Weddings

Occasional Sounds Entertainment Reviews

Occasional Sounds Entertainment

Occasional Sounds Entertainment

Toms River, NJ
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 106 Reviews
View more information

106 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 106
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
Sort by:
  • Katelyn
    Katelyn Married on 05/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Phenomenal

    Jeff is an absolutely incredible DJ! He’s outgoing and loves to get everyone on the dance floor having fun! I can’t speak highly enough of his talents and have heard from so many of our guests how much they loved Jeff as our DJ!!
  • User2722307 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Hi to all you future brides, If you are searching for a fantastic DJ look no further Jay knows his stuff we had him for our wedding 4/9/16
    Couldn't be more pleased we know if we need a DJ in the future Jay is our go to guy.
    Sorry I took awhile to write a review I Honestly thought I had wrote one sorry Jay.
    Anyway what more to say Jay is a very down to earth guy they all are.So amazing anytime I had a question and believe you me I had a lot ,Jay was always there to answer my question and if I had to leave a message he was very prompt in returning the calls. Even before the wedding he had asked me if I have any question so sweet we could not have ask for a better group of guys.Thank you Jay and your team for making our night magical.Again Sorry took a few months to write the review but I did it.You Guys are the best Virgina & John
  • G
    Ginger Married on 11/21/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Where do I start?? From the day we met with Jay he was awesome!! We told him what we wanted and what we could afford. He was the most reasonable and offered so much with his packages. I was referred to him from a friend and I can't thank her enough! Jay was so personable and we had a connection with him immediately! The music was amazing all night and though things got screwed up due to our photographer on a timely matter, Jay didn't let that interfere with anything! Thank you so much Jay for everything! It was definitely the most amazing wedding and the photo booth was definitely a big hit! Everyone loved it!!! Thank you so much for a great experience!!!
  • A
    Alicia Married on 06/19/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    OSE made my daughters Sweet 16 Perfect!! DJ, MC and Photographer were amazing!! No words can express how grateful we are for getting lucky enough to find such incredible company like OSE!!
    Thank you again for making her day so memorable!! We won't forget it!! You guys rock!!
  • A
    Alicia Married on 06/19/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    One word....AMAZING!! Jay and his team were incredible. From the moment I spoke with him over the phone to discuss Sweet 16 options, I knew he was the one. Very professional, courteous and makes you feel at ease, knowing he will make your special day unforgettable (which it was)! Choosing OSE for my daughters Sweet 16 was the best choice I could have made. Do yourself a favor and choose OSE for your special day!! You will not regret!!! A special thank you to Mike, a photographer with OSE, for capturing all the amazing memories. The pictures are PERFECT!!
    Thank you all for making Alexa's day so memorable!!

