Skip to main content
Weddings

Ohio Statehouse Reviews

Ohio Statehouse View more information

11 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 94% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating

Awards

11
  • T
    Temi Married on 07/29/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The statehouse is such a beautiful venue! I had my wedding there and it could not have gone any better. The best part of the venue is who it came with - SOPHIE CHASE! Sophie was absolutely AMAZING. I am still in awe as to how she was able to nail my day. She came to our meetings always prepared and eager to ensure that everything went according to the way it was supposed to flow. She was quick to respond back to emails (even when she was on vacation) and made awesome vendor recommendations. On the day, Sophie was like super woman. She ensured that we stuck to time and really helped us execute our traditional wedding so well, and was always there when I needed her. The best part was she always had a smile on her face and a positive spirit the whole night. It really helped ease any anxiety I may have had about the event. The statehouse was an absolutely gorgeous venue, and I would have my wedding there over and over again, especially Sophie is an integral part of the venue.
  • D
    Dawn Married on 06/17/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our daughter was married this past June and the reception was held at the Ohio Statehouse. It is such a beautiful, traditional, and historical place. Our guests continue to rave about how nice the Statehouse was for a wedding reception. The best part of the experience is Sophie Chase, the coordinator at the Statehouse. For a year and a half - she worked with me and the bride and groom to make sure every detail was covered. She is a very pleasant person to work with, professional, and prompt in all her communications. She worked well with our day-of coordinator to ensure all the vendors were on time and had everything ready to go throughout the day/night. It was an amazing party and we are so happy they chose this venue for the celebration. I highly recommend using the Statehouse for a reception - you will not be disappointed!
  • L
    Lindsay Married on 06/25/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding reception at the Ohio Statehouse in June of 2016, and I honestly could not have asked for a better venue or experience throughout the entire planning process and the wedding day itself. The Statehouse is absolutely GORGEOUS, so not much needed to be done to the space. Cocktail hour was hosted in the rotunda and the reception was in the atrium; both spaces are unique yet extremely beautiful, grand, and obviously historic, which adds to the appeal. Our guests were impressed from the start!

    I could go on and on about the venue itself and how truly impressive it is, but what really made it special was working with Sophie Chase, the Statehouse's wedding coordinator. She was ALWAYS so quick to respond to all of my emails (and there were a lot) and was always so patient, kind, understanding, and thorough with her responses. There is literally no need to hire your own wedding planner because Sophie is that good.

    Sophie made sure to contact all of our other vendors prior to our wedding so my husband and I didn't need to worry about a thing that day. Because of Sophie, all of our vendors worked extremely well together, making our entire reception extremely seamless and run smoothly for my husband, myself, and our guests. She went above and beyond.

    There are truly not enough positive things I can say about the Ohio Statehouse or Sophie. I've been to my fair share of weddings, and the Statehouse is by far the best venue in Columbus... Heart of downtown, unique, historical, breathtakingly gorgeous, AND it comes with an incredible wedding planner that is Sophie. Everything that I dreamed of for my wedding and more!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • User2365722 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Statehouse is one of the best kept secrets in Columbus for special events. And, believe it or not, it's one of the most reasonably priced venues downtown. We had our 200+ person wedding reception there and it was fantastic (cocktails in the Rotunda and plated dinner in the Atrium). Outside of the obviously gorgeous setting, one of the best things about the Statehouse is the partnership that they have with Milo's Catering, which operates the on-site cafeteria. The combination is a sure hit. Another bonus is the built-in wedding coordinator who is there for you every step of the way. We worked with Sophie, who was wonderful and went above and beyond day-of. She gathered all of our cards and gifts, worked with the catering staff to pack up our centerpieces and made sure that we didn't have to lift a finger.
  • B
    Brian A. Married on 04/11/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Ohio Statehouse was the perfect venue for our reception. Our guests commented that they had never been there and were amazed by the history and architecture. The space itself proved to be perfect and elegant, with little need to do anything in addition. Sophie and the rest of the staff were helpful, supportive, and excited for us. I highly recommend!
  • J
    Julie Married on 07/28/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely LOVED the venue. I could not have asked for a better, more unique, more beautiful place to have my ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception!! Sherri was amazing to work with, and the entire staff made sure my day was perfect.
  • K
    Kaitlyn Married on 02/25/2017
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    We had our reception at the Ohio Statehouse and it was worth every penny! Not only did our guests rave about the venue every time we spoke to people (day of and after), but the whole process from start to finish was as stress free as you can get for reception planning. The true reason for all this was the coordinator, Sophie. She was so kind, flexible, organized, patient, knowledgable... I could go on forever. Meetings were planned at certain marks (90 days, 30 days) but Sophie was always available to answer emails and phone calls with questions. I cannot stress enough how great of a coordinator Sophie is and her behind the scenes work was flawless. As a bride she kept everything on track even when our pictures began to run behind, and made sure everyone was ready for entrances when that time came too. Thank you so much Sophie!

    Our cocktail hour was held in the Rotunda, with Reception in the Atrium. Everything was decorated beautifully and the staff at the Statehouse during the reception was wonderful. Everyone was happy and helpful (which surprised me because they were at work on a Saturday night)! We also chose to go with Milo's catering for bar and dinner - which made the process smooth since they are used to working with the Statehouse. Plus, the food was so good, beautifully plated, and served smoothly without being disruptive.

    Lastly, you'll be at a venue for beautiful, unique pictures inside and out - the Ohio Statehouse can't compare!
  • W
    Whitney Married on 08/01/2015
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding at The Ohio Statehouse in August 2015 was perfect. This is such a wonderful venue that truly "wows" guests and provides a stunning atmosphere that hardly needs any decor. Sophie was a delight to work with and helped everything run smoothly throughout the entire planning process. I would highly recommend having your wedding reception at The Ohio Statehouse. It is a dream come true to get married in such a gorgeous venue.
  • Emily
    Emily Married on 12/10/2011
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    We were delighted and privileged to have our wedding ceremony in the Rotunda of the Ohio Statehouse. It is such a spectacular venue that we really didn't need to plan many more details beyond what they already provide. Sherri was very helpful throughout the planning process, always answering all of our questions as quickly as possible. The Statehouse outdoor steps and indoor staircases provided breathtaking photos as did the Christmas tree in the Atrium. The only things I would advise future couples considering this amazing venue is that there are some constraints due to the fact that this is both a historical site and a fully-functioning public building - guest seating was in a circle around the ceremony in the center - we were fine with this, but others might find it uncomfortable for guests to be seated "behind" the ceremony. Also, because it's a unique space and the movements are slightly different, the groom was a bit nervous about details and would have preferred a more thorough walk-thru at rehearsal before the ceremony. Not to worry though, the place itself is spectacular and magical and once the ceremony began everything was perfect. I highly recommend the Statehouse if you are lucky enough to get it.
  • K
    Karen Married on 09/14/2013
    4.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    We recently had our wedding at the Statehouse, and it was amazing. The building is beyond beautiful, and the event staff is extremely professional and friendly. They had a staffing change about one month after we signed the contract, so we had some delays in communication, which I was a little worried about. However, Amanda (the building's wedding coordinator) put all those fears to rest and made sure we had everything all set for the day of the event. The whole process (booking the venue, talking through floor plans, scheduling and walking through the rehearsal) was extremely easy and straight forward. The staff is very accommodating (within reason - it's a historical building, after all!) and very clear on any restrictions you must follow.

    Major highlights: absolutely gorgeous venue (we had minimal décor and it still looked amazing), free parking for guests, hotel right across the street, beautiful room for bridal party to get ready in, great locations for photos, responsive and professional coordinator staff.
  • K
    Kelsey Married on 06/08/2013
    3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    I LOVED getting married in the Rotunda. I don't belong to a church, so this was an amazing option for me. The downsides are: the price and the many rules.