Skip to main content
Weddings

Oh So Lovely Photography Reviews

Oh So Lovely Photography

Oh So Lovely Photography

Chicago, IL
5.0 out of 5 rating, 36 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
5.0 out of 5 rating
36 Reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

36
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • Taylor
    Taylor K. Sent on 02/19/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hired as Wedding Photographer

    We cannot say enough good things about Esther. She capture so many natural moments filled with life and love. She was compassionate and patient as I tried to get my nerves under control. She was there when we needed her, but at the same time you never knew she was there. Her pictures capture the purest moments and will be cherished forever.
  • D
    Delanie O. Sent on 02/19/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Esther Created the Most Magical Day!

    I don’t have enough words to say about how amazing Esther was to work with. She’s comforting, easy going, and made every picture feel like a moment we have to remember forever. Even the wedding party said how easy of a day it was for them photo wise. We couldn’t be happier with the end results and would hire her one thousand times over again!
  • O
    Olivia T. Sent on 02/19/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    best photographer, best human

    could not recommend esther enough as your wedding photographer! esther is incredibly talented and an absolute joy. esther shot our wedding 2.5 years ago and we are so thankful as our photos are truly priceless. but beyond that, we just love her kindness, care, and support through the day. again, simply could not recommend enough!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie C. Sent on 02/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous wedding photos!

    To state the obvious, Esther is an incredible, creative photographer who truly captures human emotions in a truthful, beautiful, way. She shot our engagement session as well as our wedding day, and she did an amazing job of making my husband and I feel at ease and comfortable, and even fun :) Having someone take your photo can feel awkward, but Esther made it an enjoyable experience! I am actually in love with all of our photos. Definitely hire her for your wedding day!
  • Katie
    Katie C. Sent on 09/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Your Must Have Wedding Photographer

    My husband and I hired Esther for our wedding in September 2021, and she was fantastic. Not only was she super responsive and communicative while planning pre-wedding, she was also professional, kind and bubbly in person on our wedding day. Esther worked with us to ensure she understood our vision and could capture it so that we can remember our special day forever. Esther takes beautiful, magazine quality photos, and she made us feel like models for a day! I'd HIGHLY recommend working with Esther, she was amazing!!
  • G
    Genna E. Sent on 03/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful photos on a cold and windy day!

    Esther was amazing. We had a windy, overcast, chilly day in the city of Chicago and she made everything feel stress-free and effortless. We could not be happier with how our photos turned out- they are stunning and creative! She was so much fun to work with and everyone in our bridal party loved her! I have recommended her to several couples and I hope I can work with her again in the future!!
  • K
    Kathryn Sent on 03/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An absolute delight + incredible photos!

    Esther is AMAZING! Her skill is apparent through her work and she is so personable (which is great for family photos)!! She was incredibly accommodating and went the extra mile on our wedding day. Wedding photographers are with you the whole day and see all the emotion, so it was such a blessing to have someone so talented, personable and professional with use the whole day!! Highly recommend Oh So Lovely!
  • C
    Christine N. Sent on 02/19/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An unforgettable and dreamy experience

    I had a photographer that I loved for years, but unfortunately due to Covid mandates in 2020, he was unable to fly to the states. I was so sad because I didn’t know anyone else that met my expectations. My sister in law recommended Oh So Lovely and I instantly fell in love with their Instagram portfolio and was so excited!! From our email communications to vision board discussions, they were so professional and lovely to work with. We flew them out to California for our wedding and day after shoot and we had just a blast with them for the 2 days. It felt like hanging out with friends. They took gorgeous photos that I constantly look back at and I tell everyone about them because they were so amazing!
  • Hope
    Hope Sent on 03/01/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Life Imitates Art—and Both Are Wonderful

    Esther was so kind and steadying in the lead-up to our October 2020 wedding. She didn’t bat an eye as we pivoted our plans and scaled things down significantly. She was so helpful, tender, and provided exactly the guidance we needed.

    Esther’s peaceful demeanor (just the sound of her voice will make your shoulders relax) and true professionalism sincerely made our day better. We loved having her present, she just radiated honey and calm. She’s human sunshine, even my very prickly mother loved her by the end of the day.

    And her work truly speaks for itself. Hiring Esther was sincerely one of the best decisions we made when planning our wedding, and now we have wedding photos we treasure. Her work is sincere, emotional, and looks just as beautiful as your wedding did in person.

    Our reception venue was very dark with no natural light and I was terrified of getting flat, lifeless photos like you sometimes see from other photographers. When we got our photos back (so quickly, too!) I was absolutely awed. Not only were the photos rich and full of light, but she even captured teensy, tiny details I didn’t realize were happening—a feat when there are only a dozen people in the room!
  • C
    Clare M. Sent on 06/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Most Genuine

    Esther is amazing, period! Photography was the most important thing to me as far as wedding planning went, and when I came across her Instagram we were instantly sold. The thing about Esther is that both her and her work are so genuine, and her ability to capture emotions and candid moments is pretty much magic.

    Planning our wedding was a rollercoaster to say the least! We postponed our September 2020 wedding twice due to covid; decided that we still wanted to make things official on our original date, and then proceeded to plan a mini backyard ceremony at our parents’ house. Esther was a champ and just patiently rolled with the punches alongside us as we pivoted directions.

    Since engagement photos had also taken a backseat to covid the first time we actually met Esther was the day of our ceremony, but you never would have known it, she immediately made us feel comfortable and blended in seamlessly with the small group of family and friends we had gathered. Even though our mini backyard elopement wedding was sort of an improvised “Plan B” it ended up being more special than I could ever have imagined, and that is in a large part thanks to Esther! Safe to say that I cannot wait to work her again!
  • S
    Sharlette S. Sent on 10/08/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Photographer

    Esther was absolutely amazing! She was the wedding photographer for one of my friends and she has since done one of our other friend's sister's wedding and now mine! I seriously do not know what I would have done without her calming presence. She helped me to keep it together when we were running behind on time. The photos are beyond beautiful! I am so grateful we chose Esther. I would recommend her to anyone!
  • E
    Emily M. Sent on 11/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Heart, creativity, and talent - all in one unbelievable person

    I got married about a month ago, and am just now posting this because I have been having SO MUCH TROUBLE putting to words how special of a human Esther is. For real, if you need a photographer just stop looking right now and reach out to her. Here’s why:

    - Esther’s photos are like art. It’s never just a point and shoot. Your photos will be beautiful and unique and unlike anyone else’s
    - Her. Esther is sweet and patient and LITERALLY everyone at your entire wedding will love her and want to be her friend
    - She’ll see the day through your eyes. She captured my grandma’s face when we talked about my amazing grandpa who is no longer with us. The few seconds my mom and I held hands when I was getting ready. My sister helping me when my shoe slipped off, my husband and his sisters in one of their goofy hugs, and on and on and on

    I think that’s her secret – nothing about what you’ll get with Ester is generic. I’ve only seen the previews and can’t believe or understand how she managed to be everywhere and capture every moment of our day, big or small.

    On your wedding day, your photographer is with you every single second. During ALL your most special and intimate moments. I spent more time with Esther that day than probably anyone else, and it just felt like she was supposed to be there. Like a very creative/extremely talented friend who happened to take photos of me 😊 If you’re looking for a photographer, for any reason, stop looking and reach out to Esther, because she is everything and more.
  • Kylie
    Kylie C. Sent on 08/25/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Heart and Talent Are Unrivaled

    Ever met someone and immediately wanted to make them your friend? That was Esther, for me. Not only is she outrageously talented, but she is one of the kindest and most genuine people I have ever met. Our initial consultation for our wedding was casual and relaxed; my now husband and I felt like we were meeting an old friend. She doesn’t know this, but I cancelled every other photographer meeting after we met with her - and Esther was the first person we met with! I was able to witness her in action prior to my wedding day as she was also the photographer for my best friend’s wedding the year prior (but after our consult). Her style is unique and her ability to capture candid moments is unrivaled. My husband is the worst about smiling in pictures, but I have so many shots from that day of him with the widest grin. On the day of our wedding, Esther patiently coached my husband and I, as well as wrangled our entire bridal party as needed for photos. I am thrilled and elated that such a wonderful person was part of our happiest day. The only gripe I have is that now that my wedding is over and we received all our pictures, I’m going to have to find reasons to keep in touch. Esther is absolutely the one I will be contacting in the future whenever I need pictures in the future. Do yourself a favor and follow her on Instagram, too.
  • Megan
    Megan Sent on 03/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Lasting Impression

    460 days later, and we are still swooning over the moments Esther has captured of our most favorite day. Her photography is something that brings back those emotions all over again.

    From our first meeting via Skype to the moment we received our images, Esther has left us a lasting impression. Her dedication, passion, and authenticity in helping us relive our wedding can't fully be described in this short space.

    Before the wedding, she took the time to listen and hear our thoughts about the day. Being a teacher, I always like to have a plan and use charts and spreadsheets. Esther was very kind with reassurance and answering any questions we had. Her professionalism is unmatched!

    We only needed one photographer and Esther was able to capture moments from both sides equally with the time constraints we had. She has a calming presence about her and go-with-the-flow attitude; it definitely helped us to also be calm and relaxed.

    My husband and I are awkward when it comes to photos, but she didn't make us feel uncomfortable and worked with our strengths! I definitely recommend learning what your "good" side is and if you don't feel comfortable with a pose or something, definitely speak up. Esther will hear you and adjust.

    I come from a big family and she is really good at herding them to where they need to be! She's assertive and when you are trying to get group photos, someone like her is a MUST. Being someone who is extremely punctual, she took care of that for me. THANKS ESTHER!

    We love that her journalistic style isn't like everyone else's or something you would see from corporate photographers. No disrespect to them, but her talent and style is just unique.

    The one thing I regret is not booking her for longer than 10 hours. She is worth it. TRUST ME.

    I can go on and on, but really... I hope this review solidifies your thoughts on booking Oh So Lovely Photography.

    Can't wait to book her again for our next milestone.
  • Samantha
    Samantha Sent on 01/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The nicest, most talented EVER!

    From the begining Esther was the sweetest nicest and easiest at planning for our engagement pictures and wedding pictures. She helped with ideas of locations as well.
    The day of our engagement pictures it was disgustingly humid and my hair was destroyed and my husband (fiance at the time) and I were dripping in sweat. Im not sure how she did it, but she worked her magic positioning us and fixing my hair to make the pictures turn out flawlessly! We also incorporated our beautiful baby daughter in some of the pictures and I cant even put into words how breathtaking the pictures turned out. During the engagement session we were adventurous with our surroundings as well. It was a delightful and memorable experience.
    The day of our wedding, It was also very humid outside and she again made all of the photos beautiful! She captured every important detail of the day. Looking through the pictures, my husband and I didnt even know she was taking pictures at a moment at the wedding and we thought it was just really awesome and so appreciated that she had captured those moments. I will also say as a plus size bride, my number one concern was how I would look in pictures and I personally feel like Esther knew the right angles and ways to move people around that made me look and feel flawless and confident. When I recieved the pictures I was so satisfied and happy with the way I looked. She did a beautiful job. This is more proof of her talent.
    When we recieved our wedding package with the usbs and printed pictures, it was so beautifully packaged, we were so suprised.
    In all of our experience with Esther, we both agree that she completely went above and beyond in capturing such a special and important moment in our lives. Her planning was simple and easy, she was the sweetest person ever, we felt that she really took care of us but also wasnt controlling us on our day, she captured every detail and special moment of our time at the engagement shoot and wedding day more beautifully than we remembered, when she walked in the room the day of the wedding her kindness and calmness really helped calm my nerves, she proved how talented she truly is, and really made us so greatful satisfied in choosing her. We are so happy and blessed to have discovered her.
  • Caitlin
    Caitlin Sent on 12/08/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing! Blown away by the photos Esther took!

    I couldn't be more thrilled with the photos that Esther took! They're stunning and captured such special moments of our wedding day! Beyond being incredibly talented, Esther has such a lovely, calming presence and helped me feel at ease on the day of my wedding. She also did a great job of wrangling friends and family members for pictures, and delivered a fantastic combination of candid and posed photos that still looked natural. I couldn't be happier with Esther's photography and will definitely be recommending her to friends and hiring her again myself for future photo shoots/events!
  • Jessica
    Jessica L. Sent on 03/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Seamless & Effortless

    This review is far overdue because the amount of love and appreciation we have for Esther and her work is beyond words! Her eye, talent, promptness, professionalism, and flexibility are all award worthy. Without a doubt the easiest and most seamless vendor we worked with. Esther made it so easy for us to simply enjoy the process. AND our photos are absolutely stunning! Highly recommend!
  • Jessica
    Jessica L. Sent on 02/19/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We love Esther!

