Palm Island Resort Reviews

15 | Placida, FL
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for Palm Island Resort

Recommended by 98%

15
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

18 User photos

Palm Island Resort 1
Palm Island Resort 2
Palm Island Resort 3
Palm Island Resort 4
Palm Island Resort 5
Palm Island Resort 6
Palm Island Resort 7
+ 12
Sort by:
  • Dennis

    Dennis Anderson · Married on 02/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Gulf Coast Wedding

    My wife and I got married at the Palm Island Resort on 2/23/19. There is no real way to fully understand how beautiful this place is without seeing it for yourself. The ferry ride separating Palm Island from the mainland may only take a minute, but it feels like it takes you miles away from everything else. We were looking for a place to get away from it all and just focus on each other and our closest friends and family, and I can't imagine finding a better place. We had around 50 people for our wedding, but the resort could certainly handle 3x that. Some of the guests enjoyed a golf outing, others went on a guided kayak tour where manatees came up to the kayaks and allowed you to touch them. During our ceremony on Stump Pass Beach, dolphins could be seen jumping in the Gulf. If I made up a story about what the wedding should have been like...... it would have been what happened. I cannot recommend this place strongly enough.

    We rented out the Rum Bay Restaurant from 10:00-12:00 for an after party since we knew the group would still want a place to play after the reception was over. That option was a really great addition to the event.

    Make sure to arrange golf carts for your vendors for the day of the wedding as no cars are allowed on the resort.

    Sent on 03/17/2019
    Palm Island Resort 18
    Palm Island Resort 19
    Palm Island Resort 20
  • AmyJo

    AmyJo · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just got married on Palm Island on 6/2/2018. We had 44 people for our destination wedding and it was amazing! Such a beauty’s resort and the staff is beyond helpful and friendly. I worked with Kacey to plan our wedding and he was extremely responsive, helpful and had great suggestions when needed too. On the day of the ceremony Kacey had everything under control and it all went exactly as planned. We chose to have the reception inside to avoid the heat and it was just perfect. The food was AMAZING and they took care of everyone! I loved having my guests all in one place on the island and enjoyed spending time with them a couple of days before and after. Everyone at this resort, from the Front Desk ladies to the staff at the Rum Bar, constantly went above and beyond which I feel like I’d just their normal. You won’t be disappointed with location and Kacey will take great care of you through out the whole process.

    Sent on 06/10/2018
    Palm Island Resort 21
    Palm Island Resort 22
    Palm Island Resort 23
    Palm Island Resort 24
    Palm Island Resort 25
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 12/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't say enough about Palm Island Resort! This was a destination wedding for our families from Indiana. Amy and Lisa were so easy to work with. Amy made sure everything ran smoothly and was very helpful! The entire staff was great at the reception and the food was delicious. We had so many guests commenting on how good the food was and how beautiful the club house courtyard is. The island itself is so gorgeous and private! It's the perfect getaway spot. We will definitely be back for anniversaries and family reunions. Thank you for all the great memories, Palm Island!

    Sent on 03/02/2017
  • W

    Wendy · Married on 11/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our dream wedding at Palm Island Resort!! Amy Loy is simply awesome - so easy to work with and handled all of our questions and changes with ease. The resort is GORGEOUS and exactly what we wanted. We had our ceremony at Stump Pass and the reception at the Clubhouse Courtyard. Everything could not have gone smoother. Weather was perfect, food was incredible and the Rum Bay Punch was flowing! Our guests are still talking about how incredible our wedding was and what a great time they had. So many wonderful memories made. We are so grateful to the entire staff who worked so hard to make our wedding day so special. BEST DAY EVER!!!

    Sent on 12/19/2016
  • J

    Jeremy · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One word....AMAZING!! My partner and I of 15 years had our wedding here and it exceeded our expectations. Amy is outstanding and one of the BEST event planners around. Lisa in sales is awesome as well. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. Food and beverage is top notch. The location, is priceless. I am a local, and many people have never even heard of this place. This was our dream wedding and it exceeded our dreams and expectations! The wedding was a month ago and Our guest are still talking about how amazing and unique the wedding was.

    Sent on 08/16/2016
  • User7431894 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lisa and Amy were so very helpful with the services provided by Palm Island Resort. They worked great with our wedding planner, Marie of Live Love Breath Weddings and all our other vendors.

    From wedding site coordination to food tastings and reception set up they were on top of everything. Being from out of state they were a breeze to work with and made sure to cover everything with us in our limited visits to the resort before the wedding.

    Though thwy offered arches for backdrops. We had a custom cross for our backdrop that they allowed us to use at our ceremony at beautiful Stump Pass.

    The venue for the reception was spectacular and the value was terrific.

    We made use of several gathering spaces over the weekend as our rehearsal dinner, ceremony, reception and guest lodging were all within the resort.

    All of our guests could not stop raving about what a wonderful, quiet and beautiful location we had choosen for our wedding.

    The beaches are beautiful (and not crowded) and the sunsets are perfect. It was almost like we had rented an entire island for our guests.

