Beauty by Lia Reviews

47 | San Francisco, CA
See photos, pricing and details

47 Reviews for Beauty by Lia

Recommended by 99%

47
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • L

    Lisa · Getting married on 04/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Two thumbs way up!

    From beginning to end, Lia was a great person to work with. She was professional and prompt in our email correspondence, and she arrived and left on time the day of my civil ceremony. Lia made me look my best, and was flexible and willing to make the little tweaks that I requested. On top of it all, she was fun to hang out with. I will totally hire Lia again if I ever need my hair and/or makeup done in the Bay area.

  • J

    Jocelyn · Married on 08/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lia was AWESOME!

    I knew I was going to be a beautiful bride after she did my trial for our friends' wedding. For my trial she did an up-do and a light bronze makeup and I was so in love with what she did I couldn't stop looking at myself. LOL! We were out until 2 a.m. and both my hair and makeup lasted through the dancing and sweating.

    So for my wedding, my makeup and hair were the least of my worries (both were beautiful, by the way, and I received lots of compliments) since I knew Lia was going to do an amazing job which was a good thing since I had the worst wedding day jitters! But after 10 minutes with Lia, my nerves dissipated. She is so easy to talk to and has such a great attitude that she really put me at ease. She even gave me trail mix since I hadn't had anything for breakfast except for juice!

    Lia, for me, was worth every penny. She not only made me beautiful for my wedding but she also gave me peace of mind on a day that can feel very overwhelming and stressful.

    Thank you, Lia!

  • J

    John · Married on 03/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance loved them!! Thanks for all!!

  • J

    Jesse · Married on 10/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough positive things about Lia! She is simply amazing. I planned my wedding in San Francisco from the other side of the country, so all of our communication was primarily through email until the day before the wedding. Lia was the quickest out of all of my vendors to respond when we periodically emailed months in advance, was extremely sweet, professional, and a dream to work with! I had the normal nerves of planning a wedding from the other side of the country, and in the back of my mind pictured how awful it would be for someone not to show up on the wedding day. I had no doubts with Lia whatsoever! Her energy over the emails, quick responses, and knowledge of her work left me feeling so confident!

    Lia came to my hotel the day of the wedding, not only was she on time, but was a pleasure to be around! I was full of nerves, but her calming and confident presence left me ready for the big moment. On top of that, she has insane beauty skills!! I have extremely thin hair, which was a concern on mine, I showed Lia several ideas of what I was looking for off of Pinterest and I could not have been happier of the outcome! The fact that she could look at several pictures and transform my hair into EXACTLY what I wanted was crazy to me. When it came to my makeup, I showed her a lot more pictures. The pictures I showed her were all somewhat different, but she took everything I showed her and used the best products to create exactly what I had envisioned. Better than what I envisioned, really.

    Lia is simply the best. She is willing to work with you to achieve whatever you look you like, she is able to do any style you want, she will do anything she can to go above and beyond, she is professional, timely, personable... I could go on and on!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lia was wonderful! She recently did my hair and makeup for my June wedding at San Francisco City Hall. From the outset, Lia was so friendly and easy to communicate with, coordinate details, and discuss ideas. She was always prompt with responses to my emails. On the day of my wedding, she arrived right on time and though we had never met before, it really felt like having a good girlfriend come to the apartment to do my hair and makeup. She was able to easily translate my vision for my look that day into reality and was very collaborative, which I really appreciated. I don't typically wear a lot of makeup, so I was concerned about still wanting to look fairly natural and "like myself" on my wedding day. I could not have been happier with the result! Lia made it seem easy and made it fun and relaxing.

    In addition, my husband and I rode bikes from the Marina District to City Hall to get married that day. My hair and makeup held up and still looked flawless after a good 35 minutes of riding to City Hall, and it still looked great at the end of the day after more riding following our ceremony. It doesn't get any better than that!

    In short, there's no need to look further. Lia is your girl - talented, friendly, and professional. Thanks again, Lia!

  • User6860177 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lia was great. I was very apprehensive about getting my hair and make up done, as I rarely wear makeup and I pretty much wear my hair in three styles (loose, ponytail, bun). I only contacted Lia a week or two before the wedding, but she responded right away and we set up a time and date. She did my hair and make up and the hair of two friends, and gave us all distinct looks that fit us well. I can't say enough good things about her!

  • J

    Johncy · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If only review sites don't limit the stars you can give to 5, I would have given Lia 10 stars!

