"No Macarena" DJ & Custom Music Service Reviews

149 | Philadelphia, PA
See photos, pricing and details

149 Reviews for "No Macarena" DJ & Custom Music Service

Recommended by 99%

149
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
149 "No Macarena" DJ & Custom Music Service Reviews
Sort by:
  • Danielle

    Danielle · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone was dancing!

    No Macarena did a great job at keeping our guests on the dance floor! The night was slow at first, with only a few people on the floor, but he switched up the music and soon everyone was out there dancing. The music was great, up until the very end of the night. We would recommend going with No Macarena if you want good, dancing music without the hokey, old fashioned, "no macarena" type songs!

  • D

    Devon · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience!

    Kim did an absolutely wonderful job at our wedding. Our guests had a blast dancing, and many of them complimented us on the playlist. Kim was also super professional and prompt, which made planning a breeze. Thanks so much!

  • A

    Alayna · Married on 10/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best experience we could imagine

    Everyone we worked with at No Macarena was helpful, responsive, and eager to do the best they could to help our big day be stress-free. I couldn't be more grateful to Kim for helping us set it up for for our DJ Josh for making sure everything ran smoothly. I provided Josh with a long list of songs and he added in filler when and where it was needed. Music cues were perfect all night and we got tons of compliments on everything.
    Seriously, it was a breeze to work with them and if you're looking for a reliable, not-annoying, efficient DJ, I cannot recommend them enough. We're so thankful!

  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was a hit thanks to Darrel & No Macarena! All of our guests were on the dance floor! We are still getting calls and texts complimenting the music! Thank you for making our special day perfect!

  • A

    Anthony and Nicki · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    No Macarena for the WIN!

    DJ Dave and No Macarena had a pretty simple but demanding task... turn our wedding into a 90s/00s dance party. And he/they delivered in a big way - just about ever wedding guest was on the dance floor at some point and DJ Dave nailed the request perfectly. We are so happy with our DJ choice, they were amazing.

  • E

    Eric · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were thrilled with our experience with No Macarena. They DJ'd our wedding at Bok in South Philly in September 2018. Our initial communication was with Kim Alexander (owner), who took the time to understand our needs and work out our contract. A few weeks before our wedding, we had a great phone call with our DJ (Joe Pizzio) who was outstanding to work with. We had been considering doing the DIY/Spotify route and Joe was great about taking the playlists we had compiled and putting his own spin on them. He largely stuck with the songs we'd been considering (without making us feel weird about it) but had some great additions and really made the evening flow -- lots of thoughtful transitions (Lauryn Hill's "Doo Wop" into Drake's "Nice For What", which features a Lauryn Hill sample in the hook, wasn't lost on us), wasn't afraid to transition out of a song that the room wasn't not feeling, etc. Can't speak highly enough about how pleased we were with Joe and No Macarena in general. Highly recommended!

  • C

    Cassandra · Married on 09/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding went fantastic and was in great part due to Joe Pizzio of No Macarena. He was incredibly flexible and has an in-depth, varied music knowledge base. We had asked for a more pop-punk inspired music list and with only a handful of examples he was able to fill out the music list in way that EVERYONE was up and dancing, having a fantastic time. We also had a close to last minute game we wanted to do that required multiple songs to keep the energy going and Joe was all over it. He was an absolute delight to work with and we had that many more memorable moments because of the energy he brought to the party.

  • D

    Daniel · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was fantastic! She made our dreams come true for our wedding. She took the time to understand our eclectic tastes in music, and was very communicative during the planning process. Highly recommended!

    "No Macarena" DJ & Custom Music Service 1
  • K

    Katie Burke · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great music!

    I went to another wedding that used No Macarena as the DJ at the same venue where I got married, so when it came time to pick a DJ, I didn't need to do too much searching since I'd already had a blast with No Macarena before! Darrell was wonderful, kind, and fun to work with - he completely understood the type of party we wanted to throw, and helped put together the best soundtrack comprised of songs we selected and playing off the mood of the crowd. Everyone had such a blast on the dance floor - can't thank Darrell and No Macarena enough! I would recommend to anyone!

  • R

    Robyn · Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    No Macarena was great! Joe Pizzio was the DJ for our wedding, including ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception. Both he and Kim (the owner of the company) were easy to work with and professional. Joe did a great job listening to our music preferences and our vision for the different parts of the event, from 60’s pop during cocktail hour to soft indie during dinner. His playlists perfectly matched our musical taste. Joe did a great job during the dance party at the reception. He kept our crowd dancing and having fun! He mixed well-known songs and our more idiosyncratic requests in a way that kept the dance party going while still giving us the chance to dance to some of our more offbeat favorites. We highly recommend No Macarena and Joe for anyone who wants music choices that are a little unconventional.

  • M

    Mary · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married on 6/30/18 and Kim provided the perfect soundtrack for our wedding! She was accommodating and easy to work with. We had one coordination meeting by phone and a few follow up emails to provide her with a list of song/artist requests beforehand. We also sent her a Spotify playlist songs people like to dance to (we are not pop music people). Kim did a great job sequencing songs through cocktail hour and dinner and then transitioning into dance music. She incorporated most of our specific requests while filling in the blanks with complementary material. Everyone was dancing by the end of the night!

    Sent on 08/14/2018

    "No Macarena" DJ & Custom Music Service's reply:

    Mary, thanks for the kind words. I really enjoyed DJ-ing such a unique wedding. Congrats again on your marriage!
  • I

    Iain · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an excellent experience with No Maracena and DJ Josh Landow for our wedding. My wife and I used to live in Latin America and had a lot of Latin music that you wouldn't find on most playlists - Josh took the time to find all the songs we requested, helping to make it a memorable night. Josh also offered to record the ceremony and the toasts after dinner for a small extra charge. It's not something that we would have thought to do, but we're very glad now to have this as an extra memento.

