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    During my wedding planning, people often told me not to spend a lot of time on the invitations--after all, the guests just throw them away, right? With Papercake Designs, you can be rest-assured that they won't. I have gotten so many compliments on my invitations and know it's a keeper. I loved the invitations Larissa made for me so much, I seriously felt a twinge of sadness every time I sent them out! When I was down to my last ones, I seriously thought about saying "No," to my parents when they wanted to invite last minute guests, just so I could keep a few more!

    My coordinator Uyen of Sassy Girl Weddings put it best: "Custom invitations for non-custom price." I knew I didn't want something generic, but i didn't want to break the bank either. Because my invitations had to be bilingual, I felt constrained to sticking with the Chinese invitation shops but didn't find anything that wowed me. Having Larissa do bilingual is no problem--just find a template online or have someone you know write it out and give it to her as a pdf. She also made me custom table number/menu cards which added so much beauty and completeness to the theme.

    Brides who do not live in the Bay Area--not a problem. Truthfully, other than our first meeting,most of our design collaboration was done over email, and she gives you a lot of great visuals to work with. It doesn't hurt that she has the most positive energy and is the nicest person ever.

  • K
    Kathleen Married on 12/18/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Larissa of Papercake Designs was an absolute pleasure to work with. My fabulous wedding planner, Uyen of Sassy Girl Weddings, recommended her to us to take care of all our wedding stationery needs and I am so glad she did. Larissa is definitely fun and creative, but I found her flexibility and quality of service to be her strongest points. With Larissa, you'll have tons of options from which to create the most perfect Save the Date card, invitations, escort cards, table tents, etc. And with your input and Larissa's creative/design skills, you are guaranteed a truly unique, custom, flawless product.

    I remember receiving the box of invitations in the mail. I had seen a proof of it online and loved it, but when the actual invitations arrived, I was even more impressed! Larissa was really able to work with the idea presented to her, and she was able to do that with our budget and timeline in mind. She is truly a professional and I would ask for her services again in the future.

    Thank you Larissa for helping to make my wedding beautiful!
  • R
    Rosa Married on 10/09/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I felt I needed more numbers to rate Larissa's service. I must say I fully recommend Papercakedesigns.

    When planning my wedding invitations I basically took a very systematic approach looking at lots of websites and vendors and everything.... and then I found Larissa's amazing website. I had no doubt this was going to be it. I liked the fact that she has a blog where you can see what the "Real" fruit of her services has produced. It was clear that besides the products looking good there was something very positive about dealing with her. So I went ahead. Our wedding was in Spain and it was in three languages. I loved one of the designs Larissa had in her site and sent her an email asking if she would be ok with us discussing a variation on that one to accommodate our requirements. I was delighted to receive a very quick answer. Larissa proposed to meet and accommodated to my not-so-easy time schedule. Moreover, she suggested to make my future husband participate (something I hadn't thought of) and he was delighted. In the end between Larissa and my fiance, they created one of the most perfect invites I've ever seen. For us, it matched perfectly the way we are and the way we see things and people were very complimentary of the invites.
    Larissa is a gentle, creative, smart, adaptable and very efficient artist/businesswoman. She is fast without making quality suffer for that and she adapts to budgets and expectations in a way that I have not experienced with many other vendors before.

    I cannot praise her work more and I fully recommend her services as a vendor.
  • J
    Jacquie Married on 09/25/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    After spending months trolling the internet (weddingpaperdivas.com, etc) for wedding invitations, I couldn’t find anything that fit my needs. In addition to not loving the pre-made designs, I needed a custom size. Thankfully, I found Larissa at Papercake!
    Larissa met with my fiancé and I to discuss what we were looking for and the colors we needed. She completely nailed it. We got invitations, reply cards, enclosure cards, and maps. We later had her create programs, menus, and table name signs. Larissa was able to create completely custom invitations at a reasonable price. So many of the custom designers only do letterpress. As beautiful as that is – that wasn’t how I wanted to spend my money.
    I am so happy I found Papercake and will definitely use her for all future invitation/printing needs.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message