Northstar Entertainment Agency Reviews

42 | Lowell, MA
See photos, pricing and details

42 Reviews for Northstar Entertainment Agency

Recommended by 97%

42
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • A

    Amanda Shepard · Married on 06/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely Perfect

    North Star Entertainment had some of the best customer service we have ever experienced. As soon as we had a conversation with a representative we knew we had the right company. They spent lots of time answering questions and finding ways to meet every request we had for our wedding. We used Steve Gamlin as our DJ and Steven Heimlich for live music during the ceremony and cocktail hour. The entire ceremony and reception was beautiful, exactly how we imagined, and so much much fun. Both Steves made sure everything was perfect and met every single vision or request we had for the day. Our experience was absolutely perfect and pricing was very reasonable. Highly recommend over and over.
    Amanda and Chris

    Sent on 07/08/2019
  • T

    Thomas Kliss · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve Gamlin is exceptional!

    Steve and his DJing were the life of our wedding and it was truly an exceptional experience from start to end. He helped us make a list of songs to play and not play as well as he work with us and the venue very closely to ensure the day went just as we had hoped. He helped us out when we were so unsure of who to go to. STEVE YOURE THE MAN!

    Sent on 12/28/2018
  • Ellysheva

    Ellysheva Bunge-Zeira · Married on 08/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve Gamlin is the best!

    Steve Gamlin works through NorthStar Entertainment. Both are great to work with. Understanding and fairly flexible. Steve Gamlin maybe isn’t what you’d expect in a wedding DJ but he’s got a lot of experience. (He even wrote a book about it!) All of that makes him a great DJ. He follows directions, gets the crowd excited, and keeps things moving along all without putting too much of his own personal impression into things. All while being honest and fun. We had a great time at our reception and even though we fell a bit behind on timing Steve was able to make some executive decisions and got us right back on time. We are so glad we chose him and would recommend him highly!

    Sent on 12/28/2018
  • N

    Netta · Married on 06/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We contacted Northstar Entertainment to find a DJ for our June wedding. They were very responsive and friendly right from the start and we were pointed in the direction of contacting Steve Gamlin about our wedding. We chatted with him over the phone and we could tell just from that conversation he was super friendly, very knowledgable about what he does, and very enthusiastic. From there we knew he was the right choice! Throughout our time working together, Steve met with us to answer any questions we had and was so easy to talk to about what we envisioned for our wedding. He was always super responsive through many emails we exchanged throughout the process which we really appreciated. Using his own studio time, he also took songs we wanted for our wedding but we thought were too long and cut and spliced them together to make the song shorter and still sound perfect. We are so grateful for this touch he added and for his talent! Come our wedding day, he was calm, cool, collected, professional, and so fun as well! He took all of our suggestions and executed them exactly as we wanted. There were no unwanted or unexpected surprises throughout the night and out of all of our wedding vendors, we agreed he was one of the very best. Steve really made our day special from start to finish and we would recommend Steve Gamlin and Northstar Entertainment to anyone looking for a fantastic wedding DJ or band.

    Sent on 07/10/2018
  • D

    Daniel · Married on 12/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve did our wedding very recently and he was great to work with. Steve always answered us promptly when we communicated with him. He showed great enthusiasm for our song choices and made some great suggestions when we asked for them. He moved the night along greatly and kept our guests dancing until after midnight. We highly recommend him to others!

    Sent on 01/22/2018
  • G

    Greg · Married on 11/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve had been the DJ for a wedding my wife had been to years back. We looked to see if he was still in the business and I will be forever grateful that we did. We met Steve at a local coffee shop and from the second we talked to him, we knew he was the right man for the job. He is laid back, but yet professional and superior in his job performance. He was able to help us with song choices, give opinions, and always available. My wife and I work odd hours and Steve always wrote an email back right away. He was accommodating to several parent dances, 3 toasts, and several other requests we made. He always had a smile, and always made sure we knew he was there for us. I don't understand why anyone would use anyone else besides Steve. My wife and I are so thankful for the amazing job he did. The DJ will always make or break your wedding and we had several guest tell us our wedding was one of the best weddings they had been to recently. That is in big part thanks to Steve. Thank you Steve!!

    Sent on 12/16/2017
  • S

    Shosha · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve was amazing ! He kept everything running perfect and we couldn’t of been happier with our DJ pick. He kept everyone happy and dancing and laughing all night long. Excellent job Steve thanks so much!

    Sent on 12/14/2017
  • L

    Laurie · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve was great! So easy to work with and responded quickly to the multiple emails/messages we sent. Things can change by the minute when planning a wedding, and having a reliable, responsive & professional DJ set our minds at ease. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 12/14/2017
  • M

    Michael · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve was great! Couldn't have asked for a better DJ. Very professional, accommodating, easy to work with, and understanding of our wants, needs, and vision for our ceremony and reception. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 12/19/2017
  • V

    Val · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hi, Steve and Dave were great at our June 2017 wedding. They were organized, helped me find playlists of the unique artist my fiancée and I enjoyed, and even dressed with our theme!

    Of note Steve and Dave were somewhat last minute replacements when my first DJ fell through. I wish I had been with them from the beginning, it would have saved me the headache!

    Sent on 12/14/2017
  • B

    Bryanna · Married on 04/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve was wonderful! So easy to work with and kept everyone on the floor dancing all night!!!

    Sent on 12/14/2017
  • S

    Sandy · Married on 12/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I want to thank you for finding the best duo ever to play for my event. They are so diverse, they could play any song requested from rock and roll to Burt Bacharach. Kelly has a beautiful voice and Ray is a great pianist. My guests raved about Horizon Duo, and we danced all night. It was such a fun night, we will never forget. Please let John know that his efforts did not go unnoticed. After the party, I received several calls, texts, and cards from friends saying how much they enjoyed the event.

    Sent on 12/16/2016
  • User7441292 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the second we first spoke to Northstar Entertainment we could not have been any more comfortable or impressed with their service. We were walked through the entire planning process of our ceremony and reception music, leaving a majority of it in their hands. During our wedding and after, our guests made it a point to say how excellent the ceremony performers and DJ were. Pure class. Come HIGHLY recommended.

    Sent on 11/28/2016
  • T

    Trygg · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve Gamlin and Northstar are great to work with, really good communicators and planners, and the end result was awesome. We had a great wedding and the music was perfect. The dance floor was packed all night.

    Sent on 11/28/2016
  • B

    Becky · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Even months after our wedding we are still receiving complements about our DJ Steve Gamlin. The dance floors was packed all night and he played a great variety of music. Our wedding venue even remarked to us about how professional and courteous Steve was to work with. Would highly recommend!

    Sent on 12/30/2016
  • K

    Kate · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve was so accommodating and easy to work with!

    Sent on 12/26/2016
  • User5307089 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great DJ, very professional. Did a fantastic job!

    Sent on 12/26/2016
  • M

    MATTHEW · Married on 06/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You can't go wrong with DJ Steve Gamlin. Highly professional and very accommodating to our requests. The first time we met Steve was at the wedding, all the planning was done long distance via email and phone.

    My wife and I agree that paying a bit of a premium for Steve was well worth it. Everyone danced the night away and had a blast. More than a few of our guests commented that it was the best wedding music they've heard. If we had to do it over again, we wouldn't book a date until we knew Steve could be our DJ. He has our highest recommendation!

    Sent on 11/24/2016
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How on earth did we get so lucky as to have the guy who literally wrote the book about wedding DJ’ing handle our reception? DJ Steve is the best! He read the crowd perfectly for our cocktail hour, playing something for everyone. He was great at mixing all of our requests into the flow of the evening and handled the random crowd requests with perfection. Steve was a lot of fun to talk too, as well and we’d recommend him to anyone who is planning an event that requires a DJ. We'd actually like to have a party again, just to have Steve be our DJ.

    Sent on 08/15/2015
  • C

    Crystal · Married on 04/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were lucky enough to have Steve Gamlin DJ our reception... He was awesome!!! Kept everything on track and we didn't have to worry about a thing! I had a lot of requests and lists of songs and we had everything we wanted to make our night even more special. Thank you, Northstar and thank you, Steve!!!!!!

    Sent on 05/18/2015
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Steve was easy and simple. Before the wedding, my husband and I met with him at Panera. He is very laid back and genuinely cares about what you want. 11 months before the wedding we went over the do not play list, the general feel we wanted, and started to brainstorm what songs we wanted. Steve has his own recording studio and said he could take anything we found (youtube, other) and clip it based on time according to our needs. A month before the wedding we sent in our final playlist (Steve went above and beyond in terms of flexibility telling us we could let him know of changes anytime... including the day of the wedding).

    During the wedding, Steve arrived on time and got every single cue of the bridesmaids/groomsmen/bride transitions perfectly. During cocktail hour and dinner the music was just perfect (not stuffy, not boring... but lively and appropriate for dinner). Even more impressive was his ability to improvise. I asked him to play my college fight song about 15 minutes before it was needed, and he made it happen.

    Most importantly, he was able to read the crowd. He was able to keep the music volume fun and lively so that everyone (including the older folks) could get up and enjoy the music. Towards the end of the reception, he turned the music up which was perfect for us 20/30 somethings. I am recommending Steve to friends getting married in the upcoming year and hope you enjoy working with him as much as I did!

    Sent on 09/26/2014
  • B

    Brianna · Married on 09/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve Gamlin was an amazing part of our wedding! He was so easy to work with and made sure my wedding went exactly as I wanted it to. He even remembered special requests that I would have forgotten I asked for amidst all the excitement of being a bride. He hands down granted all of my musical wishes! Everyone was raving about the music. Thank you Steve Gamlin for helping make my special day that much more amazing and personalized! Highly recommend!

    Sent on 12/10/2014
  • Shannon A

    Shannon · Married on 05/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve Gamlin was our Dj. I would recommend him in a heartbeat. He played every single song on our must play list, didn't play anything from the do not play list, and kept people on the dance floor all night with his song choices and flow. He made sure to get the correct pronunciations of everyone being introduced, and edited our songs perfectly so that nobody could even tell (we wanted our parent dances and first dance to be shorter than the songs were). He even made a change to our entrance song when I called him the night before to tell him we needed it to be longer. We got tons of compliments on him from our guests. We couldn't be happier!

    Sent on 06/08/2014
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 01/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve Gamlin is absolutely amazing, he kept the party going, everybody loved him. I was so worried that nobody would dance but not one time I saw the dance floor empty!!!! couldn't be happier :)

    Sent on 02/01/2014
  • E

    Eliot · Married on 01/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am a wedding photographer who has worked at several weddings alongside Steve (through coincidence, I am not associated with him professionally.) I have worked with dozens of DJs, but when the time came for me to choose a DJ for my own wedding, the choice was easy. Steve was affordable, and very responsive during communication leading up to the wedding. He was cooperative and affable with our other vendors, as well as our guests. His laid back and non-intrusive attitude put guests at ease without any cheesy games or gimmicks. He did a wonderful job of keeping the dance floor full with his music. He gracefully combined the music we had requested with his own choices based upon the feel of the crowd, and people absolutely loved it. I could not be happier; I have had multiple wedding guests tell me that our wedding was the funnest wedding they have ever been to, and a lot of that had to do with Steve; I would recommend him to anyone.

    Sent on 12/09/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review