Palate Catering Reviews

35 | Auburn, CA
See photos, pricing and details

35 Reviews for Palate Catering

Recommended by 97%

35
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

2 User photos

Palate Catering 1
Palate Catering 2
Sort by:
  • Lindsey

    Lindsey · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Food & Catering Staff

    I cannot say enough great things about Heather and the entire Palate team. We got married at Mountain Shadows Retreat in Foresthill, CA 5/18/2019. What we expected was a sunny spring day, and instead were hit with a cold rain storm. We had to adjust a lot of the plans and through it all Heather was flexible, supportive, and assured me that I did not need to worry about a thing. The wedding was a huge success, better than I imagined it would be. The food, the service, the table settings, the dessert display, the bar set-up. I loved it all and my guests raved about it. The food was so good. Everything from the appetizers (lasagne rolls!) to the salad and vegetables, to the trip-tip and salmon, to the desserts. Oh and even the bread and garlic-herb butter. Everything was exceptionally prepared and tasted amazing.
    I highly recommend Heather, Mike and Palate. You will not be disappointed!!

    Sent on 05/20/2019
  • S

    Shanti · Married on 02/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Review for wedding

    The food was so good, and the service, presentation, and professionalism were all amazing. it was a great experience. heather was so sweet and the food was soooo good. I was really really impressed and so was everyone at the wedding.

    Sent on 02/21/2019
  • Satomi

    Satomi · Married on 12/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent food and fantastic service!

    Palate Catering catered for our wedding on Dec 8, 2018, and our guests have been telling us non-stop how much they loved the dinner! I mean, who could resist their delicious entrees like "panko and fresh herb crusted salmon drizzled with lemon garlic butter", "grilled top sirloin steak with honey bourbon bacon butter", and a huge variety of equally scrumptious appetizers, sides, and salads?

    It wasn't just the food that makes Palate amazing, though. Mike and Heather have been super responsive, upfront, and thoughtful from beginning to end -- they responded to my panicked texts and emails throughout the planning process kindly, always providing great insight and advice; they were very conscientious of our guests' dietary restrictions and needs (gluten/dairy/vegetarian/vegan), providing some with specialized plates; they had one of the servers bring out appetizers during our outdoor photoshoot so that the bride&groom could have some food; and they made sure to serve us dinner, so we didn't have to scramble at the buffet line while trying to engage our guests. Furthermore, they have a great eye for decor: when I expressed that I didn't have much of an eye for table settings, they came up with a brilliant setup that matched our reception theme and color perfectly.

    I enjoyed them so much that if I have another catering event in the future, I'm definitely going to seek their services again. Thank you Mike and Heather!!

    Sent on 12/26/2018
    Palate Catering 3
    Palate Catering 4
  • Sabrina

    Sabrina · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing everything! Best vendor we hired!

    I know my review will sound like an ad but I have nothing bad to say about these guys! The one thing my guests still remember and rave about is the food at our wedding!

    What we had: Buffet with salmon, prime rib, and tons of sides.
    Food: amazing! Wish they had a restaurant.
    Price: worth every penny, and they reimbursed me for people who did not show up last minute! (price per person).
    Service: both owners were professional and friendly. The staff they hired to work our wedding were some of the nicest people I had ever met! I (bride) got really sick with nerves before the wedding, one of the waitresses saw me in the bathroom with my bridesmaids and brought me a tray of food and water. I mean, who does that? So nice! They also brought us a tray of appetizers when we were taking our wedding photos so we didn't miss out on the goods! (My husband still talks about the lasagna pinwheels). And they brought the bride and groom plates (with a little of everything) to our table so we did not have to wait in line with our guests. And checked on us throughout the night. Total VIP feel all night.

    TIP: buy lots of disposable tupperwares and plastic bags for leftovers. Your fridge and spouse will thank you the next day when you are eating the most amazing left over food imaginable.

