Skip to main content
Weddings

Outrageous Food & Events Reviews

Outrageous Food & Events

Outrageous Food & Events

Kailua Kona, HI
4.8 out of 5 rating, 21 Reviews
View more information

21 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 21
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

18 User photos

  • Lysandra
    Lysandra M. Married on 09/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Couldn't be Happier!!

    After getting engaged on the Big Island of Hawaii in late February 2020, we made the decision that we wanted to get married in Hawaii. Before departing, we had our venue and date (September 2021) picked out but knew we couldn’t plan the wedding from New Jersey without help. After doing some research and recommendations from family, we decided to reach out to Chef Katherine at Outrageous Gourmet. Shortly after requesting a wedding consultation, Chef Katherine reached out to us via telephone. Our initial conversation lasted over two hours and by the time we hung up, we knew she was the one.
    Then COVID-19 hit, but we pushed ahead!!! We continued to plan our wedding with Chef Katherine. She stayed positive, but always had a contingency plan in the event we had to make any changes. During the early stages, we had our entire wedding day planned out, including vendor options, the menu, and everything worked within our budget. Chef Katherine has a very creative mind and was never short of suggestions or great ideas. Once we laid out the initial groundwork, all we had to do was fine tune the plan and hope that COVID restrictions would not interfere with our wedding day.
    Unfortunately, the heightened restrictions brought on by the spike in cases almost put an end to our special day. However, with Chef Katherine’s help and guidance, we were able to apply for and receive an exemption which allowed us to proceed with our wedding.
    We arrived back in Hawaii a little less than a week before our wedding. The day after our arrival, we finally got to meet Chef Katherine in person, and we hit the ground running. It felt like we knew her for ages because of all our correspondence over the last year and a half. We used the week to take care of any last-minute arrangements that could not be handled from New Jersey. Chef Katherine made sure to have time for us either in person or by phone, in case we had any questions leading up to our special day.
    On the day of the wedding, Chef Katherine not only brought her A game, but brought the A-team. From her staff to her vendor selection, it couldn’t have been a more perfect combination. We opted for a heavy pass of her gourmet pupu’s, or as we know them appetizers, instead of a formal sit-down dinner. The pupus that we selected to be served were absolutely delicious. We also opted for a non-traditional cake and went with Chef Katherine’s gourmet lilikoi (passionfruit) cheesecake instead, which was to die for. She gave us the option of providing our providing our own alcohol, which we did. This option gave us the opportunity to purchase all our alcohol, minus liquor, from our favorite local Big Island brewery, Ola. The bartender served all the alcohol, including our signature drink, which was a Mai Tai Mojito combination (mai-jito), that everyone loved.
    Chef Katherine was able to work her magic and make our dream wedding come true! We couldn’t be happier with her and her team, Outrageous Gourmet. If you’re looking to have a perfect wedding or just a catered meal on the Big Island, we HIGHLY recommend Chef Katherine and Outrageous Gourmet.
  • Susan
    Susan S. Married on 05/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely amazing! Could not wish for more.

    My niece was having a destination wedding on the Big Island this past February with my sister doing the planning. She was practically pulling her hair out trying to get things organized. I suggested a wedding planner might make her life easier. She agreed and picked Outrageous Gourmet, which was a fabulous choice. Katherine stayed in close contact with my sister to make sure that everything was the way she and my niece wanted things.
    Everything was perfect from the flowers, to the musicians, to the absolutely out of this world food! The staff came with table settings etc and had everything ready in almost no time. The food was prepared on site and was beautifully presented as well as indescribably delicious.
    At the end of the wedding day, the place that we rented was put back in order and the leftovers were boxed up for future meals, believe me when I say we all wanted left overs!
    Having Outrageous Gourmet is like having a magic genie or fairy godmother to call on to fulfill your greatest desire!

    Outrageous Food & Events's reply:

    Aloha Susan,
    Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. It was my pleasure to meet and work with your family and to provide my catering along with my coordination service for your niece's destination wedding. Mahalo and A Hui Hou (Until we meet again.)
  • Ellie
    Ellie J. Married on 05/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very happy!

    Katherine catered we wedding and made recommendations for flowers, photographers, videographers and musicians. Coming from out of state it was a relief to have everything taken care of and I cannot speak more highly of the final product. We had a beautiful wedding, thank you Katherine!