    Sincere thanks,

    Alicia & family
  • P
    Perry Event on: 10/30/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jay and his music made the party the success it was. He is very professional and very organized. Jay knows how to keep a party moving and plays the right music at the right time! I have used many DJ's at events over the year's and Occasional Sounds Entertainment is by far the best in the industry. I highly recommend Jay and his company for any event requiring the services of a DJ.
  • L
    Lisa Event on: 10/24/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired Jay and his team to provide DJ and photo booth services at our son's Bar Mitzvah on 10/24/14. Right from the start, Jay stood out when I was researching and talking to DJ's. Before we even hired him, he was generous with his time and ideas, and he helped us figure out how to add in a karaoke aspect to the entertainment. For the months leading up to our event, Jay was always approachable and available to talk with us and answer our questions. His online planning tool was also incredibly helpful for organizing and planning the day, as well as picking out music. He always went out of his way to work with us and help us provide the special touches we wanted. At our son's Bar Mitzvah, he was flexible and read the crowd well. He led great games with the kids and also appealed to the adults. The photo booth was also a huge hit with all of the accessories he brought, and it's great that Jay provided us with those photos digitally as well as in a scrapbook. The whole day was incredible, and we are so pleased with Jay and his team. We won't have to think twice when we are ready to book entertainment for our younger son's Bar Mitzvah.
  • C
    Colleen Married on 09/28/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Occasional Sounds were AMAZING!!! From the very beginning Jay made wonderful suggestions & went above & beyond what a DJ does!!
    I couldn't have asked for a more beautiful wedding day & Jay and Dom were a huge part of that! They kept my guest dancing & having an awesome time!!! They were very reasonably priced, professional & made my wedding one of the most memorable times of my life!!! Thank you!!!
  • User1856532 Event on: 09/27/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Highly Recommend!! Great DJ... kept the party going with great music for all ages!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 09/06/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Occasional Sounds Entertainment for our wedding, and Jay was our DJ. He was absolutely phenomenal. He was truly excellent at keeping everyone engaged and keeping the dance floor packed. Everyone had a great time at our wedding, and he was definitely an integral part at making the night as amazing as it was!
  • S
    Shelley Event on: 08/16/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had the pleasure of using Occasional Sounds Entertainment this past weekend for my daughters Sweet 16 party. I cannot recommend them highly enough. From beginning to the end we were thrilled with the service we received. We have 2 younger daughters and I can guarantee we will be using them again. My daughter has heard loads of comments from her friends that it was the best Sweet 16 yet, and parents have contacted me to let me know their kids raved about the party. Occasional Sounds Entertainment, Jay and gang, made that possible. We truly appreciate the 5 star service!
  • T
    Tammy Married on 07/26/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you are looking for a DJ Occasional Sounds is who you want to hire. Jay is just the best. His online selection system that he has set up lets you pick the music you want to hear. You can create your own playlist. It is awesome. They are extremely professional. They showed up when they said they would. I had to change where we were originally going to have to set them up because it started to rain before they showed up. I was worried that he was going to have a problem with that and he assured me there would be no problem he would do whatever we asked. Before hiring Occasional Sounds I spoke with a few other DJ's and didn't like their attitudes. They wanted it to be all about them and everyone of them wanted me to have the entire party work around them. When I spoke with Jay on the phone we just hit it off. So easy going, he made me feel like we have known each other for years. It was whatever I wanted, he would make it happen. His equipment was top notch and sounded great. We treated him like he was a part of the family because that is how nice he was. He even let my father do some DJ'ing :) Everyone at the party thought they were so good and I am sure there will be people from the party calling when they are in need of a DJ. Jay thank you for making our special day extra special. Everyone had a great time!!!!!!
  • C
    Christa Married on 07/18/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired them for our wedding and they were fantastic!!!! We were so happy with everything. Jay and Dominic were so professional and entertaining. The dance floor was packed all night long. Chris sang during the dinner and he was phenomenal, he blew everyone away by his singing! I would highly recommend them!
  • C
    Cathy Event on: 06/28/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our daughter's graduation party was such a huge success!!!! Jay provided the best music selection that was requested by the young kids and even us older folks!!! Jay has now done my son's communion, my daughter's sweet 16 and now her graduation party. He is a pleasure to work with. My sister-in-law, cousins and close family friends have all used Jay at one time or another and were very satisfied. I have only had the best experiences with Jay and his crew at all our events. Would highly recommend Occasional Sounds for all your events!
  • C
    Carrie Married on 06/21/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jay and his team were amazing! Not only did they provide an awesome playlist of music, but they really understood the type of reception we were going for and even helped us to plan the entire evenings timeline.

