Skip to main content
Weddings

Nika Vaughan Bridal Artists Reviews

Nika Vaughan Bridal Artists

Nika Vaughan Bridal Artists

Chicago, IL
4.8 out of 5 rating, 24 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.8 out of 5 rating
4.8 out of 5 rating
24 Reviews
96% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

24
  • Catherine
    Catherine S. Sent on 12/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely stunning!

    I had the pleasure of working with Lia for my wedding, and let me just say, Lia is the bomb! If I were to ever have my makeup done professionally again, I would choose her again in a heartbeat. Not only was my makeup unbelievably flawless, but so was my Mom's and my bridesmaid's makeup. I don't wear makeup very often and when I do I do the bare minimum, so I had no real idea of what I was looking for. Lia did her magic, was so fun to be around during the trial process and the day-of, and we all could not stop talking about how happy we were with our makeup. Thank you!!!
  • H
    Hayley J. Sent on 07/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Hair and Makeup

    We had Crystal and Kristina for hair and makeup and they were both amazing! Crystal was so good with giving feedback on what she thought would work best for everyone’s hair and they all came out great! Kristina did a perfect job with makeup and everyone looked beautiful and still like themselves. They were so fun to work with and I couldn’t recommend them more!
  • Holly
    Holly Sent on 11/09/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Nika was one of the best things about my wedding day. She made me look awesome, and was such a pleasure to be with. The hours before the wedding were some of the most nervous, excited moments of my life, and she was just such a delight!

    I cannot recommend her highly enough!! You must book Nika.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • M
    Mariah E. Sent on 11/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Chicago vendor!

    The Nika Vaughan Bridal Artists company was great to work with! I used their wedding makeup services for myself and my 3 bridesmaids for my recent wedding and we all LOVED the makeup. The makeup was very natural and lasted the entire night with little to no touch ups. My makeup artist, Kristina, was very professional and on-time. Molly, the office coordinator, was great at communicating with my planner through email and was flexible with working with my day-of timeline. As the bride, they also gifted me a small makeup emergency kit which I thought was very thoughtful. Overall great.
  • J
    Jillian Sent on 11/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great experience!

    I worked with Nika Vaughn for my wedding day hair and it was a great experience! Crystal worked magic with all of my bridesmaids and mom, and did a great job with my hair. She was so easy to work with and helped make me feel beautiful on my special day!
  • K
    Kathi C. Sent on 06/18/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The makeup was natural and perfect

    We used Nika and Jen Kaye for wedding day makeup. Everyone looked like the best version of themselves. No one looked overly made up and the makeup lasted all day. I highly recommend.
  • Sarah
    Sarah Sent on 06/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding! Couldn't have asked for better.