    We cannot recommend this hidden jewel enough to any couple looking for a picturesque beach wedding.

    Thank you Amy and Lisa for such a memorable wedding weekend.

    Sent on 11/23/2016
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely our DREAM wedding. Beautiful settings, wonderful service, and memories that will last a lifetime. All of my guests said it was the best wedding that they have ever attended! I have already recommended Palm Island Resort to a friend who lives in Indiana and she is having her wedding there next year. Thank you for making our special day perfect!

    Sent on 02/27/2017
  • User4401207 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing wedding at Palm Island Resort. It was almost like we had our own private island! All our guests had such a great time and some even told us it was the best wedding they had ever attended. Event Coordinator Amy Loy was super helpful throughout all our planning and the entire wedding couldn't have gone smoother. If you're looking for a unique beach wedding location, Palm Island Resort will not disappoint! We are looking forward to going back in the near future.

    Sent on 05/19/2015
  • B

    Bevin · Married on 06/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    “Your Island…Your Time…Your Memories”
    We have lived 40 minutes from this tropical paradise for nearly 10 years and didn’t even know it was there! The resort offers 100 privately owned villas on a 2-mile stretch of pristine natural beachfront that is accessible only by boat or car ferry, with the primary mode of transportation on the island being golf carts! When you depart from the car ferry or tie up at the docks, it’s an unmistakable feeling of relaxation as you approach Palm Island Resort. We chose Palm Island because we felt it would provide the ideal setting for romance, as well as a simple expression of love to our dearest friends and family…and it did just that. Our big day was everything we had envisioned and although our gorgeous backdrop played a huge part, the staff played just as big a role. Lisa and Justin, event coordinators, are amazing and made everything a breeze. They led a team that set up everything for our ceremony and reception…all we had to do is wait until it was time for the “I do’s!” We couldn’t have chosen a better local and are looking forward to returning to celebrate years of anniversaries in our found paradise, that just so happened to be in our back yard, but feels a million miles away!

    Sent on 08/08/2012
  • L

    Liz · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at Palm Island Resort and it was awesome!! The coordinator was extremely responsive and would answer all of my questions and developed a relationship with me over the entire year it took to plan. We had our wedding on the beach at Stump Pass and the reception at the pool pavilion. They catered and the food was delicious! Extremely good value for all that you get! Everyone is wonderful to work with and the whole staff is so cute to the newlyweds. Wonderful island living where nothing is a secret and the staff is very happy you chose to share this moment with them. It is a perfect destination wedding too because our families and friends rented villas all around the property and we rode around in golf carts and visited and had a lot of fun! The villas are beautiful as well. My husband’s family is from Miami and they loved it as much as the folks from New York! Would recommend this place to everyone!

    Sent on 05/14/2012
  • G

    Gwen · Married on 12/14/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy at Palm Island was a Godsend for my wedding planning! She was attentive, helpful and able to put out fires (or rainstorms as was the case for us)
    We had some unexpected changes to the plans, as is the case in planning any even and Cathy was more than helpful in accomodating everyone.
    The Palm Island Resort was a beautiful setting and a wonderful place to get married.
    The food was some of the best I've ever had--and I didn't even get the chance to sample before that day. What a great experience!

    Sent on 10/23/2008
  • T

    Tina · Married on 10/22/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What an undiscovered gem - this venue was everything we could have asked for and more!! We wanted a beach wedding that felt private and relaxed but could still accommodate all our guests, and that is exactly what we got. We loved the old Florida style and the feeling of seclusion that you get when you are on the resort. Our guests are still raving about the amazing time they had - many of them are planning on booking vacations there!! Amy was fabulous and we never had to worry about anything. She handled all of the little mishaps professionally and accommodated everything we asked for. Our entire weekend went so smoothly, we kept waiting for something to go wrong!! The villas were great, the food was exceptional, and the views were stunning. MOST. PERFECT. WEDDING. EVER.

    Sent on 12/13/2016
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 02/13/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    This place is a hidden gem and I am so lucky to have found it! It's not everyday you get married on a private island ! I love everything about this location especially the drop dead gorgeous sunsets! Food, drinks and staff are all incredible especially Amy and Lisa with event services. The resort is reasonably priced and even though it is a private island it is not pretentious in the slightest bit! Amy was so helpful and helped make my wedding day absurdly magical! The only downside is the 10pm reception cut off time which depending on the time of year and if you are planning a sunset wedding, may shorten your reception time. Other than that everything else was a complete fairy tale and I would advise any bride to host their wedding there as the location takes your event and transforms it into an unbelievable experience!!! My guests are still in a daze and cannot stop posting about it all over social media. They are completely obsessed!!! We will be returning for our anniversaries there for many years to come, Palm Island will always hold such a special place in my heart =]

    Sent on 02/18/2016
  • J

    Janice · Married on 10/08/2016

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    You need to know the place and appreciate it for the beauty and beachiness it provides. Considering that we got married during a hurricane (or close to it!), they could not have been more accommodating and professional. Our wedding was better than we expected and went just as planned. I would highly recommend.

    Sent on 02/27/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review