    Mune for our wedding:

    Appetizers:
    Antipasto skewers with basil oil
    Spinach Ricotta Lasagna Lollipops (groom's favorite)
    Baked Italian focaccia bread

    Dinner:
    Spinach salad with goat cheese and pomegranate vinaigrette
    Caesar Salad with house made croutons
    Roasted red potatoes with rosemary
    Vegetable Tian with Italian herbs and Parmesan
    Spicy Lime baked Salmon (bride's favorite)
    Roasted Prime Rib with creamed Horseradish (guest's favorite)
    Dinner roll assortment with whipped herb butter

    Love, Sabrina and Brandon Moore

    Sent on 07/24/2019
  • B

    Brian Forbes · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Could not have asked for more

    The team at Palate catering provides an absolutely superb experience. From the moment we spoke, my bride and I knew we were speaking to the right people. From their no-nonsense pricing structure to their free tasking (both for the meal as well as cake!), the experience upfront was simple and fun. The team was incredibly patient while my bride and I decided on the details of the place setting and decorations. We didn't have all the details right the first time and Palate were supportive and patient every step of the way. The food itself is out of this world. Not only do they use organically source produce when possible, they even take it a step further and use their own greenhouse-grown food for your wedding, which was a huge bonus. Every guest left that night with full bellies and rave reviews. Even when times get stressful, Palate makes sure that you (specifically bride and groom) are taken care of. Last, but not least, you'll be sure to eat during your wedding!

    Sent on 11/18/2018
  • D

    Dora · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Palate catering are amazing, Heather and Michael made my husband bday so special. Their food is to die for. Their staff were so professional and friendly

    Sent on 10/01/2018
  • E

    Erin · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was excellent and it was one of the few things I didn't have to worry about because I knew it was all being taken care of. And it was! Mike and Heather made the whole process easy and fun!

    Sent on 10/14/2018
  • S

    Stacie · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Palate Catering for our wedding on 8/11/18. I can't say enough good things about Heather and Mike! They are extremely professional, easy to work with, and courteous! They answer emails, texts and calls quickly! The food was absolutely amazing (Yes, we ate at our wedding)! All of our guests commented about how delicious it was. We wanted to have three meat options for our plated dinner and they were more than willing to accommodate us. When using Palate Catering you can customize your menu for what you want. I love this idea instead of being forced to use a "cookie cutter" menu. Our venue was two hours from their location and again, they were more than happy to come to our location. They even made us a special plate of our Hors D'oeuvre's since we were taking pictures during cocktail hour. You can really customize any and everything with Palate Catering in order to make your event special and one of a kind! We used their bartender services and were so happy! Would highly recommend using Palate Catering for any and all of your catering needs!

    Sent on 08/29/2018
  • R

    Roxanne · Married on 07/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heather and Mike were so great to work with! They were our first and last food tasting, that's how wonderful they were - we fell in love with them from the beginning!

    The menu is outstanding and the taste was marvelous for all of the courses that we chose. They grow their own vegetables so everything is fresh!

    We're very lucky to have found Palate Catering and would recommend them to anyone who is looking for great food and service at a very reasonable price!

    Sent on 10/04/2018
  • alexandra

    alexandra · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike and Heather are amazing they were the stars of the evening for us. I planned everything but catering on my own so naturally alot went wrong and they just rolled with it!! They were able to prepare all our food on the top of a mountain with no electricity or water. And they grow most of there own veggies and herbs! It could not have been more fresh. food was fantastic, even better than I remember at the tasting. They worked within our budget and made it look like we spent a fortune. I got so many compliments on how great the food was (Mike your butter was a major hit) and how wonderful their team was. And they really just have an amazing energy to them and that is huge to have around in the chaos of a diy wedding (or any wedding I imagine).

    I cannot thank palate catering enough for all they did for us on our wedding.

    Sent on 07/31/2018
  • M

    Mike · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply outstanding! From the quality to the presentation to the staff - everything was top notch!

    Sent on 09/24/2018
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Look no further! This is hands down the best catering option out there. Heather and Mike were an absolute joy to work with and the food is beyond amazing. We used Palate catering for our wedding of 130 people and everyone is still talking about how amazing the food was. They made sure that my husband and I were fed before and after the ceremony and left plenty of food for us to take with us to the hotel after. They’re amazing!!