    Nika did my hair and makeup for my destination wedding in Mexico. This means humidity, sweat, and tears (good ones)! The whole experience from booking, preview, to day-of was stellar. The whole booking and scheduling process is streamlined and easy. They provided all of the detail I needed and answered any questions I had quickly. I had a ton of fun doing the preview and never felt nervous or weird about giving feedback. Nika is a super sweet person and is very skilled at what she does. The day of everything went SO well and my hair and makeup held up great! I got a lot of compliments on both :) The "getting ready" portion of a wedding is a pretty vulnerable time (the ramp up to the ceremony, nerves, excitement, etc) so it was essential to have a caring and calm person there while you're getting pretty. Plus, she made sure I didn't get a sunburn that day! For sure recommend this company to anyone getting married!
  • S
    Sarah Sent on 10/18/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I knew I wanted to work with the Nika Vaughan team when my friend got married and they did a stunning job on her makeup! We worked with Christina and she was incredible! My bridesmaids and I all wanted a natural look and Christina did such a good job! I was hesitant about airbrush makeup since I had never done it before but it is so natural and really stays on all day. Christina is so sweet and so talented! We loved working with her!
  • A
    Ally Sent on 08/16/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had Nora and Xotchilt do hair and makeup for me and my bridesmaids the morning of my wedding. Nora did my hair and makeup and the bridesmaids’ makeup, while Xotchilt did the bridesmaids’ hair. Both of them were amazing and so talented! They worked with our “wedding style” so perfectly – the bridesmaids looked stunning and Nora made my hair look exactly the way I pictured it. I wanted everything to look natural and effortless and they both did such a great job. I would use them again in a heartbeat.
  • G
    Glynn Sent on 06/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Searching for hair and makeup stylists for my wedding was somewhat terrifying. Nika’s view of wanting you to look like “the best version of yourself” at your wedding was exactly what I wanted and it was exactly what I got. She is extremely talented with a high taste level. Angelica did our hair and she was also wonderful. They made us all look beautiful, classy, and refined. Nika and Angelica were also both so very sweet and fun to be with all day as my girls and I got ready. They went above and beyond, giving me a touch up kit which definitely came in handy! Can’t say enough good stuff about them and would definitely use them again in a heartbeat!
  • C
    Carrie Sent on 06/24/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had the pleasure of working with Nora for my wedding day hair and makeup. Nika Vaughan was a recommendation from our photographer and when looking through the artist’s look books online I came across Nora and thought that her style was right in line with how I wanted to look on my special day. All communication went through Nika Vaughan (general information, bookings, payment, styles, etc.). I met Nora during my hair trial session about 1 month before the wedding. I had a pretty good idea going into the trial what I wanted and Nora did a great job of taking my vision and making it work with my hair. Nora was so easy to work with and a joy to be around.
    On the day of the wedding, Nora did not only my hair/makeup but also my maid of honor and mother-in-law. What was a huge bonus, in my book, was the fact that Nora was willing to travel and come to us. We had a suite at The James so Nora was able to set up a hair/makeup station in the room so she could work while we all hung out getting ready. It was a perfect set up.
    As for makeup, I decided not to do a makeup trial so I had the look that I wanted for reference and Nora replicated it to a T. For someone that doesn’t wear much makeup, I was a bit nervous when she finished that it was too much (some fake lashes and all); however, my photographer took a few test shots so I could see what my face looked like on film and I have to say it was perfect on camera. Nora knows what she is doing and she made me look beautiful on my wedding day. Thanks Nora!
  • L
    Lindsay Sent on 02/14/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am a Wedding Planner with Storybook Weddings and Events here in Chicago. I had the pleasure of working with Jen Brown of Nika Vaughan's team, and she was great! Everyone loved their makeup, and Jen has a very calming presence, which is helpful on a typically hectic wedding day morning. Nika, herself was also very nice to work with; she was very quick to respond to emails and phone calls, and the entire hair and makeup planning process went very smoothly. I would love to work with these ladies again... Thank You Nika and Jen!
  • Laura
    Laura Sent on 03/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Masterful team

    This team of hair and makeup stylists are absolutely EXCEPTIONAL. I am a professional event planner and I highly recommend this team to ALL of my clients. They are on my preferred vendor list. I adore them. I have also hired this team to do my hair and makeup for my professional headshots and you guys, I LOOKED AMAZING. Any of their incredible artists will make you look and feel like Beyonce. They are FIERCE! I can't recommend them enough. Support your local, small, woman owned businesses y'all!!
  • A
    Adam L. Sent on 08/05/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Lia did my hair perfectly! I loved working with her!
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 07/29/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Nika and her team of artists--- particularly Jen Brown and Gia-- are AMAZING. I chose them for our wedding hair and makeup due to their natural aesthetic-- they work to make you the prettiest you possible-- not to make you someone else! Nika is incredibly responsive, quickly answering my every email and inquiry, and Jen and Gia did a fantastic job from trials to actual day-of work. They were responsive to feedback, interacted so well with my bridesmaids and family, and were a delight to have with me on the day of my wedding. I received a million compliments, most importantly from my new husband. He said I looked like me, but fancier-- exactly what I was going for! The makeup was very light, thanks to Jen's expert application of airbrush, and my hair never moved all night. Additionally, my bridesmaids and mom were thrilled with their work. I would recommend them to anyone looking for hair and makeup for their big day-- thank you Nika, Jen, and Gia!
  • R
    Rachel Sent on 03/19/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Nika Vaughan was fantastic. She was incredibly professional, responsive, helpful and made me feel beautiful on my wedding day! She made me feel comfortable and was so receptive to tweaks during my trial and on the day of my wedding my make-up was perfect! It lasted all night and even through brunch the next morning! All my friends and family who used her for make-up were thrilled and everyone looked gorgeous. She is a gem!
  • S
    Sally Sent on 04/13/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Nika was graciously able to fit me in on short notice just weeks before my wedding, even coming back early from maternity leave. She was exceptionally nice and put me at ease during the hectic getting ready process. I was afraid of an overdone look but what she created was naturally beautiful. My mom and bridesmaids were all thrilled and looked beautiful.

