Skip to main content
Weddings

On the Rocks Restaurant at Fox Hopyard Reviews

On the Rocks Restaurant at Fox Hopyard

On the Rocks Restaurant at Fox Hopyard

East Haddam, CT
5.0 out of 5 rating, 40 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
40 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
99% Recommended by couples

Awards

40
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

50 User photos

  • S
    Sarah F. Sent on 08/18/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect venue!

    We were so happy to have had our wedding at the beautiful Fox Hopyard! Melanie and her team were truly incredible through every step of the planning. Throughout the process I had so many emails back and forth with Melanie and she was always on top of every detail! On the day of the wedding she and her team did an incredible job bringing our wedding to life. Everyone raved about the food, the service, and the great energy the Fox Hopyard team brought. Knowing Melanie and the team had everything under controlled allowed me and my husband to truly enjoy the day. We are so appreciative of their hard work to make our special day perfect!
  • Kathryn
    Kathryn A. Sent on 10/26/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bridal Showers

    We had such a great experience with On the Rocks. Since we were organizing during COVID restrictions, the staff was fantastic with accommodating our requests and working with us to make sure we were able to celebrate our bride.

    The staff were all so great and friendly.
    The location was beautiful, spacious, and fit our need perfectly.
    The food and drinks were delicious and our guests told us they were very pleased with their meals.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Jenna
    Jenna Sent on 09/17/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful wedding venue.

    We got married at OTR at Fox Hopyard on 9/10/22. It was an absolutely perfect day from start to finish! Melanie was so helpful throughout the planning process, and very easy to reach. She is so organized, knowledgeable, and super detail oriented! We had our rehearsal dinner the Thursday before the wedding, and she was able to coordinate with our officiant and wedding party to ensure a smooth flow for our rehearsal. On our wedding day, Melanie and her staff were super attentive and available throughout the entire day and night (from getting ready in the bridal suite to packing up all the decor at the end of the night) to ensure everything went smoothly. The set-up of the venue for the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception was perfect, and all the decorations were set-up beautifully. Every detail was accounted for! The food and drinks were so delicious for both the rehearsal dinner and on our wedding day! We had so many compliments from our guests regarding the food and venue itself- they loved the picturesque outdoor space and charm of the venue. We couldn’t have asked for a more perfect day, and are thankful for the great experience with On The Rocks at Fox Hopyard.

    On the Rocks Restaurant at Fox Hopyard's reply:

    Thank you so much for such a thoughtful, nice review! We really appreciate it and it makes us so happy to hear that we made your day so special. Cheers to the happy couple! :)
  • Craig
    Craig Sent on 12/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Day

    My daughter had her reception at On The Rocks this past summer. The setting is amazing, the staff was perfect, and the food is delicious. Melanie is wonderful to work with and planned the perfect day
  • Mike
    Mike F. Sent on 06/10/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Just Amazing!

    My son just had his wedding at On the Rocks. It was AMAZING! Melanie was so professional and spent the day making sure we loved everything. She was quick with emails and went above and beyond all of our requests. She gave great advice and helped make decisions. The food was fantastic, our guests are still talking about the clam chowder. Every menu item was delicious and beautifully served. We had a gorgeous weather day and i don't think there was anything to improve. The staff was awesome, so friendly and helpful. The venue looked magical. They transformed it into everything my son and his new wife wanted. Just beautiful. Best day ever

    On the Rocks Restaurant at Fox Hopyard's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate the compliments and I will pass your kind words along to the staff. Your family was so nice and easy to work with. We wish you all nothing but good health and happiness.
  • Sherry
    Sherry R. Sent on 06/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The most perfect day!

