Opal 28 Reviews

16 | Portland, OR
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Opal 28

Recommended by 99%

16

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.8

6 User photos

Opal 28 1
Opal 28 2
Opal 28 3
Opal 28 4
Opal 28 5
Opal 28 6
Sort by:
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 07/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Opal 28 was the perfect venue for our intimate wedding. We had 9 people in total, and Opal 28 went above and beyond to make our Tuesday Elopement magical and absolute perfection! I would highly recommend Opal 28 to anyone looking for an amazing venue and people who are passionate about creating a beautiful wedding day! Thank you Opal 28!

    Sent on 08/05/2018
    Opal 28 7
    Opal 28 8
    Opal 28 9
    Opal 28 10
    Opal 28 11
    Opal 28 12

    Opal 28's reply:

    Thank you Caitlin! You were a dream to host! What a lovely evening of celebrating love! Best of luck in the future!
  • J

    Jamilla · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter selected Opal28 for her September 16th wedding reception for 58 guests.
    I cannot say enough about how wonderful every single aspect of planning the event was, from the initial consult through year long communications, to the execution of the reception. It was pretty stress-free.
    We loved the vegan options for appetizers and entrees and the table service was perfect.
    I would recommend taking Margot's suggestion of hiring Kristi, their event coordinator. I could not have done the decorating in time if I was doing it myself, which was the original plan.
    The entire staff was very accommodating, personable yet professional.
    I would also recommend taking advantage of renting the small apartments upstairs from the venue.
    We highly recommend Opal28 for their unique atmosphere, fabulous staff , attention to detail and great food options for vegans and vegetarians.

  • L

    Lyssi · Married on 03/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    God, where to start? Seriously, everything was perfect! First, we switched venues about 3 months before the wedding because we had a smaller guest list than anticipated (it was a destination wedding for everyone). I was stressed, looking for a venue that was small, in our price range, and could offer the 1920s feel for our themed wedding. I had originally passed over this venue initially because I wasn't sure if it would fit the theme. I was so wrong to do that! We finally went in to look at the venue and the website did not do it justice. The space is beautiful and flexible, it was literally transformed to a romantic, vintage but glam lounge. It was better than anything I had imagined and planned for! Kristi was phenomenal to work with from the start. She was responsive to emails, super friendly, and worked great with our wedding coordinator to ensure our vision was carried out. They even let us use one of the apartments to wait in before the ceremony since we got ready at the hotel, and had two bottles of champagne waiting for us. It's the little things that are important to me. The small details such as having our signature drinks waiting for us when we got back from photos around the city during cocktail hour, to making sure we were fed first so we didn't starve all evening. Kristi even special ordered the gin we wanted for one of the signature drinks and the team also offered champagne in the dining room right before the toasts. We were even able to send in our recipe for the bartender to use. The venue was full service and had our decor cleaned up and ready for our parents to take after the sparkler send off, which was impressive! That way no one had to wait around after. I appreciated everything Opal 28 had to offer and highly recommend them for any event!

    Sent on 03/21/2017

    Opal 28's reply:

    Awww, Lyssi :) Thank you so much for these sweet words. As you should already know, you were the IDEAL bride to work with & made my job so incredibly easy. I am so glad you & your guests enjoyed the space. Hopefully it was the wedding of your dreams! xo, Kristi & the Opal 28 Team
  • User6164765 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Give them a call to discuss your needs. Everyone who works there is lovely and smart and creative... and they'll work hard to figure out what your event necessitates.

    Sent on 01/16/2017

    Opal 28's reply:

    :)
  • T

    Tara · Married on 11/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Margot and her team made our wedding so special. The venue was perfect for 50+ people to eat, dance, and mingle. Margot heard our vision and was able to create an intimate, Hawaiian-themed space for us!!!! From the food, to the tropical flowers, and Kona beer, Opal 28 rocked it!!!!!!!

  • M

    Marjani · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The thing about wedding receptions is you only get one shot to host all the the people you love the most. There are so many "places with potential" or "this might work" type feelings it seems. For us, and our experience, we had none of those thoughts or worries and that is because we chose to host our wedding day at Opal 28 with Margot and her staff. We sincerely thank them and wish them nothing but continued success.