    My makeup held up against the staggering heat and looked flawless. She even gave me a kit to freshen up throughout the day. I have recommended her to all of my girlfriends that are getting married this year.
  • N
    Natalie Sent on 03/15/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I've never felt more beautiful in my life ~ thanks to Nika's artistry. She is so brilliant at creating natural-looking, but utterly glamorous looks. And she's so fun to work with; calm, cool, and collected! Book her today!
  • Alexa
    Alexa Sent on 12/01/2016
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Had Angelica for hair and Christina for makeup. Both did an excellent job in consultations and on the big day. They came to me for a reasonable price and Christina was able to fit in my mom for makeup on short notice.
  • L
    Lisa Sent on 12/31/2013
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The hair and makeup for my wedding was gorgeous. Thank you so much Nika, your artists were wonderful and made me and my mom look beautiful.
  • A
    Annie Sent on 11/15/2013
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I saw all the glowing reviews for Nika online, and immediately contacted her for my Nov 2013 wedding. Nika was already booked, but she put me in touch with Jen who ended up doing the makeup for me and the bridal party. Jen was great! She was really professional and friendly, and she did an absolutely fantastic job with our makeup. The makeup lasted ALL night. I'm so so glad I hired a professional for wedding makeup.
  • User2164007 Sent on 06/04/2015
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    For my wedding in May, my hair was done by Xochilt and makeup by Elianna...both were wonderful. The company was flexible, worked in my budget and was very professional. Both artists were sweet, accommodating and on time. I was overwhelmingly happy with all the services for me and my bridal party.
  • Kristin
    Kristin G. Sent on 09/27/2020
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    I felt like a princess!

    My experience working with Nika Vaughan Bridal Artists was overall very good! I loved the artists that I worked with (Dani, Christina, and Nora). They were so easy to work with and did an amazing job making everyone's vision for hair and makeup come to life. I've never felt more beautiful! They all arrived early the day of the wedding and were very professional.

    My issues stem from the lack of flexibility in the contract and the difficulty I had contacting the company during covid. When some of my bridesmaids were no longer able to come because of travel restrictions, I was not able to be refunded for their services, even though I knew at least a month in advance. Instead of a partial refund, a third artist was added to the contract to shorten the appointment time, which ended up working out in the end, but the lack of flexibility during an already stressful time was a little frustrating. Also, the responsiveness May-August was lacking quite a bit. My emails would go unanswered for a week or more, and the window of time that they were available was very small. Again, wedding planning during covid was already stressful enough, so the lack of a timely response only added to that stress.

    Despite the two issues I had, I would still recommend Nika Vaughan Bridal Artists because they do AMAZING work, and I loved working with all of the artists. I seriously felt like a princess, which is what every bride wants on her wedding day!
  • L
    Laura E. Sent on 04/15/2021
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Kept 50% after the bride died - I would stay away

    I cannot review the quality of NVBA’s work, but only their response to a horrible situation.

    My sister was to be married in June of this year (rescheduled from 2020 due to COVID), and had booked several makeup and hair artists for the morning of the wedding for herself and the bridal party. My sister died suddenly and unexpectedly in March. A few days after her death, her fiancé and I began notifying wedding vendors. I reached out to NVBA over three months before the wedding date. I received a response expressing their sympathies, and the email ended with “you can be sure that we are set”. It was me who had to bring up that my sister had paid NVBA in full ($1700). When I asked about a refund, I was told 50% could be refunded. Even when my husband spoke with Nika herself, she would not budge on the 50%, essentially stating that all of the contractors had already been paid, even though zero services were provided.

    Every other vendor for the wedding, from the venue to the DJ to the photographer, immediately offered a 100% refund. I notified NVBA over 3 months prior to the date, and we had even suggested a refund down the road after summer season, which they refused. Somehow “scheduling” enables them $850, even when the bride dies before the wedding day.

    I cannot relay how heartbreaking it is that my sister never will get her wedding day. What is so aggravating on top of that is to see how heartless a response NVBA had to the situation. NVBA is making money by doing nothing – and if they rebook (for June 19th) they are 100% double-dipping.

    Shame on you, NVBA. I honestly don’t know how you sleep at night. Shout out to all of the other vendors (Salvatore’s, Molly’s Cupcakes, Artistrie Co.) for having compassion and doing the right thing.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message