    Engagement, wedding, my siblings wedding, to now out family of four- we only stay committed to Esther. Her talent and personality are unmatched. I can not recommend enough. You’ll be proud of what is captured and will happily display your fondest memories. The photos I’m sharing aren’t even my absolute favorites, yet they are still some of my favorites! (They’re all I currently have saved on my phone 🙈) But this just to say how much you’ll love even the small moments Esther so beautifully captures with you & your loved ones.
  • K
    Kelsey Sent on 09/12/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Esther and her husband are SO wonderful! They are both so sweet and fun to be around. I loved Esther’s photography style when I found her featured on a wedding blog, and asking her to be our wedding photographer was the best decision. She made us feel comfortable and our photos turned out gorgeous, as I knew they would, because Esther was taking them! We have had several people comment on how beautiful our photos are. We are so happy with them. Also, Esther sent the cutest engraved wooden box to deliver the USB drive and some prints of our photos. We weren’t expecting it, but it was such a pretty presentation and sweet surprise. Hire Esther, you won’t regret it!
  • N
    Naomi Sent on 09/16/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Esther’s work is amazing. She goes above and beyond expectations and displays such passion and professionalism with her photography. She has done multiple photography sessions for me such as individual, couple, engagement shoot, and my wedding day! I will always highly recommend her to anyone needing a photographer. She is the only photographer I trust! Her style is so natural and beautiful. She makes you feel comfortable and confident. She’s super understanding, flexible, and fun! Truly, greatest photographer in the industry!
  • Gwendolyn
    Gwendolyn Sent on 01/14/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best Wedding Photographer in Chicago!

    Esther is by far the BEST photographer in Chicago! There’s a warmth to her pictures that I have not seen by others that brings out the inner beauty of whatever she puts her lens to. From the moment we met her we felt at ease talking with her as if we were old friends. She’s so kind and genuine it makes it easy to work with her. And if you’re not sure what to do in photos, she guides you in a way that is comfortable and feels more natural. There are some poses, but really the photos we loved, that she excels at, are the candid photos she gets. Really all of our photos, from engagement session to our wedding are absolutely breathtaking and they feel like us; like she captured our true emotions. And for the price?! There is no one better. And if you don’t believe me...I actually went through the 700 photographer portfolios they have listed on The Know! That’s how important our photographer was to me and I wanted to make sure I got the best person and the best price. She’s so amazing, my best friend and Maid of Honor just hired her to be the photographer for her wedding. If you’re in search of the best, call Esther.
  • Roxanne
    Roxanne S. Sent on 02/19/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Little Details Matter

    Esther was the epitome of ‘lovely’. She went above and beyond on our wedding day. Professional, kind, calm and considerate. She was a joy to be around. She made our wedding day feel so special. She’s captured our wedding over 6 years ago and she’s also taken photos of my family. The experience was the same. She was lovely with our children and even with busy toddlers running around she was able to capture the sweetest photos. Her work speaks for itself.

    She’s been there through life’s precious moments and I’m eternally grateful for her.

    Highly recommend!
  • Tabita
    Tabita Sent on 05/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Really enjoyed having Esther and her services at our wedding. We felt comfortable and knew that we could be ourselves! Really easy going and she came up with great shots for our pictures! Definitely recommend!
  • A
    Anna Sent on 05/25/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had an amazing experience working with Oh So Lovely Photography for our wedding and the pictures were absolutely stunning. Esther made us feel so comfortable and relaxed on a day that had potential to be stressful. The team really captured the essence of our bridal party, family, and friends and you can tell how much fun everyone had through the pictures!
  • B
    Brooke Sent on 01/27/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Above and beyond our expectations! After searching through hundreds of photographers and their portfolios, I came across Oh So Lovely Photography on the Knot. I was super impressed with Esther's portfolio and fell in love with her style of photography. Communication is key with wedding vendors, and she was very helpful and prompt to answer any questions before and after our wedding. Since we live across the country, the first time meeting was our on wedding day, but Esther and Andrea (Esther's 2nd photographer for the day) made us feel so comfortable and at ease throughout the whole day. They had the perfect balance between directing us with posing and candid shots which resulted in a beautiful array of photos. We have received tons of compliments not only about how beautiful our wedding photos turned out, but also from wedding guests and bridal party, saying how attentive and enjoyable they both were. We're so pleased and honored to have chosen Oh So Lovely Photography to photograph our wedding and would recommend them to anyone looking for a photographer!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message