    My husband and I had our wedding at Fox Hopyard in June and it was amazing. Melanie goes above and beyond and she truly made planning a wedding nowhere near as stressful as I anticipated. She not only is responsive and extremely helpful but also so professional. The day would not have run as smoothly and effortlessly without her. The food was amazing and the presentation was beautiful. Everyone kept commenting on how pretty everything was set up and the ice cream sundae bar and French fry station were definitely peoples favorites. Our wedding was everything we wanted and more! Thank you Melanie and team!
  • M
    Mary Sent on 12/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing, Happy Experience & Beautiful Venue

    We could not be happier that we chose On the Rocks/Fox Hopyard! We had our ceremony and reception there in Oct 2021, and I am still hearing from guests how beautiful the location was. Planning during the pandemic could have been difficult, but Melanie made it a breeze — the location was unbelievably beautiful for a fall wedding (our pictures took my breath away!), the food was phenomenal, and the venue was the PERFECT mix of elegant and comfortable. Melanie was extremely quick, professional, and responsive and the venue was so accommodating. Everyone commented how wonderful the staff was the entire night. We had a late-Oct wedding that turned very cold, and the venue ensured we had the perfect amount of heaters for the pavilion. The added bonus of a gorgeous bridal suite just topped it off! Truly a very, very happy, comfortable, easy experience at a wonderful price. I could not have dreamed of better, and am so grateful we found it.
  • T
    The G. Sent on 10/15/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Top Notch Service!

    Our clients booked Fox Hopyard only two weeks prior to their wedding. Melanie made the arrangements seamless and went above and beyond with all the last minute changes. The day of the wedding was probably the windiest day of 2020 and the crew powered through it to make the day perfect! Addelle, Kyra, Mathias and Delta worked so hard and we had a blast working with everyone!
  • T
    Timothy G. Sent on 09/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Just an amazing place for a wedding. Organized, thorough, professional, and beautiful.

    The Fox Hopyard was a great venue! We ended up doing the ceremony on the patio outside and it was just so amazing with the arch at the edge of the stone patio overlooking the course and the trees. It was setup so well and it was really magical looking. This easily transitioned everyone to the side patio for the cocktail hour and then had everyone under the large pavilion outside for the reception. It was decorated so well and everything was setup to be so convenient. Melanie (Mel) and her staff we absolutely superb. She was so helpful during the planning process and helped keep everything organized. They were also so flexible which was so comforting! The food was absolutely amazing, everyone commented on how much they loved the food. The filet was to die for and the salmon was delicious. The bridal suite was really big and so convenient for getting ready, it was also upstairs in the clubhouse so a good place to get away for a minute if needed. Mel and her team had everything so well managed and thought out the day of that it was like a breeze. She just kind of coordinated everyone on where to go and when to do everything without being in the middle of everything, it was the perfect touch. Honestly, it made the day just so easy because we didn't have to worry about a thing. They were just absolutely fantastic!
  • L
    Lisa G. Sent on 12/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Melanie was excellent!

    We loved the venue and were impressed by the helpfulness of Melanie. She really saved the day by recognizing that the temperature was going to be uncomfortable for the guests and calling me right up to give me information about getting sides and heaters! Went without a hitch and all the guests were warm
  • Megan
    Megan P. Sent on 07/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible experience!

    I can't say enough great things about this venue! The grounds are absolutely stunning, the service was excellent, and our guests RAVED about the food. Melanie is an absolute joy to work with! She is quick to respond, detail-oriented, and is always one step ahead. We appreciate her so much and are so thankful for her support during our wedding planning process. Our wedding day was absolutely perfect!
  • K
    Karissa M. Sent on 09/27/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome experience so far

    On the Rocks has been great with helping us navigate our wedding planning. We postponed our wedding date due to COVID and they were completely accommodating and understanding. Looking forward to having our celebration here when we can!
  • T
    Tessa F. Sent on 10/09/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Service through COVID19

    This has been a crazy year with a ton of unexpected firsts but working with Fox Hopyard and Melanie has been amazing. They made rescheduling our wedding to 2021 the least stressful it could possibly be. I cannot wait to continue working with them next year!

    On the Rocks Restaurant at Fox Hopyard's reply:

    Thank you so much Tessa! We are so glad we could help make these last few months a little less stressfull for you. We look forward to working with you and planning your dream wedding!
  • M
    Michele O. Sent on 09/28/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great To Work With

    I can't say enough great things about this vendor especially Melanie. She has been very helpful and responsive to any and all questions we had. With Covid-19 they were so easy to work with as far as giving us what all our available options were and helping us to reschedule. We ended up pushing to next year but cannot wait as we know it will be a fabulous day thanks to their wonderful team!!!!
  • B
    Brittany F. Sent on 09/16/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So Amazing!!!