    Of the dozen hair and make up artists I considered, I can say with confidence that I have made the right choice with Lia. She is very friendly, very professional and very talented. She arrived on time, worked through the day effortlessly and made sure we were all ready by the time the photographer arrived. She made everyone feel that all her attention are with the person seated in front of hern despite multiple people coming in and out of our hotel room.

    There's no doubt that I highly recommend Lia to all the brides out there looking for an excellent hair and make up artist on this most important day in a couple's life. If it is a possibility, I'd book her again when we renew our vows years from now!

  • K

    Kathy · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter had her wedding last week...Lia did a fabulous job. When looking for a stylist, we searched and searched, but kept on coming back Lia because we could not find anyone who could compete with her. Everything she does is just wonderful. She is a pleasure to work with, professional and very friendly. She listen to what my daughter wanted and delivered. She worked hard staring at 6:45am with all the girls and was went to the venue to do any last minute touch up. Would use her again in a heart beat.

    Sent on 09/13/2015

    Beauty by Lia's reply:

    Kathy , Thank you and Lindsay . I truly had a Great pleasure working with you both during the journey and the actual day of the wedding. Lindsay is an extroidinary beautiful person inside and out . Thank you from the bottom of my heart for allowing me to be part of such a special day for us all. Lia
  • A

    Ananda · Married on 01/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I really wish there was an option for 6 stars as I would give Lia 6 out of 5 stars!!! I used Lia for my San Fran elopement at City Hall. All contact prior to meeting Lia was through email from Australia. Lia was so helpful and kind to my individual circumstances and before I met her in SF I already felt like I already knew her and she was a dear friend. Being the only person that I would be seeing on my wedding day, away from my friends and family, Lia made me feel as special as any maid of honour could make a bride feel. I was extremely blessed! Given that I do not wear makeup at all, Lia was so patient in explaining what she was doing and allowed me to control the process the whole time. I have no words to explain how amazing my hair and makeup was, except to say Lia is THE BEST, you truly wont find anyone as talented and kind as Lia. There is nowhere else you need to look for your special day.

  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lia did the hair/make-up for myself and bridesmaid for my wedding. I can't say enough wonderful things about her. She was punctual, quick to respond, professional, kind and paid attention to detail. I gave her an idea of the look I was going for, and it turned out even better than I could have imagined. I received so many compliments on my hair/ make up from guests. Lia made sure it was exactly what I wanted and appreciated feedback. She was an absolute pleasure to work with, incredibly skillful and has a creative eye. I will definitely use her again and highly recommend her to anyone who wants the best. Thanks Lia!!!

    Sent on 12/06/2014

    Beauty by Lia's reply:

    Katie , Thank you so much , what a kind review <3 . I am truly so happy and pleased to have ever met you . You are a wonderful and such a beautiful person inside and out , I am so ever thankful, thank you for having choosing me to be part of your special day , Thank you again with Love , Lia
  • M

    Molly · Married on 10/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lia: you are so talented! Thank you form the bottom of my heart for making everything so easy, relaxing, and wonderful!

    Lia did my hair and makeup for my wedding. We did a trial to decide what would look best; Lia drove to me in Sonoma where I was working. I had had an incredibly stressful work schedule and only had the morning off that day... After spending a few hours with Lia, I felt like I had been pampered for a week! She is such a lovely person; easy going, fun, and smart. I went to a work function after our trial, and people could not believe how great my hair and makeup looked!

    I emailed Lia a few days before the wedding to let her know that I had decided to get eyelash extensions and to see if she had recommendations for water-based, oil free mascara. She went as far as to call Sephora and get product recommendations for me.

    The day of the wedding I was not nervous at all; she had my full trust, she got along with my Bridesmaids really well, and we just had a beautiful morning together.

    I knew I'd love my hair makeup, but I never expected to love it as much as I did! It held up all day and night beautifully-- and I danced my booty off at the reception! Lia was with me during my First Look photos and she touched me up before the Ceremony; I felt like I had a good friend standing by. She is a magician; she knows what she's doing, she knows what kind of skin and hair she is working with, she is an artist, and she is a beautiful woman!

    I initially wasn't going to hire anyone to do my hair and makeup, to save money. Lia was worth every penny. The day would not have been so carefree and enjoyable if I had had to figure out my own hair and makeup and make it last all day! She was the second best decision I made that day ;) First, was obviously marrying my awesome husband! THANK YOU, LIA! I am so lucky that I found you!

  • D

    Dina · Married on 08/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lia did me and my mom's hair and makeup and makeup for all 6 of my bridesmaids as well. Not only did we all look amazing, but she really listened to what we wanted, and even kept me calm on my wedding day.

  • User4616386 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lia was wonderful to work with!