    Sent on 06/24/2018
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 03/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heather and Mike are two of the most amazing people we have ever met. When I first talked with Heather over the phone, she really helped me to understand catering for a wedding business. We talked for over an hour and she even recommended me to talk to other caterers so that I was confident with what we wanted. I knew that they were honest and good hearted people, and they truly seemed to care about us as people and not just as their clients. They made us feel heard and the food was so particular to us as a couple - it was a perfect fit. They were the first vendor we choose for our wedding.

    My husband and I could not stop talking about how good the food was - even the salad dressings were homemade from their garden! Anyways, we told everyone before the wedding that the food was worth the long drive.
    Palate Catering Co is located in Auburn and our wedding was in Graeagle, in March, in the snow. They drove all the way up there and were such troopers to brave the cold and road closures. I had people coming up to me and say “This was the best food I have ever had at a wedding.” My brother, who is a big foodie, even said that that was the best cooked meat. Heather and Mike really take pride in their food and presentation - and it was the most beautiful presentation I have ever seen.

    Also, Heather was 8 months pregnant and she was outside cooking! My husband and I were taking pictures outside for a while in the snow, and Mike came all the way down to where we were to bring us wine and beer so we could warm up a bit:) We truly can't thank them enough.

    They brought all the linens, silverware, cold drinks, coffee bar, food, appetizers, desserts, and our wedding cheesecake - which was delicious. My husband and I highly recommend you try their cheesy focaccia bread - it is the BEST bread we've ever had!! The servers they brought were so lovely. Everything looked beautiful, and I am so grateful for the amazing people that is Palate Catering Co!

    Sent on 04/29/2018
  • K

    Kim · Married on 12/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heather and Mike and their entire staff is very nice and professional. All the food was exceptional as well as the presentation.
    Very happy! will definitely use them again!

    Sent on 01/27/2018
  • C

    Christine · Married on 12/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were delighted with our choice for our daughter's wedding. From start to finish, Mike and Heather were top notch. Their planning and attention to detail were exactly what we were looking for. The guests at the reception commented many times over, how tasty our dinner was. If you are looking for affordable, tasty and professional...this IS the catering company you must hire. You will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 01/15/2018
  • S

    Sarah · event on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My graduation party was the second time I worked with Palate Catering, and once again I could not be more impressed. I first worked with the company 3 years ago, for my high school graduation and even then, everything turned out wonderfully. But the amount of growth that they have gone through since then is truly amazing. This event was beautiful. From the time Michael sent me the menu options, I was so excited. I even had a difficult time settling on a menu, because so many of them sounded delicious. The Italian menu I finally settled on turned out better than I ever could have imagined. There was something for everyone! My vegetarian and gluten free friends were grateful that there were so many options they could eat -- and those without diet restrictions or preferences didn't miss out, because every dish tasted great! Not only was the food tasty, it was also creative. My guests were very amused by the "Lasagna Lollipops" that were served as an appetizer. Honestly, I could not be happier or more grateful with the service from Palate Catering. 10/10, would recommend.

    Sent on 09/27/2017
  • J

    JR · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When Joan wanted baked salmon and tri-tip for our 40th anniversary dinner/party (40 adults), there weren't as many caterers willing to provide that menu. Heather and Mike offered their services and we accepted. When we asked for appetizers, Heather came through with an exceptional display of hors d'oeuvres. And they tasted good too. The original July date was postponed due to Joan's illness, so when it got changed to September 16, they were very accommodating. I would hire Palate Catering again.

    Sent on 10/05/2017
  • P

    Paola · Married on 09/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our son's wedding rehearsal dinner catered by Heather and Mike (Palate Catering). They were absolutely wonderful in all aspects. The food was fresh, delicious and the presentation was gorgeous. I also have to add that they were very accommodating to some of our food allergies (like gluten). They were professional, super friendly (I feel I could be best friends with them), and very flexible with our tardiness (the rehearsal took a little longer than planned). My only regrets is that we did not hire them for the actual wedding day. In comparing the two caterers, Palate Catering wins hands down. We love them and will be utilizing their services again and again.

