Nouvelle Vogue Reviews

21 | San Mateo, CA
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for Nouvelle Vogue

Recommended by 97%

21
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7

4 User photos

Nouvelle Vogue 1
Nouvelle Vogue 2
Nouvelle Vogue 3
Nouvelle Vogue 4
Sort by:
  • Emily

    Emily Lea · Married on 11/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A truly memorable wedding gown experience

    My mom set up several bridal appointments for me in both Ohio and California and this was the very last boutique we visited. This was by far the smallest boutique, but it was also the most beautiful one, and the experience could not have been more personal and enjoyable. The two women who own this boutique are French with an impeccable taste in wedding style. They have dresses, veils, head pieces and jewelry from designers all over the world in their shop. I just so happened to visit them when they had gowns from Peter Trends Bridal, an Australian designer. I absolutely fell in love with the Bali Hai gown, but the dress was a bit above my price range. I spoke with the two owners of the boutique as well as with Peter Trends directly, and they were able to offer me the sample gown at a discount! It was a dream come true to be able to purchase this dress, and the experience didn’t end there. After I bought my gown, the two women helped me find the perfect veil from one of their UK designers and also offered me a discount. They also gave me accessory ideas which my mom then later used to design my own hair piece with Kate and The Crown on Etsy. They met with me and their personal seamstress at least 6 different times to ensure the alterations for my dress were nothing short of perfect. I have not experienced this attention to detail and level of customer service at any other bridal boutique in Ohio or the Bay Area. If you are looking for a unique, designer gown, unprecedented customer service and two women who will become true friends by the end of your wedding dress experience, then look no further than Nouvelle Vogue Boutique in San Mateo! I’m still in awe by my experience with this place!

    Sent on 01/06/2019
    Nouvelle Vogue 5
    Nouvelle Vogue 6
    Nouvelle Vogue 7
    Nouvelle Vogue 8
  • User5263787 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This small boutique has a selection of the most elegant and unique couture dresses. We knew when we entered the salon that it is a cut above the the other places we'd been. Stunning dresses; each different from the next; great variety of tasteful styles. Beautiful designer gowns that don't need gimmicks. You can see the quality in the fit, the details, the fabric. Outstanding. Not a place to find 'cheap'. They understood our budget and we found exactly the right wedding gown thanks to Chantal & Saida.

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • User4561937 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chantal & Saida were such a pleasure to work with it is almost hard to put into words! I left the store where I found the dress I knew was right for me just so that I could work with them. They are some of the nicest ladies who always make you feel comfortable and welcomed in their adorable boutique. It is the best way to shop for a wedding dress hands down! No other stores that I visited in the Bay Area compared!

    Sent on 11/20/2014
  • SaltTooth

    Christine · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nouvelle Vogue is by far the best bridal salon I visited while I was on the hunt for my wedding dress. I wanted something special and different. They have a highly curated selection of truly unique wedding gowns, you won't find these dresses anywhere else! I went with a flirty, vintage-inspired knee length dress by Francesca Miranda. It's so unique and fun, but still elegant and bridal. I got so many compliments on it, even the wedding venue contacted me after the wedding to find out the designer!

    Saideh was super patient with us and so helpful. We altered the dress a couple times to give it the perfect fit, and in the end it was just that - perfect.

    I highly recommend Nouvelle Vogue for the bride who's looking for something a little different. You will find the dress that was meant for you here.

    Sent on 09/25/2014
  • User3642722 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our family wished to thank both of you for all your help and kindness in the selection of Allison's wedding gown. We so appreciated you loaning her your stole, choosing the right accessories, and the alterations. Allison was a stunning bride on a perfect day filled with many happy memories. We highly recommend that every bride come to Nouvelle Vogue.

    Sent on 10/30/2013
  • User3273631 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nouvelle was the first place I went when trying on wedding dresses. The atmosphere is amazing and Saida and Chantel go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable. They helped select all the dresses I tried on. I had an idea of what I wanted but they encouraged me to try this beautiful blush silk organza Cymbeline dress that was nothing like what I thought I wanted and it was PERFECT! I went to 5 other stores in the bay area and NO ONE cares more about the bride then Nouvelle does. I bought the Cymbeline dress a few months later. When it came time for alterations, I went to other places first and knew I had to work with Saida and Chantel again. I would never have known about the French bustle without them (it looks way better than a traditional bustle). Nouvelle should definitely be one of the shops you visit. Its the ideal wedding dress experience......