    Outrageous Food & Events's reply:

    Aloha Elizabeth,
    Thank you for your great review. My team and I enjoyed providing our service to create a wonderful and stress free wedding celebration for your husband John and you. Mahalo again.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • C
    Carol J. Married on 05/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Katherine is a total blessing!

    To explain my rating I will say I gave her a 5 star rating because there was no higher rating to give.
    I held my daughter's wedding in Kona and I live on the mainland. I was frantically trying to piece together the parts for a wedding when I stumbled across a caterer who happened to also be a wedding coordinator! What a relief! WOW! She knew exactly what was needed and guided me expertly through the whole process. Everything was coordinated and planned beautifully. I loved how she was so coordinated with the menu, the itemized list, and most especially the time line. As a pilot for FedEx I am very time oriented and it gave a great sense of security, that was not falsely placed, to see the time line. She in turned was the manager to be sure it all went according to plan. She was very friendly and communicated well. And the food was outstanding!!
    In summary, I feel that I was greatly blessed, and I am greatly honored, that I was able to procure Katherine for the event.
    P.S- This included musicians, flowers, photographers, video photographers, bar etc.

    Outrageous Food & Events's reply:

    Mahalo Carol for the great review. It was an honor for my team and I to be a part of your daughter, Elizabeth and John's special wedding celebration, (and for me to bake her gluten free semi naked wedding cake!). We look forward to seeing the photos from the photographer for your beautiful daughter and family.
  • J
    J Conger Married on 02/17/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic Wedding Experience!

    Katherine was VERY organized and professional. She catered our wedding and it went off without a hitch. The food, the flowers, the decor; perfect! I highly recommend her for your catering needs!!
  • I
    Irene P. Married on 11/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Event Planner that covers every detail

    Katherine is excellent and taking a vision to make it your reality on the Big Day. She has many years of experience in creating a variety of events. From the first meeting she made us feel comfortable showing us her work and giving us options. She handled our daughter's destination wedding expertly. It was important for me to find someone I could communicate with often to talk about ideas we had. She listened and give our daughter the ideal Wedding in Kona.
  • A
    Allison P. Married on 11/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Made our dream Hawaiian wedding a reality!!!

    Katherine did an amazing job and we were so lucky to have her during our whole wedding process. We were planning from the mainland which is not east and Katherine completely brought my dream Hawaiian wedding to reality! She made our venue look so beautiful. Her vendors were very professional and talented. Chef David’s food was spectacular. Our guests have been raving about it ever since! She thought of ever detail. She even mentioned about us being served from the buffet just to save time during our reception, which is something i would never have thought of and was so grateful it happened. The catering staff was so friendly and attentive. No glass was empty the whole night! Thank you so much for everything you did for us!! It was everything I’ve ever wanted and will cherish forever!
  • S
    Sean H. Married on 10/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hawaiian Dream Wedding

    Katherine did a great job making our Hawaiian Dream Wedding into a reality. She did an amazing job communicating with us while we were planning our wedding from abroad. She helped pick out decorations to make our venue look so beautiful. She provided us with the most professional vendors. We were extraordinarily pleased with everyone she recommended. Chef David’s food was so delicious. Our wedding day was so easy and stress free due to Katherine's forethought. She thought of ever detail. We had a beautiful wedding, thank you Katherine!
  • C
    Chris Married on 06/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We're long overdue for saying Mahalo to Katherine and her team for their work at our wedding in Kona on June 21, 2017!!

    Katherine and her team were amazing! Very professional, friendly and courteous! Katherine was very responsive as we communicated ahead of time to arrange everything...we were in WA state and she made it easy! Katherine had connections to help us arrange our flowers, cake and music...she can do it all! She even impressed us all with a bunch of matching umbrellas she brought the day of the ceremony, which helped when we were blessed with a brief shower!

    The food and drinks on the day of the wedding were fantastic along with the decorations, presentation and table settings. Everyone in our party loved the food and drinks!