    I just got married here Sept 2020 and would never want it any other way! My guest can not stop raving about how amazing it was. The planning process was so easy, the staff will do everything they possibly can to make your day so special. Mel was so kind and helpful every step of the way and on my wedding day she was there to assist me and make sure everything went perfect! The food was absolutely amazing! The venue itself is breathtaking! The staff were all very kind and did an amazing job! Even with covid my wedding was absolutely perfect and I couldnt of been any happier thanks to On the Rocks and all of the staff, they really know how to put on beautiful fun weddings!!
  • H
    Happymom Sent on 09/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Truly Awesome Wedding

    My daughter and son-in-law just got married here in Sept 2020. This venue is GORGEOUS! Their guests have been gushing about how wonderful and truly amazing the entire day was. Too many compliments to include them all in this review. Everything was perfect, in spite of COVID-19. Melanie and her staff were attentive to every detail and patient with all the re-planning as rules continued to change. On their special day, the food was delicious and picture perfect! The chef was so detailed-oriented that he designed a scrumptious menu that kept food allergies in mind so that there were no issues for anyone in attendance. The serving staff was fantastic! I could not have been any happier!!! Use them and you will have a spectacular day as well!
  • Alicia
    Alicia G. Sent on 10/29/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue!

    Melanie and the team at Fox Hopyard were beyond amazing! From the very beginning of booking, planning and executing the big day was absolutely perfect. Everyone was very helpful, kind and fun. The venue itself was stunning and the food was incredible. I will remember this day forever and I'm so grateful we found you!

    On the Rocks Restaurant at Fox Hopyard's reply:

    Thank you so much Alicia!! We are so happy you found us too!! You looked stunning and were a delight to work with! I wish you both so much happiness and wedded bliss :)
  • A
    Dylan T. Sent on 09/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fairy Tale Wedding

    Beautiful scenery, made for the most perfect day for us! Everyone complimented the scenery as well as the Main Hall. The food was amazing and they worked with us easily with all allergies. The Patio was a great spot for our ceremony and we loved the outdoor reception area looking over the range. We worked with Melanie and she was extremely helpful and made our day just as we dreamed!
  • M
    Meag Sent on 10/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    They deserve 10 stars!

    If we could rate On the Rocks Restaurant 10 stars we would! We were married here on September 14th 2019. Melanie was our event manager and let me tell you; she is a gift to the wedding planning world! She was very quick to answer all my emails and help me with any detail I was unsure about. We did a total buy out of the restaurant for the day ( gave us lots of flexibility with the event space and privacy) We held our ceremony on the stone patio, cocktail hour under the pavilion, our plated dinner was served inside the restaurant, and the reception was held back out on under the pavilion- where we danced the night away. With all the moving of the event I was nervous about it transitioning seamlessly (waste of time – it all went perfectly) The food was spectacular- we are still receiving complement a month later about how delicious everything was! Kudos to the Chef! Above all else I have to say that the staff at OTRR was top notch- they were all so much fun to work with! The night of the wedding felt like everyone was family and friends which is all you can ask for on you wedding day! Coarsy was our main bartender for the evening and WOW she was great! So personable, she kept all our guest happy with quick service and huge smile! Look no further if you want your wedding to be a fairytale, the grounds are gorgeous our pictures are stunning! Thank you again to Melanie and the whole crew at OTRR we will forever be grateful for you giving us our dream wedding! All our Love * The Ecclestons.
  • A
    Ann Sent on 07/17/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Evening!

    We celebrated my daughter's wedding on Saturday evening and it was fabulous! The food was delicious, ambiance lovely, and attention to detail excellent! Thanks to Melanie and all of her staff for making this a flawless evening!

    On the Rocks Restaurant at Fox Hopyard's reply:

    Thank you so much!! Your family and all of your guests were so kind! The staff had a great time as well :) We really appreciate you taking the time to send a nice note :) Congrats to the Bride & Groom.
  • L
    Lisa D. Sent on 07/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional Venue, Staff, Food and Service-Nothing Cookie Cutter About Fox Hopyard!

