Oh So Chic Wedding & Event Planning Reviews

24 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

24 Reviews for Oh So Chic Wedding & Event Planning

Recommended by 100%

24
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DeShai was a wonderful planner. She handled all the vendors and our wedding day was very very smooth. I was totally taken care of by DeShai and I didn't worry at all before, during or after the wedding. Her attention to the details like remembering to get the cake base so we could return it to the bakery and keeping an eye on our 3 three year olds that kept running to the candy bar. DeShai was a good fit for me and I literally let her take the lead and the choices she made for the wedding day made it even more special. Based on our conversation and meetings DeShai was able to understand my wants and make my vision a reality. I'd hire her again and again.

  • User3643731 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deshai with OhSoChic was a great pick I ever had (besides picking my hubby..LOL). We had initially contacted Deshai to be our wedding coordinator since early of 2012, later we needed to postpone the wedding till October 2013...that was more than a year delay!! Deshai was totally understanding and let us carry over the previous payment till we were ready to set the exact date for our wedding. Deshai is very knowledgeble in wedding arena and beyond. She would reccommend the vendors that fit best with your budget,reasonable price, and good service quality. I remember that Deshai patiently took us to survey many many venues till we got to decide which place would be our best spot. Deshai is very professional, she always come on time and be ready with all the information on hand. Deshai always respond our questions and concern right away and comes up with good solutions or suggestions. Her sweet personality is what made us feel comfortable to work with. Deshai is a very well organized person even though she tight up with many clients but still can manage to respond individually promptly.We had a relaxing day on the rehearsal day. Amazingly Deshai helped to execute on the wedding day with no flaws. She coordinated with every vendors nicely including the bridal party roles/order. She took care of bride and groom nicely, she even came to remind us to eat the food otherwise the server is going to take it...that was very thoughtful of her. She even helped to pack left over snack for bride and groom to eat later since we were too busy dancing and hanging out with our guests. Deshai helped to pack up all the stuff nicely and very well organized, also helped to return some of the stuff back to the vendors for us. So far we're very satified and happy with OhSoChic by Deshai's service.We will definitly recommend her to other friends and family.

  • A

    Aisha · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deshai was very friendly and professional. She handled all our concerns and went above and beyond. We will definately work with Deshai for our next big event.

  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so lucky to have DeShai work with us during our wedding day, she honestly went above and beyond to help make our day memorable. We hired her as a day of coordinator and even prior to the month before the wedding she was always accessable in regards of providing vendors she recommended and answering random questions I had for our wedding.

    Our church lady was a replacement for the original coordinator and unfortunately was not up to par on things but thank goodness for DeShai! She totally stepped in to help her and prep me before walking down the isle. I also made prior diagrams on how we wanted our sign in table to look and she helped decorate it to look 10 times better than my original plan! She is truly amazing and any couple going to get married won't regret hiring her!!!

  • D

    Denise · Married on 06/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This review is long overdue!! I should have written it a long time ago, but life gets in the way, but I had to stop and take a minute to write how wonderful Deshai is and for you readers out there and future brides who are debating on hiring a planner, you won't regret hiring Deshai. Trust me! I was a very picky bride who knew what I wanted and having a personality like mine, (outspoken, spontaneous, "diva") I didn't think it would be possible to find someone that would "fit" just perfectly with me. Deshai is not only professional, but she takes the time to really get to know you, your personality, your wants, needs, vision, and isn't afraid to tell you her ideas and thoughts as well. I loved how open she was and how if I was acting a bit crazy, she would tell me. ( I needed that in a planner, and one that wasn't afraid to tell me that I needed to relax and enjoy just being a bride)

    I can go on and on about how great Deshai is... but to sum it up... she is truly that one planner that will take care of you not only because it's her job (which you can clearly see that she has so much passion in what she does) but she actually cares about you. When planning my wedding, it was so hectic at times especially meeting certain vendors and businesses who were after just getting as much money from you as possible, meeting and getting to know Deshai was like a breath of fresh air. She wasn't after the money or getting more business, she became a friend. I had been so stressed out, and days before the wedding, my groom and I had just been at each other's throat, I really didn't know whether or not I was able to walk down the aisle. The night before the wedding, I opened my email and found a sweet letter from Deshai. It was so touching, and so heartfelt, it just proved to me how amazing of a person she is and how invested she was in my life and my happiness. She is truly someone that you would want in your corner, and as for me, she has become a great friend.

  • B

    Barbara · Married on 04/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DeShai was by far the best decision we made with regard to the planning of our wedding. We couldn't have asked for more. We hired her for day of coordination and help with decor/styling. She is compassionate, extremely knowledgeable, professional, attentive and just plain beyond amazing! She handled crisis with ease and made sure we would be happy with every little detail. She made sure everything went off without a hitch so we could spend the day enjoying ourselves. She attended meetings with us and was there to advise us along the way and calm me down whenever something started to go awry. DeShai paid close attention to our likes and dislikes and I knew I could trust her to have our best interests. She has a great eye for decor and can cater to your own specific style. There is no way we could have pulled off our wedding without her. Her services are invaluable and I recommend her highly! Definitely one of the best in the business.

  • S

    Shandi · Married on 09/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were incredibly impressed with the job that Oh So Chic Wedding and Event Planning did in planning our wedding. With immediate responses in the months leading up to the wedding, a friendly disposition, and an impressive display of calm and organization in the hectic month prior to the wedding, DeShai Roberson always made us feel as though she had things under control. She consistently went above and beyond the call of duty -- assisting in the selection of other vendors, following up with vendors to ensure that all of our requests were granted if at all possible, offering to iron bridesmaid shawls, keeping notoriously tardy relatives on schedule...the list goes on! On the day of our wedding, she calmly handled events that were out of our control (like effectively safety pinning a bridesmaid dress zipper that was so broken that the dress wouldn't close otherwise and ensuring that all guests seamlessly found their reception seats in the absence of our seating chart) so that we never had to worry about a thing. In short, we can happily say that Oh So Chic Wedding and Event Planning did an AMAZING job of seeing to it that our wedding was everything that we hoped it would be!

  • A

    Amy · Married on 09/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DeShai was a pleasure to work with! She stayed calm and reassuring during the entire process from wedding planning to execution. She made sure that my daughter's vision for her wedding was implemented perfectly.

  • User2663465 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DeShai is great at what she does and is a true professional. She had done a friends wedding then another one of our friends prior. They all recommended her, and we see why. DeShai really cared about making it the best wedding for us. Communication, organization, experience, credibility and style thats what Ohsochicevents is about. She went above and beyond our needs and expectations with the package we got. When we had mechanical issue with my bustle the day of the wedding, DeShai knew how to fix it. She help really keep things as stress free as possible the months leading. The day of the wedding is when she shines the brightest, making sure everything is in order, and things are running smooth. We had to get a separate coordinator for our church but we wish we could have had her, after seeing the service we got from the church coordinator. We want to thank Oh So Chic Events, for not only the event planning but being truly apart of our special day.

  • R

    Robin · Married on 06/24/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could give Oh So Chic 6 stars, I would! DeShai was on top of every aspect of the wedding, went far beyond her required responsibilities, and made our wedding incredibly special. She is a professional from start to finish, and went way beyond our wildest expectations in making our wedding a success.

  • S

    Stefani · Married on 06/23/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deshai was absolutely priceless. I could not have gotten through this experience without her. Her professionalism is exceptional. My event was absolutely fabulous, and it couldn't have happen without her. If you are looking for an exceptional Wedding planner, look no further. Linzie and I were truly blessed. We wish you much success. Thank you to Deshai and her team.

  • S

    Susana · Married on 02/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DeShai Robertson is an amazing Wedding Planner. From the very start she was prepared, motivated, always easy to reach, and very knowledgeable in her craft. Through DeShai’s experience she was also able to help us save money when she could by helping us negotiate discounts with vendors. She also was able to help us save money in other ways as well. DeShai helped us out with our invitations by printing-out our labels and also gave us great advice on where to go to get inexpensive supplies. DeShai really proved herself when she planned our wedding. My wife and I decided at the last minute that we wanted to avoid the long stressful engagement and wanted to have our wedding in only a month’s time. DeShai handled our request with relative ease and everything came out amazing. Everyone that attended our wedding loved the ceremony, venue and the décor. We appreciate DeShais’ help with planning our wedding in such a timely manner and recommend her services to anyone that is wishing to get married.