    Sent on 05/22/2013
  • User3743828 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I truly cannot say enough about Nouvelle Vogue and its owners Chantalle and Saida. These ladies are exceptionally knowledgeable where fashion and the style and fit of gowns are concerned. They made this process so profoundly memorable for me and for my family. Saida and Chantalle's expertise was gleaned through countless years in the industry, first in Paris and now the U.S. I visited many wedding gown vendors in the Bay Area and what I found was that Saida and Chantalle not only carried the most impressive gowns crafted with the softest, lightest high-quality fabrics, but most importantly, they were not interested in selling me their most expensive gown. After getting to know me during my first visit, I came in for a second visit only to have a breathtaking gown waiting for me in the dressing room. "We feel this is your dress" they said, which was lower in price point than the original one I was interested in. Sure enough, after trying on the dress I knew it was the one. It seemed incredible at that point that two women knew their craft and knew WOMEN so well that they could instinctively select a gown that was evocative of each bride-to-be. I will champion this bridal boutique forever and keep referring brides to them. - Lena

    Sent on 12/20/2013
  • User3513885 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They specialize in European couture gowns that you won't see in other bridal salons that are just stunning! What I appreciated the most was how well Saida understood the look I was going for and was able to pull items that really fit me and my personality, even though I just met her! They also have an expert seamstress that will take excellent care of your gown for alterations. On the wedding day, I got so many compliments of my gown, veil, and jewelry, and its all thanks to Nouvelle Vogue!!!!! I couldn't be more thankful!! They were absolutely wonderful!!

    Sent on 09/05/2013
  • User3462658 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    i really appreciated the unique selection of dresses at nouvelle vogue. they have such elegant and modern dresses that will absolutely make you stand out at your wedding. this salon is on the pricier side, but if you can afford it, i would definitely recommend that you make a visit here.

    Sent on 08/13/2013
  • D

    Danameye · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Total Life Savers! Another store sold me a veil that did not match my dress. So I went to Nouvelle and we went through many of their gorgeous veils and found one. I wish I would gave gone here first for my dress and accessories. I highly recommend this place!

    Sent on 06/28/2013
  • M

    Mary · Married on 03/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The women at Nouvelle Vogue helped me to find a beautiful dress. I had looked at several other places, and ended up finding a sample here that they had for sale! It was unique and beautiful, and fit my personality. Their dresses are definitely something special, beautiful fabrics and designs. They are on the pricier side (at least for what I was looking at), but maybe you will get lucky like I did and find a sample on sale!

    Sent on 04/09/2013
  • User3186382 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Dresses with a price tag to match. Great Service

    Sent on 04/09/2013
  • J

    Jen · Married on 06/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Saida & Chantal are AMAZING! I'm a very alternative bride that was lucky enough to check out this store first! I called and made an appointment after some encouragement from my friends to pick a "fancy" place to start for fun. I kept my mind open to the possibility of finding a dress, but really thought this first time would be more to see what style looked best for my shape. I actually ended up spending $2,000 under my budget on a dress Saida & Chantal picked out! It was perfect for me in every way! We even came back to buy an very unique hair piece from them too!

    Sent on 07/05/2012
  • H

    hannahbenji28 · Married on 10/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was the first shop that I visited, and the last because of the quality of their dresses and their kindness, honesty and very knowledgeable service. They told me that I should go to other salons and make sure that the dress I found really was 'the one'. I knew that I would be coming back for the stunning Jenny Packham dress, so I didn't even bother. =) They don't have a large, overwhelming selection of dresses but each one is so unique and beautiful. I'm so glad that I found them and I hope that their business flourishes so that other brides can have the same wonderful experience that I did.

    Sent on 05/09/2013
  • Star

    Star · Married on 04/29/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely LOVED my experience with Nouvelle Vogue! This bridal salon had a beautiful selection of gowns. Saida & Chantal were super kind and professional from beginning to end. I almost cancelled my appointment because we were running so late, but they had no problem with us running behind on a Friday night (Black Friday none the less). To be honest, I wasn't looking forward to this shopping experience....I didn't think I was going to find a wedding gown that I absolutely loved, much less on the one and only day I'd ever looked at gowns. I feel extremely lucky that my gown shopping experience turned out to be so great. I did go over my desired budget, but it was so worth it. I didn't want to take my beautiful Cymbeline gown off at the end of the night. I can't give enough props to Saida and Chantal for giving me a wonderful shopping and buying experience for my wedding gown. I also worked with the seamtress (I can't recall her name) the salon works with and she also did a fantastic job on my alterations. Both, Chantal and Saida, were there for the entire process. Thank you so much for making this whole experience so fun & exciting.