    We got married June 22, 2019 at Fox Hopyard. What an amazing night!!! As I write this post a couple weeks later, we're STILL getting compliments from our guests about the venue itself, the attentive staff who were on top of every little detail, the food (OUTSTANDING!), and what an all-around perfect time it was! Melanie, who was our primary contact at Fox Hopyard, managed everything flawlessly and did an amazing job from start to finish! We couldn't have been happier with how everything went! THANK YOU!!!!
    Lisa & Ed

    On the Rocks Restaurant at Fox Hopyard's reply:

    Thank you so much!! We appreciate you taking the time to compliment us! I will share this with the staff as well! We wish you a lifetime of Love, Happiness, and Fun! Thank you so much for being so easy to work with! :)
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 05/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous venue

    We got rejected from a lot of venues for our 100 person wedding being too small, but we were just the right size for On the Rocks. Planning went very smoothly with Melanie, who was always accommodating of my emails, even when I accidentally emailed her on her days off a few times. The bridal suite was perfect for everything, and we were able to order food to be brought up for lunch. The ceremony space was fantastic, and has the added bonus of a roof in case it had rained. The photo locations all over are gorgeous, and my photographer was really pleased with all the options. Our reception was great, all the guests loved the space. We added bistro lights and the fire pit and both were perfect. The food was also incredible! We knew it would be good after our tasting, but so many of our guests came up to tell us it was some of the best wedding food they had ever had, which is hard to get perfect when you're serving 100 people at once. I would highly recommend On the Rocks for weddings my size, 75-115 people.

    On the Rocks Restaurant at Fox Hopyard's reply:

    Thank you so much for the amazing review! We loved working with the both of you and we loved your grandpa's stories! I wish you all the best for your relationship and easy roads ahead :)
  • Christine
    Christine N. Sent on 03/22/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous venue! Wonderful staff! Absolutely perfect wedding!

    My husband and I were married here on February 9th, 2019. This was such a beautiful, perfect venue!! I wouldn't change a thing! Melanie was so amazingly helpful and welcoming throughout our entire planning process and she went the extra mile to keep things running smoothly on wedding day.

    We managed to have an 'outdoor wedding' in February without being cold at all! -- we had tent flaps with windows put up around the pavilion and had our ceremony overlooking the gorgeous landscape. Plenty of heaters, worked amazingly!

    The catering via On The Rocks was really well done, too. You can choose between plated entrees or self serve manned stations. We did the stations and it was great, it allowed mingling and energized the mood, and everyone got to pick something they actually liked to eat!

    Overall, I have to say I can't recommend the venue enough! Our day was more than everything I dreamed it could be and we truly couldn't be happier. Thank you guys so much, and I hope all of the future couples will love it as much as we did.

    On the Rocks Restaurant at Fox Hopyard's reply:

    Thank you so much for the sweet review! Such a wonderful couple. Wishing you all the happiness in the world!
  • B
    Barbara Sent on 12/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fox Hopyard and Kristi are hands-down the best venue out there!

    Where do I even begin? Kristi and the Fox Hopyard gave us not just our dream wedding, but Kristi made the most stressful event I have ever planned in my life as painless and enjoyable as possible. If I could give her and this venue 6/5 stars, I would. She was as fast as lightning with her answers to all of my (perpetual) questions, which is an anxious bride's dream. She explained everything clearly and to our understanding, and they were as flexible as possible to give us exactly what we wanted on our special day. She handled every detail with our vendors to ensure that the only thing I had to do on my special day was sit back, relax, and have fun! The food is absolutely incredible. The venue is stunning, and she even made sure the landscaping was taken care of a day or so before the wedding! They have a gigantic, beautiful bridal suite for you to get ready. She even offered us some goodies for the morning of, which was such a surprising and sweet treat! And their pricing is incredibly competitive in comparison to most wedding factories, which are strict on their vendors and over-inflated in cost. I cannot encourage couples to pursue this venue enough - you will NOT regret it! Thank you Kristi and the Fox Hopyard for providing us with the happiest day of our lives.

    On the Rocks Restaurant at Fox Hopyard's reply:

    Thank you so much for your lovely review! So happy you had a wonderful day! Thank you for choosing On The Rocks Restaurant for your special day.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours