Skip to main content
Weddings

Orchid Weddings & Events Reviews

Orchid Weddings & Events

Orchid Weddings & Events

Chicago, IL
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 22 Reviews
View more information

22 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 22
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • T
    Travis P. Married on 06/26/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Can't Thank Carrie Enough!

    Carrie seemingly moved mountains on a moments notice to ensure our day was unforgettably special.

    We originally planned to do an outdoor ceremony. The weather forecast the day of the ceremony called for rain and Carrie helped us to devise an indoor contingency plan which we ultimately setup for. About an hour before the ceremony the weather was seemingly clearing up and my bride really wanted her dream outdoor ceremony. Carrie moved decorations, flowers, and dozens of chairs up two flights of stairs on very short notice to make our outdoor wedding come to reality as if it was staged that way all along.

    Aside from the manual labor (which was truly incredible) she was pivotal in planning ceremony decoration layouts, logistical things we never would have thought of, and facilitated many special little moments like holding up toys to get my two year old nephew to look at the camera.

    I am sure there are several other things I am missing about Carrie's incredible service but honestly it is only because she worked so hard behind the scenes to ensure that any potential mishap was avoided. My wife and I cannot thank her enough for making our day so special and would glowingly recommend her to any couple planning a wedding!

  • R
    Renay Married on 09/16/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great attention to detail!

    Carrie was extremely personal, yet professional. She met with us at times/places that were convenient to us, and even went out of her way to come see our venue that she hadn't worked an event at before. She was extremely detailed in helping us come up with a day-of plan, and communicated with all our vendors to take the pressure off us. On my wedding day, I had a little hiccup with my dress and Carrie came to the rescue! She MacGyver-ed my dress with a binder clip and saved it from becoming a disaster during our first dance. We would highly recommend her for a couple that wants ease and less stress for their wedding!
  • B
    Brett Married on 07/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Carrie was outstanding. We used her for "day of" coordinating and we truly could not of done this without her. She made the day sooooo easy and stress free for my bride and I.
  • B
    Bethany Married on 07/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Carrie was exactly what we needed! We did DIY for mostly everything leading up the the big day but she helped execute everything! We could have not had the perfect wedding without her! She is exactly what ever bride needs.
  • S
    Susan Married on 07/01/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    After speaking with 5 wedding coordinators who didn't meet my needs/budget, I expanded my search and found Carrie, who was a perfect match on all fronts. We met with her twice prior to the wedding and she got us in line with our to-do list and expectations. She was so responsive, organized, and nice to work with. I was pretty stressed out around the actual wedding day (OK during planning too...) and Carrie was a rockstar.

