Old Blue BBQ Reviews

63 | Alexandria, VA
See photos, pricing and details

63 Reviews for Old Blue BBQ

Recommended by 99%

63
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

6 User photos

Old Blue BBQ 1
Old Blue BBQ 2
Old Blue BBQ 3
Old Blue BBQ 4
Old Blue BBQ 5
Old Blue BBQ 6
Sort by:
  • Amanda

    Amanda · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So very easy to work with and plan my wedding

    Wedding wire helped us find Old Blue BBQ and Kari was so great, responsive and easy to work with. She treated us as friends and we had an excellent experience from start to finish! Staff arrived on time the day of and set up quickly and quietly while we had our ceremony in Grammys front yard. Everything was perfect. Order the Beef Brisket! We “sold out”!!

    Sent on 09/24/2019
    Old Blue BBQ 7
    Old Blue BBQ 8
    Old Blue BBQ 9
  • Joselin

    Joselin Santana · Married on 09/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing loved this catering company

    Used Old Blue BBQ for my wedding & hands down the best decision I made. Kelly & Kari helped me out sooo much & made my wedding experience super smooth. They accommodated us on our wants and needs and worked around our budget. Received so many great compliments on the food and they made my venue look great! Highly recommend them!

    Sent on 09/13/2019
  • James

    James Hersch · Married on 06/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A JOY to work with

    Kelly, Stephen and Keri created and delivered a phenomenal experience for our wedding rehearsal dinner. The bbq meats were amazing (absolutely best brisket ever), the sides were top notch. The staff was professional, courteous and FUN. FIVE STARS in every category. Kelly immediately foresaw the best way to layout the feast and tables, and made all the right calls. THANK YOU KELLY!

    Sent on 06/29/2019
  • E

    Eleanor · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Exceptional Food and Service!

    Old Blue BBQ were the perfect caterers. The food was delicious and fit our venue perfectly! Many guests noted that it was the best wedding food they'd ever had :) Additionally, Old Blue BBQ was extremely helpful with preparing for the event, pulled off the evening seamlessly, and threw in wonderful extras (allowing bar to stay open later, decorating items). Highly recommend for a wedding or any event!

    Sent on 06/24/2019
  • Kelsey

    Kelsey · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you Kelly!!

    Old Blue BBQ lived up to our expectations of putting out great food for our May Wedding! Thank you so much to Kelly for being an amazing help throughout the entire process. Kelly was professional, was my coordinator that I didn't know I had!! Especially helpful with navigating a somewhat trying engagement with another vendor. Our friends and family were very impressed with the food, but more impressed with the catering staff. The crew we had were professional and ensured that my husband and I had everything we needed, made our set up perfect, and took great care of the guests. Thanks again for a great event! Highly recommend for any event!

    Sent on 06/06/2019
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 05/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Food Ever!!

    Kelly and her crew were amazing!!!! Our guest are still calling asking does Old Blue BBQ have a storefront. We highly recommend Old Blue BBQ for all of your events whether big or small. Definitely try the pig candy and macaroni and cheese!!

    Thanks again Kelly & Old Blue BBQ 💙💛

    Sent on 05/07/2019
  • M

    Meredith · Married on 12/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend!

    We used Old Blue to cater our wedding of about 100 guests in Leesburg, VA in December and can't recommend them highly enough! If you're looking for BBQ and super customer assistance, then Old Blue definitely fits the bill. From start to finish, Kelly and her team were great to work with. They definitely are experts...provided great suggestions, including on cocktails, menu, layout, etc. They also transported our alcohol to the venue for us, which was an enormous help. Everything went smoothly the day of--including the cocktail reception, dinner, and bartending--and the food was absolutely delicious. Old Blue also ensured that everything was cleaned up so that we didn't have to worry about getting our security deposit back. Kelly was very responsive, friendly, and accommodating throughout the process. So glad we decided to work them.

    Sent on 01/13/2019
  • C

    Cindy Loving · Married on 10/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic. Worth every penny.

    Catered our rehearsal dinner in October. The food and service were truly outstanding. They were very easy to work with. There were no mistakes. We had about 50 people attend the dinner and everyone loved the meal. Portions were generous and good was hot and fresh. I would recommend Old Blue to anyone.

    Sent on 02/06/2019
  • R

    Russell · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Old Blue BBQ catered our rehearsal dinner/wedding welcome bbq, and we were very happy with everything! The team at Old Blue was very responsive all the way up through the event. Old Blue was also great at accommodating our food and drink requests, so we got exactly what we wanted. They also accommodated our guests with dietary restrictions! Old Blue does soup to nuts, so they were able to do the set up, clean up, and supplied bartenders, tables, etc. During and after the event, all of our guests were raving about the food, especially the brisket! Would definitely recommend!

    Sent on 09/19/2018
  • N

    Nathaniel Belasco · Married on 07/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazingly Delicious BBQ and Great Customer Service

    Hiring Old Blue BBQ was the best vendor decision of our wedding. Their food is scrumptious, and many our guests said it was the best meal they've ever had at a wedding. Months later we are still dreaming about the delicious food. The brisket was smokey and tender, the pulled pork was tangy and delicious, the mac and cheese was rich and creamy, and the decadent appetizers disappeared before we even got to see them. From the start, Kelly was super helpful in the planning process. She exudes professionalism and confidence and we immediately felt like we were in good hands. The day of, she really ran the show and everything went smoothly despite weather concerns. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/21/2018
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing Old Blue BBQ for our caterers was one of the easiest decisions we had to make! From the very beginning, they were friendly, knowledgeable, and easy to work with. Our tasting was AMAZING, and they even let us sample some items that we weren't originally interested in, but blew us away! We originally worked with Kelly, but then were switched to Kari, who had done many, many events at our venue, and both women were absolute dreams to work with. Kari did an amazing job, she kept me and my husband fed all night, and I can't gush enough about how well taken care of we were. All of our guests were amazed by our food and could not stop talking about it. Old Blue handled everything for us and made it possible for us to enjoy our wedding, I cannot recommend them enough!

    Sent on 06/03/2018
  • Demi

    Demi · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I could not have been happier with Old Blue BBQ. Kelly was a dream to work with and was responsive from the initial point of contact. Kelly was great about giving us as much information as possible and giving us ideas and options we would have never thought about. Our tasting was absolutely amazing and we knew right then and there that Old Blue was the best fit for us. I always felt like Kelly had everything under control and organized, even to the point that I did not feel the need to hire a day-of-coordinator. Not only is their service top-tier, their food is even better. By far the best BBQ we have ever had. We loved that there were so many options that didn't feel "BBQ". We have been receiving so many compliments on the food and service. We couldn't have been happier with choosing Old Blue BBQ as our caterer. Highly highly recommend!

    Sent on 08/24/2018
    Old Blue BBQ 10
    Old Blue BBQ 11
    Old Blue BBQ 12
  • K

    Kasey · Married on 02/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't think I can overstate how happy we are that we hired Old Blue BBQ. From the first conversation I was put at ease. Kelly was always so positive about our plans and our wishes, and even when we were considering something that may not work she didn't just shut it down, she suggested an alternative that always ended up being better than what we originally imagined. Throughout the whole process her efficiency and capability helped make wedding planning much easier for us. Everything went smoothly on our wedding day, from their team coming in and setting up the spaces to packing up leftover food for us to enjoy after the wedding. And the FOOD - we are still hearing rave reviews about the food. The moink balls, the burnt ends, the stuffing...everything was delicious. Thank you to Kelly and her team for playing making our wedding everything we imagined!

    Sent on 06/10/2018
  • S

    susannah · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hire Old Blue BBQ - you will not be disappointed. They were hands down the easiest and best group of people to work with - from our intimate tasting at their kitchen to the brideshare, help with all the rentals, and perfect day-of-execution. And of course, THE FOOD ... let me tell you about the food. It is a show stopper - people are still talking about our wedding food as some of the best BBQ they've ever had. Everything was fantastic and all of their staff was just absolutely delightful. I cannot say enough good things about Kelly and the whole crew at Old Blue.

    Sent on 05/21/2018
  • E

    Eva and Brad · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about Old Blue BBQ. We had a casual wedding but still wanted great food. The craft bbq and catering from Old Blue fit the bill perfectly. They provided us with appetizers, bbq buffet and a late night snack. Everything was delicious and creative, making our wedding a unique experience for our guests. People could not stop talking about the moink balls and candy bacon! Buffet leftovers were packaged for our guests, and were quickly snapped up. The pork and brisket were amazing, and the smoked salmon a special treat. We were also very thankful for their vegetarian and vegan options. This meant we could comfortably serve everyone in our party. Their catering setup was spot on for our vibe, and they had so many nice touches, like butter in mason jars.Their service was topnotch. So many people commented on how pleasant and accommodating the staff was during our event. Shannon was our point of contact. She was always so responsive and able to work with us to make our event what we wanted. They bent over backwards to help us out. They were always on time for set up and clean up, doing a fantastic job. They are a fantastic vendor, and we would recommend them to anyone. No matter how sophisticated the event, the food at Old Blue will be right and please everyone.

    Sent on 11/19/2017
  • O

    Olivia · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing! Everyone was so helpful! They had such great advice, they even had suggestions on the layout for the reception. And of course, the food was incredible! So many of my guests told me it was the best food they'd ever had at a wedding.

    Sent on 10/24/2017
  • C

    Caryn · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had such a lovely experience working with Old Blue BBQ and specifically Kelly. Excellent service from start to finish in helping us execute the vibe we wanted for the wedding and ensuring that we established a perfect environment, with the best food, for our guests. I highly recommend the brisket and the squash gratin in particular - my favorites and absolutely delicious. Thank you again to the Old Blue BBQ team for making our day truly special!

    Sent on 10/13/2017
  • S

    Shea · Married on 09/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the absolute best decisions we made for our wedding was hiring Old Blue BBQ as our caterer! From the initial tasting, to the day-of, Kelly was fantastic throughout the entire process.

    First of all, the food is down-right delicious. You’ll have such a hard time choosing the menu for your big day because everything is so yummy! We especially loved the mac & cheese and maple dijon brussel sprouts, but you truly cannot go wrong :)

    While the food is amazing, working with Kelly truly made our experience. She is so professional, knowledgeable, and kind, and consistently went above and beyond to make our wedding day perfect. From sharing ideas on place settings, providing guidance on day-of logistics, and answering our many questions along the way, Kelly was such a joy to work with and honestly helped relieve so much of our stress leading up to the big day.

    During the planning process, she thought of all the finer details that we would have missed, and also spent time walking us through Old Blue’s ‘bride share’ space to pick out décor pieces that we wanted to incorporate into our reception. In addition to the awesome food and Kelly’s expertise, the option to use lanterns, votive candles, and other accessories from the bride share will make you feel even more like you’re getting the most bang for your buck!

    On the day of, Kelly was so helpful and made sure everything went off without a hitch! She truly played such an instrumental role in making our dream wedding a reality, orchestrating the set-up of the cocktail hour & reception space, directing our guests to the buffet in an orderly manner, styling our dessert bar, and staying in command of everything. We could not have been happier with our experience with Old Blue BBQ, and highly recommend Kelly and her team!

    Sent on 10/07/2017
  • D

    Daniella · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Old Blue for our September wedding in Lovettsville, Va., and had an awesome experience. From the initial meeting and tasting with Shannon (our event coordinator) to the end of the reception, Shannon and her team were so easy to work with, so responsive to our questions, and so helpful in troubleshooting timeline and logistics as we got closer to the date. And of course, the food (which my husband and I were particular and particularly excited about during wedding planning) was delicious. Our wedding was at a farm, so a barbecue buffet was perfect for the overall tone and vibe that we wanted. We did ribs, chicken, and brisket (both lean and fatty) for dinner, with a mix of sides and vegan entrees for a few of our guests, and the quality and flavor were spot on and exactly what we'd had at the first tasting. The cocktail hour options were also a big hit, and we (and our guests) particularly loved the candied bacon. We brought in our own beer and wine and also did donuts instead of cake for dessert, and Old Blue advised on the amounts and also set up the donuts in a beautiful way for the reception. Not only was the food great and the staff supportive, it was also a great value and by far the best priced option after shopping around with a few other DC-area caterers. Would 110% recommend Old Blue (and Shannon in particular) for an upcoming wedding or event.

    Sent on 10/21/2017
  • M

    Molly · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Old Blue BBQ was the most incredible wedding caterer we ever could have imagined! Kelly was absolutely amazing every step of the way, from the first day we contacted her to the day off. We did not have a wedding planner or day of coordinator, but Kelly was extremely integral in making our wedding flow and go on without a hitch. She and the rest of the staff worked their magic the day of, through sun and unexpected rains. We were hooked from our first tasting and all the food on our wedding day did not disappoint! Absolutely delicious BBQ with variety for us to personalize our menu. It was difficult to decide because everything was so tasty! We can't say enough positive things about Old Blue BBQ. Thanks Kelly and Stephen for making our wedding unforgettable!

    Sent on 10/29/2017
  • A

    Anna · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I booked old blue for my catering, set up and clean up service. It was the best decision I could of made for my wedding. Shannon, Kelly and the team went above and beyond for my special day. The food was AMAZING the service was OUTSTANDING. Every wedding has its hiccups and Shannon handled it all so well I didn't know anything had gone wrong until after the wedding was over.( nothing that went wrong was any fault of Old Blue) I cannot recommend Old blue enough. They truly made my wedding day the special successful day that it was.

    P.S. get the Brussels sprouts they are to die for

    Sent on 08/17/2017
  • M

    Megan · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Old Blue BBQ is awesome. We had a hard time trying to hire a caterer for our wedding because we live out of state. Kelly really blew me away when she brought a tasting all the way out to Winchester because we were only in town for a limited time. Kelly's experience, coupled with her constantly going above and beyond for customers, helped everything go smoothly at our reception. Their crew set up in a less than ideal situation (basically a dirt trail in the woods) and provided excellent service. We opted to serve the food family style and they excecuted it flawlessly. The way they displayed the food was beautiful. And their food is so freaking good. All our guests raved about it. From their sauces to their fresh pickles to the meat and sides, everyone loved all the food Old Blue BBQ had to offer. Their food and service can't be beat.

    Sent on 06/27/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    SERVICE: Old Blue BBQ has impeccable service. They respond to phone calls and emails promptly; the food is amazing; they more than helped with wedding planning and decorations. I wish I didn't hire my wedding coordinator because Kelly was so diligent about helping us cut costs and even loaned us FREE, beautiful, wedding decorations for both the ceremony and reception. The waiters were professional and ran the dinner buffet and bar lines smoothly. We wanted a formal wedding that wasn't TOO formal and Old Blue accommodated that perfectly with the decorations and silverware they used.

    FOOD: Brisket, brisket, brisket. Everyone was in LOVE with the brisket. People still rave about the food at our wedding and it's been a month. Old Blue has a nice assortment of good ole BBQ and lighter, healthier fare that will appeal to people of all dietary backgrounds (we had multiple vegans, pescatarians, and meat-lovers at our wedding).

    OVERALL: We had to plan the entire wedding ourselves because we're not made of money like some people in DC seem to be. Old Blue helped us create a Pinterest-perfect wedding and, honestly, Kelly is THE single most amazing person in the wedding industry (and probably the world). She is down-to-earth and genuinely has the bride and groom's best interest at heart. She made the process so much less stressful and we love her so, so, much for being the reason that our wedding was as amazing as it was.

    Sent on 07/02/2017
  • Y

    Yolonda · Married on 05/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not say ENOUGH about this amazing group! As a wedding planner, I was VERY picky about exactly what I wanted and Kelly did everything to make sure my day was perfect. Thank you so much!

    Sent on 05/29/2017
  • J

    Julie · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My son & daughter-in-law were married on Saturday May 6, 2018 and we used Old Blue BBQ in Alexandria as our caterer for the semi-casual reception dinner. We were invited to go with the bride and groom for the tasting several months prior to the wedding. The selection of foods that we sampled including appetizers were absolutely delicious well presented, and hard to choose from. The day of the wedding Old Blue arrived on time and set up the reception in the barn that went along with the wedding theme of Vintage Chic. They arranged the tables, linens, table settings, and table decorations along with guidance from the wedding planner. The appetizers were delicious and seemed to satisfy the crowd waiting during pictures. The bar was set up and managed well. The buffet style dinner was absolutely awesome. The food was plenty, organized, and delicious. The caterers stayed until the end of the reception packing up the extra food, breaking down tables, putting up chairs, cleaning up, and taking the trash for the evening with them. I would recommend Old Blue BBQ to anyone having a semi- causal reception. They are professional, on time, and more than prepared, and most importantly the food was enjoyed and delicious.

    Sent on 05/25/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review