    Jay put my wedding planning stress at ease and we definitely would hire him again!
  • J
    Jane Event on: 06/07/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jay & Mike were amazing! They managed to get all the kids up and dancing all night! The dance floor was packed! Mike didn't miss any photo ops & helped us document this great night for our family! We are so thankful to you both and would highly recommend OSE for any events!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 05/30/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I want to say a special thank you to Jay and his team at OSD for providing entertainment and DJ services for our wedding day!!! Jay was absolutely amazing to work with and super personable and professional. He was recommended by a friend who recieved so many compliments about OSD and when I reached out to Jay, he was very quick to respond and we sceduled a consultation right away. I knew from the minute I sat down with Jay that he was going to be the perfect DJ for our needs. He was awesome every step of the way, answering all my questions (I had a lot!!!) and even providing expert advice regarding the music and logistics for he wedding day because of his experience. The online event planning system that he has is amazing! It made picking out songs so easy and it is every brides best fiend! On our wedding day, Jay and his team did a spectacular job. There was never a dull moment and our guests were always on the dancefloor and having a great time. They played the songs that I requested and kept the party rocking all night long! All of our guests raved about the DJ and said how great they were. I would highly recommend OSD for any occassion. Thanks Jay and your team! You made our wedding day!!
  • B
    Brian Married on 05/17/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wife and I selected Jay and Occasional Sounds for our wedding and could not be happier. When we met with Jay initially he was very helpful and provided a lot of great ideas for the wedding that we had not even thought of. For instance, initially we did not want to have the garter placement because we didn't want it to be awkward, but Jay suggested having whoever caught the garter put in on the groom which was absolutely hilarious and the crowd went nuts and loved it. Additionally, he suggested having one of his employees sing Frank Sinatra during dinner. He was amazing. He sounded just like him and of course the woman at the wedding became all red in the face. Haha. We gave Jay a general guideline on what music we wanted him to play but just let him run with it since he has the experience of DJ’ing weddings and he delivered. He play classic songs for the older crowd, seamlessly transition to some country for our friends from Wyoming and finished the night off with some awesome dance/EDM music. We were all a sweaty mess and could not walk the next day we were so sore from dancing. I would definitely recommend Jay for any event. He was reasonably priced and doesn't nickel and dime you. He definitely exceeded our expectations of what we wanted.
  • M
    Megan Married on 04/26/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Phenomenal! I could not have asked for a better DJ. From the website they send you to prep for the wedding, to the final details phone call, to the actual event, they were PERFECT! All of our guests had a great time and the dance floor was NEVER EMPTY! They kept the energy alive and truly made this a special day for us! Out of all of the DJs in the area I honestly feel that they are the most caring and will make sure your special day is absolutely the best!
  • L
    Lisa Event on: 03/22/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Occasional Sound Entertainment is very professional and at the same time friendly and so easy to work with! Jay and the crew know how to entertain at a Bar Mitzvah and keep everyone involved in the fun. My son had a baseball theme party and Jay had some great ideas to work the theme in with the music and games. He always responded quickly to my texts and phone calls and was always able to answer my questions. If you are having a lot of children at your affair, I recommend the photo booth. The kids had a blast dressing up and using the props for pictures. The booth prints out one copy for the guest, and one copy the children put into a scrapbook for the guest of honor. Unfortunately, one of my guests passed out and we had to stop the celebration for about a half an hour, while the EMT's attended to him and got him into an ambulance. (he's okay, don't worry :0) Jay approached me and offered to stay an extra half hour to make sure we had time to enjoy all we had planned! (at no additional cost to me!) Luckily, the ballroom did not have another party coming in and the party went on and was wonderful! I just today, recommended Occasional Sound Entertainment, to a woman at my temple who is just beginning to plan her daughter's Bat Mitzvah!! Lisa Zwerin
  • R
    Rosa Married on 02/23/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jay did my son's baptism for me on this date. Prior to this, I had used him a few years back for my other son's baptism and 1st birthday. He has always done a great job, and I wouldn't go to anyone else for any of my events. He gave me a great blend of Italian music for my old school Italians, some classic hits for the adults, and of course the current hits for the kids. He gets there early to setup, is very courteous, and dresses professional. He even had a little pump which worked out great to blow up all the inflatables we got for the kids. He is great with passing the stuff out and getting everyone up and having fun. I would definitely recommend him.
  • R
    Rosa Event on: 02/23/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jay did my son's baptism for me on this date. Prior to this, I had used him a few years back for my other son's baptism and 1st birthday. He has always done a great job, and I wouldn't go to anyone else for any of my events. He gave me a great blend of Italian music for my old school Italians, some classic hits for the adults, and of course the current hits for the kids. He gets there early to setup, is very courteous, and dresses professional. He even had a little pump which worked out great to blow up all the inflatables we got for the kids. He is great with passing the stuff out and getting everyone up and having fun. I would definitely recommend him.
  • J
    Jessica Event on: 02/07/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jay and his group were awesome.
  • A
    Andrew A. Married on 10/25/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jay and his crew provided my partner and I an amazing night. Jay met with us and prepared a fantastic evening for us and our guests. As a same sex couple we were very cautious in selecting vendors for our wedding to ensure we were not made to feel uncomfortable. From our initial contact with Jay to the end of our night occasional sounds treated us like royalty!!!! To any same sex couples planning their wedding-contact occasional sounds! They will not disappoint!
    -Andrew and Anthony
  • P
    Pat Event on: 10/22/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    what a great night for our annual golf league banquet! Jay provided us with perfect dinner and dancing music! He is a joy to work with and provided everything we asked for! Everyone is still talking about it! Thank you Jay and Mike!