    Our wedding day was an absolute dream and there are still things where I'm not sure how they were accomplished, but I know Carrie made them happen. She didn't leave the venue until she made sure we were all set and everything was accounted for (vendors, rides, equipment, etc.). Two of my bridesmaids have since decided to use Orchid Events for their weddings too, so I think that says something!
  • J
    Jonathan Married on 06/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Carrie did an incredible job meeting with us before hand to guide the best use of our planning time, and an even better job the day of managing our families and keeping trouble away from our happy day. I would recommend her to any and everyone!
  • K
    Katelyn Married on 06/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Carrie was absolutely wonderful. We hired her for the Orchid Bud Package which included two meetings the month of the wedding and day of coordination. She is worth every penny. She thought of everything the day of our wedding and took care of things before I had to ask. She is excellent. Very professional, but down to earth which is exactly who we wanted for our wedding day! Thank you Carrie so much for making our day so perfect!
  • N
    Nicole Married on 04/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If the money is in their budget, I would encourage every couple to contact this vendor! I was able to be so calm and enjoy my wedding knowing that she had everything under control. She provided everything we discussed and more, and was fun to work with.
  • A
    Alexis Married on 09/24/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Carrie was a superstar. She held down everything that day. I did not have to worry about anything, she just juggled all of the vendors, guests, and my crazy bridal party like a champ. I am so glad that we decided to book her, next to my new husband, she was the best best decision I made about my wedding. Thank you so much Carrie for all of your time, effort, and patience.
  • V
    Valya Married on 08/27/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Carrie is an amazing planner. Super organized and so much help! She made my day perfect in every way. Before the wedding day she was always willing to email and meet up to talk over planning. She hit my vision on the head and I would recommend her to anyone who is getting married. Her work is excellent.
  • N
    Nicolle Married on 04/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Carrie was such an amazing wedding planner, we would not have been able to plan our wedding with out her. My husband and I live in California, so we were planning our wedding from across the country. Carrie helped with us every step of the way and made it so much easier to narrow all our vendors down. The weekend of our wedding we had some hiccups but Carrie made sure everything went smoothly and made sure I didn't get stressed about anything. Our wedding went so perfectly and we have Carrie to thank for helping us on our big day!
  • S
    Sheila Married on 04/02/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Carrie was absolutely phenomenal! She was incredibly organized and always answered emails within minutes anytime I sent an email. I would recommend a wedding planner, because I didn't have to worry about any details or confirming with any vendors and could just enjoy myself. She set up everything, communicated with everyone so I could just relax the days before, and settled nerves and family dynamics the day of. It was so reassuring knowing I was in such great hands. All my friends have loved her so much that she has done multiple of my friends weddings as well
  • F
    Frank Married on 08/15/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Carrie was fantastic. She kept us on schedule with regular check-ins and checklists, and on the big day was there whenever we needed something. Throughout the evening she kept kept things running smoothly, from the moment she checked in with us at our hotel until the last vendor was paid at the end of the night. Her services were invaluable, and we couldn't imagine our wedding day without her by our side, making sure that every last detail was taken care of. We highly recommend Orchid Weddings and Events. Carrie is the best!
  • S
    Sara Married on 05/15/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Carrie is a great planner to work with! Not only does she communicate well, but has great ideas to help your vision for your wedding to come to life.
  • J
    Jasmin Married on 09/27/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The best advice we received when we were planning our wedding was to hire a day of coordinator! At the time, my fiancee and I were planning our wedding in Lake Forest, Illinois all the way from NYC where we reside. After 14 months of meticulous planning, we needed someone to ensure all those little details are executed. We used the 'Orchid Bud' package.

    Carrie did an amazing job taking care of and executing logistical details on our wedding day. From creating individual timelines for the entire wedding party to keep everyone on track, making last minute changes on seating arrangements, directing ceremony musicians where to set up, distributing gratuities to vendors, to coordinating with our venue manager, Carrie was there to take care of it. There are honestly so many other things behind the scenes happening that you as a bride or groom will not want to worry about on your wedding day.

    We had guests coming up to us at the end of the night saying they've never been to a wedding so perfectly organized! Everything flowed so smoothly from the walk down the aisle to the last dance of the evening. Carrie, we thank you for making our day truly special and absolutely stress-free!
  • E
    Emily Married on 05/26/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I was MOH for my sister, Jennifer, when she got married and assisted my sister with planning and the entire process. According to my sister, "Carrie was so helpful and resourceful to me on my wedding day and throughout my wedding plans". One of the things Carrie helped us with was my sister really wanted a photo booth - Carrie helped us think of, find, and make creative and fun props to use so we didn't spend a fortune on the idea. Carrie also made all the wedding programs, and instructions that were on the tables helping to direct the guests. My sister said that "Carrie is very good at being creative and crafty and really makes any stressful project seem pretty simple and not costly, but still beautiful and not cheap looking". I worked very hard to make my sisters day special, and Carrie took a lot of pressure off by running around and keeping things running smoothly. My sister felt comfortable telling Carrie what she was looking for and needed help with. My sister describes Carrie as "always positive and full of energy. I don't think my sister and I realized how helpful it is to have someone on your wedding day to take on all those details. We would both recommend her to anyone!