    Star

    Sent on 07/18/2011
  • M

    Margot · Married on 09/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Saida and Chantalle are wonderful to work with, and made finding my dress such a fun and relaxed experience. Their selection is gorgeous and unique - not the same dresses you've seen in a hundred wedding magazines - and their prices seemed more honest than other places I looked. If I could do it all over again, I would go straight to Nouvelle Vogue for my dress!

    Sent on 12/16/2010
  • J

    Joycelynn · Married on 08/14/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am soo glad that I decided to purchase my dress from Nouvelle Vogue. Saida and Chantal are absolute sweethearts, and they provided exceptional service. I had been to 5 different bridal salons, and Nouvelle Vogue was by far the place that I received the best service! After trying on nearly 40 gowns from different salons, I was on the verge of giving up, thinking that "THE" dress was not out there for me. But Nouvelle Vogue was the last salon I went into, and the first dress Saida pulled for me was THE dress!!!!!! They specialize in European couture gowns that you won't see in other bridal salons that are just stunning! What I appreciated the most was how well Saida understood the look I was going for and was able to pull items that really fit me and my personality, even though I just met her! They also have an expert seamstress that will take excellent care of your gown for alterations. On the wedding day, I got so many compliments of my gown, veil, and jewelry, and its all thanks to Nouvelle Vogue!!!!! I couldn't be more thankful!! The were absolutely wonderful!!

    Sent on 10/16/2010
  • M

    Meg · Married on 07/11/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Saida and Chantal gave me the wedding dress experience I had always dreamed about. After going to a bigger "mega-wedding" store and being less than impressed by the selection and service, my sisters, mom and bridesmaids came with me to Nouvelle Vogue. I absolutely loved walking around the showroom and pulling the European couture dresses I wanted to try. Though wedding dress shopping can be challenging, I had such a fun experience there.

    Saida brought out a beautiful flower and ostrich feather headpiece for me that really took my Cymbelline gown to the next level. I also got my gorgeous veil with a blusher and small crystals dotted here and there. Everything was ordered and made just for me - what an incredible feeling.

    Each time I went into the shop or called, Saida and Chantal were so lovely to work with. They have an espresso bar to sit and chat at, and also served me a lovely Chardonnay at a fitting. The seamstress did a perfect job on the dress.

    I highly recommend this boutique. While it is more expensive, as it is a couture European wedding gown boutique, it is worth every penny. I have never felt so comfortable, beautiful or perfect. They perfectly understood the look I was going for and made me feel incredibly special. Thank you Nouvelle Vogue!

    Sent on 02/09/2011
  • M

    Catherine · Married on 05/08/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    i really appreciated the unique selection of dresses at nouvelle vogue. they have such elegant and modern dresses that will absolutely make you stand out at your wedding. this salon is on the pricier side, but if you can afford it, i would definitely recommend that you make a visit here.

    Sent on 06/28/2010
  • User3670459 · 2+ years ago

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I absolutely love the dress I found here for my wedding. The shop is adorable and they have a beautiful selection of dresses. However I had several moments of frustration in regards to timeline and responsiveness. My dress, veil, and headpiece were all created in France and had to be sent to the shop in San Mateo. Chantal and Saida were not up front with me about how long items ordered would take to arrive, which caused quite a bit of stress for me. When I would send an email or call for an update, they did not respond in a timely fashion and often didn't have an answer. Apparently they don't have any way to track the shipments, so you just have to wait. In the end, it all worked out, and I do feel I had the perfect dress. I also think it helps, though to be aware of the bumps that can occur along the way.

    Sent on 11/11/2013
  • User2946546 · 2+ years ago

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Unfortunately my dress did not arrive until the week of my wedding. When it did, it was made poorly and had to be completely remade. Although it was no fault of the shop, I should NOT have had to pay for the mistakes from the manufacturer.

    Sent on 03/11/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review