  • M

    Marie · Married on 01/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Lia online, as I was planning my wedding at San Francisco City Hall from London, United Kingdom. I cannot say enough good things about Lia. She communicated with me prior to the wedding day and always promptly responded to me. She arrived at my hotel on time, so I had nothing to worry about. She listened to what I wanted and looked at a few pictures. I was a little nervous on my wedding morning and completely alone as I had relatives to attend our wedding. I was a little anxious about this when looking for an on location makeup artist online. I am so happy that I chose Lia!! She truly lived up to her great reputation. She helped calm my nerves and was such a calming presence whilst my mind was doing somersaults!! The end results, both hair and makeup exceeded my expectations, she knew exactly what colours suited my skin type , my makeup and hair were amazing. She achieved the ‘effortless’ look that I wanted, a touch of glamour but remaining very natural. Everyone that has seen my before and after pictures and questioned whether it is the same person. I cannot highly recommend Lia enough for your wedding day! She is a true professional, knows her craft, very talented lady!

    Just wanted to say a huge Thank You Lia, for making me look amazing on my special day!! Marie – London – United Kingdom

  • A

    Angie · Married on 05/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Lia online, as I was planning my wedding at San Francisco City Hall from Georgia. I can not say enough good things about Lia. She communicated with me prior to the wedding day and always promptly responded to me. She arrived at my hotel on time, so I had nothing to worry about. She listened to what I wanted and looked at a few pictures. I was a little nervous on my wedding morning and completely alone as we had no friends or relatives to attend our wedding. Lia was so easy to talk to that I felt like I was getting ready with a long time friend. This was very important to me, as I didn't want to be uncomfortable with a stranger for 3 hours in a hotel room before my wedding! I was a little nervous about this when looking for an on location makeup artist online. I am so thrilled that I chose Lia after searching for days and reading numerous other reviews! She helped calm my nerves and was a pure joy! With that being said, my makeup and hair were wonderful and beyond anything that I had expected. Everyone that has seen my before and after pictures are amazed. They can't believe that i found someone so talented online while planning from Georgia! I highly recommend Lia for your wedding day! She is perfect!

  • User3178259 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lia was a wonderfully calming presence and constant professional when helping to make me look and feel my best for my wedding day. We did a trial run the day prior to my wedding, which I would highly suggest to future brides, and Lia stayed until we figured out together what style truly looked best for my special day. I was comforted by her relaxing confidence as we were able to truly work as a team to find my most flattering look and style for both my hair and make-up. On my wedding day, Lia helped with taking photos and even helped me into my gown!!! She is obviously passionate about her job and puts in the extra effort to care for her brides. I truly cannot thank Lia enough for making such a difference in my life during an exciting and stressful time. My pictures came out beautiful and my husband could not stop looking at and commenting on my hair the day of our wedding. He LOVED it!!! I highly recommend Lia, brides to be, and I would be happy to allow Lia to give my name and email if you would like to hear about more about my experience. Thank you, Lia!!! : )

  • User2372642 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lia was one of the best wedding vendors I worked with. She is a true professional and did a fantastic job from start to finish. Lia is so sweet and nice and made everyone feel so comfortable. I didn't do a trial and just went in with a few ideas, so I put my trust in Lia and let her go to work. She listened and gave me everything I wanted and some things I never expected. She did a beautiful job on my hair and makeup and it looked so good on camera. I wish Lia would come to my house and do my hair and makeup every day!

  • E

    Emily · Married on 03/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was wonderful to work with On Location Hair & Makeup. From the initial contact, through my trial, and on my wedding day, Lia was such a delight and provided me with amazing results. She provided hair and makeup for myself, my two sisters, my mother, and my flower girl the day of my wedding. She did an amazing job on everyone! She is very talented and responsive to any of our questions, concerns, and desires for both our hair and makeup! I have never felt so confident in the way my makeup looked when getting it professionally done until I had it done through her! She made me feel so beautiful on not over-done at all. I personally don't wear a lot of makeup and never wear false lashes, and she provided me with more makeup and lashes than I typically wear but made it look so natural and flawless! My sister and my mother NEVER wear make-up and she was able to make them look so elegant on my wedding day without making them feel too different. When my sister felt it was too much during the process of putting it on, Lia scaled it back to an even more natural look to put her at ease. Everyone looked stunning. Lia is also so enjoyable to talk with, she felt like another family member in the room, which helped everyone keep the fun mood flowing on the big day! Everyone looked stunning in the photos too, meaning that her makeup lasted throughout the whole day and night!! She was always super professional, on time, and worked well within the amount of time given to her. I would highly recommend her for any of your make-up needs. I am just hoping that I have another reason soon to use her services!!