    We hosted 65 guests for both our ceremony and the reception. Opal 28 is the ideal event space for events of this size. That's not to say the space couldn't host double that size. In fact, for wedding planning it was nice to know that no matter how many people ended up coming Opal 28 could handle it. Love the centrally located bar which allowed guests to move around comfortably from the beautiful patio to the inside rooms. Margot does a phenomenal job of helping to decorate and knows just how to organize the space according to the needs of the night. It is such a unique and wonderful space and the apartments for rent above are fabulous as well and hosted our bridal party beautifully- so convenient and easy!

    From start to finish we felt cared for. Margot seemed to have it all. Extra flatware, the ability to be flexible (still appreciate the substitute last minute beer request), energy, and organizational skills. We'd be so happy to attend someone else's wedding at Opal 28!

  • User4134993 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We feel so blessed to have stumbled upon Margot and her wonderful venue. This place stood out for its elegant yet comfortable atmosphere, cozy size, and vintage look. We loved the convenience of the upstairs apartments as prep rooms and guest spaces (also lovely backdrops for our photographer). Margot was so easy to work with and we were constantly challenging her. We wanted to fit a 12 piece big band out on the patio, have our own snack dishes scattered throughout the venue, our own caterer using her kitchen, our dog as a featured guest, things hanging from the ceiling, etc. My husband and I have both come to terms with the fact that I am not low maintenance, and Margot made it seem like we were hardly inconveniencing her at all.

    We loved the addition of the parking lot across the street, because it made everything so much simpler for our friends and family. Margot insisted on her staff exclusively directing the changeover of the rooms, which was perfect. We got to escape take some photos and when we came back we saw all of our family celebrating during cocktail hour out on the patio.

    We even got towed for parking in the wrong parking spot the day before the wedding, and Margot ended up taking those fines off of our bill at the end. The customer service and attention to detail are unparalleled. Our friends and family had nothing but beautiful things to say about the location, venue, and staff. We look back on Opal with nothing but fond memories and hopes to return to those lovely apartments for anniversaries in the future!

    If they are available, BOOK OPAL - I promise you won't regret it!

  • C

    Cindy · Married on 03/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely cannot say enough glowing words about Margot and her fantastic team! Opal 28 was the perfect place for our wedding reception and Margot and team were amazing from start to finish. Whether your event is small and intimate or large and boisterous, don't hesitate to choose Opal 28...The space is gorgeous and inviting and can be customized to fit any party with multiple seating areas. Also, Margot is so responsive and has amazing attention to detail. She put my mind at ease from our very first conversation and was onsite for the entire event, making sure everything ran smoothly. My husband and I can't thank Margot and the Opal 28 team enough. We'll definitely be hosting future events here. You should too!

    Sent on 03/29/2015

    Opal 28's reply:

    Thank you Cindy! It was such a pleasure working with you and Mark. Opal 28 enjoyed the opportunity to work with and taste the food provided by Vibrant Table. I personally thought your wine selection was delightful and we were happy to accommodate your corkage requests given Marks connections with the wine industry. Look forward to seeing you at the Open House on the 30th!
  • B

    Brian · Married on 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have to say that this was a perfect choice for our wedding reception. Margot was the best host. Sorry this is so late. Our event was on November 1, 2014

  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 09/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I looked for quite awhile to find the perfect rehearsal dinner venue for our 50+ closest family and friends. After inquiring with a few favorite restaurants and other venues, we decided that the most valuable thing for our rehearsal dinner was connectedness, like being at home, something a restaurant filled with other diners couldn't offer. Opal 28 is not only a stunning venue, but it has a true home like feel in it's layout, decor and energy. Our guests were able to mingle and toast in the outdoor courtyard, surrounded by the SE Portland buildings and a gorgeous weeping cherry blossom tree, have a good laugh at the cozy bar and then be treated to an INCREDIBLE dinner in the stunning main room, with a vintage wood mantle and giant curtained windows. A truly amazing night!

    They allow for other caterers, however we had the house kitchen create our meal of chicken pesto with sun dried tomatoes, red skin potatoes and fresh garden salad. Everything was fresh, beautiful and oh-so yummy! We also had a lot more guests come then anticipated, and the staff created a table on the fly and still fed everyone! Thank you Margot and team! We will never forget that special night filled with laughs and tears and so much love. We highly recommend Opal 28 for any special event!