    You will not regret for a moment choosing Katherine and her team for your wedding or other important function!!
  • Ashley
    Ashley Married on 06/18/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Most elegant wedding

    I can not say enough positive things about outrageous gourmet and Kathryn as a wedding planner. First, I should start by saying I’m from Texas and had 80 guests! My guest list had 28 Dentists and 7 MDs, most of all who are self proclaimed Foodies! So it was a very tough crowd food wise. To make it more challenging for Kathryn, I wanted everyone to be invited to the rehearsal and the wedding. So she has the task of providing exquisite food and entertainment for 80 picky guests 2 nights in a row. She literally pulled it off with grace. Our rehearsal was a luau with a sample of local Hawaiian food. Kathryn had real leis made for each guest, incredible local flower arrangements that truly were a wow factor and the absolute best luau food I have ever had. She even connected us with and set up and entire group of fire dancers ( 20 plus firedancers) for the most incredible entertainment! The night was incredible and was such a wow that I was worried our wedding night might not be able to compete. Well the next night was the actual wedding. I’m obviously biased, but my wedding was the neatest wedding I have ever been to! The food was incredible. Cocktail time was lamb lollipops that my husband still talks about, and ahi tuna bowls that actually smoked when you opened them!! Such a neat touch of gastronomy! Our actual meal was a filet with lobster and everything was perfectly executed and tasted incredible. I also wanted a geode cake, which Kathryn made happen! Everything we asked for, she has a solution or person to take care of it. I wanted a harp player, she even had one those ready to go! I should also say that I was originally set on a venue, and after talking to me, she knew it wasn’t what I was thinking it was. I was looking at pictures online and basing my decision from the pictures! Because she knew it looked a little different, she asked me to come and check it out — which I wasn’t sure I wanted to do, but I was so glad I did because she was 1000% correct I didn’t care for the venue that I thought I wanted. I wanted to cry when I saw it! She told me not to worry, she had booked a showing for me at another place she thinks I may actually like! We went to the new venue and I immediately fell in love! The best part was the new place she suggested was 1/4 the price of the original place I thought I wanted. So I ended up with a much more desirable venue at a much reduced cost. Basically if you are not from Hawaii, and want the classiest wedding you can possibly have, Kathryn/outrageous gourmet is the only way to go. She is an excellent chef, and so well connected to anything else you could need wedding wise. I had a lot going on during the time leading up to my wedding and she made everything so so easy. I know most people think wedding planning is stressful but nothing was made stressful for me. She called me when she needed me to make a decision and took care of the rest ( at my request)! I feel so lucky to have gotten the opportunity to work with her and truly had the most incredible wedding! You wont be disappointed if you use outrageous gourmet!
  • J
    Jacob Married on 05/25/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I do not know where to begin with Outrageous Gourmet and the services Katherine Louie and her amazing staff provided. From the phenomenal food selection to the warm, friendly staff... Outrageous Gourmet exceeded my expectations! The chefs went above and beyond with the menu as I was blown away with each item. The bartenders were personal and remembered every body's drink of choice while Katherine was always making sure guests were comfortable.

    You would be mistaken if you did not choose Outrageous Gourmet for your special day whether that is a wedding, anniversary, or corporate event. You will not have to worry as Katherine and her staff take care of every single detail. Thank you for making our event a once in a lifetime experience!

    Mahalo!
  • B
    Bob Married on 11/12/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Chef Katherine from the very beginning was attentive to every detail, going above and beyond by also helping us to plan, working amazingly with all our vendors, and relieving our stress all along the way truly amazing, once it came to event time both chef Katherine and chef David Paul excelled beyond all imagination Firstly with the rehearsal dinner and then with the main event, contributing to everyone's enjoyment and all the positive comments of it being the best wedding most of our guests said they had been to, Thankyou and Mahalo to the whole team who were awesome! And made our special day so magical
  • A
    Aidalynn Married on 11/12/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My wedding was amazing! I can only compliment by the feedback my guests provided, that it was the very best wedding they've been to and that the food was amazing and delicious, and my guests are in the food and beverage industry and business!
  • A
    Amy Married on 07/10/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Outrageous Gourmet went above and beyond our expectations to see my daughter's reception was a success. The food was unbelievable and we are still talking about it.