  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 12/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It is important to have fun throughout the whole process!

  • S

    Shana · Married on 04/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DeShai was great to work with. She is very organized and professional and had great relationships with other great vendors. I would definitely recommend her!!

  • S

    Janell · Married on 01/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very grateful to DeShai for helping us plan the wedding we wanted! From day one she stood out from all other wedding consultants by being the first to respond and being willing to meet/talk on weekends or after hours. She was extremely professional but also very warm & friendly and immediately put us at ease with all of the details and communicating with all of our vendors to make sure our desires were honored. You really get the impression that DeShai LOVES doing this for a living! We both felt very relaxed on our wedding day knowing that we didn't have to bother with details! I've already spread the word about her to friends.

  • A

    Alice · Married on 12/31/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deshai is awesome! She went above and beyond her role as wedding planner. She always had great ideas and suggestions and most importantly she was super patient and would answer all my insane questions. I would not have been able to plan a wedding without her because she has a great eye for detail and really enjoys what she does. Thank you Deshai for such a wonderful New Year's Eve!

  • An

    An · Married on 10/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We knew from the start that we wanted a wedding planner for at least day-of but most likely month-of. We were planning a wedding with a guest list that was pushing five hundred… yes, nearly 500 potential guests. We were mixing cultures – Vietnamese, Filipino and American. We wanted someone who we got along with well because really, we would trust this person with one of the most important days of our lives, we’ll be spending a substantial amount of time with this person and communicating regularly… we wanted to someone we’d “click” with. Needless to say, we were quite picky. After interviewing 7 wedding planners with various experience levels from the newbie to those who’ve been in the industry (and magazine) for decades… and various price ranges from steal deals to crazy sell your first born prices. Still, no one clicked. We wanted someone charismatic, fun, honest and firm. Someone with fun but realistic ideas. Someone who will tell another vendor that they did something wrong and make them fix it. Someone who would tell me I’m crazy for going DIY overboard or to convince me that I really didn’t need [insert overpriced wedding detail no one else will notice but the bride, here]. Someone real.
    We were going to give up until we met with DeShai. Wow. When we met with her we just knew she was “the one”. She’s fun, creative, versatile, open-minded, honest, detailed and most importantly, down to earth. She was the 8th planner we interviewed and well worth the long search. We hired her on the spot and it was one of the best wedding decisions we ever made. I would say that she was worth every penny but honestly, DeShai was invaluable… She was a huge blessing – our Wedding Angel. Her attention to detail is excellent, and her standards of service are high. She is the most professional, organized, and genuine person I’ve ever worked with. She truly turned our modern, whimsical, diy Dream Wedding into a reality.
    I can honestly say I was a wreck the weeks leading up to our wedding. I was terrified that our cheesy Chinese restaurant venue would look like a cheesy Chinese restaurant. I was drowning in DIY projects that I thought I *had to* do and too many loose ends to count. DeShai kept me grounded and sane. She convinced me to let go of many of the unnecessary projects I had planned (even though I did some anyway) and she was right, the things I didn’t end up doing, no one even noticed. She wrapped up all our loose ends and kept everyone organized. I’m sure there could have been plenty of mishaps on our wedding day but we didn’t know about any because DeShai managed everything and kept us as stress free as she could. I still remember vividly the minute we walked into our venue. It was far from the cheesy Chinese restaurant it was the previous day. We felt like we were on Platinum Weddings. It truly took our breath away. DeShai transformed our venue and made our dream a reality. Our candy bar was perfectly executed – sure, I bought the jars/vases and candy but DeShai styled it like no other; her attention to detail is flawless. We still get complimented on it and it’s still the talk of the wedding. The tablescapes were flawless. She set up our bird cage, escort cards and calendar guest book prettier than we could have imagined. She has a natural sense of timing; she created our timeline and kept everyone on track. The day went by so quickly, there’s no way we would have been able to keep to the timeline without DeShai. She had us dancing, cutting the cake, tossing the bouquet etc. right on time. She guided our other vendors through the day with a sense of grace and adapted to situations as they arose. In the midst of everything, she still managed to keep me calm, or calm me down. There was a point where I had to change into my reception dress and nearly had a panic attack because my dress went missing. I had the garment bag but it was empty. I was freaking out and DeShai came to the rescue. She calmed me down and found my dress, which wasn’t lost at all, it fell to the bottom of the garment bag and I had bride brain (aka airhead moment) and panicked without looking closely enough. She helped me into my dress, reassured me everything was ok and sent me on my merry way. At the end of the night, we were exhausted – from smiling for the cameras and chatting up our guests. Getting married is really like putting on our show… Broadway ain’t got nothin’ on weddings. DeShai took care of the aftermath without any help from us. She cleaned everything up and kept all of our belongings organized. She sent us on our way and all we had to do was come back and pick up our things the next day. We could have had our bridal party or a family member pick up the things but we wanted to do it ourselves. Everything was packed up in boxes and ready to go – no extra effort from us. I can’t even begin to think of what it would have been like without DeShai. If you’re getting married, hire a planner, you won’t regret it. If DeShai’s available on your date, hire her. Not only will you not regret it, it’ll be the best decision you ever made. She’s truly priceless.