  • R

    Rachael · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is only one word to describe Lia... AMAZING!!! Not just your average amazing... she is truly exceptional. Let me start off by saying I am beyond a perfectionist, so after doing hours of research I choose Lia based up her reviews and pictures from her website. I finalized my decision after I spoke with her over the phone - she is one of the most genuine and nicest people I have ever met. I was on a tight budget for my wedding, so I opted out of the pre-trial hair and makeup and decided to trust my instincts with Lia.

    Just to give you an overview about myself... I am not the typical girly-girl. Sure I love to look pretty, but for me that means mascara (I have naturally blonde hair, so otherwise I look 8), and a little blush and chapstick (lipgloss if I REALLY want to step it up). I have had my makeup done at the mall in the past, and felt like a total clown when they are done (that being said, I was really nervous about how heavy the makeup would be for my wedding).

    On the wedding day, Lia arrived and I could tell the morning was going to go great. She is so professional, but at the same time she makes you feel like you have been friends for years. She did my 5 bridesmaids hair (which all looked STUNNING - all the girls were shocked), as well as my hair and makeup. I was already self-conscious because I had a few breakouts arrive that morning - WTF, but Lia did wonders. I have never, EVER felt so beautiful in my entire life. The makeup was drastic enough to be perfect for the wedding, but her choice and technique looked so natural I couldn’t help but tear up when I saw myself. My hair was EXACTLY what I wanted (if not better), and I received so many complements (and people asking so they could book her for their wedding).

    Please do yourself a favor and choose Lia!!!

  • R

    Rosalie · Married on 07/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't be happier with my experience with Lia!! My husband and I are from the Midwest and had a small destination wedding in Napa, CA. I found Lia online and I'm SO glad I did! She came to our hotel early the morning after we flew into San Francisco to do my hair and makeup trial. She asked me how I envisioned myself looking on my wedding day, and the whole time she was working she explained what she was doing and asked me about what I liked for color choices, etc. On our wedding day, she came to the bed and breakfast where we were holding our ceremony and did my hair and makeup there. I was SO happy with her work!! I got tons of compliments on how I looked that day. Lia is absolutely WONDERFUL at both hair and makeup!! She's such a sweetheart, and I had so much fun chatting with her! It is so helpful that she travels, too--since I'm not from the area, I think I would've had issues navigating my way through San Francisco! I looked exactly how I wanted to on my wedding day, and my husband loved it too. I wish Lia could do my hair and makeup everyday! :-) I HIGHLY recommend her to brides in the San Francisco area! Thank you so much, Lia!!!

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 05/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am extremely picky about paying for hair and make up. I do not like paying someone to do my hair when in the end i could have done it myself. I was extremely blessed when I discovered Lia. She worked with me for over a year because wedding, military and dates kept pushing the date back. Lia was patient and attentive through the entire process. I was blown away by my hair and makeup and we even made some last minute changes. She also did my mothers hair and makeup, which turned out amazing. The fact that i found someone who MY MOTHER AND I both loved... makes her priceless!

  • C

    Celeste · Married on 05/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If there were 10 stars, I would give Lia 20! She was outstanding. Her work is flawless. She listened to what we wanted and did exactly that! She was flexible, professional, patient and kind. I would recommend Lia wholeheartedly.

  • M

    Mychal · Married on 01/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lia did a few of my bridesmaids hair and my hair for my January Wedding. She was so easy and an absolute pleasure to work with. I had two hair trial before her that were terrible. For my trial she came to my house. I had sent her some pictures prior to arival. She was so easy to talk to and was very laid back. I had a lot of girls change their mind constantly and she just went with the flow. The day o my wedding, I had decided to make a few changes to what we did at the trial. My hair came out exactly how I pictured it! I would work with lia again in a heartbeat!

  • T

    Teresa · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lia was amazing! She was so professional, she didn't get offended if anyone asked her to make adjustment, she had a warm smile the whole time and really made us feel special and beautiful. Highly recommend!! Thank you Lia...you made me feel like a gorgeous bride!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lia did my hair and makeup for my wedding and I have never felt as beautiful as I did that day. I told her exactly what I wanted and she gave it to me! It was so easy! She was quick but careful and she did an amazing job. She is so easy going and she was open to all of my preferences. She did not push me toward a look I did not want which I really appreciated. She definitely made sure I was happy with the end result. I would highly recommend her to anyone who wants a professional hair and makeup artist with a ton of talent and a sweet personality. She will transform you! The best part was seeing my husband's face as I walked down the aisle. He was blown away! Thank you, Lia!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review