    Thank You So Much Katherine!
  • K
    Kristina Married on 04/27/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had a truely amazing experience having Katherine cater my wedding in Hawaii. The food was beyond words and the service was fabulous! She made my wedding feel stress free and she thought of every detail in advance. I would recommend her for any event over and over. It was fantastic! My wedding was an unforgetable night and it was much in part to Katherine. Thank you!
  • K
    Kathy Married on 08/18/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Just fondly remembering our wedding almost one year ago today. Outrageous gourmet made our wedding extremely memorable with the amazing and beautiful food, attentive service and gorgeous set up! Katherine also recommended Randy our entertainer and singer who made our wedding a once in a lifetime event. I wholehearted recommend Katherine's service if you want to have an unforgettable experience. We hope to recreate this event one day when we celebrate our anniversary again in Hawaii!
  • K
    Lillie Married on 03/07/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Knowing what I do now, I wish Outrageous Gourmet would have completely coordinated my entire wedding event. The services Chef Katherine and her staff provided were excellent. Both professional and totally accomodating. The food was simply the BEST I have ever eaten. I actually own a restaurant and we eat out all the time and I cannot think of any food that could compare in quality or taste. She created a fairytale dining experience for my daughter's wedding that is still being talked about by everyone who attended. I look forward to returning to Kona one day and having her provide a private dinner for my family.
  • P
    Phil Married on 11/11/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Chef Katherine and her staff were just fabulous! We had a catered dinner for 4 people at a home that we had rented for our vacation. The occasion was our wedding reception dinner. They brought in everything that was needed and every single dish was made using locally grown organic ingredients! Prior to the dinner, Chef Katherine worked closely with us via telephone and email to select a menu of our choice. The food was amazing! It was delicious and fresh! It was prepared and presented in ways that made it look mouthwatering (WHICH IT WAS!!). After our wedding guests left for the evening, my new bride and I snuggled out on the deck under the moonlight while Chef Katherine and her staff continued to serve us wine and desert and they also cleaned up everything from the dinner. It was a full service experience that I will repeat the next time that I am back on the Big Island!! Thank you Chef Katherine for making our wedding day so wonderful!!
  • S
    Sandy R. Married on 04/11/2022
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outrageous Experience

    Chef Katherine Louie of Outrageous Gourmet provided an amazing private chef experience for my wife, Jeleta's 50th Birthday celebration. Words are somewhat limited to express how amazing Chef Katherine's fusion cuisine experience was...the range and combination of flavors, the attention to detail, professional presentation and engaging demeanor made our experience truly memorable! If you are ever on the Big Island, we highly recommend that you contact Chef Katherine of Outrageous Gourmet so she can make your celebration Outrageous!!!
  • User1375992 2+ years ago
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The food, drinks, service, decorations, professionalism, and effort that Chef Katherine and Outrageous Gourmet provided for our wedding was top quality. Our guests remarked that it was the best catered event they'd ever attended, best food, great signature cocktail (mango margarita with red rim.) When the wind made the outdoor setup impossible, they went to plan B and plan C without missing a beat, and offered us alternatives as they went along.
    Katherine's full service event staging was worth waiting for her to have time in her busy schedule to get us her detailed estimate of the various services she offered. The wait made me very nervous, which is why the lower rating for responsiveness, but once we were underway in deciding all the details, she was very responsive. Rest assured, she is on top of all her clients' needs, and sometimes is ahead of them, suggesting items they may not have thought of.
  • Chelsea
    Chelsea Married on 12/12/2020
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Avoid at all costs

    Okay so there are a ton of good reviews here, and frankly, I hate writing bad reviews. If you look at my other reviews you will see that this is uncommon. Anyway, I have had the worst experience with Outrageous Gourmet, and Kathrine Louie. I was completely scammed out of $5,000.

    We retained her services early last year, pre-pandemic. We paid a deposit of $5k, but no services had been rendered, as the situation with COVID-19 was fluid and planning had not made any concrete decisions yet.

    By July 2020 we realized this Hawaii wedding was not going to be possible, as restrictions for coming to the island were still very restricted. Then, I got terribly ill. I had 2 strokes in one month early this year and have three dissected arteries in my head. So now I cannot fly.

    Katherine was given all of this information as it happened. I would not call her responsive, there were entire months when the wedding was still on that I did not hear from her. She also has completely disappeared with our $5k deposit. I caution anyone planning a destination wedding on this island to avoid Outrageous Gourmet and Katherine Louie.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message