  • A

    Anne · Married on 06/12/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was very impressed with DeShai. She was warm, personable, professional, and attended to all of our needs the day of the wedding, and the night before for rehearsal. All in all, I was able to thoroughly enjoy my daughter's wedding without worrying about the many details that DeShai took care of... she was great!

  • A

    Asia · Married on 05/01/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If anything went wrong with our wedding day, I wouldn't know because DeShai made everything look perfect. Our day ran smoothly with no added stress. Hiring a wedding planner for the day/week prior was one of the best decisions we made & would be happy to recommend DeShai to anyone. She is nice, attentive, not pushy at all, and has a great sense of style.

  • E

    Erika · Married on 09/05/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DeShai was absolutely awesome! Without her our wediding would have been as great as it was. She was invaluable from our first meeting to the very last minute of our wedding reception. From the very beginning she made sure we had everything we needed, including many things we hadn't even thought of. On our wedding day, not only did she work her magic the whole day, she managed to do it with a smile on her face.
    I've been to weddings that had wedding planners that were very controlling and feared by all. DeShai gets the job done but is flexible and realizes that weddings are about celebrating and not making robots out of the bride and groom.
    My husband and I paid for our own wedding and were on a very tight budget, and DeShai made sure that our wedding was worth every penny we spent and so much more. If we could tell DeShai thank you a million times, that still wouldn't be enough. She truly made our wedding day our day.

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 08/28/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we first started planning the wedding we thought we could handle it all. Boy were we wrong! After doing some online research we began interviewing a couple 'Day Of' wedding planners. When we met with DeShai from Oh so Chic, we had a feeling almost instantly that she was going to be our planner for our special day. She was professional, on-time, and both our personalities just seemed to click! DeShai made us feel more comfortable about the big day by walking us through each step of the ceremony process and reception details. She also answered any questions that we had and responded very quickly via email to last minute things. I would highly recommend Oh so Chic to other couples! We had a great experience!!

  • T

    Tammy · Married on 06/28/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DeShai is fantastic! I cannot thank her enough for making our day run smoothly. She was helpful with all of my questions and very knowledgeable about vendors. Her prices are so reasonable and I would have paid twice as much for her services. I definately recommend Oh So Chic!

  • R

    Raquel · Married on 07/07/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oh So Chic was the most important vendor of our wedding day. Originally we thought we could handle without a wedding planner, but we started getting closer to the date and we started to stress out hoping everything we planned for would all come together perfectly. Thankfully we decided to put our trust in Oh So Chic and we can't think back without remembering how much it was the best decision. Oh So Chic was very organized, professional, friendly, and very affordable. Oh So Chic gave many suggestions and resources that fit our style. Our day was perfect thanks to DeShai Roberson! We love her! It was a pleasure working with Oh So Chic, I would definitley refer anyone I know that's planning a wedding.

  • M

    michaela · Married on 09/21/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DeShai was so proactive, kind and helpful! I could not imagine throwing my wedding with out her!

    I would recommend her to any Bride!

    -Michaela

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review