    Sent on 09/30/2017
  • M

    Malea · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike and Heather are absolutely incredible! Their food is top notch and we couldn't have asked for better people to share our special day with!

    Sent on 08/28/2017
  • Martha

    Martha · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My newly wedded husband and I got so many compliments for the food, and that says it all! We had empanadas, cranberry habanero cream puffs, and apricot with goat cheese as appetizers, and for the meal, we had a spinach and strawberry salad, bowtie pasta, roasted vegetables (roasted to perfection!), and a choice of herb crusted salmon or pork roulade. Heather and Mike, plus their servers, poured sparkling wine that we provided during the dinner. After my newly wedded husband and I did the first cake cutting, they took the cake to the back and cut it and served for guests. They also poured coffee upon request.

    From the beginning, Heather was very upfront about costs and rentals needed. Their tasting was complimentary, and from that experience, my then fiance and I new we were in good hands. They were very meticulous about presentation, and we really got a sense of how service at the wedding will be like. On the day itself, they delivered!

    It is important to note that we paid for an alcohol serving license along with 4 servers for up to 7 hours for a wedding of 150 guests. All of this was laid out in the proposal and contract, so there were no surprises. What was a surprise was how our wedding was more than we dreamed of! I am proud to be a bride who ate on her wedding day, but my one regret is not eating more!

    One more important note: since we provided our own rentals and alcohol, Heather recommended item amounts and alcohol purchases. This really helped ease our planning process, and we could not be happier with our choice!

    Sent on 07/10/2017
  • E

    Emilie · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Palate Catering went above and beyond our expectations. We recently hired them to cater my Grandpa's Celebration of Life. Planning such an event can be stressful and sad, but Heather and Mike made the process completely stress-free. After my initial email for information, Heather called me right away to discuss details. They already had another event planned that day, but they did not make us feel secondary. Heather was helpful in answering all (of my many) questions. She helped us plan a diverse lunch menu and had some great advice! Mike and crew came to set up the tables a few days before the event so that the morning of the event wouldn't be so rushed. On the day of the celebration, Mike and crew showed up early and were extremely helpful with all details. I loved how he came with his sister, niece and brother-in-law... truly making this a family business and very personal. The food was absolutely delicious and the display was beautiful. I had mentioned that my Grandpa's favorite thing was dessert, and they made the dessert table the focal point of the display... with their own decor and elements that made it special. We had a bigger turnout than originally expected, but they were prepared with extra food and were very helpful in accommodating the extra guests. The clean-up process was just as smooth and the set-up and they even packed us some leftovers in Tupperware!

    I really couldn't have asked for a better company or better service for my Grandpa's celebration. Guests are still calling and asking who we used...because they loved it all so much.

    Thank you Mike and Heather for making a difficult day a little bit less difficult.

    We appreciate you!

    Sent on 06/07/2017
  • A

    Abby · Married on 01/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Palate Catering for a corporate dinner. We traveled from North Dakota to South Lake Tahoe for a corporate meeting. I never met Mike in person until the day of, but I never had any reservations that the dinner/service wouldn't be anything but the best. He was always quick to communicate and had great ideas for our event. They did a fabulous job at picking out apps, the meal choices, deserts and drinks. Everyone in our company raved about how cool the experience was and the awesome food! The only downside to Palate Catering company, is that they aren't closer to where we live!

    Sent on 02/10/2017
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 12/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have used a few different people for catering events and by far Palate Catering exceeded my expectations in quality and value. I would highly recommend them. Kathy, Artistic Edge Gallery & Framing

    Sent on 02/22/2017
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Palate catering was a great experience for my father's 100th Birthday, a party for 115, mostly older people. The food was terrific and the taste testing was a great experience unto itself. Their staff was courteous and professional, assisting those who were physically unable to walk through the buffet line. Mike and Heather were very easy to work with and were constantly checking in with us throughout the evening. We are looking for events where we can use them again.

    Sent on 01/30/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review