  • E
    Emily Married on 11/30/2007
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Carrie was a great help to me when I got married. One of the wonderful things about working with Carrie is her ability to listen to your ideas and figure out a way to make it work with budget in mind. For example, I wanted to buy basic roses and make my own flower arrangements for my wedding to cut costs and Carrie helped me find a DIY method that was achievable and beautiful. I also appreciated Carrie's attention to detail. When helping me design my programs, she takes all aspects into account (font options, layout, wording) and ties in ways to make it personal at the same time. On the day of my wedding, it was nice to have someone else that was willing to run around and take care of minor (or major) details for me. It allowed for me to relax and enjoy my own wedding! Carrie was wonderful about making sure I was clued in on decisions and plans but also able to have fun and focus on my guests. Overall, Carrie is wonderful to work with and will help make your wedding day what you want it to be.
  • Jane
    Jane Married on 03/31/2018
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I have to admit that I initially hired Carrie because she was one of the few planners that could fit within my budget for full wedding planning (plus she gave me a military discount for being in the Army), but over time I realized just how great Carrie is at what she does. Plus, she completely knocked it out of the park on the day of the wedding and put out fires before I knew it even existed! But, let me start at the beginning. First, I wanted an intimate Chicago rooftop wedding, and Carrie was able to find the perfect venue for me. She was also able to refer me to a florist that would fit within my budget and needs. Any hiccups along the way, I always had Carrie to help and eventually solve those problems. For example, we realized that we needed extra sound equipment which we hadn't initially anticipated, and Carrie was able to advocate on my behalf and ended up securing a very sizable discount from the vendor! There were also little things that she did, like making sure that the hotel room reservations were under the correct names, making sure we were able to get late check out, etc. Then finally, on our wedding day, Carrie was simply amazing! The wedding was perfect and almost stress-free thanks to Carrie and her assistant. Carrie was in full control the entire time and made sure everything went smoothly. The rooftop for the ceremony was wet due to some morning rain, so Carrie made sure the floor got mopped dry. There were some strong winds that day, and the floral backdrop may not be able to withstand the wind, but I really wanted it there, so Carrie made sure it was able to remain on the rooftop by having it secured to the railing. I didn't have a DJ, so Carrie graciously stepped in and MC'ed for us. I wanted water, and Carrie got me water. I can go on and on about all the things Carrie did, and there are probably many things she did in the background that I don't even know! All in all, if you need a wedding planner, pick Carrie. She will not disappoint!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 08/20/2016
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ihave no idea how Carrie managed to be in control of everything and everywhere without anyone noticing. From our initial calls through packing the bus at the end of the night, she was with me every step of the way. She took the time to understood my vision, my priorities and keep me sane the day of my wedding. She was extremely organized and helpful and it was such a comfort to have here there. I was really able to enjoy my day knowing that someone was else was checking on everything and that everything would be perfect.

    I think many brides (myself included) feel like they can do it all themselves. Here is the truth: you can't and you should get Carrie to help you. If you really want to relax and enjoy the day with your family, friends and new spouse, just hire Carrie to take care of it all.
  • M
    Samantha Married on 06/04/2016
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    After hearing from others that a day of coordinator was a don’t skip choice when planning a wedding, we found Orchid Weddings & Events and selected the Orchid Bud package for month of planning. We had spent a lot of time designing the details of our day and we wanted to ensure that everything was executed smoothly on the day of but also not put us in the position of having to coordinate or worry about that execution. Carrie did a great job. During our meetings with her the month before she asked about logistics we had not thought of and replied quickly when we would email her with questions. She set up everything perfectly on the day of and was very professional, keeping everyone and everything on track. Throughout the evening she was overseeing the activities and always available to answer questions or help control family.
  • B
    Brittany Married on 09/12/2015
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From the first time we chatted on the phone, I could tell Carrie was extremely well organized, sweet and passionate about wedding planning. She can handle anything that comes her way, and can do it with grace and flexibility. She always has budget in mind, but balances that with the bride and groom's vision and dream for their wedding. She was essential during my planning process.

    And on my actual wedding day, I couldn't have done it without her. She handled problems that arose and didn't even tell me so that she could keep me stress-free. She coordinated with every vendor and worked through last-minute issues and setup. And she did all of this while being 8 months pregnant! She also brought an assistant along to make sure everything would run smoothly (it did).

    My family and friends all said how impressive she was on the day of our wedding. I echo that. My fiance and I loved working with her from start to finish. :)
  • User2166251 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Carrie was an AMAZING wedding planner! I had the lowest category she offered plus she let me add a few detail oriented things from the other categories for the same price . She was very reasonably priced just under 1000. I would highly recommend her to future brides and would consider using her again for other parties if she ventures out from weddings.

    A bonus is she is still helping me out with things even after the wedding is all over, and is wonderful at handling any problems that come up.