  • C

    Carol · event on: 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I recently held a surprise birthday party for my husband at this venue. We had over 100 guests and the party went off without a single hitch. Margot was extremely helpful in every way and was such a pleasure to work with. She was very flexible, organized and attentive to every detail. I would have no hesitation to suggest this venue to anyone-it was perfect!




  • R

    Rev. Dee · event on: 01/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Recently I performed a wedding ceremony at Opal 28 and just loved it there!! So when it was time for my husband's 'BIG' surprise birthday party, I thought it would be the perfect place to have about 40 of our friends to celebrate with him!! It was soooo fabulous!!! Margot and her team took care of everything and it couldn't have been more perfect. Our guests said how much they loved it there and were thrilled with the food, the drinks and they loved Margot and Gen, who were(are!) so friendly and comfortable and helpful with everything!! It is a true little gem and hope to have another event there again in the near future!! Thanks so much, Margot, for making it so easy, so that I could enjoy my guests!!! Loved it!!

  • S

    Sarah · event on: 08/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can’t think of a better place to have had a graduation party. My whole experience with Opal 28 was extremely positive. The space which combines features of vintage and modern, has two rooms, a full service bar, and an outdoor patio area with lovely market lights. We had 70 guests, and while the environment was ideal for that number, it could have easily handled more. In addition, the pricing was reasonable, with cost-consciousness in the forefront.

    Words that come to mind about Margot, the owner and creator of Opal 28, are: flexible, available, informative, and creative, taking into account particular wishes. Margot was accommodating and helpful, not only to myself but also to the off-site caterer; we quickly realized it was better to cut me out of the middle so that she could take over the reigns. After discussing the appetizer and dinner selection, plus the age of guests, Margot suggested having larger tables, and opening up the party buffet into a second room, so the flow of the event would fit the space more easily. It was the perfect suggestion. She also offered a wonderfully creative idea for a photo/memory guest book, that I really appreciated and had not thought of; something I will cherish. Another delightful detail she contributed was hiring a superb cookie baker/designer.

    In summary, Margot has an ideal set of talents that allow her to create a charming environment, hire professional staff, work with off-site vendors, and also has the perfect industry connections. It is this combination that permit client needs to be best accommodated. She is truly an event planner par excellence, and I recommend her most highly.

  • S

    Sara · event on: 11/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was a beautiful space for a friend's baby shower, modern and intimate with so many options available for any type of event. I loved the rustic elements like wood and concrete, and plenty of natural lighting from big windows, as well as a large outdoor courtyard area. It felt very private and intimate without any feeling of being crowded with our group of about 20 people. The background music was selected by the staff and perfectly suited the light, festive atmosphere, and the food was delicious and beautifully displayed and served. I would absolutely recommend this venue for any type of casual or formal event, as the multi-space set-up would work extremely well for small or large groups!

  • M

    Margot · Married on 06/04/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding reception at Opal 28! We appreciated that the airy and elegant space required very little in the way of decoration, and it was great to have access to both indoor and outdoor spaces--the patio is a lovely oasis in the middle of a bustling neighborhood. After visiting another venue that charged for every little thing (e.g. renting a couch), we really valued that Opal 28 is well supplied in terms of furnishings, table settings, etc. The availability of the rental accommodations upstairs was another plus both for us and several of our out-of-town guests; it's hard to beat this location, especially for those who want to plunge into the Portland food scene.

    Our event itself was a buffet reception for approximately 60 people with in-house catering supplemented by additional food items from a local restaurant. The Opal 28 staff made all the arrangements for the outside restaurant order and did a great job presenting both the restaurant food and their own on the buffet. We appreciated the wide-ranging menu and the reasonable prices for food and drinks, and we loved how everything tasted on the day of the event. The servers and bartender who worked at our reception were outstanding: they were constantly replenishing food and keeping the tables tidy. They were especially helpful during our cake-cutting. We didn't worry about a thing during the event itself.

    Note: it sometimes took a little while to get ahold of someone at Opal 28; the venue often does not seem to be staffed during daytime hours (understandably for a small place). Also, be aware that the three rental suites vary in terms of their amenities (e.g. quality of AC); you might want to check them all out before you decide which one(s) to book.

  • Mrs007

    Danielle · Married on 06/05/2016

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Love this venue and everything they had to offer. Our wedding went great.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review