  • D

    Dan · Married on 06/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I attended our friends' wedding a few years ago which Kim DJ'ed. We agreed at that wedding that we would use her for ours when the day came. She was the first vendor we hired after booking our venue and we couldn't be more pleased. She was amazing throughout the entire process and really went out of her way to make the day perfect. My wife and I have very different tastes in music but Kim was able to fuse the two and provide an amazing soundtrack which everyone is still complimenting us on. We have already recommended her to our friends and family.

  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly phenomenal! We debated hiring a DJ for months as we were adamant about having a playlist unique to us and our guests. Then we came across No Macarena and Dave Beck made our late 90s/early 2000s hit list dreams come true. The dance floor was packed until the end of the night and our guests asked about our DJ multiple times. We can't express our gratitude enough!

    Sent on 06/17/2018

    "No Macarena" DJ & Custom Music Service's reply:

    Thanks for the kind words! It was a pleasure being part of your special day. Congrats again!
  • L

    Liz · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    No Macarena provided us with a sound system for our ceremony and then supplied great music
    during our reception! The dance floor was packed, and we all had an absolute blast! DJ Danny Madonna was the best. Thank you!

  • C

    caitlin · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim and the No Macarena team were phenomenal. She had every song I requested (even super obscure ones) and she managed my expectations super well. She kept everyone dancing and responded to the mood of the guests. We were so pleased with her professionalism, music knowledge, and how she kept the flow going just right all evening. 100% recommend for the person who wants something different and totally custom.

  • M

    Megan · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience working with Kim!! Highly recommend - we came with varied music tastes + a non traditional reception setup and she was flexible, responsive, and helped make our night awesome!!

  • Alli

    Alli · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had such a good feeling about Kim from our first meeting, and she did not disappoint. She took our playlist and ran with it. No flash, just good music, and that's exactly what we wanted. We kept saying, Kim just "gets it"! Our dance floor was packed all night!

    Sent on 10/29/2017

    "No Macarena" DJ & Custom Music Service's reply:

    Thanks Alli! You and your family are so nice, it was a pleasure being your DJ. Congrats to you and Chris!
  • B

    Ben · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leading up to the wedding, Kim and Darrel were responsive and helpful. On the night of the wedding itself, Darrel was amazing. He had everyone dancing the whole time. It could not have been a better experience!

  • Y

    Yvonne · Married on 10/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing!!! Dave was our DJ and he was fantastic. So easy to work with and he really understood the vibe we were going for at the wedding. We had a blast and danced all night! Use them- don't bother looking around. They are the best, hands down.

  • Ellie

    Elizabeth · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I worked with No Macarena for our wedding and could not have been happier. We connected with Kim immediately during our first call and knew she would be the ideal fit for our wedding.

    Kim was very responsive and gave us great direction in planning the music for our wedding reception. As part of the planning processing, Kim had us complete an information sheet on our musical likes and dislikes. Initially, we went way over board, proposing at least 100 songs we thought should be played at our wedding reception at different times. Kim leveled with us (gently), and recommended that she work with the themes and play our top songs (thank you Kim!). Kim was 100% right. She responded to the feelings of the crowd and kept the party going all night. Kim made sure to save our favorite songs for when we were on the dance floor.

    No Macarena was a top vendor for our wedding. Kim was so professional, responsive, and easy to work with. We received countless compliments on our DJ from our guests and even other vendors. We found No Macrena's pricing to be very reasonable, especially given the quality and overall experience.

    I would 100% book with No Macarena again and have since recommended No Macarena to other brides.

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had Dave dj our wedding. He was fantastic and we'd absolutely use No Macarena again for another event. Dave was on time, he introduced himself, was very friendly and easy to work with. We discussed requests prior to the wedding, we shared some styles of music we liked and Dave did the rest. We asked for a subtle Philly theme and he provided that by playing some hits without us having to give him exact details. The whole crowd was up and dancing for the entirety of the night. Thank you again so much, everything was fantastic.

  • M

    Mallory · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In 2003 I was at a wedding and heard a Bjork song during the cocktail hour and thought, "Wow, who is this DJ!?" I went to the DJ table and took the business card. It was No Macarena and I was 19 years old. Ten years later, my best friend got married and the DJ was really on the mark, so I asked my friend who the DJ was and she said No Macarena! So I didn't really shop around for a wedding DJ. My husband and I had had fun making a playlist of music we thought would be fun to hear at a wedding. I shared it with Kim so that she could get a read on us, and she wound up playing a lot of it, which was great. We had entertained the idea of just using that playlist on an iPod and foregoing having a DJ, but we're so glad we had Kim there to keep the party going. The price was very reasonable, and we were so happy with the whole event.

    Sent on 09/29/2017

    "No Macarena" DJ & Custom Music Service's reply:

    What a great story, thanks so much! I really enjoyed your music selections and being your DJ. Congrats on your marriage.
  • T

    Tim · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I have some interesting musical tastes. Think: Michael McDonald, ABBA and the Spice Girls. Kim found a way to blend together our 'must-haves' with similar songs in the genre and when we gave her our "no play" list, we could feel the high-five through the phone as we could tell she was tired of playing them too. So many guests remarked how our set list was incredible. At a typical wedding, the music hits and misses with a few solid dance songs that get people out there, a few groaners that people begrudgingly dance to and some "huh?" songs that people use as an excuse to nibble their dessert or grab another drink. At our wedding, it was non-stop dancing and fun and our guests let us know how awesome it was. Thank you Kim!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review